The other Swiss geography

Topographical treasures that are not on the map

by Heini Hofmann

Switzerland has not yet been fully discovered! There are plenty of hiking trails and cycle routes that open up natural wonders, cultural assets, panoramic hotspots and places of power. But because people love the special, the unusual and the borderline, a new trend has developed: Discovering extreme points, which is not always easy.

Lowest point Canton Uri: Spreitenbach mouth, Seelisberg, 434m (picture Jakob Schluep)

The country of Switzerland, but also each of the 26 cantons, has a wide variety of extreme fixed points: the highest and lowest points of its topography, the geographical and political centre and the extreme corners in all four cardinal points. Among them, there are those that are known and even marked in the terrain. But there are also some that one has to look for and that are accessible more or less easily. Unique in the whole country is the furthest off point of all borders.

It started in the 2012 jubilee year

This extreme point tourism has really begun on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the Swiss national survey in 2012, and it immediately found a hand-picked following of hobby topographers who have set themselves the goal of finding all extreme points (even those which the cantons have not yet published on their website) and hiking to them as far as this is possible for an average hiker, because the highest points require alpine techniques.
One of these hobbyists is Jakob Schluep from Münchenwiler, who has already visited and documented a large part of these topographical special points himself and who, with his knowledge, is at the origin of this article. Full of enthusiasm he tells us how this “healthy hobby” has already brought him to the most wondrous places in our country.

Switzerland’s highest point: Dufourspitze (right, left, Nordend summit), named after Guillaume-Henri Dufour (cartographer, general and co-founder of the Red Cross), at 4634 m the highest mountain in Switzerland, lies in Canton Valais and is part of the Monte Rosa Group, the second highest mountain massif in the Alps. First ascent: 1 August 1855. (picture Willy Taugwalder)

The highest points

They are the best known, especially the three four-thousand-metre peaks among them: Valais (and also Switzerland: Dufourspitze, 4634 m), Berne (Finsteraarhorn, 4274 m) and Grisons (Piz Bernina, 4049 m). Or the six three thousand metre peaks: Uri (Dammastock), Glarus (Tödi), Ticino (Adula/Rheinwaldhorn), St. Gallen (Ringelspitz), Obwalden (Titlis) and Vaud (Diablerets). They are reserved for alpinists, while those in Basel and Geneva are even accessible to the disabled.
The peaks are mostly at or near the cantonal border and in two cases (LU and AR/AI) at a cantonal border triangle. Jakob Schluep has made the highest points of fourteen cantons and recorded them in a coordinate manner: Schnebelhorn (ZH), Brienzer Rothorn (LU), Wildspitz (ZG), Hasenmatt (SO), St. Chrischona (BS), Hinteri Egg (BL), Hagen (SH), Säntis (AR/AI), Geissgrat (AG), Groot (TG), Chasseral Ouest (NE), Weiler Monniaz (GE) and Mont Raimeux (JU).

The lowest places

The record, which also applies to Switzerland, lies in Ticino (Brissago/estuary Valmara). All places on Lake Maggiore have the same sea level, namely the lake level (193 m), but in Brissago – one notices, the hobbyists take it exactly! – under normal conditions it is a few millimetres lower than further alpine. Switzerland’s highest low point is in Canton Appenzell Innerrhoden (Bruggtobel, 539 m), the second highest in Canton Uri in Seelisberg on the shores of Lake Lucerne (434 m).
Most of the cantonal lows are between 300 and 400 metres above sea level, with six below 300 metres (SO, BS, BL, GR, AG, TI). Most of them are aquatic affine. There are ten on a lake: Lake Biel (NE), Lake Neuchâtel (FR), Lake Constance (SG), Lake Lucerne (UR, OW, NW), Lake Zurich (SZ), Lago Maggiore (TI), Lake Geneva (VD, VS). All others are along rivers and creeks. The only exception: Appenzell Ausserrhoden; here one locates the lowest point in a settlement area and at the same time on the cantonal border (Lutzenberg AR/Thal SG).

