Indispensable white gold – the well-established Swiss salt supply system

by Peter Aebersold and Eliane Perret

Searching for new markets, globally operating corporations have “discovered” the basic services (water, electricity, education, etc.) and services provided by the nation states, the service public. While the global players strive to minimise costs (no stock-keeping, reduced maintenance) and to maximise profits on the principle of supply and demand, it is the primary task of the nation states and cooperatives to offer goods and services at affordable, at most cost-covering prices for the entire population aiming to contribute to the common good. The state must therefore also ensure security of supply in the event of disasters and in times of need (compulsory stockpiles, maintenance, high degree of self-sufficiency, etc.). Our prosperity makes us forget that our digitalised, electrified society has become extremely susceptible to disruption. A lack of knowledge about the history of proven institutions of the nation states is making many people susceptible to fictitious arguments in favour for privatisation: State institutions are said to be no longer necessary today, not appropriate or contradicting the liberal economic order. It is not for nothing that the abolition of nation states is at the top of the globalisation agenda. The little-known history of Swiss salt mining is a good example enabling to conceive the relations.

The trax shovels salt in the wharehouse of the Rheinsaline Schweizerhalle. The wharehouse holds around 15,000 tons of salt. Around 200,000 tons of salt per year are extracted from the Schweizerhalle plant using leaching technology. (picture keystone)

The salt of the earth

Salt is essential to life. It is for good reason that our language devotes a large number of idioms to salt. Roughly speaking, the usage of salt can be divided into two main areas: On the one hand, the human and animal nutrition, the household and the winter service for the roads. On the other hand, chemistry, metallurgy, animal skin and intestine utilisation, pharmaceuticals and cosmetics, as well as industry and commerce in general.

A look into history

With the rise of the great cultures, the use of salt came up. The Sumerians and Babylonians already used salts to conserve food. The Egyptians also discovered that using salt was essential to live five thousand years ago. Meat, poultry and fish were preserved by salting for weeks and months. Salt was discovered as a valuable commodity. In the Celtic-Germanic area there was a large-scale salt extraction from sea water from the Bronze Age onwards. In the Roman Empire, salt was literally taken at face value. Price stability and regulated supply enabled the Romans to use salt as a means of payment. And so the many state officials and legionnaires were remunerated with salt. The Latin word for salt – sal – is also the origin of the term “salary”, which is still used today. Salt thus became “white gold”. From the 10th century onwards, the conservation of food became increasingly important. Salt was used as a means of preserving meat and cheese for trade, transport and storage, thus avoiding major famines.
Salt was in great demand, but the salt deposits were unevenly distributed. On prehistoric salt roads the salt was transported to regions with no salt resources. It was a valuable commodity, and the transport and trade of table salt made many cities rich.

One teaspoon daily

Table salt (sodium chloride) is the most important mineral substance for humans and animals. The rule of thumb for humans is: 4–6 grammes daily (one level teaspoon). It is a vital inorganic nutrient which the organism cannot produce itself and which must be provided with food. No somatic cell can exist without salt, the heart could not beat, and all nerves would be paralysed. Blood circulation, metabolism, muscle activity, digestion and excretion would be impossible, as sodium regulates the water balance, the transmission of stimuli from muscle and nerve cells and activates many metabolic processes. Among other things, chloride is an important component of gastric juices. It causes the formation of hydrochloric acid in the stomach, which splits proteins from food as a component of gastric juice and deactivates undesirable microorganisms.
Another important finding was that the addition of fluorine to table salt provided an effective protection against tooth decay. Even before this, it was recognised that the addition of iodine could counteract the formation of a goiter associated with iodine deficiency. Unfortunately, this problem has increased again in recent years, since ready meals produced abroad are being distributed. As a rule, the salt used for those does not contain iodine.

An indispensable raw material

The salt as a resource is indispensable in industry, chemistry and pharmacy. Salt cannot be produced synthetically. It is needed in more than 10,000 products. More than 60 % of the salt is used in our industry primarily for the production of soda, acids, alkalis and chlorine. A wide variety of products such as detergents, dyes, glass, baking powder, medicines, PVC plastics, computers, smartphones, soap and aluminium cannot be produced without salt.

