A nuclear power plant in Bolivia using lithium instead of uranium?

npa/bha. In March this year, the “Neue Zürcher Zeitung” informed it’s readers that the Bolivian Government has issued an agreement with the Russian state corporation Rosatom, after which Rosatom will build a nuclear research center in El Alto. There was talk among others of a nuclear research reactor supporting Bolivia in using nuclear energy. Bolivia would be the third country in South America using nuclear energy besides Brazil and Argentina. But was the “Neue Zürcher Zeitung” really uninformed of what the type this reactor will be? Nothing has been specified in more detail, the reader has to speculate, if he wanted to.
Meanwhile, several news agencies report about the groundbreaking ceremony and the signing of the treaties that regulate the nuclear research center and nail down its financing. Xinhuanet reports: Bolivian Vice President Alvaro Garcia Linera stated on July 8, 2016 at the signing ceremony “that as an exporter of lithium used in nuclear fusion, Bolivia should learn how to make the most of the natural resource. We can’t have the world using lithium over the next 20, 30 or 50 years, while we Bolivians remain incapable of using lithium for our own benefit. We have lived like this for 500 years. For 500 years we have used Bolivia’s raw materials so that other countries around the world would develop science, technology and industry, and we don’t want to repeat that history. That’s why we have made a decision: to plant today so we can harvest in 2025, 2030, 2040”
A Belarusian news Agency reported that it was remarkable that Rosatom dares such a research reactor project that requires cutting edge technology. The project was connected with very ambitious tasks.
Current Concerns wants to bring up some background information.
In March 2012, Current Concerns published excerpts from a brochure of the German author Dipl. Ing. Heinz Werner Gabriel. Title: “Nuclear power without radioactivity - no dream: From uranium to lithium fuel”*.
It concerns the principle concept of a nuclear reactor which operates on the basis of splitting of lithium by means of hydrogen isotope “Deuterium”. This produces two inactive helium nuclei and per gram lithium-6 an energy equivalent of up to 10,000 kg oil (this is three times more than energy out of one gram of uranium). The worldwide available lithium reserves exceed those of oil many times over. Heinz Werner Gabriel took up again attempts in England and Germany from the time before Otto Hahn (1938). He looked back and reappraised them, updated them technically and made them available to an interested audience.
Only a few media, such as for example, ADN, Klagemauer TV and PravdaTV took the theme up. Although Switzerland and the EU probably have technologically a leading position and have sufficient financial resources, professionals and knowledge, there were no adequate responses. But the Bolivian Embassy in Berne had invited the expert Gabriel to a detailed conversation.
The energy debates run high in the aftermath of Fukushima (2011), the “phase-out of nuclear energy” and the “energy revolution” have been discussed again and again … but there was surprisingly no understanding for a nuclear technology that has no uranium and harmful radioactivity. Well, as a renewed “exit from exit” would make the professional incompetence of the political decision makers too evident. Comments were limited to subtle defamation.
Meanwhile, Bolivia’s Government has adopted the approach. In October 2014, Bolivia’s President Evo Morales announced the construction of the first nuclear power plant for 2025. Bolivia is extraordinarily rich in lithium, in particular from the Salar de Uyuni. The “golden” natural resources should according to the will of Evo Morales not mined and taken out of the country, like the silver at times of Potosi. It was agreed that the lithium resources should be processed in the country, to bring an advantage to the entire population. Rosatom took up the concept, it probably underwent a feasibility study and it was concluded, that this constituted a very energy-efficient technology. One can assume that Rosatom wouldn’t do a blind bargain...
Dipl-Ing. Gabriel mentions 3 points concerning the further development of nuclear lithium technology:

  1. the Bolivian initiative is welcomed. There is hope that results secretly achieved since years in dominant countries, can be reproduced in Latin America under democratic principles. It is useful to back up the project by BRICS countries.
  2. Some comments on the lithium fission showed that depth and breadth of nuclear knowledge greatly decreased in the last few decades in Germany. Economy and science should not accept, to be competed out of a major technological and economic activity.
  3. it is satisfying, to be able to fantasize detached from constraints about the unusual perspectives of this light metal. To name are space engines, energy for secluded areas of life (how much lithium would be needed for a human to survive?) and defence systems.         •

*    After 20 November 2016 an extended edition of the brochure can be ordered at Current Concerns.

Une centrale nucléaire en Bolivie au lithium à la place de l’uranium?

