Manifesto for Europe

We want Europe to be based on peace and justice!

We, citizens of some European countries, are worried about the future of our continent. Europe‘s economic, social, political and cultural development are moving farther and farther away from what the people, not only in Europe, have hoped for since after the Second World War: Never again war and dictatorship, never again colonial exercise of power and exploitation; instead international understanding and international reconciliation, economic reconstruction and social justice – living in political freedom, cultural diversity and constitutional democracy.

A threat to freedom, democracy and peace

The high level of debt in nearly all European countries, high unemployment rates, especially among young people, the creeping inflation, the weakening and thinning of the SMEs, numerous unresolved questions in connection with the millions of refugees from the Balkans, from Africa, the Middle East and Afghanistan, the state’s disregard of civil and human rights and the increase in social and political tensions within and among the states in Europe are threatening prosperity, democracy and peace.
Political and economic crises are being misused to centralize the EU’s political power increasingly – at the expense of our sovereignty and liberties. Many citizens notice that there is no longer an honest dialogue with their political representatives. They realize that the rulers with their political decisions ignore the people. They also notice that via the mainstream media a certain feeling of weakness is artificially generated. Severe crises, continuously created anew are to divert from fundamental questions and from what is actually going on.
Side by side with the US and in an almost slave-like allegiance the governments of EU-states and NATO have been breaking international law for many years. We, citizens of Europe, sympathize with all fellow-humans and peoples who have suffered and are still suffering from that situation.
The War against Yugoslavia in 1999 was the Fall. Sanctions imposed on Austria in 2000 and lasting many months aimed at turning over a democratically elected government. In 2004, as well as in 2013 and 2014 the US, together with the EU, massively interferred in the internal affairs of the Ukraine and contributed to a war beeing waged in that region – in the heart of Europe. The treatment of Greece since 2010 is humiliating a whole people. A people, the ancestors of which lived in a country that has been the birthplace of European thought and cultural creation.

Europe’s cultural heritage

The first codified European law originated in Ancient Greece. Politicians of Ancient Greece recognized it as their duty and the duty of all men to stand up against injustice. Greek philosophers laid the foundations of scientific thinking; they struggled for answers to the basic questions of social and political ethics as well as for a systematic theory of education. In the fifth century before Christ, the Kos physician Hippocrates constituted the Medical Ethics, which, throughout the centuries, have had an essential formative influence on medical actions. Greece set standards in architecture and art of Europe, considering the human being the benchmark and thus stimulating developments that are still being drawn on today.
There were those Greeks who developed the basic principles of the European model states already 2,500 years ago: democracy, separation of powers and natural law. They demanded that government action must be measured by an ethic that is based on human nature – so that it would not degenerate into despotism and tyranny.
It was the Greek philosopher Aristotle, who said that in a just state money must not be a tool of power.
Whenever brute power politics wanted to enforce the “law of the jungle”, European history was led into the abyss of bitter confrontation and wars.
The acrid manner by which politics and media are again creating an atmosphere against individual countries and peoples today, brings back memories of past disasters on our continent. Given the world’s existing nuclear destructive potential, any incitement to military confrontation and war, as for instance acted out against Russia, represents sheer madness.

Europe at the crossroads

Europe’s history is a history of injustice and violence, but it is as well a history of overcoming the latter evils from its own moral insight and political strength. The Western and Christian humanist tradition has developed viable foundations for equality before the law, humaneness and respect for human dignity. Whenever in history these basics could wield their influence, human coexistence was peaceful, just and secure. This was often accompanied by general prosperity, social equity and cultural upswing.
Europe is characterized by a rich diversity of cultures and nations in a small space, from Crete to the North Cape, from Lisbon to Yekaterinburg. People across Europe have contributed much in all spheres of life in more than 2,500 years.
For the people’s coexistence in peace and freedom, the development of law and right towards ever greater justice was of fundamental importance for Europe and the world.
Europe has significantly contributed to the fact that human rights and the principles of international law are today guaranteed in international agreements (Charter of the United Nations, International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights) and in national constitutions.

