Labelling high-quality Swiss products with the crossbow

Interview with National Councillor Ruedi Lustenberger, President SWISS LABEL

Current Concerns: What is the objective, the idea behind SWISS LABEL?

National Councillor Ruedi Lustenberger: SWISS LABEL was founded nearly 100 years ago. In the difficult period during the First World War, the question was how the Swiss economy could be strengthened. The conclusion was that Swiss quality and the products which have their origin in our country should be labeled. They took then the crossbow as a signet which stands for a well-fortified, strong and independent Switzerland. It has established itself well over the first decades. As time went by it was no longer developed further and thus it disappeared more or less.

And now we can experience a revival?

Yes, for about 10 years we have been witnessing a veritable renaissance of SWISS LABEL. For many companies it seems to be a real need to label their high-quality Swiss products with the crossbow. We are very much in demand and are very popular with new members.

Why does the label regain importance nowadays?

The current situation with a partly negative impact of globalization and a degree of uncertainty on the business location Switzerland gives an increased importance to SWISS LABEL. And it also helps the consumers who like to buy a Swiss product, because quality and the identification of the origin Switzerland are appreciated. This leads directly to the strengthening of Swiss economy and our companies and businesses.

Which companies join in? Are these rather small businesses or large industries?

Our members are a mirror image of the Swiss economy which is dominated by the small and medium-sized enterprises. SMEs from all regions and industries of Switzerland dominate. Some large and well-known companies such as Caran d’Ache or Victorinox also take part.

What are the biggest challenges for our Swiss companies?

Currently the weakness of the Euro and a strong Swiss franc cause disadvantages in international competition. There is no longer a level playing field for us. Foreign products have become so cheap on the Swiss market that they compete with our domestic economy. A good answer is the consistent focus on quality, excellent service and the highlighting of Swiss origin, for example with our trademark, the crossbow.

What criteria must a company fulfil so that it may be entitled to the SWISS LABEL?

There are criteria relating to the production cost of a product. A certain percentage must arise in Switzerland. According to the revised trademark law, 60 per cent are required in the future for industrial products so that they can be marked with the Swiss cross. For food, 80% of the weight of raw materials must come from Switzerland. SWISS LABEL requires 10% more, i.e. 70 per cent for industrial products and 90% for the food. Additionally the company must be located in Switzerland.

What about services?

Service companies can also join in if business and management are located in Switzerland and if the services are effectively provided in Switzerland.
These percentages seem quite high.
Yes, we are aware that this is a high bar. But we made a survey among the members. The majority of members explicitly asked for high demands on the Swiss percentages. The legislator should set a reasonable minimum and everything higher may be only voluntarily. In agriculture, even 100 per cent Swiss origin are required for Swiss guarantee products.

But this is voluntary?

That must and can only be voluntary. Membership in SWISS LABEL happens of one’s own motivation, it is a completely voluntary entrepreneurial decision. The fact that we have had a strong increase in members for years clearly shows that there is apparently a high need for a public labelling of Swiss products and services with the crossbow.

Mr National Councillor Lustenberger, thank you very much for the interview.     •

(Interview Thomas Kaiser)

Distinguer les produits suisses de première qualité par l’emblème de l’arbalète

Interview du conseiller national Ruedi Lustenberger, président de SWISS LABEL

Horizons et débats: Quel est l’objectif, l’idée de SWISS LABEL?

Ruedi Lustenberger: SWISS LABEL a été créé il y a environ 100 ans. Jadis, à l’époque difficile de la Première Guerre mondiale, on s’est demandé comment on pourrait renforcer l’économie suisse. Il a été convenu de distinguer la qualité suisse et les produits ayant leur origine dans notre pays. On a donc choisi comme signe distinctif l’arbalète comme symbole d’une Suisse vigilante, forte et indépendante. Au cours des premières années, ce signe a rencontré un grand succès. Comme on n’a pas continué à le développer, il a perdu de son importance.

Actuellement, il a de nouveau le vent en poupe?

Oui, depuis environ 10 ans, nous sommes confrontés à une réelle renaissance du SWISS LABEL. De nombreuses entreprises ressentent un réel besoin de distinguer leurs produits de première qualité par l’arbalète. Nous avons un grand nombre de nouveaux membres.

Pourquoi ce label rencontre-t-il actuellement un tel intérêt?

La situation actuelle, influencée par les conséquences partiellement néfastes de la mondialisation et une certaine incertitude au sein de la place industrielle suisse, renforce l’intérêt pour ce label. Il sert de référence également, pour les consommateurs souhaitant acheter des produits suisses en raison de la qualité et de l’authenticité suisses. Cela renforce directement l’économie nationale suisse et les diverses entreprises.

Quelles sortes d’entreprises y participent? Est-ce que ce sont plutôt de petites firmes ou également de grandes entreprises industrielles?

Nos membres sont le miroir de l’économie nationale suisse, caractérisée par les petites et moyennes entreprises. En Suisse, ces PME dominent dans toutes les régions et dans les domaines les plus divers. Certaines grandes entreprises telles que Caran d’Ache ou Victorinox en font également partie.

Quels sont les plus gros défis pour nos entreprises suisses?

Actuellement, c’est la faiblesse de l’euro, qui est un grand désavantage sur le marché international suite au franc fort. Sur le marché, les conditions concurrentielles sont inégales. Les produits étrangers arrivant sur le marché suisse sont donc très bon marché et concurrencent notre économie locale. Une bonne réponse à cela est l’alignement constant sur la qualité, un excellent service et la mise en exergue de la provenance suisse, par exemple avec notre signe distinctif, l’arbalète.

Quels critères doivent satisfaire les entreprises pour pouvoir utiliser le SWISS LABEL?

Il y a des critères touchant les coûts de production d’un produit. Un certain pourcentage doit revenir à la Suisse. La Loi révisée sur la protection des marques exige à l’avenir 60% pour les produits industriels afin qu’ils puissent être commercialisés avec la croix suisse. Concernant les denrées alimentaires, 80% du poids des matières premières doivent venir de Suisse. SWISS LABEL exige 10% de plus, c’est à dire 70% pour les produits industriels et 90% pour les denrées alimentaires. En outre, toute entreprise doit avoir son siège en Suisse.

Quelle est la situation concernant les services?

Les entreprises offrant des services peuvent également devenir membres chez nous, lorsque le siège et l’administration se trouvent en Suisse et que les services sont réellement fournis dans notre pays.

Ces pourcentages semblent quand même bien élevés.

Oui, nous sommes conscients que nos normes minimales de qualité sont très exigeantes. Nous avons fait un sondage auprès de nos membres. La majorité s’est explicitement exprimée en faveur de normes de qualité suisse élevées. Le législateur doit fixer une limite minimale sensée et tout ce qui dépasse cette limite ne peut être que volontaire. Dans l’agriculture, on demande même 100% de provenance suisse pour les produits de garantie suisse.

Alors cela ce fait sur une base volontaire?

Cela ne doit et ne peut être que volontaire. L’adhésion chez SWISS LABEL se fait de son propre gré, c’est une décision d’entreprise totalement volontaire. Le fait d’avoir une forte augmentation des membres depuis plusieurs années montre clairement que la demande d’une distinction des produits et des services suisses par le signe de l’arbalète est importante.

Monsieur le Conseiller national, nous vous remercions pour cet entretien.    •

(Interview réalisée par Thomas Kaiser)