Salt for Switzerland

Until 1837, Switzerland could not cover its own needs and had to import practically all its salt from neighbouring countries. Salt trading was a profitable business. The magnificent Stockalperpalast in Brig bears witness to this. In the course of time, however, salt deposits were discovered in various places in Switzerland, which today are used with state-of-the-art technology to cover Switzerland’s salt needs.
Salt has been mined in Bex in the Canton of Vaud for over four centuries. Legend tells that chamois and sheep were particularly fond of certain watering places. A boy from the area, Jean de Bouillet, is said to have noticed this. The reason for this preference was that the water was salty there. In the 16th century, after some non-industrial attempts, the salt was mined using large-scale methods. A tunnel labyrinth more than 50 kilometres long was created. Excavation in the salt mines was not easy, and the salt mines of Bex ran the risk of being closed several times. The well-known Sel des Alpes comes from Bex.
When the German mining expert Carl Christian Friedrich Glenck came to Switzerland in 1836, he also wanted to find and mine the primeval white gold in Swiss soil. Here, too, there were many setbacks. In 8 cantons 17 drillings were made – unsuccessfully. He lost his entire fortune in his efforts. Shortly before bankruptcy, Peter Merian, a professor of geology in Basel, drew his attention to the Basel area. With a final attempt, the breakthrough came on 30 May 1836. In two further drillings, he discovered a 13-foot, 2-inch-thick salt deposit at a depth of 137 metres. It became the first salt mine, and on 1 August of the following year the first 90 centners of Jura salt were delivered in Liestal. By the way, the name Schweizerhalle stands for the tradition of salt mining sites. Halle goes back to the Greek word hals, which simply means salt. The Saline Kaiseraugst (Kaiseraugst salt works) were founded in 1843, the Saline Rheinfelden in 1844 and finally the Saline Riburg in 1848. Thus, within 12 years, four salt works were built within a radius of 20 kilometres at the Rhine, which were in strong competition with each other.

Together into the future

Instead of struggling to survive the competition, the Rheinfelden, Kaiseraugst and Riburg salt works joined forces in 1874 to form the “Schweizerische Rheinsalinen AG” (Swiss Rhine Salt Works Ltd.), in order to be better able to cope with Schweizerhalle. In 1909, however, the Schweizerhalle, Rheinfelden and Riburg salt works were bought and merged by the cantons. Schweizerhalle became the company headquarters. In these salt works the rock salt layers are leached out with injected water. It is called Siedesalz (boiled salt) because it is produced by boiling the Brine. The Canton of Vaud continued to operate its own salt works in Bex, where salt was mined from the layers of salt and rock. In the course of time, the output of salt was considerably increased by various technical achievements. Whereas in 1909 52,000 tonnes of salt were still extracted, today up to 600,000 tonnes per year can be processed.

Learned from mistakes

Some people may still remember the snowy and cold winter of 1999. The year also made history for the Swiss Rhine salt works. For the first time, the de-icing salt warehouses were empty within weeks. Trucks and trains queued up to bring road salt onto the roads. The salt ordered abroad did not arrive on time. The salt-supply of Switzerland could no longer be guaranteed. The consequences were learned from this failure, and in autumn 2004 work began on the construction of an additional salt warehouse in Riburg. Since August 2005, the largest timber dome building in Europe (capacity 80,000 tonnes of salt) is located here. Switzerland can now look forward to harsh winters calmly. And it can supply itself in all respects.
In 2012, a second large salt dome was built by the Swiss salt works as a salt storage facility in Riburg to ensure security of supply. Schweizer Salinen AG employs 200 people at its sites in Riburg, Schweizerhalle and Bex and produces about 600,000 tonnes of salt per year. It ensures the domestic supply of all types of salt through its own production, storage and trade up to the remotest areas of Switzerland. One kilo of Swiss table salt costs less than a litre of milk, lasts for a very long time, has an unlimited shelf life and is enriched with fluorine and iodine.

