Framework agreement with Brussels or self-determination of Swiss citizens?

Direct democratic freedom of choice as a red line

by Dr iur. Marianne Wüthrich

Amazing developments are currently taking place in Swiss EU policy. For years politicians and entrepreneurs from various political factions have been calling for an institutional framework agreement with Brussels in order to have alledgedly more legal certainty in their business relations and cultural exchange projects. So loud were their voices that some EU bodies believed that “Switzerland” really wanted such an agreement and could therefore be put under pressure in many ways. For years, too, critical contemporaries have drawn attention to the incompatibility of such an agreement with the direct democratic rights of the citizens, without being noticed by the mainstream so far.
    Thus it is a pleasure that some trade unionists and social democrats come to realize that the obligation to take over EU law and the decisions of the European Court of Justice are not abstract ideas that we would somehow manage, but that social partnership and the entire state structure would be quite shaken up.

After the Federal Council had not revealed for years what he was actually negotiating in Brussels, head of FDFA1 Ignazio Cassis recently tried to address the growing discontent in the population by attempting to draw different “red lines” towards the EU; however, it reacted without any accommodation.2
Now finally movement has come into the matter. Paul Rechsteiner, President of the Swiss union federation (SGB) and SP member of the Council of States, has set out the markers by declaring the current accompanying measures to the free movement of persons agreement AFMP to be a real, that is, inalienable, red line. Shortly thereafter, the presidents of the major parties SP, FDP and CVP followed suit (the SVP is against a framework agreement anyway) and all of a sudden they unanimously demanded a provisional stop to negotiation with the EU. But now one thing at the time.
Controversial  red line:

Accompanying measures to the Free Movement Agreement AFMP

As a reminder: The 1999 Bilateral I were supported by the Social Democrats and the Swiss union federation only under the condition that the immigration of workers from EU countries would be accompanied by measures to protect domestic workers. Because it is well known that Switzerland has the lowest unemployment rate and the highest wages. The immigration was then also much larger than the Federal Council claimed in advance, a great burden especially for the border cantons, which are attractive especially for cross-border commuters (currently more 300,000). Therefore, the accompanying measures are indispensable for the domestic workers in today’s design.
They have been in force since 1 June 2004 and “allow the monitoring of compliance with minimum or usual conditions of work and pay at the place of work”. These controls mainly take place on construction sites and in the catering and hotel industry and are working more or less. There are also additional measures and sanctions.3 What could not be foreseen: since the first days after Bilateral I became operative, a flood of so-called self-employed people poured into the border cantons. In order to curb abuse, the Confederation laid down in the Posted Workers Act4 that service providers have to prove their independence on request (Article 1a) and have to comply with a notification period of 8 days (Article 6 (3)).

The EU lays down the law, the Federal Council knuckles under…

The Swiss accompanying measures have already been a thorn in the side of the EU for a long time, because they are much stricter than the EU regulation in several respects. For example, according to the EU, the 8-day rule is discriminatory for foreign companies. Furthermore, the EU makes the strange demand that Switzerland is allowed to control a maximum of 3 percent of companies and self-employed persons from the EU. An open invitation to take a chance on infringements? According to the daily press, today the Swiss inspectors check approximately one third of the companies and question the wages of one sixth of them, With 7 percent of the self-employed, they suspect bogus self-employment. Should we promote fraud and corruption henceforth? Finally, the EU is bothered by the fact that the legality of the accompanying measures is controlled by Swiss administrative authorities and courts and not by its own.5
In a nutshell: as in many other areas, the EU wants to impose its own rules and jurisdiction on Swiss worker protection. After all, that is the purpose of the framework agreement! In any case, Federal Councillor Johann Schneider-Ammann, head of the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER) has understood the message from Brussels: he wants to shape the accompanying measures in “an EU accepted form”, which has to withstand “a possible assessment by the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU)”.6 Savvy?