We therefore demand,

  • that the protection of human life must have absolute priority and that the destruction of decent working conditions, social welfare, pension systems, health care and all steps towards euthanasia be stopped;

    because every person has a right to     life and freedom of bodily harm. Man’s right to life is the core issue of human rights. It is of maximum value. Human life is sacrosanct, inalienable and cannot be balanced against other considerations. The “respect for life” must have absolute priority. Every person has the right to life and physical integrity. He or she has inalienable social rights such as the right to fair working conditions, to social security, to an adequate standard of living for himself or herself and the family, including adequate food, clothing and housing, to education and participation in cultural and political life;
  • that all anti-family ideologies in national and international regulations are cancelled;

    because the family is the natural and fundamental nucleus of society and should enjoy the greatest possible protection and assistance;
  • that all education slashings of our public schools are stopped; that professional content linked to scientific knowledge be promoted again; that social connectedness, social ethics and civic education be strengthened and schools meet their constitutionally vested mission to educate mature and responsible citizens. Education is the most fundamental task of sovereign states. It cannot be that young people are not fit for employment when they leave schools and are thus abandoned to neglect;

    because every person has the right to education. It serves the full development of the human personality and makes her capable of taking responsibility for the common good and for peace. In this sense education must foster an awareness of human dignity and enable humanity to acquire and practice understanding, tolerance and friendship among all nations;
  • that it may not be a self-proclaimed international “elite” from politics, media and (financial) economy that determine the destiny of citizens and peoples;

    because the people, the citizens, are the sovereign in the state (sovereignty of the people), and that is why the citizens have all political civil rights and liberties; they have the freedom of speech, the freedom of assembly, the freedom of association, the right to free elections and referenda. Elected officials and governments must be independent trustees of the common good. The citizens’ freedom of information and the importance of media for democracy demand that they are committed to truth and the common good as well as objective and balanced reporting; the economy has to serve the people; every state is sovereign over its own economic system, in particular over its currency. Natural resources must be protected and safeguarded for further generations;
  • that the intelligence services and police authorities of all states should be limited to their core tasks under the law and put an end to the all-encompassing collecting of personal data beyond all borders;

    because every person has the right to privacy. He has a right to be protected against state arbitrariness. Government action is only legitimate and legal if it is bound to uphold statute and law (rule of law);
  • that people and countries are not forced into dependencies such as debt bondage (“odious debts”); that further the subjugation of countries under the financial domination of the EU, the IMF and similar institutions and the associated loss of state sovereignty be undone;

    because all nations have the right that their country, regardless of size, of economic and military power, is an equal member within the international community;
  • that any interference in the internal affairs of the states of Europe, be it through political or economic pressure or enforcing voting results, should be refrained from and that all the agreements that were made in this way, be reversed;

    because all nations have a right to self-determination and by virtue of that right are free to determine their political status and pursue their economic, social and cultural development;
  • that all European countries renounce the use of military force to push economic and political interests, respect and comply with international law. All wars must be stopped;

    because all states have a right to territorial integrity and political independence. Every war violates human rights. Conflicts must be resolved by peaceful means and at the negotiating table. Everyone has the right to an international order that ensures a life in peace and freedom.

Human acting must be based on ethics

Good faith must be the basis of all human coexistence and political activity again. Without this principle, there is no confidence in agreements within and between the states, and the floodgates are open to arbitrariness. Control mechanisms (such as “governance”) and manipulation techniques of all kinds, which aim at influencing people by the abuse of psychological methods without full and open information, deprive the citizens of the possibility of independently forming their opinion. Thus they violate the dignity of the person and destroy the basis of political dialogue and the legal system.
People are capable, with their reason and their empathy, to recognize the necessary fundamental orientation of a moral and political action, to think and feel in a humane and social way, and to learn to act accordingly. This is the disposition embedded in the human heart. Guided by reason and conscience, these fundamental orientations are intended to form the basis of the whole of the moral, legal and political determinations that guide the life of man and society. They guarantee the dignity of the human person in the face of transitory ideologies.
We will not surrender what has been recognized as right and what is considered to be right; because:

“All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights. They are endowed with reason and conscience and should act towards one another in a spirit of brotherhood.”