Salt sovereignty – an important privilege

For our authorities, securing the supply of salt has always been a responsible matter. In the Middle Ages, salt was still a luxury good. Today it is available to everyone. We owe this to the monopoly of salt supply of the cantons, i.e. the sovereign right to extract salt. This right was transferred to the salt works in 1973 by the cantons (with the exception of the Canton of Vaud) in a concordat (agreement between the cantons). The new Canton of Jura joined in 1979 and the Canton of Vaud joined finally in 2014. In the same year, the Swiss Rheinsalinen AG and Saline de Bex SA merged. Since then, the company has operated under the name Schweizer Salinen AG. Schweizer Salinen AG is a commercial company owned solely by the 26 Swiss cantons and, since 1990, also by the Principality of Liechtenstein. The Swiss salt works have uniform and thus solidary prices that are stable. These fixed winter and summer prices provide solidarity with the peripheral regions throughout Switzerland. In other words, whether the salt is delivered to the nearby city of Basel or to distant Puschlav, it always costs the same. Foreign salt suppliers do not apply such solidarity. In the snowy winter of 2012, de-icing salt became scarce for roads in Switzerland and abroad. Thanks to the salt monopoly, however, prices in Switzerland remained stable, while they rose abroad.
Since 2014, the salt monopoly has no longer applied in absolute terms, as trade in food grade salt specialities has been liberalised.

The Swiss people has a right to benefit from the salt supply monopoly

Although the Swiss population can rely on a reliable and well-functioning supply of salt, in 2006 a group of cantonal parliamentarians tried to override the salt monopoly by means of a parliamentary initiative. The government council rightly argued against this and recommended its rejection.
In 2016, a Berne professor of economics found in the statutes of the concordat what he considered to be an unusual regulation which wrongly obliged the cantons to purchase the salt from the Swiss salt works. What had not bothered anyone for a hundred years and had guaranteed Switzerland a smooth, cost-effective and repeatedly optimised supply of salt, was to be made a problem. That was of course water for the mills of those who wanted to hand over everything – including the basic needs of the population – to the free market. Fortunately, the Berne government council kept a cool head and rejected a motion to abolish the salt monopoly in 2016, because of its outweighing advantages: “The government council would see no reason to exchange the proven Swiss salt supply system for an uncertain procedure. The Swiss salt works, for example, ensure that there is always enough de-icing salt available for the roads and pavements. Furthermore, the prices for Swiss salt were ‘fair and constant’, long transport routes could be avoided – and the salt works also made an important contribution to health prevention by adding iodine and fluorine to the table salt.
There is nothing to be added to this!    •

Sources:

This article is based on informations received on a guided tour in Schweizerhalle as well as on excellent fact sheets provided by the Schweizer Salinen.

Kanton Zürich. Parlamentarische Initiative (parliamentary initiative) KR-Nr. 13/2006, Antwort des Regierungsrates. (answer of the cantonal government) 9.1.2007

Kanton Bern. Parlamentarischer Vorstoss (parliamentary initiative). Antwort des Regierungsrates (answer of the cantonal government). 111-2016. Geschäftsnr. 2016 RRGR.569

“Salzmonopol gerät unter Druck” In: Der Bund 19.12.2016 (salt monopoly under pressure)

“Das kantonale Salz-Monopol bleibt.” In: Berner Zeitung 22.11.2016 (The cantonal salt monopoly will be kept in force)

“From brine to crystalline salt.” A film about Swiss salt

Ben. The Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Film und Fernsehen (Working Group for Film and Television) in Zurich produced the impressive documentary film “Schweizer Salz. Von der Sole zum Salzkristall (Swiss salt. From brine to crystalline salt)”. It lasts 23 minutes and is suitable for secondary schools I and II. The film is an instructive journey with fundamental references to the history of the earth and shows the extraction of salt from the sea in the extensive salt gardens in the French Aigues Mortes and in the depths of the earth’s interior in huge salt mines in Borth, Germany.
If you drive past Pratteln on the motorway in the direction of Basel, you cannot miss the Schweizerhalle salt works. Nearby, in the charming Jura landscape, is the hill called Wartenberg. The nearby mountain outside Basel has housed a valuable treasure in the earth for millions of years: deep inside the earth lie thick layers of stone salt. The film team also visited the Swiss Rhine saltworks and documented in detail the process of brine mining. Fresh water is fed into the caverns. The raw brine obtained must then be crystallised again in an evaporation process.