… and SUF President Rechsteiner is in opposition

SUF President Paul Rechsteiner: “It would be naive to assume that the EU Commission is only concerned about the pre-registration period of eight days. Much more, the Commission wants a lever to influence Swiss wage protection as a whole, in order to weaken it.”
Responding to the EU having substantially tightened its Posting Directive: “The level of protection of the EU and Switzerland is not comparable. Our country needs independent and strong wage protection because we have the highest wages by far. The European trade unions are warning us not to make concessions. Ask the Austrians how glad they would be about our options for wage protection.”
On the warning against further reprisals by the EU: “The EU has just as much an interest in good relations with Switzerland as vice versa. I’ll keep calm.”
And more fundamentally: “If Brussels makes the framework agreement conditional on wage protection, then we make do without it. When negotiating, it is useful to keep calm anyway. Otherwise, our interests cannot be defended effectively.”
7
Remarkable tips for Swiss Federal Councillors and negotiators in Brussels!

Radical change of course of the party presidents

Half a year ago, it still has sounded like this: “Move on with the institutional framework agreement!” SP party president Christian Levrat and CVP foreign affairs politician Elisabeth Schneider-Schneiter announce the timetable desired by their party leaders: The referendum on a package deal including the Bilateral III, and the framework agreement, is to take place before the federal elections in October 2019. (“Neue Zürcher Zeitung” from 6 January 2018)
Today, FDP President Petra Gössi: “In my opinion, the Federal Council must now break off negotiations with employers and the cantons.” Without trade unions, “a solution based on social partnership would be hopeless”. In this way, “no majority can be found in Parliament for a framework agreement.” Gössi concludes: “If the Federal Council does not reach an agreement on the contents with Brussels, negotiations with the EU should be suspended for the time being.”
SP President Christian Levrat and CVP President Gerhard Pfister also call for the suspension of negotiations and the negotiation of a “standstill agreement” with the EU in order to avoid further reprisals on the part of Brussels.8

The red line for us as citizens

Just electoral tactics, to lose not too many voters to the SVP, which has always been against a framework agreement? Will the suspension be cancelled immediately after the parliamentary elections in October 2019 and will we continue on the one-way street to Brussels? If only the gentlemen don’t miscalculate!
The consequence for the vast majority of Swiss citizens is clear: we draw the red line where our direct democratic freedom of choice would be curtailed.

1    Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
2    see “Institutional Framework Agreement Switzerland-EU – Strategy or Confusion?”, In: Current Concerns Nr. 14, 29.6.2018
3    Swiss Confederation, Free movement of persons, Accompanying Measures (https://www.personenfreizuegigkeit.admin.ch/fza/de/home/aufenthalt_und_arbeitsmarkt/flankierende_massnahmen.html)
4    Bundesgesetz über die flankierenden Massnahmen bei entsandten Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitneh- mern und über die Kontrolle der in Normalarbeits- verträgen vorgesehenen Mindestlöhne (Entsendegesetz, EntsG) of 8 October 1999 (as of 1 April 2017) (Federal Act on the accompanying measures for posted workers and on the control of the minimum wages stipulated in standard employment contracts)
5    “Es geht um mehr als um die 8-Tage-Regel”( It’s about more than the 8-day-rule), Tages-Anzeiger, from 10. 8. 2018
6    “Kampf um Lohnschutz. Von ‘Verrat’ und ‘Ver- trauensbruch’” (Struggle for wage protection. On ‘betrayal’ and ‘breach of trust’), St. Galler Tagblatt, from 9 August 2018
7    “Wir werden die Demontage der Löhne stoppen”, Interview mit Paul Rechsteiner (Stefan Schmid) (“We will stop the dismantling of wages”, interview with Paul Rechsteiner (Stefan Schmid)) , St. Galler Tagblatt, from 9 August 2018
8    “Drei Bundesratsparteien blasen zum Rückzug”, (Three parties of the Federal Council are sounding the retreat) SonntagsZeitung, from 12 August 2018

Former Federal Councillor Micheline Calmy-Rey changes her compass

mw. The former SP Federal Councillor has never made a secret of her support for Switzerland’s accession to the EU. Today it sounds quite different: “If the bilateral path comes to an end, accession to the EU would be possible. But the EU currently has no unified foreign policy, difficulties in financial and economic policy, no migration policy. I am therefore more cautious than before about this alternative.”
And continues: “The EU demands: We’re supposed to take over their regulation. Do we want the protection of our wages to be governed by European law? That the accompanying measures are subject to the European Court of Justice (EJC)? The European Court of Justice has so far placed freedom of competition above the protection of workers. If the Federal Council now considers exactly this, I understand the resistance of the trade unions.”1
Does this objection to Micheline Calmy-Rey‘s adoption of EU law also apply to other issues? Let‘s hope so!

