The last corner of Swiss neutrality remains!

Absurdities surrounding the Swiss arms export ban

by Dr iur. Marianne Wüthrich

Under pressure from outside and the compliancy of the NATO turbos at home, the Federal Council has shockingly quickly and radically dismantled the status of Swiss neutrality that was carefully built up over centuries. Few remnants of the law of neutrality have been left standing: No right of passage or overflight for war transports, no delivery of Swiss weapons to warring parties. In order to undermine this last shred of Swiss neutrality, absurdities are being outdone. But the Federal Council remains steadfast.

The first trial balloon was a Canadian transport plane loaded with weapons that wanted to fly over little Switzerland at the end of March if it was to save one’s life. Shortly before, on 11 March, the Federal Council, in accordance with the law of neutrality, had banned overflights for military purposes by the parties to the conflict and their supporters. Quickly, an overflight request was organised by NATO member Canada and then – with the support of the Swiss mainstream media – a huge fuss was made about the authorisation rejected by the Federal Council. But at least this time the Federal Council stood firm.
  The current issue is Switzerland’s obligation under neutrality law not to supply weapons to a country at war. Some time ago, Switzerland sold Germany 12,400 rounds of ammunition for the Gepard anti-aircraft tank and, as usual, demanded a non-re-export declaration. Germany wants to supply this ammunition to the warring party Ukraine. The Federal Council had already rejected the request from Berlin in June because it contradicted the law of neutrality. Instead of respecting the clear answer from Bern, the German Minister of War, Christine Lambrecht, tried to wear down the Federal Council with another letter dated 21 October. In doing so, she got the second rebuff she deserved from the Federal Council.

Delivery of lethal tank munitions “for humanitarian reasons”?

At the end of October, politicians and the media on both sides of the border outdid themselves with adventurous “justifications” for Switzerland’s having to allow the transfer of lethal ammunition “for humanitarian reasons”.
  According to Minister Lambrecht, Ukraine needs the ammunition “to protect its grain deliveries to developing countries from Russian attacks”. The chair of the defence committee of the German Bundestag, Marie-Agnes Strack-Zimmermann: “If Switzerland doesn’t help protect grain exports, then it is indirectly helping Russia to starve the poorest countries.” (Radio SRF, Echo der Zeit of 31 October 2022) On the same day, the “Blick”: The deployment of the Gepard in Ukraine was “so to speak a humanitarian action” (!). Such cynicism culminates in the statement of the former Foreign Minister of Ukraine, Pavlo Klimkin: “... this ammunition could save human lives in Ukraine” (“Neue Zürcher Zeitung” of 7 November 2022).
  Are our heads completely twisted? Everyone knows that weapons for Ukraine prolong the war and prevent a negotiated solution. Switzerland must not take part in this, fortunately the Federal Council remains steadfast here.

Who is starving the poorest countries?

A large part of the grain ships does not even sail to Africa or the Middle East, but deliver their cargo in European ports – according to an AFP report of 7 September 2022, 85 out of 87 ships. So those who “starve the poorest countries“ are us solvent Europeans! It is more than shameful that Russia has now agreed to send the urgently needed grain to the poor countries itself free of charge instead.

The Federal Council explains the Swiss way:
right of neutrality and humanitarian aid

In its press release of 3 November, the Federal Council explains why Switzerland cannot allow the transfer of Swiss war material: “In the Russia-Ukraine relationship, Switzerland applies the law of neutrality, which is part of customary international law. On the basis of the principle of equal treatment under the law of neutrality, Switzerland cannot agree to a request for the transfer of war material of Swiss origin to Ukraine as long as the latter is involved in an international armed conflict.” On the other hand, the Federal Council will expand its humanitarian aid to Ukraine in addition to its existing commitment: On 2 November, it approved a “Winter Aid Action Plan” in the amount of CHF 100 million “to support the people of Ukraine”.
  It is good that the Federal Council is standing up for Swiss neutrality here. The federal popular initiative “Preservation of Swiss neutrality (neutrality initiative)”, launched on 8 November, will once again pave the way for our country to fully respect Swiss neutrality, without any ifs or buts.  •

Transfer of Swiss weapons to countries at war: “The core of the right of neutrality is at stake here”

Professor of International Law Marco Sassòli, University of Geneva

“International neutrality law obliges Switzerland not to supply weapons to a country at war. But Switzerland is not obliged to prevent another country from transferring Swiss munitions. However, it has required a non-re-export declaration from Germany. If Switzerland now lifts this so that a warring party like Ukraine can receive weapons, it is circumventing the law of neutrality. Because what is at stake here is the core of the law of neutrality.”

