Prima i nostri! Ticino population tackles ruling of immigration themselves

by Dr iur Marianne Wüthrich

On 25 September 2016, the Ticino population clearly adopted the cantonal referendum “Prima i nostri” (first our own people) with 58.02 per cent yes votes. The counter ­proposal of the Gran Consiglio (Parliament) was also clearly rejected. So the voters give a clear signal to Berne: If the Federal Parliament does not implement the Mass Immigration initiative, then we just do it ourselves.

62,179 cross-border commuters worked in Ticino in June 2016, equivalent to almost one-third of the approximately 200,000 jobs1. The foreigners’ rate resident in the canton of Ticino is 27.6%, therefore higher than the Swiss average (24.6%, end of 2015). With its 350,000 inhabitants, the Italian-speaking southern canton faces huge Lombardy with 10 million inhabitants who speak the same language, but suffer from a much higher unemployment than the Ticino neighbours and understandably are attracted by the high Swiss wages too.
Knowing what will be ahead of them, the Ticino population have rejected the Bilateral I with the corresponding free movement of persons almost as the only canton in the year 2000 with 57% no. In February 2014 they said most clearly yes to the Mass Immigration initiative with 68.2%.

“Bottom up protection clause” instead of uniform threshold value prescribed from above

As the Federal Council draft for the regulation of immigration was published in spring 2016, the Ticino Government informed the media: Setting a threshold beyond which quotas were introduced, will not help the Ticino at all, so State Council President Norman Gobbi on 6 March 2016, because it does not take account of frontier workers. There are the frontier workers who contribute in Ticino to significantly higher unemployment, wage dumping and congestion on the roads.
As alternative to the Federal Council’s proposal the Ticinese Government therefore presented a “bottom up protection clause”, worked out by Michael Ambühl, former Secretary of State and Swiss chief negotiator on their behalf. Regional labour markets indicators such as unemployment rates, wage levels or cost of living should serve as criteria for restricting immigration. The situation in heavily affected regions should turn the balance for a restriction of immigration, not a number prescribed from above and valid for whole Switzerland. (cf. “Berner Zeitung” 7 March)
The fact that in the autumn session the National Council didn’t take this sensible proposal into consideration certainly contributed to the fact that the Ticino population said so clearly yes to the initiative “Prima i nostri” on 25 September.

A priority for nationals that deserves this name

The central point of the new Ticino regulation: The principle of the priority of nationals according to Article 121a of the Federal Constitution (control of immigration) is anchored in the Constitution of the Canton:
Article 14 paragraph 1: “the Canton ensures that […]” “b. on the labour market its inhabitants are preferred to foreigners, if they have same qualifications (implementation of the principle of the priority of national workers)”.
This means for the employers who are looking for an employee that they must first prove that no suitable workers are available in Ticino before they employ a cross-border worker or an immigrant from Italy.
If we compare the regulation established by the people of Ticino with the powerless “National priority light” which the majority of the National Council has approved on 21 September as first Council, we can well understand our compatriots from beyond the Gotthard. A job reporting obligation of the employer in case of excess of a hitherto unknown threshold value does not help the Ticino workers and job seekers. They need immediate remedy to the previously unrestricted influx of cross-border workers and immigrants which depresses the wages of the workforce and force up the unemployment and hence social assistance costs (see box).

Not feasible?

The concerns of the cantons are to be respected by the federal authorities
In the Italian media, loud howls of protest arose after the Ticino referendum. Thereby, in a people-friendly economy it would be actually clear that the companies first employ those job seekers who already live in the country.
In Switzerland, some say that the initiative is not feasible, because the canton shouldn’t penetrate into areas which are in the competence of the Federal Government or are regulated by treaties with foreign countries. In particular, it was unclear whether the amendment of the purpose article of the Cantonal Constitution associated with the initiative “Prima i nostri” was allowed:

“Article 4 purpose article
“Paragraph 1 The Canton [...] wakes that international treaties concluded by the Confederation and the Foreign Nationals Act thus affected are applied without violating the personal and social rights of the persons living on the cantonal territory and in full respect of the reciprocity between states.” [Translation Current Concerns]

What should be not allowed there? The new Ticino Constitution norm corresponds to the strong position of the cantons in the federalist political system: “The cantons are sovereign insofar as their sovereignty is not limited by the Federal Constitution; they exercise all rights which are not transferred to the Federal Government.” It says so in Article 3 of the Federal Constitution. It is almost the right and obligation of the cantonal authorities to protest and intervene actively, if federal authorities do not follow the Constitution! One could speak of an actual cantons’ right to resist.
After the cantonal referendum of the initiative “Prima i nostri” the Federal Assembly will decide whether it wants to ensure the changes of the Ticino Constitution (as not contradicting a federal law). (Article 51 paragraph 2 of the Federal Constitution) This won’t be a legal, but a political decision first and foremost. If the Parliament in Bern prefers to have cooperative cantons at its side, it won’t refuse ensuring Ticino. It would be wiser to consider the concerns and problems of the individual cantons and to include them into the federal decisions. This includes no doubt immigration and in particular the question of the priority of the residents so that the border cantons and particularly the Ticino aren’t left alone with their urgent concerns. Otherwise the authorities in Berne may not be surprised, if one or the other Canton takes its affairs into their own hands.     •