Former Ambassador Paul Widmer: Major loss of sovereignty

In the Echo der Zeit of 14 August 20182 Paul Widmer, former Ambassador and Lecturer for International Relations at the University of St. Gallen, commented in fundamental terms on Switzerland’s loss of sovereignty due to an institutional framework agreement with the EU:

Paul Widmer: First and foremost, a nation always defends its own interests. And of course you have to try to get as close as possible, but you also have to know where your limits are.

SRF: Where would you say are these own limits?

Paul Widmer: In my opinion, our own limits are in a very great loss of sovereignty, which consists of Switzerland automatically having to adopt EU law in certain areas, and we would have nothing more to say about it. That is the real core problem and not the accompanying measures.“ And further: „[...] the loss of sovereignty affects our whole nation. We cannot continue to exist as Switzerland if we allow ourselves to be too restricted in our democratic rights.“

1    “I understand the resistance of the trade unions”, in: SonntagsBlick, 12 August 2018, interview: Florian Wicki and Simon Marti
2    “How to proceed with the EU Framework Agreement?” Radio SRF, Echo der Zeit from 14 August 2018

«Swiss law instead of foreign judges»

Federal Referendum of 25 November 2018

(Self-determination Initiative)

mw. The self-determination initiative addresses the very question raised here: How can Switzerland’s sovereignty vis-à-vis the EU and other powers be preserved as far as possible? The initiative requires in no way that Switzerland should “be in breach of contract” or that it should no longer respect the human rights of the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR) – which are, incidentally, also contained in the Federal Constitution. (Thought-terminating cliché used by the opponents!) Instead, it is about the provisions of the Federal Constitution, ie the decisions of the People and the cantons, being implemented by legislation, and applied by administration and justice, which should actually be a matter of course in any democratic constitutional state. However, ever since the majority in the Federal Council, in parliament and the Federal Court has increasingly been focussing on the EU and other foreign powers, it bypasses and violates the constitution wherever it gets in the way of “international law”. For example, international law also includes bilateral treaties with the EU.
Here only this much: The dilemma between Switzerland’s obligations under international law and the sovereignty of the People and the cantons will have to be discussed and resolved anyway, as Federal Administrative Court Judge Simon Thurnheer points out in a remarkable and clarifying guest commentary in the Swiss newspa Federal Referendum of 25 November 2018
per “Neue Zürcher Zeitung.”1 A closer examination of the self-determination initiative will follow in one of the next issues of Current Concerns.

1    “Landesrecht und Völkerrecht. Die EMRK und die Selbstbestimmungsinitiative  (Federal state law and international law. The ECHR and the self-determination initiative)”, guest commentary by Simon Thurnheer. “Neue Zürcher Zeitung” from
18 July 2018


Text of the initiative

The Federal Constitution shall be amended as follows:

Art. 5 (1) and (4)

1. All activities of the state are based on and limited by law. The federal constitution is the highest legal source in the Swiss Confederation.
4 The confederation and the cantons shall comply with international law. International law is subsidiary to the federal constitution, subject to the mandatory provisions of international law.

Art. 56a obligations under international law

1 The Confederation and the cantons shall not enter into any obligations under international law that are contrary to the Federal Constitution.
2 In the event of conflict, they shall ensure that the obligations under international law are adapted to the prescriptions of the Federal Constitution, if necessary by termination of the relevant international treaties.
3 This is subject to the mandatory provisions of international law.

Art. 190 Applicable Law

Federal laws and international treaties subordinated to the referendum for the decision on approval are binding for the Federal Supreme Court and other law enforcement authorities.