Has the Federal Council recourse to emergency law to enable the delivery of ammunition?
“For emergency law, there needs to be an emergency situation. I don’t see what that would be for Switzerland. Nor, by the way, for Ukraine: the 12,000 rounds of ammunition from Switzerland hardly make a decisive difference.”

Should certain countries be allowed to pass on Swiss weapons in future? A corresponding amendment to the law is being discussed in parliament.
“The non-re-export declarations are something that makes sense. Without them, Swiss weapons would end up in all wars. To demand declarations only from certain countries and not from others is delicate [...]. It could lead, for example, to India not being allowed to supply Swiss weapons to Saudi Arabia for use in the Yemen war, but the UK would.”

Source: “Ammunition for Ukraine:
‘This is about the core of the right of neutrality’”.
Tages-Anzeiger, 29 October 2022. Interview: Charlotte Walser

Is Switzerland being blackmailed?

ds. What are we to make of Teodor Winkler, who “worked for many years as a high-ranking advisor in the Swiss Military and Foreign Affairs Departments”, recommending in the “Neue Zürcher Zeitung” of 31 October that Switzerland should “not be stingy” in its support for Ukraine? The international community expects Switzerland to make “contributions of a magnitude that go far beyond the cohesion billion”. In addition, the Swiss financial centre would be required to cooperate closely.
  What Bern offers Ukraine will determine “the tone that the West adopts towards Switzerland”. It was therefore important that, in addition to all the practical things that had been thought of so far, the support package signalled a willingness to take the lead on selected strategic issues and to secure generous funding. Switzerland must signal that it is ready to assume responsibility.
  You have to savour that slowly: The tone the West takes towards Switzerland depends on how much Switzerland is willing to pay. Isn’t that what is called blackmail?
  “Some of the expected demands,” warns Winkler, “are likely to pose considerable problems for the Federal Council – for example, the demand not only to freeze Russian oligarch funds, but to confiscate them in order to finance the aid to the Zelensky government”. He also said that the pressure on the DDPS to “provide military aid to Ukraine” would increase in the coming months. He therefore advises Switzerland to “proactively anticipate these inevitable demands with a balanced and convincing concept of its own”. This concept must recognise and take up the strategic interests on the Ukrainian side. Thus, Switzerland should determine the priorities it wants to set within the framework of the Western aid strategy.
  What do you think: Should Switzerland, in anticipatory obedience, offer its “own concept” in order to forestall blackmail and make the “West” friendly?      •

Our website uses cookies so that we can continually improve the page and provide you with an optimized visitor experience. If you continue reading this website, you agree to the use of cookies. Further information regarding cookies can be found in the data protection note.

If you want to prevent the setting of cookies (for example, Google Analytics), you can set this up by using this browser add-on.​​​​​​​

OK

Les dernières bribes de la neutralité suisse demeurent!

Absurdités autour de l’interdiction d’exporter des armes en Suisse

par Marianne Wüthrich, docteur en droit

Sous la pression de l’extérieur et la docilité des turbos de l’OTAN dans notre propre pays, le Conseil fédéral a réduit de manière effrayante, rapide et radicale le statut de neutralité de la Suisse, soigneusement construit au fil des siècles. Peu de vestiges du droit de la neutralité sont restés en place: Pas de droit de passage ou de survol pour les transports de guerre, pas de livraison d’armes suisses aux belligérants. Pour mettre à terre cette dernière parcelle de la neutralité suisse, on rivalise d’absurdités. Mais le Conseil fédéral tient bon.