Only 66 km lie in between

Five lows border other countries: Basel Rhine port to Germany, Brissago (TI) to Italy and St. Gingolph (VS), Chancy (GE) and Boncourt (JU) to France. When considering drainage areas, 20 of these are located in the catchment area of the Rhine, which leaves Switzerland in Basel: ZH, BS, BL, SH, AG directly on the river, AR, AI, SG via Lake Constance, others via tributaries of the Rhine, such as TG via Thur, SZ and GL via Limmat, LU, ZG and the original cantons of UR, OW, NW via Reuss, BE, FR, NE via the three peripheral Jura lakes or Aare and SO via Birs.
Three (GE, VD, VS) are located in the Rhône catchment area, which says goodbye to Switzerland in Chancy, and two (GR, TI) in the Ticino area, which has become the long lake (Lago Maggiore) and effectively leaves the country in Brissago. The lowest point in the Canton of Jura is very special: the Allaine leaves Switzerland at Boncourt, flows in the direction of Belfort, changes its name to Allan and flows into the Doubs at Montbéliard, the latter into the Saône and the latter into the Rhône at Lyon. Jakob Schluep visited all 26 low points and got to know charming areas. An interesting detail: Switzerland’s highest and lowest points (Dufourspitze and Brissago/estuary Valmara) are only 66.6 kilometres apart.

Two types of geographical centre

The geographical centre is the second-best known survey point besides the highest point.
The one in Switzerland (Älggialp, OW) was already equipped with a triangulation pyramid in 1988. It lies, figuratively speaking, where a Switzerland cut out in cardboard keeps itself in equilibrium on a needle tip (= centre of gravity). If one would do the same with a cardboard including the structure of the terrain topography, a different centre of balance (= volume centre) would result. For Switzerland, it is located at the Eggstock Nord on the territory of Urn.
The geographical centre is more common; however, it is not easily accessible and recognisable in every canton, because it is not marked everywhere in the terrain. Swiss-German cantons are somewhat more assiduous in this respect. The Canton of Aargau has designed its centre in the Hardwald near Niederlenz with particular affection, with monuments, benches and fireplaces. But also especially Zurich, Basel-Landschaft, Schaffhausen and Appenzell-Innerrhoden as well as several other cantons have marked their centres with memorial stones or plaques. A funny example: the canton centre of Basel-Stadt is located in a small terraced house garden “Im Heimatland”, near the Badischer Bahnhof railway station.

Curiosity and shift

A really freaky case is the Canton of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden, whose geographical centre – what a frustration! – lies in the Canton of Appenzell-Innerrhoden, in Schlatt-Haslen, because Ausserrhoden nestles banana-like around Innerrhoden. It was not supposed to be, although old rivalries are forgotten today, so tricks were used: Instead of the geographical centre, the arithmetic mean of the focal points of all 20 communes was chosen – and so they found their balance in Dietenschwendi/Teufen (AR) …
Especially centres are not carved in stone; they can shift. Example canton Berne: Since 1991 the centre was marked in Oberdiessbach. But because the Laufental valley changed to the Canton of Basel-Landschaft in 1994, the centre shifted to the Falkenfluh in Bleiken. When Bleiken merged with Oberdiessbach in 2014, the centre was back on Oberdiessbach soil. But only supposedly, because effectively it lies below the Falkenfluh in difficult terrain that belongs to Herbligen. And should Moutier ever change cantons, things would be different again …

Four wind rose points

Each canton also has four extreme points of compass; a total of 104. We limit ourselves here to one of four cantons, i.e. those who are congruent with the four extreme wind rose points of Switzerland: north (SH, Bargen; Schwarze Staa), east (GR, Müstair; Piz Chavalatsch), south (TI, Chiasso; Pedrinate) and west (GE, Chancy; Rhôneufer).
To complete the collection of topographical, cultural and local gems of extreme point tourism: In addition to a geographical centre, each canton also has a political centre, the town hall (Switzerland: Bundeshaus). These seats of the cantonal parliaments are the visiting cards of the states and, as representative buildings and political sites that can be visited (under the session with access to the parliament building), tempt visitors to make a patriotic collective visit. Sometimes, new, strange tourism ideas can even create a sense of identity!

The most borderline point

The Bernese commune of Uetendorf (where the writer comes from) has a very special exotic extreme point, namely the most distant point 69.24 kilometres from the national border. During Jakob Schluep’s active career as head of the Swiss border(!) veterinary service, this should hardly have occupied him …
Still unmarked, it lies in the middle of a meadow called Silbermoos, around 200 metres away from the former Eichberg country estate, one of the last summer residences of the Bernese patricians, and in a neighbourhood – also nomenclatically remote from the border – with Chröscherezälg, Heidenbüeli (where a Roman estate once stood), Zigüneregge and Entenried.
In addition, not far from one of the last cowbell foundries in Switzerland and the village church with what is probably the most bizarre history (connected with the Titanic sinking), for which the jungle doctor Albert Schweitzer designed and inaugurated the organ. The high distance from the border therefore does not mean that the Uetendörflers are backwoods. Perhaps, if extreme-point tourism continues to set a precedent, they will soon be the pivot of attention …     •