1     Federal Statistical Office (FSO), Employment and workweek, Cross-border Commuters

Higher unemployment and lower wages close to the border

“The latest wage data for 2014 again yield information that border workers in the Canton Ticino and the Jurassic Arc achieve lower wages on average than local workers with identical features: The wage difference is around 6%.” – “ For the border regions, it should be noted that, despite the difficult economic environment, cross-border employment continued to grow during the last year, with the exception of the canton of Ticino, where the number of cross-border workers remained at a high level.
Particularly in the Lake Geneva region, in Ticino, and in the Jurassic Arc, cross-border workers make up a high proportion of local employment; at the same time, the unemployment rate in these regions is clearly above the Swiss average.”

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO Media release on the Free Movement of Persons from 5.7.2016; extract

(Translation Current Concerns)

Prima i nostri! La population tessinoise prend elle-même en main la gestion de l’immigration

par Marianne Wüthrich, docteur en droit

Le 25 septembre 2016, les Tessinois ont clairement accepté l’initiative cantonale «Prima i nostri» [D’abord nos propres citoyens] avec 58,02% des voix. Le contre-projet du Grand Conseil (Parlement) a été rejeté tout aussi clairement. Ainsi les électeurs ont donné un signal clair en direction de Berne: si le Parlement fédéral ne met pas en œuvre l’initiative contre l’immigration de masse, nous le ferons nous-mêmes.

[Translate to fr:] Prima i nostri! Tessiner Bevölkerung packt die Regelung der Zuwanderung selbst an

En juin 2016, il y avait 62 179 frontaliers travaillant au Tessin, c’est-à-dire environ un tiers des 200 000 emplois.1 Le taux d’étrangers vivant au Tessin est avec 27,6% aussi plus haut que la moyenne suisse (24,6%, fin 2015). Avec ses 350 000 habitants, le canton italophone du sud des Alpes se trouve face à la Lombardie avec 10 millions d’habitants parlant la même langue, mais souffrant d’un taux de chômage beaucoup plus élevé que les voisins tessinois et ils se sentent attirés par les salaires élevés en Suisse, ce qui est bien compréhensible.
Sachant à quoi ils seraient confrontés, les Tessinois refusèrent, comme l’un des seuls cantons et déjà en 2000, les Bilatérales I comprenant la libre circulation des personnes avec 57% des voix. En février 2014, ils acceptèrent avec 68,2% des voix le plus clairement de tous les cantons l’initiative contre l’immigration de masse.

«Clause de sauvegarde ascendante» au lieu de seuils uniques décrétées d’en haut

Lorsque le projet du Conseil fédéral pour la gestion de l’immigration a été présenté au printemps 2016, le gouvernement tessinois s’est adressé aux médias. Le 6 mars 2016, le président du Conseil d’Etat Norman Gobbi a déclaré que la fixation d’un seuil, qui entrainerait l’introduction des contingents, ne servait à rien au Tessin, car il ne tient pas compte des frontaliers. Car au Tessin ce sont les frontaliers qui contribuent principalement au chômage élevé, au dumping salarial et aux embouteillages sur les routes.
C’est pourquoi le gouvernement tessinois a présenté un projet alternatif à celui du Conseil fédéral, une clause de sauvegarde ascendante («bottom up»), que Michael Ambühl, ancien secrétaire d’Etat et négociateur en chef, avait élaboré à sa demande. Les critères pour la limitation de l’immigration seraient les indicateurs du marché d’emploi régional, notamment le taux de chômage, le niveau salarial ou le coût de la vie. Primordial pour la limitation de l’immigration doit être la situation dans les régions gravement affectées et non pas un chiffre décrété d’en haut valable pour toute la Suisse. (cf. «Berner Zeitung» du 7 mars)
Le fait que le Conseil national n’a pas pris en considération cette proposition raisonnable lors de la session d’automne a certainement contribué, le 25 septembre, au vote clair des Tessinois en faveur de l’initiative «Prima i nostri».