Adopted by the about 300 participants of the XXIII International Conference “Mut zur Ethik” which was devoted to the topic of “Freedom, Sovereignty and Human Dignity – A Safeguard against Despotism and War” and took place in Switzerland from 4 to 6 September 2015. Among the participants were the following speakers from Switzerland and abroad:

Dr Zoltan Adorjan (Slovakia), Bob Barr (USA), Prof Dr Stanislas Bucyalimwe (Belgium / Democratic Republic of Congo), Katalin Z. Csörszné (Hungary), Nicole Duprat (France), Jürgen Elsässer (Germany), Rev Dr Joseph Emmanuel Seemanpillai (Germany / Sri Lanka), Bishop Emeritus Dr Elmar Fischer (Austria), Dipl-Ing Heinz Werner Gabriel (Germany), Dr Marek Glogoczowski (Poland), Axel Grunow (Switzerland), Dr Eike Hamer (Germany), Živadin Jovanovic (Serbia), Dr Germán Muruchi Poma (Germany / Bolivia), Prof Dr Velimir Nedeljkovic (Serbia), lic phil Moritz Nestor (Switzerland), Manfred Paulus (Germany), Dr Maria Isabel Pérez de Pio (Argentina), Prof DI Rudolf Pomaroli (Austria), Inge Rauscher (Austria), Dr René Roca (Switzerland), Dr Hans Wilde (Austria), Willy Wimmer (Germany),
Prof DI Dr Heinrich Wohlmeyer (Austria).

© “Mut zur Ethik”
PO Box 756
CH-8044 Zurich
E-Mail: mze(at)cybermail.ch

Manifeste pour l’Europe

Nous voulons une Europe de la paix et du droit!

Nous, citoyens des pays européens, sommes préoccupés de l’avenir de notre continent. Le développement économique, social, politique et culturel de l’Europe diverge de plus en plus de ce que les êtres humains, pas seulement en Europe, espéraient trouver après la Seconde Guerre mondiale: plus jamais de guerre et de dictature, plus jamais de pouvoir colonialiste et d’exploitation, mais davantage d’entente et de réconciliation entre les peuples, de reconstruction économique et de justice sociale – une vie de liberté politique, de diversité culturelle et de démocratie basée sur l’Etat de droit.

Mise en péril de la prospérité, de la démocratie et de la paix

Le fort endettement dans presque tous les pays européens, les taux de chômage élevés, surtout parmi les jeunes, l’inflation sous-jacente, l’affaiblissement et le rétrécissement de la classe moyenne, d’innombrables questions non résolues concernant les millions de refugiés des Balkans, d’Afrique, du Proche-Orient et d’Afghanistan, le non respect étatique des droits citoyens et humains ainsi que l’aggravation des tensions sociales et politiques au sein et entre les Etats européens menacent la prospérité, la démocratie et la paix.
Les crises politiques et économiques sont instrumentalisées afin de perpétuer la centralisation du pouvoir politique de l’UE – au détriment de nos droits de souveraineté et de liberté. De nombreux citoyens remarquent la disparition de dialogue sincère avec les représentants politiques. Ils constatent que les dirigeants ne tiennent plus compte du peuple dans leurs décisions politiques. Ils réalisent qu’au moyen des médias dominants, on veut créer artificiellement des sentiments d’impuissance. On tente de dévier l’attention d’une part, de ce qui se passe réellement et d’autre part, des questions fondamentales, en mettant constamment en scène de nouvelles «crises».
De pair avec les Etats-Unis et devenus leurs vassaux, de nombreux gouvernements des pays de l’UE et de l’OTAN violent depuis de nombreuses années le droit international. Nous, citoyens des pays de l’Europe, restons solidaires de toutes les personnes et les peuples qui en souffrent.
La guerre contre la Yougoslavie de 1999 fut le mal initial. Les sanctions contre l’Autriche, pendant plusieurs mois en l’an 2000, avaient pour but d’annuler une élection démocratique et d’empêcher la formation du gouvernement. En 2004, ainsi qu’en 2013 et 2014, l’UE et les Etats-Unis se sont massivement immiscés dans les affaires intérieures de l’Ukraine et ont ainsi contribué à ce que la guerre fasse rage en plein centre de l’Europe. Depuis 2010, le comportement face à la Grèce humilie tout un peuple. Un peuple, dont les ancêtres vivaient dans le pays qui fut le berceau de la pensée philosophique et de la création culturelle européennes.