(Translation Current Concerns)

The extreme points of Switzerland

Highest point: Dufourspitze, Canton of Valais, 4634 m

Lowest point: The mouth of Valmara, Brisago, Canton of Ticino, 193 m

Middle point: Älggialp, Canton of Obwalden, 1645 m

Northernmost point: Schwarze Staa, Bargen, Canton of Schaffhausen, 823 m

Easternmost point: Piz Chavalatsch, Müstair, Canton of Grisons, 2762 m

Southernmost point: Pedrinate, Chiasso, Canton of Ticino, 493 m

Westernmost point: Rhöneufer, Chancy, Canton of Geneva, 333 m

The furthest point from the boundary: Silbermoos, Uetendorf, Canton of Berne, 554 m

Une autre géographie de la Suisse

Trésors topographiques non mentionnés sur la carte

par Heini Hofmann, journaliste scientifique

La Suisse n’a pas encore été entièrement découverte! Il y a bien de nombreux sentiers de randonnée et de pistes cyclables ouvrant de nouvelles découvertes de merveilles naturelles, de biens culturels, de vues panoramiques sublimes et de lieux de ressourcement. Mais parce que les gens aiment le spécial, l’inhabituel et les expériences fortes, une nouvelle tendance s’est développée: découvrir les points géographiques extrêmes, entreprise souvent difficile d’accès.

Le point d’altitude minimale du canton d’Uri: embouchure du Spreitenbach, Seelisberg, 434 m. (photo Jakob Schluep)

La Suisse, mais aussi chacun des 26 cantons, possède une grande variété de points géographiques extrêmes: le point le plus haut et les plus bas de sa topographie, le centre géographique et politique et les recoins les plus éloignés aux quatre points cardinaux. Parmi eux, il y a ceux qui sont connus et même marqués sur le terrain. Mais il y en a aussi qu’il faut chercher et demeurent souvent difficiles d’accès. Unique dans tout le pays est le point le plus éloigné des frontières.

Cela a commencé en l’année jubilaire 2012

Ce tourisme de points extrêmes a réellement commencé à l’occasion du 100e anniversaire de la mensuration topographique nationale en 2012, et il a immédiatement trouvé un public de topographes amateurs triés sur le volet qui s’est fixé pour objectif de trouver et d’engager tous les points extrêmes (même ceux que les cantons n’ont pas encore publiés sur leurs sites web), dans la mesure du possible pour un randonneur moyen, car les points les plus élevés nécessitent une technique alpine.
L’un de ces amateurs est Jakob Schluep de Münchenwiler, qui a déjà visité et documenté lui-même une grande partie de ces points topographiques très particuliers et qui, grâce à ses connaissances, a contribué à cet article. Plein d’enthousiasme, il nous raconte comment ce «passe-temps sain» l’a déjà conduit dans les endroits les plus merveilleux de notre pays.

Point d’altitude maximale de la Suisse: la Pointe Dufour (à droite, à gauche le sommet Nordend), dénommée ainsi d’après Guillaume-Henri Dufour (cartographe, Général de l’armée suisse et co-fondateur de la Croix-Rouge), constitue avec ses 4634 m le plus haut sommet de Suisse. Elle est située dans le canton du Valais et fait partie du massif du Mont Rose, le second plus haut massif des Alpes. Première escalade: 1er août 1855. (photo Willy Taugwalder)

Les points d’altitude maximale

Ils sont les plus connus, en particulier les trois sommets de quatre mille mètres: Valais (et aussi Suisse: la Pointe Dufour, 4634 m), Berne (Finsteraarhorn, 4274 m) et les Grisons (Piz Bernina, 4049 m). Ou bien il y a les six sommets de trois mille mètres: Uri (Dammastock), Glaris (Tödi), Tessin (Adula/Rheinwaldhorn), Saint-Gall (Ringelspitz), Obwald (Titlis) et Vaud (Diablerets). Ils sont réservés aux alpinistes; alors que ceux de Bâle et de Genève sont accessibles même aux personnes handicapées.
Les autres points les plus élevés se situent pour la plupart aux frontières cantonales ou à proximité de celles-ci et, dans deux cas (LU et AR/AI), dans un triangle frontalier cantonal. Jakob Schluep a visité les points les plus élevés de quatorze cantons et les a enregistrés précisément avec leurs coordonnées géographiques: Schnebelhorn (ZH), Brienzer Rothorn (LU), Wildpitz (ZG), Chrischona (BS), Hasenmatt (SO), Hinteri Egg (BL), Hagen (SH), Säntis (AR/AI), Geissgrat (AG), Groot (TG), Chasseral Ouest (NE), Weiler Monniaz (GE) et Mont Raimeux (JU).

