Japan’s Government is calling for the closure of all Departments of Humanities and Social Sciences at the Universities

jpv. The news came like a thunderbolt in Japan: At least 26 universities have already agreed to close its departments of humanities and social sciences or at least to cut them down drastically. 17 of them have indicated that they will not accept any new students in these subjects.
On 8 June, the Japanese Minister of National Education, Hakubun Shimomura, informed the presidents of the 86 universities of the country that they “should close its departments of humanities and social sciences or to change them in order to meet the needs of society more adequately.” It called for “focussing on the areas of study that are useful to the economy”.
The opposition to these measures has come immediately. In August, particularly, the Council of Science of Japan has expressed “strong concerns about such a policy for the future of the humanities and social sciences”. The most prestigious universities in Japan, those of Tokyo and Kyoto have declared that they will not implement these government directives.
Certain observers in Japan fear, however, that the recalcitrant universities could be forced through financial pressures to adopt this policy. The demand of the Minister of Education is aligned with the view of Prime Minister Shinzo Abe. He believes that “education must adapt to the needs of society.” In a lecture at the OECD in 2014, he had stated that “instead of the highly theoretical academic research we want to promote a more technical and professional education, an education that is tailored to the needs of society.”     •

Source: Summary of a report, published in “Le Monde” dated 17.9.2015

Le gouvernement japonais demande la fermeture de tous les départements de sciences humaines et sociales des universités

 

jpv. Un coup de tonnerre au Japon. Au moins 26 universités ont déjà accepté de fermer leurs départements de sciences humaines et sociales ou du moins de diminuer leurs activités. 17 d’entre-elles ont indiqué de ne plus accepter de nouveaux étudiants dans ces filières.
Le 8 juin, le ministre japonais de l’Education nationale Hakubun Shimomura a demandé aux présidents des 86 universités du pays d’«accélérer la suppression des départements de sciences sociales et d’humanités ou de les transformer en départements répondant mieux aux besoins de la société», car il faut «se concentrer sur des domaines d’enseignements utiles à l’économie».
L’opposition à ces mesures ne s’est pas fait attendre. Notamment le Conseil scientifique du Japon a exprimé en août sa «vive préoccupation d’une telle directive sur le futur de la discipline des sciences humaines et sociales. Les plus prestigieuses universités du pays, celles de Tokyo et Kyoto, ont déclaré qu’elles n’appliqueraient pas les directives gouvernementales.
Certains observateurs au Japon craignent cependant que des pressions financières soient exercées sur les établissements pour les contraindre à adopter cette politique. La demande du ministre de l’Education nationale correspond à la vision du Premier ministre conservateur Shinzo Abe qui considère que «l’éducation doit s’adapter aux besoins de la société». Dans un discours à l’OCDE en 2014, il avait ainsi déclaré «plutôt que d’approfondir les recherches universitaires hautement théoriques, nous encouragerons une éducation plus technique et professionnelle qui anticipe mieux les besoins de la société».

Sources: Résumé d’une information parue dans «Le Monde» et «Le Figaro» du 17 et 18 septembre 2015