Le premier ballon d’essai a été un avion de transport canadien chargé d’armes, qui a voulu survoler la petite Suisse fin mars «coûte que coûte». Peu avant, le 11 mars, le Conseil fédéral avait interdit, conformément au droit de la neutralité, les survols à des fins militaires des parties au conflit et de leurs soutiens. Une demande de survol du Canada, membre de l’OTAN, a été organisée en un clin d’œil et l’autorisation refusée par le Conseil fédéral a fait l’objet d’un énorme battage médiatique – avec le soutien des grands médias suisses. Mais au moins, cette fois-ci, le Conseil fédéral a tenu bon.
    Actuellement, il s’agit de l’obligation de la Suisse, en vertu du droit de la neutralité, de ne pas livrer d’armes à un pays en guerre. Il y a quelque temps, la Suisse avait vendu à l’Allemagne 12 400 munitions pour le char antiaérien Gepard et avait exigé, comme d’habitude, une déclaration de non-réexportation. L’Allemagne souhaite livrer ces munitions à l’Ukraine, pays belligérant. En juin déjà, le Conseil fédéral avait rejeté la demande de Berlin pour cause de contradiction avec le droit de la neutralité. Au lieu de respecter la réponse claire de Berne, la ministre allemande de la Guerre Christine Lambrecht a tenté d’assouplir le Conseil fédéral par une nouvelle lettre datée du 21 octobre. Elle s’est ainsi attiré un second refus bien mérité de la part du Conseil fédéral.1

Livraison de munitions antichars
mortelles «pour des raisons humanitaires»?

Fin octobre, les politiciens et les médias de part et d’autre de la frontière ont rivalisé d’imagination pour justifier le fait que la Suisse devait autoriser la transmission de ces munitions mortelles pour des «raisons humanitaires».
    Selon la ministre Lambrecht, l’Ukraine a besoin de ces munitions «pour protéger ses livraisons de céréales aux pays en développement contre les attaques russes». La présidente de la commission de défense du Bundestag allemand, Marie-Agnes Strack-Zimmermann: «Si la Suisse n’aide pas à protéger les exportations de céréales, elle aide indirectement la Russie à affamer les pays les plus pauvres». (Radio SRF,Echo der Zeit du 31/10/22) Le même jour, le «Blick»: l’utilisation du Guépard en Ukraine est «donc quasiment une action humanitaire» (!). Un tel cynisme culmine dans la déclaration de l’ancien ministre des Affaires étrangères de l’Ukraine, Pavlo Klimkin: «... cette munition pourrait sauver des vies humaines en Ukraine» («Neue Zürcher Zeitung» du 7/11/22).
    Nos esprits sont-ils donc totalement troublés? Tout le monde sait que les armes destinées à l’Ukraine prolongent la guerre et empêchent une solution négociée. La Suisse ne doit pas y participer, heureusement que le Conseil fédéral reste ferme sur ce point.

Qui affame les pays les plus pauvres?

Une grande partie des navires céréaliers ne se rendent pas en Afrique ou au Proche-Orient, mais livrent leur cargaison dans les ports européens - selon une dépêche AFP du 7 septembre 2022, 85 navires sur 87. Ceux qui «affament les pays les plus pauvres», ce sont donc nous, les Européens solvables! Il est plus que honteux que la Russie se soit déclarée prête à envoyer elle-même gratuitement les céréales dont il y a un besoin urgent dans les pays pauvres.

Le Conseil fédéral explique la voie suisse:
droit de la neutralité et aide humanitaire

Dans son communiqué de presse du 3 novembre, le Conseil fédéral explique pourquoi la Suisse ne peut pas autoriser la transmission de matériel de guerre suisse: «La Suisse applique le droit de la neutralité, qui est une composante du droit coutumier international, s’agissant des relations entre la Russie et l’Ukraine. L’égalité de traitement découlant du droit de la neutralité ne permet pas à la Suisse d’approuver une demande de transmission de matériel de guerre de provenance suisse à l’Ukraine tant que ce pays est impliqué dans un conflit armé international». En revanche, le Conseil fédéral va développer son aide humanitaire à l’Ukraine, en plus de son engagement actuel: le 2 novembre, il a décidé d’un «plan d’action pour les secours d’hiver» d’un montant de 100 millions de francs, «visant à apporter un soutien à la population en Ukraine».
    Il est bon que le Conseil fédéral se porte ici garant de la neutralité suisse. L’initiative populaire fédérale «Sauvegarder la neutralité suisse (initiative sur la neutralité)», lancée le 8 novembre, permettra à notre pays de retrouver le chemin du respect intégral de la neutralité suisse, sans conditions.