“Schweizer Salz Von der Sole zum Salzkristall (Swiss salt. From brine to cristalline salt” (German/French/Italian) is available from Schweizer Rheinsalinen, 4133 Pratteln, +4161 825 51 51. Brochures, pictures and films can be downloaded from http://www.saline.ch at the Info-Service.

De l’or blanc indispensable – le système suisse d’approvisionnement en sel a fait ses preuves

par Peter Aebersold et Eliane Perret

A la recherche de nouveaux marchés, les grandes multinationales ont «découvert» les fournitures de base (eau, courant électrique, enseignement, etc.) et les services gérés par les Etats nationaux – donc le service public. Alors que les entreprises globales cherchent selon le principe de l’offre et de la demande à minimiser les coûts (pas de dépôts, peu d’entretien) et une maximisation des profits, les Etats et les coopératives ont comme tâche la plus noble de fournir dans le sens du bien commun des services et des biens à des prix abordables, permettant juste de couvrir les coûts, pour toute la population. C’est pourquoi l’Etat doit également veiller à pouvoir fournir des biens indispensables lors de catastrophes ou de périodes de pénuries (stocks obligatoires, entretien, degré d’autoapprovisionnement élevé, etc.). Notre prospérité occulte le fait que notre société numérisée et électrifiée est particulièrement vulnérable lors de perturbations. L’ignorance quant à l’histoire des institutions nationales incite de nombreuses personnes à faire confiance aux arguments fallacieux de la privatisation. On prétend que les institutions étatiques ne sont plus nécessaires, ne correspondent plus à notre époque ou sont en contradiction avec l’ordre économique libéral. Ce n’est pas par hasard que la globalisation place en première priorité l’élimination des Etats nationaux. L’histoire peu connue de la production du sel en Suisse est un bon exemple pour illustrer ces liens.

Dépôt de sel à Schweizerhalle. Le hangar peut contenir environ 15 000 tonnes de sel. La saline de Schweizerhalle produit environ 200 000 tonnes de sel par année en utilisant la technique d’ébullition de la saumure. (photo keystone)

Un coup d’œil dans l’histoire

On se mit à utiliser le sel lors du développement des grandes cultures. Les Sumériens et les Babyloniens utilisèrent le sel pour conserver les aliments. Les Egyptiens eux-mêmes découvrirent la propriété vitale du sel, il y a cinq mille ans. On pouvait conserver pendant des semaines, voire des mois, la viande, la volaille et les poissons. Le sel avait été découvert comme un produit particulièrement précieux. Dans l’espace celto-germanique on se mit, dès l’âge du bronze, à produire en grande quantité du sel à partir de l’eau de mer. Dans l’empire romain le sel devint une véritable monnaie. Les Romains purent utiliser le sel comme une valeur d’échange grâce à la stabilité des prix et à une production stable. C’est ainsi que les nombreux fonctionnaires et légionnaires furent payés avec du sel. On retrouve encore aujourd’hui le terme de sel en latin – sal – dans le mot salaire. C’est ainsi que le sel devint l’«or blanc». A partir du Xe siècle après Jésus Christ la conservation des aliments devint toujours plus importante. On utilisait le sel pour conserver la viande et le fromage pour le commerce, le transport et les stocks de nourriture, ce qui permit d’éviter les disettes.
Le sel était très recherché, mais les gisements étaient repartis inégalement. On transportait le sel dans des régions où il en manquait, par des routes du sel préhistoriques. C’était un bien précieux permettant à de nombreuses villes de s’enrichir par le transport et le commerce du sel de cuisine.