Art. 197 (124)

12 The transitional provision for Art. 5 (1) and (4) (Principles of the rule of law),  Art. 56a (International law obligations), and Art. 190 (Applicable law)With their approval by the People and the cantons, Article 5 paragraphs 1 and 4, 56a and 190 shall apply to all existing and future provisions of the Federal Constitution and to all existing and future obligations under international law of the Confederation and the cantons.

Accord-cadre avec Bruxelles ou autodétermination des citoyens suisses?

En démocratie directe, la liberté de décision est une ligne rouge

par Marianne Wüthrich, docteur en droit

Des développements étonnants se déroulent actuellement dans la politique européenne de la Suisse. Depuis de nombreuses années, des politiciens et des entrepreneurs de diverses couleurs politiques ont exigé un accord-cadre institutionnel avec Bruxelles, sous prétexte d’obtenir plus de sécurité juridique dans leurs relations d’affaires et dans les projets d’échanges culturels. Leurs voix étaient tellement fortes que maintes commissions de l’UE pensaient, que «la Suisse» voulait absolument un tel accord et pourrait donc être mise sous pression de différentes manières. De même, depuis plusieurs années, des contemporains critiques ont attiré l’attention sur le fait qu’un tel accord était incompatible avec les droits de la démocratie directe des citoyens, sans que le courant dominant ait daigné en prendre connaissance.
C’est donc un grand plaisir d’apprendre que quelques syndicalistes et les sociaux-démocrates aient compris que l’obligation de la reprise du droit de l’UE et des décisions de la Cour de Justice européenne ne sont pas des idées abstraites, avec lesquelles on se débrouillerait d’une façon ou l’autre, mais qu’autant le partenariat social que toute la structure étatique seraient sérieusement mis en danger.

Après le refus du Conseil fédéral, durant des années, de dévoiler le contenu réel des négociations à Bruxelles, le chef du DFAE1 Ignazio Cassis a – face à la mauvaise humeur dans la population – tenté de réagir en plaçant quelques «lignes rouges» à l’encontre de l’UE; toutefois celle-ci n’a concédé aucune concession.2
Enfin, les choses commencent à bouger. Paul Rechsteiner, président de l’Union syndicale suisse (USS) et conseiller aux Etats socialiste, a posé des jalons, en déclarant les mesures d’accompagnement actuelles de l’Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes (ALCP) comme une véritable et irrévocable «ligne rouge». Peu après, les présidents des grands partis PS, PLR et PDC s’y sont joints (l’UDC est de toute façon contre un accord-cadre) et ont demandé à l’unisson une interruption provisoire des pourparlers avec l’UE. Mais maintenant reprenons les points suivants l’un après l’autre.

Ligne rouge controversée: mesures d’accompagnement pour l’Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes (ALCP)

Pour mémoire: les Bilatérales I de 1999 ont été soutenues par les sociaux-démocrates et la Fédération syndicale à l’unique condition que pour la protection des travailleurs nationaux, l’immigration de personnes désireuses de travailler venant des Etats membres de l’UE soit assorties par des mesures d’accompagnement. En effet, il est bien connu que la Suisse a le taux de chômage le plus bas et les salaires les plus hauts. Ensuite, l’immigration a été beaucoup plus forte que celle pronostiquée à l’avance par le Conseil fédéral. Cela a été une grande charge surtout pour les cantons frontaliers, particulièrement attractifs pour les travailleurs transfrontaliers (actuellement plus de 300 000). C’est pourquoi les mesures d’accompagnement comme elles existent actuellement sont indispensables pour les travailleurs nationaux.
Elles sont en vigueur depuis le 1er juin 2004 et «permettent le contrôle du respect des conditions minimales ou usuelles des salaires et du travail au lieu de travail». Ces contrôles ont notamment lieu sur les chantiers et dans la restauration et fonctionnent plus ou moins bien. En outre, il y a d’autres mesures et sanctions imprévisibles: dès les premiers jours de la mise en vigueur des Bilatérales I, une marée de travailleurs dit «indépendants» s’est déversée dans les cantons frontaliers. Afin d’endiguer les abus, la Confédération a fixé dans la Loi sur les travailleurs détachés4 que les prestataires de services devaient sur demande prouver leur statut de travailleur indépendant (art. 1a) et respecter un délai de déclaration de 8 jours (art. 6 al. 3).