Le patrimoine culturel de l’Europe

C’est en Grèce antique qu’est né le premier droit européen codifié. Les politiciens de l’antiquité grecque considéraient comme leur devoir et le devoir de tous, de s’engager contre l’injustice. Les philosophes grecs créèrent les bases de la pensée scientifique; ils réfléchirent aux questions fondamentales de l’éthique sociale et politique et d’un système d’éducation développé. La Grèce fixa, à l’échelle européenne, les normes en architecture et en art, en tenant compte de l’être humain comme référence, engendrant ainsi des développements dont nous bénéficions aujourd’hui encore.
Il y a déjà 2500 ans, les Grecs développèrent les principes fondamentaux du modèle étatique européen: la démocratie, la séparation des pouvoirs et le droit naturel. Ils exigèrent que l’action étatique soit évaluée selon une éthique fondée sur la nature humaine – afin d’éviter toute dérive vers le despotisme et la tyrannie.
Ce fut le Grec Aristote qui déclara que dans un Etat juste, l’argent ne devait pas être un instrument du pouvoir.
A chaque fois que la pure politique de force voulut imposer le «droit du plus fort», cela mena l’histoire européenne dans des abîmes de luttes acharnées et de guerres.
L’intransigeance avec laquelle on attaque actuellement, en politique et dans les médias, certains pays et certaines populations, rappellent des souvenirs de catastrophes passées sur notre continent. Face au potentiel de destruction nucléaire existant dans le monde, chaque incitation à des confrontations militaires et à la guerre, par exemple contre la Russie, est de la pure folie.

L’Europe se trouve à la croisée des chemins

L’histoire de l’Europe a connu des périodes de grandes injustices et de violence. Cependant, elle a su aussi créer avec clairvoyance des situations de progrès et de paix pour les peuples. La tradition de l’humanisme chrétien occidental a fourni une base solide pour l’égalité de droit, l’humanité et la reconnaissance de la dignité de l’homme. A chaque fois que ces principes fondamentaux imprégnèrent notre histoire, le vivre-ensemble des hommes et des peuples devint plus pacifique, plus juste et plus sûr. Souvent cela était accompagné de prospérité générale, d’équilibre social et d’essor culturel.
L’Europe est définie par une grande diversité de cultures et de nations sur un espace relativement restreint, de la Crète au Cap Nord, de Lisbonne à Ekaterinbourg. Au cours de plus de 2500 ans, les habitants de toute l’Europe ont contribué à cette diversité dans tous les domaines et de diverses manières.
Concernant la coexistence en paix et en liberté, le développement du droit vers davantage de justice fut d’une importance fondamentale pour l’Europe et le monde.
L’Europe a contribué de manière significative à ce qu’aujourd’hui, les droits de l’homme et les principes du droit international public soient garantis dans des accords internationaux (Charte des Nations Unies, Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques, Pacte international relatif aux droits économiques, sociaux et culturels) et dans les constitutions nationales.