Une petite cuillère chaque jour

Le sel de cuisine (chlorure de sodium) est le minéral le plus important pour les êtres humains et les animaux. Pour les êtres humains, il en faut quotidiennement entre 4 et 6 grammes (soit une cuillère à café). C’est une matière nutritive anorganique vitale que l’organisme ne peut produire lui-même et qui donc doit être apportée avec la nourriture. Aucune cellule du corps ne peut survivre sans sel, le cœur ne pourrait pas battre et le système nerveux serait paralysé. La circulation sanguine, le métabolisme, l’activation des muscles, la digestion et l’excrétion seraient impossibles, car le sodium règle l’hydratation dans le corps, les transmissions neuromusculaires et de nombreux métabolismes. Le chlorure est un apport important pour les sucs digestifs. Il provoque la formation d’acide chlorhydrique dans l’estomac qui divise les protéines de la nourriture et élimine les micro-organismes indésirables.
Importante fut également la découverte qu’en ajoutant du fluor au sel de cuisine on pouvait protéger les dents contre la carie. On avait déjà compris qu’en ajoutant du iode, on pouvait combattre la formation de goitres due précisément à un manque d’iode. Cette question réapparaît malheureusement depuis quelque temps du fait que les repas préparés à l’étranger se répandent. Ce sel ne contient très souvent pas d’iode.

Une matière première indispensable

Le sel est une matière première incontournable dans l’artisanat, l’industrie et le secteur pharmaceutique. Le sel ne peut être produit artificiellement. Il est indispensable pour la production de plus de 10 000 produits. Notre industrie utilise plus de 60% du sel, notamment pour la production de soda, d’acides, de solutions alcalines et de chlorure. Le sel est aussi indispensable pour la production de détergents, de colorants, de verre, de levure, de médicaments, de matières en PVC, d’ordinateurs, de smartphones, de savon ou d’aluminium.

Du sel pour la Suisse

Jusqu’en 1837, la Suisse dut importer des pays voisins l’entière quantité de sel dont elle avait besoin. Le commerce du sel était une affaire qui rapportait. Ceci est illustré par le magnifique Stockalperpalast de Brigue. Par la suite, on découvrit à divers endroits de la Suisse des gisements de sel, encore exploités aujourd’hui grâce à la technologie la plus moderne, afin de satisfaire le besoin en sel du pays.
Depuis plus de quatre siècles, on extrait du sel à Bex, dans le canton de Vaud. Une légende raconte que les chamois et les moutons se sentaient attirés par certains plans d’eau. Un garçon de la région, Jean de Brouillet, le remarqua. La raison de cette attirance était qu’il s’agissait d’eau salée. On se mit à l’exploiter, d’abord de façon manuelle, puis dès le XVIe siècle par des moyens industriels. Avec le temps les travailleurs créèrent un labyrinthe de tunnels de plus de 50 km de longueur. L’exploitation des mines de sel n’était pas simple, à tel point que les mines de Bex coururent plusieurs fois le risque d’être fermées. Le fameux Sel des Alpes nous vient de Bex.
Lorsque en 1836 l’Allemand Carl Christian Friedrich Glenck, spécialiste des mines, vint en Suisse, il voulut, lui aussi, trouver et l’exploiter cet or blanc préhistorique. Là aussi, il y eut de nombreux échecs. Dans 8 cantons, on entreprit 17 forages – sans résultat. Dans cette aventure, il perdit toute sa fortune. Peu avant sa faillite, le professeur de géologie bâlois Peter Merian attira son attention sur la région de Bâle. Le 30 mai 1836, sa dernière tentative fut couronnée de succès. Dans deux forages, il atteignit à 137 mètres de profondeur un gisement de sel de 13 pieds et 2 pouces. Ce fut la première saline et le 1er août de l’année suivante on livra à Liestal les 90 premiers quintaux de sel du Jura. Le terme de Schweizer«halle» est un nom traditionnel pour les endroits où l’on produit du sel. «Halle» vient du mot grec hals qui signifie sel. En 1843, on créa la saline de Kaiseraugst, en 1844 la saline de Rheinfelden et finalement en 1848 la saline de Riburg. C’est ainsi que furent créées en l’espace de 12 années dans un rayon de 20 kilomètres quatre salines près du Rhin qui se firent une rude concurrence.