Les points d’altitude minimale

Le record en Suisse se trouve au Tessin (Brissago/embouchure de la Valmara). En principe, tous les endroits au bord du Lac Majeur ont le même niveau au-dessus de la mer, à savoir le niveau du lac (193 m), mais à Brissago – on le remarque, les amateurs sont méticuleux! – dans des conditions normales, il se trouve quelques millimètres plus bas qu’en amont. Le point le plus élevé des points les plus bas des cantons se trouve dans le canton d’Appenzell Rhodes-Intérieures (Bruggtobel, 539 m), le deuxième plus élevé au canton d’Uri à Seelisberg sur les bords du lac des Quatre-Cantons (434 m).
La plupart des points cantonaux les plus bas se situent entre 300 et 400 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer, et six au-dessous de 300 mètres (SO, BS, BL, GR, AG, TI). La plupart d’entre eux sont liés aux eaux et se situent au niveau des lacs: lac de Bienne (NE), lac de Neuchâtel (FR), lac de Constance (SG), lac des Quatre-Cantons (UR, OW, NW), lac de Zurich (SZ), Lac majeur (TI), lac Léman (VD, VS). Tous les autres se situent le long des rivières et des ruisseaux. Seule exception: Appenzell Rhodes-Extérieures, le point le plus bas se trouve dans une zone d’habitat et en même temps à la frontière cantonale (Lutzenberg AR/Thal SG).

Distance entre le lieu de l’altitude maximale et celui de l’altitude minimale

Cinq points d’altitude minimale sont frontaliers à l’étranger: Bâle Port du Rhin, à l’Allemagne; Brissago (TI), à l’Italie et St. Gingolph (VS), Chancy (GE) et Boncourt (JU), à la France. Si l’on considère les bassins versants, 20 d’entre eux sont situés dans le bassin versant du Rhin, se séparant de la Suisse à Bâle: ZH, BS, BL, SH, AG directement sur le fleuve, AR, AI, SG via le lac de Constance, d’autres via les affluents du Rhin, tels que TG via Thur, SZ et GL via Limmat, LU, ZG et les cantons primitifs UR, OW, NW via Reuss, BE, FR, NE via les trois lacs du pied du Jura et via l’Aar, et SO via la Birse.
Trois (GE, VD, VS) sont situés dans le bassin versant du Rhône, faisant ses adieux à la Suisse à Chancy, et deux (GR, TI) dans le fleuve Tessin qui, devenu le Lac majeur, quitte le pays à Brissago. Le point le plus bas du canton du Jura est très particulier: l’Allaine se sépare de la Suisse à Boncourt, coule en direction de Belfort, change de nom pour Allan et se jette dans le Doubs à Montbéliard, ce dernier dans la Saône et cette dernière dans le Rhône à Lyon. Jakob Schluep a visité tous les 26 points les plus bas et ainsi a trouvé des endroits charmants. Une curiosité: il n’y a que 66,6 km séparant le point le plus haut et le point le plus bas de Suisse (Pointe Dufour et Brissago/embouchure de la Valmara).

Deux types de centres géographiques

Le centre géographique, hormis d’être le point d’altitude maximale, représente le point de mensuration topographique le mieux connu.
Celui de la Suisse (Älggialp, Obwald) a été équipé d’une pyramide de triangulation déjà en 1988. Au sens figuré, il s’agit du point sur lequel une Suisse découpée dans du carton se maintient en équilibre sur une pointe d’aiguille (= centre de gravité). Si l’on faisait de même avec un carton incluant la structure de la topographie du terrain, on obtiendrait un centre d’équilibre différent (= centre de masse). Celui-ci est situé pour la Suisse au Eggstock Nord sur territoire uranais.
Le centre géographique est plus courant, mais il n’est pas facilement accessible et reconnaissable dans tous les cantons, car il n’est point indiqué partout sur le terrain. Les cantons alémaniques sont un peu plus assidus à cet égard. Le canton d’Argovie a conçu son centre dans la Hardwald près de Niederlenz avec une affection particulière, avec un monument, des bancs et des places de grillade. Mais ce sont surtout Zurich, Bâle-Campagne, Schaffhouse et Appenzell Rhodes-Intérieures ainsi que plusieurs autres cantons qui ont marqué leurs centres de pierres ou de plaques commémoratives. Un exemple amusant: le centre du canton de Bâle-Ville est situé dans un petit jardin de maisons mitoyennes «Im Heimatland», près de la gare «Badischer Bahnhof».