1«Rejet d’une demande de transmission de matériel de guerre suisse à l’Ukraine». Communiqué de presse du Conseil fédéral du 3 novembre 2022

 

Transmission d’armes suisses à des pays en guerre: «On touche ici au cœur du droit de la neutralité»

Professeur de droit international public Marco Sassòli, Université de Genève

«Le droit international de la neutralité oblige la Suisse à ne pas livrer d’armes à un pays en guerre. Mais la Suisse n’est pas tenue d’empêcher qu’un autre pays transmette des munitions suisses. Elle a toutefois exigé de l’Allemagne une déclaration de non-réexportation. Si la Suisse annule maintenant cette déclaration pour qu’un belligérant comme l’Ukraine reçoive des armes, elle contourne le droit de la neutralité. Car il s’agit ici de l’essence même du droit de la neutralité».

Le Conseil fédéral peut-il recourir au droit d’urgence pour permettre la livraison de munitions?

«Pour le droit d’urgence, il faut une situation d’urgence. Je ne vois pas en quoi cela consisterait pour la Suisse. D’ailleurs, ce n’est pas non plus le cas pour l’Ukraine: les 12 000 munitions en provenance de Suisse ne font guère la différence».

Certains pays devraient-ils être autorisés à transmettre des armes suisses à l’avenir? Une modification de la loi en ce sens est en discussion au Parlement.

«Les déclarations de non-réexportation sont quelque chose de sensé. Sans elles, les armes suisses se retrouveraient dans toutes les guerres. Demander des déclarations à certains pays et pas à d’autres est délicat […]. Cela pourrait par exemple conduire à ce que l’Inde ne soit pas autorisée à livrer à l’Arabie saoudite des armes suisses utilisées dans la guerre au Yémen, mais que la Grande-Bretagne le soit».

Source: «Munition für die Ukraine: ‹Hier geht es um den Kern des Neutralitätsrechts›» (Des munitions pour l’Ukraine: ‹On touche ici au cœur du droit de la neutralité›). Tages-Anzeiger du 29.10.2022. Interview: Charlotte Walser

 

La Suisse est-elle soumise à un chantage?

ds. Que faut-il penser lorsque Teodor Winkler, qui a travaillé «pendant de nombreuses années comme conseiller de haut rang au sein du Département militaire et du Département des affaires étrangères de la Suisse», recommande à la Suisse, dans la «Neue Zürcher Zeitung» du 31 octobre, de «ne pas se montrer avare» dans son soutien à l’Ukraine? La communauté internationale attend de la Suisse «des contributions d’un ordre de grandeur qui vont bien au-delà du milliard de cohésion». En outre, une étroite collaboration sera exigée de la place financière suisse.
    Ce que Berne proposera à l’Ukraine déterminera «le ton que l’Occident adoptera à l’égard de la Suisse». Il est donc important que le paquet de soutien signale, outre toutes les choses pratiques qui ont été envisagées jusqu’à présent, la volonté de prendre la direction des opérations sur certaines questions stratégiques et de garantir un financement généreux. La Suisse doit signaler qu’elle est prête à assumer des responsabilités.
    Il faut vraiment le voir pour le croire: Le ton que l’Occident adopte vis-à-vis de la Suisse dépend du montant que cette dernière est prête à payer. N’est-ce pas là ce que l’on appelle du chantage?
    «Certaines des exigences attendues», prévient Winkler, «devraient poser des problèmes considérables au Conseil fédéral - par exemple l’exigence de ne pas seulement bloquer les fonds des oligarques russes, mais de les confisquer afin de financer ainsi l’aide au gouvernement Selenski». Il faut également tenir compte du fait que la pression sur le DDPS ««pour qu’il accorde une aide militaire à l’Ukraine» sera de plus en plus forte au cours des prochains mois. C’est pourquoi il conseille à la Suisse d’anticiper «de manière proactive ces exigences inévitables en présentant un concept propre, équilibré et convaincant». Celui-ci doit reconnaître et intégrer les intérêts stratégiques du côté ukrainien. La Suisse devrait ainsi définir elle-même les priorités qu’elle souhaite adopter dans le cadre de la stratégie d’aide occidentale.
    Qu’en pensez-vous: la Suisse doit-elle, par anticipation, proposer son «propre concept» afin d’anticiper le chantage et d’amadouer «l’Occident»?

Notre site web utilise des cookies afin de pouvoir améliorer notre page en permanence et vous offrir une expérience optimale en tant que visiteurs. En continuant à consulter ce site web, vous déclarez accepter l’utilisation de cookies. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations concernant les cookies dans notre déclaration de protection des données.

Si vous désirez interdire l’utilisation de cookies, par ex. par le biais de Google Analytics, vous pouvez installer ce dernier au moyen des modules complémentaires du présent navigateur.

OK