Se regrouper pour l’avenir

Au lieu de se livrer à des combats de concurrence, les salines de Rheinfelden, Kaiseraugst et Riburg se sont regroupées en 1874 pour former les «Salines suisses du Rhin SA» afin de mieux se défendre contre Schweizerhalle. En 1909, les salines de Schweizer­halle, Rheinfelden et Riburg furent achetées et fusionnées par les cantons. Schweizerhalle devint le siège de la nouvelle entreprise. Dans ces salines, les gisements de sel gemme sont extraits avec de l’eau. Le sel concentré est produit par l’ébullition de la saumure.
Le canton de Vaud continua à exploiter sa propre saline à Bex, où le sel était récupéré dans les couches rocheuses par des techniques minières. Au fil du temps, la production de sel fut considérablement augmentée grâce à divers acquis techniques. Alors qu’en 1909, on produisait 52 000 tonnes de sel, on en exploite aujourd’hui annuellement jusqu’à 600 000 tonnes.

Apprendre à partir de ses erreurs

Certains se souviendront encore de l’hiver très enneigé et froid de 1999. L’année s’est gravée dans l’histoire des Salines suisses du Rhin. Pour la première fois, les entrepôts de sel de déneigement étaient vidés en quelques semaines. Les camions et les trains faisaient la queue pour transporter le sel nécessaire pour le déneigement des routes. Le sel commandé à l’étranger n’arrivant pas à temps, l’approvisionnement n’était plus garanti en Suisse. On en tira aussitôt les conclusions et cela aboutit, en automne 2004, à la construction d’un autre dépôt de stockage à Riburg. Depuis août 2005, on y trouve donc le plus grand bâtiment avec dôme d’Europe construit en bois, permettant de stocker 80 000 tonnes de sel. Désormais, la Suisse peut faire face avec sérénité à d’autres hivers rigoureux, car elle peut subvenir seule à ses besoins dans tous les domaines.
En 2012, un deuxième grand dépôt de sel fut construit par les Salines suisses à Riburg, garant de la sécurité d’approvisionnement. Les Salines suisses SA emploient 200 personnes sur leurs sites de Riburg, Schweizerhalle et Bex et produisent environ 600 000 tonnes de sel par an. Elles assurent ainsi l’approvisionnement national de tous les types de sel en contrôlant la production, le stockage et le commerce jusqu’aux régions les plus reculées de la Suisse. Un kilo de sel de table suisse, enrichi en fluor et en iode, coûte moins qu’un litre de lait, dure très longtemps et se conserve sans aucune date limite de consommation.

La souveraineté du sel – un privilège important

Pour nos autorités, ce fut toujours une tâche de haute responsabilité d’assurer l’approvisionnement en sel pour tout le pays. Au Moyen-Age, le sel était encore un bien de luxe tandis qu’aujourd’hui, il est accessible à tous. Nous le devons à la régale des sels dans les cantons, c’est-à-dire leur droit souverain à son extraction. En 1973, ce droit fut transféré par les cantons (à l’exception du canton de Vaud) aux salines sous forme d’un concordat (accord entre cantons). Le nouveau canton du Jura y adhéra en 1979, le canton de Vaud finalement en 2014. Les Salines suisses du Rhin SA avec la Saline de Bex SA s’unirent la même année. Depuis lors, l’entreprise se nomme Salines suisses SA. Il s’agit d’une société privée détenue exclusivement par les 26 cantons suisses et, depuis 1990, également par la Principauté du Liechtenstein. Les Salines suisses garantissent des prix uniformes, stables et solidaires. Ces prix fixes d’hiver et d’été illustrent la solidarité envers les régions périphériques suisses. En d’autres termes, le sel est livré au même prix à la ville de Bâle toute proche et au val Poschiavo (à grande distance, de l’autre côté des Alpes). Les fournisseurs étrangers de sel ne connaissent pas cette solidarité. Durant l’hiver fortement enneigé de 2012, le sel à dégeler s’est fait rare pour les routes suisses et à l’étranger. Grâce au monopole du sel, les prix sont toutefois restés stables en Suisse alors qu’ils augmentèrent à l’étranger.
Depuis 2014, suite à la libéralisation des spécialités produites avec le sel de table, le monopole du sel n’est plus absolu.

