A credible alternative to the EU is desperately needed

by Dieter Sprock

People may think whatever they want of the vote on the EU Association Agreement with Ukraine in the Netherlands - the result is clear: it is a vote of no confidence against the EU! Thus after their “No” to the EU constitution in 2005 the Dutch population has also used the second instance of their being allowed to vote on a proposal to express their dissatisfaction with EU policies. Just as a quick reminder: In 2005 nearly 62% of the Dutch – with a turnout of 63% – rejected the European Constitutional Treaty. In France 56% voted against the adoption of the EU Constitution at that time, so that after these successful referendums this treaty never gained legal force, and yet it was reissued as the Lisbon Treaty in 2009.
However, the voices critical of the EU are not limited to the Netherlands and France. In Great Britain a vote on the EU-exit of England is imminent, and the result of this is open. And in many European countries EU-critical parties are gaining more and more popularity. In some of those countries they even form the democratically elected government. The countries of the so-called Visegrad Group – which include Poland, Hungary, the Czech Republic and Slovakia – refuse to accept the dictate of the EU with regard to its immigration policy.
So far the EU-authorities and the established parties have done nothing but attach far-fetched negative labels to the critics and promise better communication – that is more propaganda – as a solution for the EU. But, with more and more people, such sweet-sounding and enticingly upbeat public pronouncements do not have the desired effect any longer. Their hope for a better life has been disappointed.
Even the free-market “Neue Zürcher Zeitung” features headlines like “Picking tomatoes for a pittance” (15 October 2015) or “Starvation wages in Eastern Europe’s clothing stores” (3 March 2016). It reports on the miserable working and living conditions of the harvesters in Italy, who are even defrauded of their wages and harassed while working extremely hard, and that not only in individual cases.
If well-known European fashion companies have their exclusive and expensive goods produced in Bulgaria and Romania at low wages which are below the poverty line in wide areas, and if these companies exert pressure on the governments to enforce their interests, then it is not about explaining the EU more clearly to these people, but about changing the system that produces such abuses.
Across the EU the scale of minimum wages ranges from 1.06 euros to 11.12 euros. And Gyögy Dalos writes in the  “Neue Zürcher Zeitung” of 29 February 2016 that the “normal range” of youth unemployment is between 15% and 25%. However, in Greece it is 48.6%, in Spain 46.0% and in Croatia 44.0%.
If people are not offerered a credible alternative to the EU system soon, Europe will be facing hard times.
The Swiss Federal Council and the parliamentary majority have to think twice about whether they wish to continue letting themselves be extorted by this EU, as has happened recently, when, under pressure from the EU, they agreed to the extension of the free movement of persons to include Croatia, in order to allow Switzerland to continue its participation in EU research projects. Anyway, they cannot count on the people’s approval when prostrating themselves in that way.    •

Il est urgent de trouver une alternative crédible à l’UE

par Dieter Sprock

Indépendamment de ce qu’on pense du vote aux Pays-Bas sur l’Accord d’association entre l’UE et l’Ukraine, le résultat est clair: ce fut un vote de défiance envers l’UE! Ainsi, la population néerlandaise a profité, après le Non au Traité instituant une Constitution européenne de 2005, de sa deuxième opportunité de s’exprimer sur un projet et de manifester son mécontentement face à la politique de l’UE.
Rappel: en 2005, près de 62% des Néerlandais ont rejeté le Traité constitutionnel européen avec une participation de 63%, en France ils étaient à l’époque 56% à s’y opposer. Cette prétendue Constitution européenne, n’ayant jamais acquis force de loi suite à ces référendums à succès, a été rééditée sous le nom de Traité de Lisbonne en 2009.
Les voix critiques envers l’UE ne se limitent pas aux Pays-Bas et à la France. En Grande-Bretagne, un vote sur la sortie de l’Angleterre de l’UE est imminent et l’issue est ouverte. Dans de nombreux pays européens, les partis eurosceptiques gagnent en popularité. Dans certains, ils forment même le gouvernement démocratiquement élu. Les pays du dit Groupe de Visegrad – comprenant la Pologne, la Hongrie, la République tchèque et la Slovaquie – résistent aux diktats de l’UE concernant la politique d’immigration.
Les dirigeants de l’UE et les partis établis se limitent jusqu’à présent à fixer des étiquettes négatives sur toute personne critique et promettent en guise de solution des problèmes une meilleure communication – donc davantage de propagande – au sein de l’UE. Mais, de tels actes de séduction n’ont plus guère d’impact sur les populations. Celles-ci ont perdu l’illusion d’un espoir d’une vie meilleure.
Même le quotidien de l’économie libérale «Neue Zürcher Zeitung» présente des titres tels «Cultiver des tomates pour une bouchée de pain» (15/10/15) ou «Salaire de famine dans les fabriques d’habits d’Europe de l’Est» (3/3/16) et décrit le travail et les conditions de vie misérables des moissonneurs en Italie, escroqués de leur salaire et harcelés au travail et cela pas seulement dans des cas individuels.
Lorsque des entreprises de mode européennes renommées se font produire leurs articles exclusifs et coûteux, à bas salaires en Bulgarie et en Roumanie – pays se situant loin au-dessous du seuil de pauvreté – et que ces sociétés font encore pression sur les gouvernements pour faire valoir leurs intérêts, alors, il ne s’agit pas de mieux expliquer l’UE à ces personnes, mais de transformer sérieusement le système produisant de tels abus.
L’échelle des salaires minimums varie dans l’UE de 1,06 euros à 11,12 euros. Le taux de chômage des jeunes varie «normalement» entre 15 et 25%, selon Gyogy Dalos dans la «Neue Zürcher Zeitung» du 29/2/16. Cependant, en Grèce, ce taux s’élève à 48,6%, en Espagne à 46% et en Croatie à 44%.
Si l’on ne parvient pas rapidement à offrir aux citoyens de ces pays une alternative crédible au système de l’UE, l’Europe va traverser une période difficile.
Le Conseil fédéral suisse et la majorité parlementaire doivent bien y réfléchir s’ils veulent continuer de se faire mettre sous pression par l’UE comme récemment, avant d’accepter l’élargissement de la libre circulation des personnes à la Croatie, afin que la Suisse puisse continuer à participer à des projets européens de recherche. Avec de telles courbettes, nos autorités ne pourront certainement pas compter sur le consentement du peuple.    •