Curiosité et déplacement

Un cas vraiment aberrant est le canton d’Appenzell Rhodes-Extérieures, dont le centre géographique – quelle frustration! – est dans le canton d’Appenzell Rhodes-Intérieures, à Schlatt-Haslen, parce que les Rhodes-Extérieures se blottissent autour des Rhodes-Intérieures comme une banane. Cela ne devrait pas être permis, bien que les anciennes rivalités soient oubliées aujourd’hui. Une astuce a été utilisée: au lieu du centre géographique, on a choisi la moyenne arithmétique des centres d’équilibre des 20 communes, ce qui a permis au canton de trouver son équilibre à Dietenschwendi/Teufen (AR) …
Surtout les centres ne sont pas gravés dans la pierre; ils peuvent se déplacer. Exemple du canton de Berne: depuis 1991, le centre se trouvait à Oberdiessbach. Mais comme la vallée de Laufon a changé de canton en faveur de Bâle-Campagne en 1994, il a déménagé sur la Falkenfluh à Bleiken. Lorsque Bleiken a fusionné avec Oberdiessbach en 2014, il était de retour sur le sol d’Oberdiessbach. Mais seulement d’après une supposition, parce qu’il se trouve effectivement toujours en-dessous de la Falkenfluh en terrain difficile qui appartient à Herbligen. Et si jamais Moutier changeait de canton, les choses seraient à nouveau différentes…

Aux quatre points de la rose des vents

Chaque canton à en outre quatre points extrêmes concernant les points cardinaux; au total ce sont 104. Nous nous limitons ici à un seul de quatre cantons, c’est-à-dire des cantons qui correspondent aux quatre points extrêmes de la rose des vents de la Suisse: Nord (SH, Bargen; Schwarze Staa), Est (GR, Müstair; Piz Chavalatsch), Sud (TI, Chiasso; Pedrinate) et Ouest (GE, Chancy; berges du Rhône).
Pour compléter la collection de joyaux topographiques, culturels et locaux du tourisme des points extrêmes: en plus d’un centre géographique, chaque canton dispose également d’un centre politique, la Mairie (pour la Confédération: le Palais fédéral). Ces sièges des parlements cantonaux sont les cartes de visite des cantons et, en tant qu’édifices représentatifs et sites politiques à visiter (pendant la session, avec accès à la salle du Parlement), incitent les visiteurs à faire une visite collective patriotique. Parfois, de nouvelles idées touristiques aberrantes peuvent même créer un sentiment d’identité!

Le point le plus éloigné des frontières

La commune bernoise d’Uetendorf (lieu d’où est originaire l’auteur de cet article) possède un point extrême particulièrement exotique, le point le plus éloigné de la frontière nationale, à 69,24 km de la frontière la plus proche. Au cours de sa carrière active à la tête du service vétérinaire frontalier suisse, il n’a probablement guère préoccupé Jakob Schluep …
Il se trouve, encore non marqué, au milieu d’une prairie appelée Silbermoos, à environ 200 mètres de l’ancien domaine de l’Eichberg, l’une des dernières résidences d’été des patriciens bernois, voisinant le Chrö­scherezälg (quel nom exotique, incompréhensible même pour un Suisse-alémanique), le Heidenbüeli (où se trouvait autrefois un vénérable domaine romain), le Zigüneregge («coins des gitans») et le Entenried («le marais des canards»).
En outre, il se trouve non loin d’une des dernières fonderies de cloches de vache en Suisse et de l’église du village à l’histoire probablement la plus bizarre (liée au naufrage du Titanic), pour laquelle le «docteur de la brousse» Albert Schweitzer a conçu et inauguré l’orgue. La grande distance de la frontière ne signifie donc pas que les gens d’Uetendorf soient des obscurantistes rustres. Si ce tourisme spécifique continue à se populariser, peut-être ces trésors topographiques deviendront-ils des centres d’attractions principaux?    •
(Traduction Horizons et débats)

Les points extrêmes de la Suisse

Altitude maximale: Pointe Dufour, Valais, 4634 m

Altitude minimale: embouchure de la Valmara, Brissago, Tessin, 193 m

Centre géographique: Älggialp, Obwald, 1645 m

Au Nord: Schwarze Staa, Bargen, Schaffhouse 823 m

A l’Est: Piz Chavalatsch, Müstair, Grisons, 2762 m

Au Sud: Pedrinate, Chiasso, Tessin, 493 m

A l’Ouest: berges du Rhône, Chancy, Genève, 333 m

Le plus éloigné des frontières: Silbermoos, Uetendorf, Bern, 554 m