Une préférence indigène méritant ce nom

Le point central de la nouvelle réglementation tessinoise: elle ancre dans la Constitution cantonale, le principe de la préférence indigène, dans le sens de l’article 121a de la Constitution fédérale (gestion de l’immigration):
Art. 14 al. 1: «Le canton prend les mesures nécessaires pour que […] b. sur le marché du travail, la préférence de ses habitants soit garantie face aux personnes venant de l’étranger, s’ils ont les mêmes qualifications professionnelles (réalisation du principe de la préférence indigène)» (Traduction de l’italien Horizons et débats)
Donc, c’est aux employeurs cherchant un collaborateur de prouver qu’il n’y a pas de travailleurs appropriés au Tessin, avant de pouvoir embaucher un frontalier ou un immigrant italien.
Si l’on compare la réglementation établie par le peuple tessinois avec la peu efficace «préférence indigène light» que la majorité du Conseil national a adopté en tant que premier conseil le 21 septembre, nous pouvons bien comprendre nos compatriotes d’outre-Gothard. Les déclarations obligatoires d’emplois pour les patrons au cas d’un dépassement d’un seuil encore inconnu ne soulagent en rien la situation des employés et demandeurs d’emploi tessinois. Ils ont besoin d’un remède immédiat contre l’afflux illimité de frontaliers et d’immigrants entraînant des salaires plus bas des travailleurs et augmentant le chômage et donc également les coûts de l’aide sociale. (cf. encadré)

Pas réalisable? Les autorités fédérales doivent respecter les préoccupations des cantons

Après le vote populaire tessinois, il y eut tout de suite de fortes protestations dans les médias italiens. Pourtant cela devrait être évident dans une économie adaptée à l’homme que les entreprises embauchent d’abord les demandeurs d’emploi vivant déjà dans le pays.
A l’intérieur du pays, en revanche, on entend des voix affirmant que cette initiative ne peut être mise en œuvre, parce que le canton n’a pas le droit de s’immiscer dans les domaines soumis à la compétence de la Confédération ou réglés par des accords interétatiques. Il serait notamment incertain, si l’ajout à l’article consacré au but dans la Constitution cantonale est licite:

«Article 4 – but
al. 1 Le canton […] veille à ce que les accords internationaux conclus par la Confédération et le droit sur les étrangers concerné soient appliqués sans violer les droits personnels et sociaux des personnes vivant sur le territoire cantonal et en plein respect de la réciprocité entre les Etats.» (Traduction Horizons et débats)

Quel aspect ne serait pas licite? La nouvelle norme constitutionnelle tessinoise correspond à la forte position des cantons dans notre système étatique fédéraliste: «Les cantons sont souverains tant que leur souveraineté n’est pas limitée par la Constitution fédérale et exercent tous les droits qui ne sont pas délégués à la Confédération.» (Art. 3 de la Constitution fédérale). C’est pour ainsi dire le droit et l’obligation des autorités cantonales de protester et d’intervenir activement, si les autorités fédérales ne se tiennent pas à la Constitution! On pourrait parler ici d’un véritable droit des cantons à la résistance.
Après la décision populaire cantonale concernant l’initiative «Prima i nostri», l’Assemblée fédérale décidera, si elle veut garantir les changements de la Constitution tessinoise (comme n’étant pas contraires au droit fédéral) (Art. 51 al. 2 de la Constitution fédérale). Cela ne sera en premier lieu pas une décision juridique, mais plutôt politique. Si le Parlement à Berne préfère avoir des cantons coopératifs à ses côtés, il ne refusera pas sa garantie au Tessin. Il est plus intelligent de prendre au sérieux les préoccupations et besoins individuels des cantons et de les intégrer dans les décisions au niveau de la Confédération. Il est de loin préférable de régler l’immigration et notamment la préférence indigène dans les cantons frontaliers, et spécialement du Tessin, de manière à ne pas laisser ces cantons seuls avec leurs soucis pressants. Sinon les autorités fédérales à Berne ne devront pas s’étonner, si l’un ou l’autre des cantons prendra lui-même ses affaires en main.    •

1     Office fédéral de la statistique (OFS) / activité professionnelle et temps de travail / données détaillées / frontaliers

Davantage de chômage et des salaires plus bas dans les régions frontalières

«Les dernières données sur les salaires pour l’année 2014 montrent une nouvelle fois que, au Tessin et dans l'Arc jurassien, les frontaliers reçoivent des salaires en moyenne inférieurs à ceux de la population active résidente présentant des caractéristiques similaires; l'écart salarial se monte à environ 6%.» – «Il faut aussi noter que, malgré le contexte conjoncturel difficile, l'augmentation de l'emploi des frontaliers s'est poursuivie dans les régions frontalières l'année passée, sauf dans le canton du Tessin, où le nombre de frontaliers est resté stable à un niveau cependant élevé.
Les frontaliers occupent une part importante des emplois locaux surtout dans la région lémanique, au Tessin et dans l'Arc jurassien; parallèlement, le taux de chômage dans ces régions est clairement supérieur à la moyenne suisse.»

Secrétariat d’Etat à l’économie SECO, Communiqué de presse sur la libre circulation des personnes du 5/7/16; extraits