Le peuple suisse a droit à la régale sur les sels

Bien que la population suisse puisse compter sur un approvisionnement en sel fiable et performant, un groupe de parlementaires cantonaux tenta, en 2006, d’abolir la régale sur les sels à l’aide d’une initiative parlementaire. Le gouvernement cantonal s’y opposa à juste titre et recommanda son rejet.
En 2016, un professeur d’économie bernois a trouvé, dans les statuts du concordat, ce qu’il considérait relever d’un règlement inhabituel obligeant à tort les cantons à acheter leurs sels exclusivement aux salines suisses. Un règlement, n’ayant pourtant dérangé personne depuis cent ans et ayant à tout moment garanti à la Suisse un approvisionnement régulier, rentable et performant, semble soudainement se transformer en problème. C’était bien sûr donner de l’eau au moulin à tous les partisans du marché libre – y compris en cédant les besoins fondamentaux de la population. Heureusement, le Conseil d’Etat bernois a gardé la tête froide et a rejeté en 2016 une motion parlementaire demandant la suppression de la régale sur les sels. Les avantages l’emportaient haut la main: «Le Conseil d’Etat ne voit aucune raison de supprimer le système suisse d’approvisionnement en sel, ayant fait ses preuves, contre une procédure incertaine. Les Salines suisses ont par exemple veillé à ce qu’il y ait toujours suffisamment de sel à dégeler pour les routes et les chaussées. En outre, les prix du sel suisse sont restés ‹équitables et constants›, les longs trajets de transport peuvent être évités – et les salines contribuent à la prévention de la santé en ajoutant du iode et du fluor au sel de table.»
A cela, il ne reste rien à ajouter!    •
(Traduction Horizons et débats)

L’article s’appuie, entre autres, sur de nombreuses informations rassemblées lors d’une visite guidée de Schweizerhalle ainsi que sur les excellentes fiches d’information des salines suisses.
Canton de Zurich. Initiative parlementaire KR-Nr. 13/2006, réponse du Conseil d’Etat du 9/1/07
Canton de Berne. Initiative parlementaire. Réponse du Conseil d’Etat no 111-2016; no de dossier 2016 RRGR.569
«Le monopole du sel est sous pression»: «Der Bund» du 19/12/16
«Le monopole cantonal du sel demeure»: «Berner Zeitung» du 22/11/16

«De la saumure aux cristaux de sel»

Film documentaire sur le sel suisse

Ben. La «Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Film und Fernsehen» de Zurich a produit en 1997 un impressionnant documentaire intitulé «Le sel suisse. De la saumure aux cristaux de sel». Il dure 23 minutes et convient aux niveaux secondaires I et II. De manière instructive, le film nous fait voyager dans l’histoire de la Terre et nous montre la production maritime de sel dans les salines d’Aigues-Mortes, dans le midi de la France, et dans les profondeurs de la terre, dans la immenses mines de sel de Borth, en Allemagne.
Lorsqu’on roule sur l’autoroute en direction de Bâle, on ne peut ignorer la saline Schweizerhalle à l’hauteur de Pratteln. A proximité se trouve le Wartenberg, dans le paysage pittoresque du Jura. Dans la terre, la colline locale a conservé un trésor précieux durant plusieurs millions d’années. Dans les profondeurs du sol se trouvent des épaisses couches de sel gemme. L’équipe de tournage a aussi visité les Salines suisses du Rhin et a informé de manière détaillée à propos de l’extraction de sel à l’aide de la saumure en introduisant de l’eau douce dans les cavernes de sel. Par un procédé d’évaporation, la saumure brute obtenue doit être cristallisée.

On peut commander le film «Le sel suisse. De la saumure aux cristaux de sel» (en français, allemand et italien) auprès de Salines suisses du Rhin, case postale, 4133 Pratteln, Tél: +41 61 825 51 51