L’UE indique le tarif, le Conseil fédéral courbe l’échine …

Les mesures d’accompagnement suisses sont depuis longtemps déjà une épine dans le pied de l’UE, car elles sont sur plusieurs points plus sévères que les réglementations de l’UE. Pour celle-ci par exemple la règle des 8 jours est jugée discriminante pour les entreprises étrangères. En outre, l’UE exige curieusement que la Suisse n’ait le droit de contrôler au maximum 3% des entreprises et travailleurs indépendants venant de l’UE – une invitation à tenter sa chance? Selon la presse quotidienne, les inspecteurs suisses contrôlent à l’heure actuelle environ un tiers des entreprises et y contestent les salaires dans un sixième des firmes, chez 7% des indépendants, ils supposent une indépendance d’apparence. Devons-nous à l’avenir promouvoir l’escroquerie et la corruption? Finalement l’UE se sent perturbée par le fait que la légitimité des mesures d’accompagnement soit contrôlée par les administrations
et les tribunaux suisses et non par les siennes.5
En bref: l’UE veut imposer à la Suisse ses propres régulations et juridictions au sujet de la protection des employés et de nombreux autres domaines. C’est exactement le but de l’accord-cadre! En tout cas le conseiller fédéral Johann Schneider-Ammann, chef du Département fédéral de l’économie, de la formation et de la recherche (DEFR), a compris le message de Bruxelles: il veut réorganiser les mesures d’accompagnement «de manière acceptable pour l’UE», et pour qu’elles puissent «persister lors d’un éventuel jugement de la Cour de justice européenne».6 Est-ce suffisamment clair?

… et le président de l’USS Rechsteiner s’y oppose

A ce sujet, le chef de l’USS Paul Rechsteiner précise: «Il serait naïf de supposer que le seul point de litige pour la Commission de l’UE est le délai de huit jours. La Commission veut plutôt avoir un levier, pour influencer tout ce qui touche à la protection suisse des salaires, afin de l’affaiblir.»
En réponse à l’affirmation au sujet du renforcement de ses directives par l’UE concernant le détachement de travailleurs, il déclare: «Le niveau de protection de l’UE n’est pas comparable à celui de la Suisse. Notre pays a besoin d’une protection des salaires indépendante et forte, étant donné que nous avons de loin les salaires les plus élevés. Les syndicats européens nous mettent en garde de faire des concessions. Demandez en Autriche, comme ils seraient contents d’avoir nos possibilités pour protéger leurs salaires.»
En ce qui concerne la mise en garde concernant d’éventuelles représailles supplémentaires de la part de l’UE: «L’UE a tout autant un intérêt à de bonnes relations avec la Suisse que l’inverse. Là, je reste imperturbable.»
Et sur le fond: «Si Bruxelles veut faire dépendre l’accord-cadre de concessions dans le domaine de la protection des salaires, alors nous l’abandonnons. Lors de négociations, il est toujours bon de rester maître de ses nerfs. Autrement, nous ne pouvons pas défendre nos intérêts de manière efficace.»
7
Voilà quelques propositions remarquables pour nos conseillers fédéraux et nos négociateurs à Bruxelles!

Changement de cap radical des présidents de partis

Il y a six mois, on entendait dire: «Allons de l’avant avec cet accord-cadre institutionnel!» Christian Levrat, président du PS, et Elisabeth Schneider-Schneiter, responsable de la politique extérieure du PDC, annonçaient le calendrier souhaité par les dirigeants des partis politiques: la votation populaire sur un paquet «Bilatérales III» avec un accord-cadre inclus doit avoir lieu encore avant les prochaines élections fédérales (octobre 2019). («Neue Zürcher Zeitung» du 6/1/18)
Et aujourd’hui: la présidente du PLR Petra Gössi déclare: «A mon avis, le Conseil fédéral doit abandonner les négociations avec les employeurs et les cantons.» Sans les syndicats une «solution basée sur le partenariat social est illusoire», car «on ne trouvera pas de majorité pour l’accord-cadre au Parlement.» Le bilan de Gössi: «Si le Conseil fédéral ne trouve pas un accord au niveau du contenu avec Bruxelles, les négociations avec l’UE devraient pour le moment être suspendues.»
Christian Levrat, président du PS, et Gerhard Pfister, président du PDC, exigent la suspension des pourparlers et la négociation d’un «moratoire» avec l’UE, afin d’éviter d’autres représailles de la part de Bruxelles.8