npa/bha. Au mois de mars 2016, la «Neue Zürcher Zeitung» a informé ses lecteurs que le gouvernement de la Bolivie a conclu un accord avec l’entreprise russe étatique Rosatom portant sur la construction d’un centre de recherche nucléaire à El Alto. Il y est mentionné, entre autres, un réacteur nucléaire de recherche permettant finalement à la Bolivie l’utilisation de l’énergie nucléaire. La Bolivie serait alors le troisième pays d’Amérique latine disposant de l’énergie nucléaire. La «Neue Zürcher Zeitung» ne savait-elle vraiment pas de quel type de réacteur de recherche il s’agissait? On n’y trouvait aucune précision et le lecteur ne pouvait que spéculer.
Entre temps, plusieurs agences d’informations ont affirmé que la première pierre était posée et que la signature des contrats, réglant tous les détails concernant le centre de recherche nucléaire et son financement, était finalisée. Selon Xinhuanet, le vice-président de la Bolivie, M. Alvaro Garcia Linera aurait dit, lors de la signature le 8 juillet 2016: «As an exporter of lithium used in nuclear fusion, Bolivia should learn how to make the most of the natural resource. We can’t have the world using lithium over the next 20, 30 or 50 years, while we Bolivians remain unable of using lithium for our own benefit. We have lived like this for 500 years. For 500 years we have used Bolivia’s raw materials so that other countries around the world would develop science, technology and industry, and we don’t want to repeat that story. That’s why we have made a decision: to plant today so we can harvest in 2025, 2030, 2040.»
[«En tant que pays exportateur de lithium pouvant être utilisé pour la fusion nucléaire, la Bolivie doit apprendre à profiter le mieux possible de sa richesse naturelle. Nous ne pouvons admettre que le monde utilise le lithium pendant les prochaines 20, 30 ou 50 années, alors que nous autres Boliviens restons incapables de l’utiliser pour notre propre bien. Nous avons vécu ainsi pendant 500 ans. Nous avons utilisé pendant 500 ans nos matières premières pour que d’autres pays du monde entier puissent développer la science, la technologie et l’industrie. Nous ne voulons pas continuer ainsi. Pour cette raison, nous avons pris une décision: semer aujourd’hui pour récolter en 2025, 2030, 2040.»] (Traduction Horizons et débats)
Une agence biélorusse rapporte qu’il est remarquable que Rosatom ose créer un tel projet de recherche demandant la cutting-edge-technology – une technologie de pointe dans ce domaine – et que ce projet est lié à des tâches très ambitieuses.
Horizons et débats aimerait y ajouter quelques informations supplémentaires.
Le 19 mars 2012, Horizons et débats (no 11) a publié un extrait d’une brochure de l’auteur allemand et ingénieur diplômé Heinz Werner Gabriel intitulée: «L’énergie nucléaire sans radioactivité n’est pas un rêve – du combustible nucléaire uranium vers le lithium.»*
Il s’agit de la conception d’un réacteur nucléaire fonctionnant sur la base de la fission du lithium à l’aide de l’hydrogène lourd, le deutérium. Ainsi, on obtient deux noyaux de hélium inactifs et par gramme de Lithium-6 un équivalent énergétique de jusqu’à 10 000 kg de pétrole, donc trois fois plus que d’un gramme d’uranium. Les réserves mondiales de lithium dépassent de plusieurs fois celles du pétrole. Heinz Werner Gabriel a repris des expériences faites au cours des années datant d’avant Otto Hahn (1938) en Angleterre et en Allemagne, les a mises à jour techniquement et les a rendues accessibles pour un public intéressé.
Ce ne sont que de rares médias qui ont repris le sujet, comme par exemple ADN, Klagemauer TV et Pravda-TV. Bien que la Suisse et l’Union européenne se situent probablement à la pointe technologique et disposent de suffisamment de moyens financiers, de spécialistes et de connaissances, des réactions franches et adéquates manquent. Par contre, l’ambassade de la Bolivie à Berne invita le spécialiste Gabriel pour un entretien circonstancié.
Les ondes du débat sur l’énergie déferlèrent après Fukushima en 2011; la «sortie du nucléaire» et le «tournant énergétique» furent ruminés ad nauseam. Mais, étonnamment, personne ne s’est intéressé à une technologie nucléaire qui se passe de l’uranium et de la radioactivité nocive. Probablement, parce qu’une nouvelle «sortie de la sortie du nucléaire» rendrait l’incompétence factuelle des décideurs politiques trop visible. Les prises de position se limitèrent à la diffamation subtile.
Entre temps, le gouvernement de la Bolivie a travaillé le dossier. En octobre 2014, le président Evo Morales a annoncé la construction de la première centrale nucléaire pour 2025. La Bolivie est extraordinairement riche en lithium, en particulier au Salar de Uyuni. L’«or» de ce sel ne devrait pas être extrait et transporté hors du pays, comme l’argent au temps de Potosi. Il y a un consensus que les réserves de lithium doivent être transformées dans le pays pour que toute la population puisse en profiter. Rosatom a repris l’idée, probablement après avoir fait une étude de faisabilité et a conclu qu’il s’agit d’une technologie énergétiquement très efficace. On peut présumer que Rosatom n’achète pas chat en poche …
L’ingénieur Heinz Werner Gabriel mentionne trois points concernant le développement ultérieur de la technologie nucléaire du lithium:

  1. On salue l’initiative de la Bolivie. On peut espérer que les résultats secrets obtenus dans des pays puissants seront utilisés en Amérique latine dans un cadre démocratique. Il serait judicieux que les BRICS sécurisent le projet.
  2. Quelques commentaires sur la fission du lithium ont montré que l’ampleur des connaissances en technologie nucléaire en Allemagne a fortement diminué au cours des dernières décennies. L’économie et la science ne devraient pas accepter d’être évincées d’une branche importante de l’économie et de la technologie.
  3. Il est satisfaisant de pouvoir imaginer des perspectives inhabituelles du métal léger (lithium) sans pressions extérieures. Par exemple, des réacteurs pour les vols spatiaux, de l’énergie pour des domaines de vie confinés (un homme aurait besoin de combien de lithium pour survivre?) et pour des systèmes de défense.     •

*     Une version actualisée de cette brochure (en allemand) sera disponible dès le 20 novembre 2016 à l’adresse d’Horizons et débats.