Ainsi nous demandons …

  • … la priorité absolue de la protection de la vie humaine et le maintien de bonnes conditions de travail, de la prévoyance sociale, du régime de retraite, des soins médicaux ainsi que l’abandon de toutes les dérives en faveur de l’euthanasie.

    En effet, tout être humain a le droit à la vie et à l’intégrité physique. Le droit à la vie est le coeur même des droits de l’homme. C’est la valeur suprême. La vie humaine est intangible, inaliénable et non mesurable dans sa valeur. Le «respect de la vie» doit obtenir la priorité absolue. Chaque être humain a droit à la vie et à l’intégrité physique. Il a des droits sociaux inaliénables, notamment le droit à des conditions de travail équitables, à la sécurité sociale, à un niveau de vie convenable pour lui et sa famille, y compris suffisamment de nourriture, d’habillement et d’hébergement, à la formation et à l’enseignement ainsi qu’à la participation à la vie culturelle et politique.
  • … la suppression de toutes les idéologies hostiles à la famille dans les règlementations étatiques et internationales.

    En effet, la famille est le noyau naturel de la société et elle doit pouvoir jouir de la protection et du soutien les plus élevés possibles.
  • … l’interruption de la déstructuration de l’enseignement dans nos écoles publiques, la promotion de davantage de contenus basés sur les connaissances scientifiques, le renforcement des liens sociaux, de l’éthique sociale et de la formation civique et l’obligation pour les écoles de remplir leur mission légale de former des citoyens à part entière. L’enseignement et la formation sont des tâches fondamentales des Etats souverains. Il est inadmissible que des jeunes gens quittent nos écoles sans pouvoir trouver d’emploi, étant ainsi livrés à l’oisiveté, voire à la déchéance.

    En effet, chaque individu a droit à la formation. Celle-ci sert à l’épanouissement de la personnalité humaine et permet à tout individu d’assumer sa part de responsabilité en faveur du bien commun et de la paix. Ainsi, l’enseignement et la formation doivent promouvoir la conscience de la dignité humaine et permettre de développer la tolérance, la compréhension et l’amitié entre tous les peuples.
  • … l’abolition d’un système d’«élite» internationale autoproclamée émanant de la politique, des médias et de l’économie (financière), définissant les destinées des citoyens et des peuples.

    En effet, le peuple – les citoyennes et les citoyens – est le souverain de l’Etat (souveraineté populaire). Les citoyens ont donc tous les droits politiques et les libertés civiles, dont la liberté d’expression, la liberté de réunion, la liberté d’association et un droit à des élections et des votations libres. Les élus du peuple et les gouvernements doivent veiller impartialement à l’intérêt commun. Le libre accès à l’information des citoyens et l’importance des médias pour la démocratie impliquent que ceux-ci se conforment à la vérité et à l’intérêt commun ainsi qu’à fournir des informations et des récits objectifs et impartiaux. L’économie doit être au service de l’homme. Chaque Etat a la souveraineté de décider de son propre ordre économique et notamment de sa monnaie. La protection de la nature et le respect de l’environnement doivent être une priorité pour le bien des générations futures également.
  • … la limitation, dans le cadre du droit, des services de renseignements et des autorités policières de tous les Etats, à remplir leurs tâches essentielles et de mettre fin au prélèvement général et international de données personnelles.

    En effet, chaque personne a le droit à la protection de la sphère de sa vie privée et le droit à la protection de toutes pratiques étatiques arbitraires. Les activités étatiques ne sont légitimes et légales que lorsqu’elles sont soumises au droit et à la loi (principe de l’Etat de droit).
  • … l’annulation de la gouvernance des hommes et des pays dans des situations de dépendances, telle que la servitude pour dettes («dettes odieuses»), la délivrance des pays de la dictature financière de l’UE, du FMI et d’institutions analogues entraînant la perte de leur souveraineté nationale.