La «ligne rouge» des citoyens

Est-ce de la pure tactique électorale, pour ne pas perdre trop d’électeurs à l’UDC – qui a depuis toujours lutté contre toute forme d’accord-cadre? Et après les élections parlementaires d’octobre 2019, la suspension des négociations sera-t-elle immédiatement levée pour permettre de continuer la voie en sens unique en direction de Bruxelles? Là, ces messieurs-dames les parlementaires pourraient bien se tromper!
Car pour la grande majorité des citoyens et citoyennes suisses, la «ligne rouge» se trouve là, où la liberté de décision garantie par notre démocratie directe est remise en question.    •

1    Département fédéral des Affaires étrangères
2    cf. «Accord-cadre institutionnel Suisse–UE: Stratégie ou confusion?» Horizons et débats no 14 du 25/6/18
3    Confédération suisse, Libre circulation des personnes, mesures d’accompagnement (https://www.personenfreizuegigkeit.admin.ch/fza/de/home/aufenthalt_und_arbeitsmarkt/flankierende_massnahmen.html )
4     Loi fédérale sur les mesures d’accompagnement applicables aux travailleurs détachés et aux contrôles des salaires minimaux prévus par les contrats-types de travail (Loi sur les travailleurs détachés, LDét) du 8 octobre 1999 (Etat au 1er/4/17)
5    «Es geht um mehr als um die 8-Tage-Regel», in: Tages-Anzeiger du 10/8/18
6    «Kampf um Lohnschutz. Von ‹Verrat› und ‹Vertrauensbruch›», in: St. Galler Tagblatt du 9/8/18
7     «Wir werden die Demontage der Löhne stoppen», interview avec Paul Rechsteiner (Stefan Schmid), in: St. Galler Tagblatt du 9/8/18
8    «Drei Bundesratsparteien blasen zum Rückzug», in: SonntagsZeitung du 12/8/18

L’ancienne conseillère fédérale Micheline Calmy-Rey change d’orientation

mw. L’ancienne conseillère fédérale socialiste n’a jamais caché qu’elle prenait parti pour l’adhésion de la Suisse à l’UE. Aujourd’hui, c’est un autre son de cloche: «Si la voie des bilatérales mène au but, une adhésion à l’UE est possible. Mais l’UE n’a actuellement pas de politique extérieure unifiée, pas de politique d’immigration et de nombreux tracas en politique financière et politique. Je suis donc plus réservée qu’auparavant, concernant cette alternative.»
Et de continuer: «L’UE exige de nous de reprendre leurs réglementations. Voulons-nous que la protection de nos salaires dépende du droit européen? Que les mesures d’accompagnement soient jugées par la Cour de justice européenne? Cette Cour de justice a jusqu’à présent placé la liberté de concurrence au-dessus de la protection des travailleurs. Si le Conseil fédéral envisage justement cela, je comprends la résistance des syndicats.»1
L’objection de Micheline Calmy-Rey contre la reprise du droit de l’UE vaut-elle aussi pour d’autres sujets? Nous l’espérons!

Paul Widmer, un ancien ambassadeur: une grande perte de souveraineté

Dans une émission radiophonique du 14/8/18, Paul Widmer, ancien ambassadeur et chargé de cours pour les relations internationales à l’Université de St-Gall, s’est exprimé de manière fondamentale sur la perte de souveraineté de la Suisse suite à l’éventuel accord-cadre institutionnel avec l’UE.

Paul Widmer: «Toute nation doit en premier lieu défendre ses propres intérêts. Bien sûr, il faut essayer de s’approcher de ses voisins, mais il faut toujours connaître ses propres limites.

SRF: Où se situent pour vous ces limites?