    En effet, tous les peuples ont le droit que leur Etat – indépendant de par son territoire et de par sa puissance économique et militaire – soit membre à part entière de la communauté internationale.
  • … la cessation de toute ingérence dans les affaires intérieures des Etats européens – que ce soit par des pressions politiques ou économiques ou en influant sur les résultats de votations imposées – et l’annulation de tout accord conclu de cette manière.

    En effet, tous les peuples ont le droit à l’autodétermination et peuvent en vertu de ce droit, décider librement de leur statut politique et de leur développement économique, social et culturel.
  • … le renoncement de tous les Etats d’Europe à l’usage de la force militaire pour imposer leurs intérêts économiques et politiques et leur reconnaissance et respect du droit international public. Toutes les guerres doivent être terminées.

    En effet, tous les Etats ont le droit à l’intégrité territoriale et à l’indépendance politique. Toute guerre viole les droits humains. Les conflits doivent être résolus de manière pacifique et à la table de négociation. Tout personne a le droit de vivre dans un ordre international qui lui assure une vie en paix et en liberté;

Toute activité humaine doit être fondée sur l’éthique

La bonne foi doit à nouveau être la base du vivre ensemble et de toute activité politique. Sans ce principe, aucune confiance ne peut s’établir dans les accords conclus au sein des Etats et entre les Etats et la porte devient grande ouverte à l’arbitraire. Des mécanismes de gouvernance («Governance») et des techniques de manipulation de toutes sortes, cherchant à influencer subrepticement les personnes par l’abus de méthodes psychologiques, enlèvent au citoyen toute possibilité de se former sa propre opinion de façon indépendante. Elles blessent ainsi la dignité de la personne et détruisent la base de tout dialogue politique et de l’ordre juridique.
De par leur raison et leur compassion, les êtres humains sont capables de reconnaître les orientations fondamentales des activités morales et politiques ainsi que de penser, de sentir et d’agir de manière humaine. Ceci est pour ainsi dire inscrit dans le cœur de l’être humain. Guidées par la raison et la conscience, ces orientations forment et déterminent l’ensemble des règles morales, juridiques et politiques structurant la vie de l’homme et de la société. Elles garantissent la dignité de la personne humaine face aux idéologies éphémères.
Nous n’abandonnerons pas tout ce qui a été acquis et reconnu comme faisant partie du droit et ce qui a valeur de droit, car:

«Tous les êtres humains naissent libres et égaux en dignité et en droits. Ils sont doués de raison et de conscience et doivent agir les uns envers les autres dans un esprit de fraternité.»

Texte adopté par les 300 participants du XXIIIe Congrès international «Mut zur Ethik», consacré au sujet: «Liberté, souveraineté et dignité humaine – un rempart contre le despotisme et la guerre» ayant eu lieu du 4 au 6 septembre 2015 en Suisse. Parmi les participants étaient présents les intervenants de Suisse et de l’étranger: Zoltan Adorjan (Slovaquie), Bob Barr (Etats-Unis), Pr Stanislas Bucyalimwe (Belgique/République démocratique du Congo), Katalin Z. Csörszné (Hongrie), Nicole Duprat (France), Jürgen Elsässer (Allemagne), Père Joseph Emmanuel Seemanpillai (Allemagne/Sri Lanka), évêque Elmar Fischer (Autriche), Heinz Werner Gabriel (Allemagne), Marek Glogoczowski (Pologne), Axel Grunow (Suisse), Eike Hamer (Allemagne), Živadin Jovanovic (Serbie), Germán Muruchi Poma (Allemagne/Bolivie), Pr Velimir Nedeljkovic (Serbie), Moritz Nestor (Suisse), Manfred Paulus (Allemagne), Dr Maria Isabel Pérez de Pio (Argentine), Rudolf Pomaroli (Autriche), Inge Rauscher (Autriche), René Roca (Suisse), Hans Wilde (Autriche), Willy Wimmer (Allemagne), Heinrich Wohlmeyer (Autriche).

© «Mut zur Ethik», case postale 756,
CH-8044 Zurich. Courriel: mze@cybermail.ch