Ces limites spécifiques sont à mon avis le danger d’une grande perte de souveraineté, suite au devoir de la Suisse d’assurer automatiquement dans certain domaine le droit de l’UE; nous n’aurions plus rien à y redire. Voilà le réel problème, les mesures d’accompagnement sont en comparaison secondaires.» Et de poursuivre: «[…] la perte de souveraineté concerne toute notre nation. Nous ne pouvons pas continuer à exister en tant que Suisse, si nous laissons faire une trop grande restrictions de nos droits démocratiques.»

1    «Ich verstehe den Widerstand der Gewerk­schaften» [Je comprends la résistance des syndicats], in: SonntagsBlick du 12/8/18, interview mené par Florian Wicki et Simon Marti
2    «Wie weiter mit dem EU-Rahmenabkommen?» [Comment continuer avec l’accord-cadre avec l’UE?], Radio SRF, Echo der Zeit du 14/8/18

«Le droit suisse au lieu de juges étrangers»

Initiative populaire fédérale du 25 novembre 2018

(Initiative pour l’autodétermination)

mw. L’initiative pour l’autodétermination s’attaque précisément à l’aspect soulevé ici: comment la souveraineté de la Suisse peut-elle être préservée, autant que faire se peut, envers l’UE et d’autres puissances? L’initiative n’oblige nullement la Suisse à «rompre un contrat» ou à ne plus respecter les droits de l’homme de la Convention européenne des droits de l’homme (CEDH) – qui, soit dit en passant, sont inscrits dans la Constitution fédérale. (Argument massue des opposants!) Il s’agit plutôt de mettre en œuvre les dispositions de la Constitution fédérale, donc les décisions du peuple et des cantons, par la législation et de les mettre en application par l’administration et la justice. Cela va de soi dans un Etat de droit démocratique. Cependant, depuis que la majorité du Conseil fédéral, du Parlement et du Tribunal fédéral se concentrent de plus en plus sur l’UE et d’autres puissances étrangères, elle passe outre et viole la Constitution partout où celle-ci entrave le «droit international». Les accords bilatéraux avec l’UE font par exemple partie du droit international.
A titre complémentaire: le dilemme entre les obligations de la Suisse en vertu du droit international et de la souveraineté du peuple et des cantons doit être discuté et résolu. Le juge administratif fédéral Simon Thurnheer l’a expliqué dans un commentaire d’invité remarquable et éclairant dans la «Neue Zürcher Zeitung».1 Une analyse plus détaillée de l’initiative pour l’autodétermination suivra dans l’un des prochains numéros de Horizons et débats.

1    «Initiative droit interne et droit international populaire. La CEDH et l’initiative d’autodétermination». Un commentaire de Simon Thurnheer. Neue Zürcher-Zeitung du 18/7/18


Texte de l’initiative

La Constitution est modifiée comme suit:

Art. 5, al. 1 et 4

1    Le droit est la base et la limite de l’activité de l’Etat. La Constitution fédérale est la source suprême du droit de la Confédération suisse.
4    La Confédération et les cantons respectent le droit international. La Constitution fédérale est placée au-dessus du droit international et prime sur celui-ci, sous réserve des règles impératives du droit international.

Art. 56a Obligations de droit international

1    La Confédération et les cantons ne contractent aucune obligation de droit international qui soit en conflit avec la Constitution fédérale.
2    En cas de conflit d’obligations, ils veillent à ce que les obligations de droit international soient adaptées aux dispositions constitutionnelles, au besoin en dénonçant les traités internationaux concernés.
3    Les règles impératives du droit international sont réservées.

Art. 190 Droit applicable

Le Tribunal fédéral et les autres autorités sont tenus d’appliquer les lois fédérales et les traités internationaux dont l’arrêté d’approbation a été sujet ou soumis au référendum.

Art. 197, ch. 12

12    Disposition transitoire ad art. 5, al. 1 et 4 (Principes de l’activité de l’Etat régi par le droit), art. 56a (Obligations de droit international) et art. 190 (Droit applicable)
A compter de leur acceptation par le peuple et les cantons, les art. 5, al. 1 et 4, 56a et 190 s’appliquent à toutes les dispositions actuelles et futures de la Constitution fédérale et à toutes les obligations actuelles et futures de droit international de la Confédération et des cantons.