Who is this demanding EU actually?

Switzerland must no longer allow itself to be blackmailed

by Dieter Sprock

If we follow the discussion in the Swiss media about the framework agreement called for by the EU, we are above all struck by the fact that hardly ever the question arises: Who is this demanding EU actually? There is, however, plenty of reason why it should be asked: For years it has not been possible to approve the EU budget, because billions have been disappearing into the bureaucracy’s black holes. Bureaucracy and regulations have taken on an extent that no one can take stock of any more. The poorer countries are becoming poorer and poorer, and also in the richer countries, the gap between the rich and the poor is widening. The economically strongest country in the EU, Germany, has the highest proportion of poor people, whose wages or pensions are below the poverty line. The grievances in the EU – above all the democratic deficit and the senseless destruction of money – stink to high heaven. No longer can lipstick be put on the pig.
More and more countries are trying to free themselves from EU dictation and to make a policy for their own population again. People are beginning to understand that the freedom of capital is not their freedom and that the increasing impoverishment of their countries is a consequence of the greed of the richest of all. In all EU countries, the parties critical of the EU are increasing their share of the vote. Less and less people want to continue seeing the policies of their countries determined by Brussels. Malicious tongues are already calling Brussels the new Moscow, thereby referring to the communist past.

Demand and threaten

If proof had still been needed of the undemocratic character of the EU, it will now, at the latest, be provided in form of the demands make on Switzerland: the EU is making demands and at the same time threatening sanctions. It demands the automatic adoption of EU law. And it is threatening to withdraw Switzerland’s stock market equivalence if the latter does not heed its calls – there is no reason for this from a technical point of view. The EU is threatening to block Switzerland’s market access to the electricity sector – although Switzerland is doing a good job as an electricity hub in Europe. The EU is threatening not to continue the existing bilateral agreements – although there is no objective reason to do so. …
A sovereign state cannot respond to such a setting. Contracts should be negotiated without threats and can be terminated and renegotiated without sanctions being expected – otherwise they are dictates. The EU’s demand for automatic adoption of EU law must be rejected without any ifs or buts.

Expert opinions

Since the Federal Council has now released the negotiated draft of the framework agreement for consultation and sent it to the consultation process, not a single day has passed without ever new “experts” repeatedly having their say. We read that they want to “contribute to clarification”, call for “objectification of the discussion” and offer “thinking aids”, because it is such a “complex topic”, that the “man in the street” has for a long time been incapable to follow all the trains of thought. Others are warning against “the decline of the Swiss economy”: If the framework agreement fails, the EU (!) might downgrade Switzerland “to the status of a third country”, wrote the “Neue Zürcher Zeitung” on 19 January, without showing any outrage. It continued to say that you clearly misunderstand democracy if you only see it as the “rule of the majority” and accept this fatalistically; and it called for assertive government. Other “experts” call for accession to the EEA or even directly to the EU as a solution.
Whatever all the “smart” experts may find out, nothing changes the nature of the EU itself. It simply does not represent the interests of the people. It is in the service of high finance, which, in the form of the internal market, has created an area for itself in which it can boundlessly move goods, people and capital, in order to make the greatest possible profit – at any sacrifice.

The citizens have the final say

The framework agreement is about access to Switzerland. It is intended to open up the Swiss market for services of all kinds to the financial market – including schools, universities and medical care – as well as public services, in particular water and electricity supply.
The CVP (Christian People’s Party of the Canton of Aargau recently expressed its concern that large Swiss companies are increasingly owned by foreign investors. In contrast to the past, many of these shareholders no longer behave like responsible owners, but are only interested in their own profit (“Neue Zürcher Zeitung” of 10 January). It is not alone in this concern.
Switzerland is therefore faced with the choice of either offering up even its sovereignty and its globally unique direct democracy to mammon, or of defending them by rejecting the framework agreement.
The financial industry is fighting with no holds barred to achieve its goals. Fortunately, Swiss citizens still have the final say in form of the referendum.     •

Qui est-elle en réalité cette UE exigeante?

La Suisse ne doit plus se soumettre au chantage

par Dieter Sprock

Lorsqu’on suit dans les médias suisses les débats au sujet de l’accord-cadre exigé par l’UE, on s’aperçoit avant tout qu’il est rarement question de savoir qui est véritablement cette UE. Les motifs pour cela abondent: depuis plusieurs années le budget de l’UE n’a pu être adopté suite aux milliards disparus dans les trous noirs de la bureaucratie. La bureaucratie et les réglementations ont atteint une envergure telle que plus personne n’a une vue d’ensemble. Les pays pauvres continuent de s’appauvrir et dans les pays riches le décalage entre les riches et les pauvres s’agrandit de plus en plus. Ainsi, l’Allemagne, pays économiquement le plus fort de l’UE, présente le taux le plus élevé des personnes pauvres devant vivre d’un salaire ou d’une rente en dessous du seuil de pauvreté. Les dysfonctionnements dans UE – notamment le déficit démocratique et le gaspillage insensé – sont un scandale. On ne peut plus les enjoliver.
De plus en plus de pays cherchent à se libérer de la tutelle de l’UE et de faire de nouveau une politique favorisant la population. Les gens commencent à comprendre que la liberté des capitaux n’est pas leur liberté et que l’appauvrissement croissant des pays est le résultat de la cupidité des personnes les plus fortunées. Dans tous les pays de l’UE, le taux des voix en faveur des partis euro-critiques augmente. De plus en plus de personnes ne veulent plus que Bruxelles impose sa politique à leur pays. De mauvaises langues prétendent entre temps que Bruxelles ressemble déjà fortement à un nouveau Moscou de l’époque communiste.

Les exigences et les menaces de l’UE

S’il fallait encore une preuve du caractère antidémocratique de l’UE, celle-ci est livrée en considérant les revendications exigées envers la Suisse: l’UE exige un mécanisme de reprise automatique du droit communautaire et avance la menace de sanctions. Si la Suisse n’obtempère pas, elle menace de lui retirer l’équivalence boursière – sans aucune raison, du point de vue technique. Elle menace de bloquer l’entrée sur le marché de l’électricité – bien que la Suisse fasse un excellent travail en sa qualité de plaque tournante européenne des échanges de courant électrique. Elle menace de ne pas reconduire les accords bilatéraux existants – sans aucune raison factuelle …
Un Etat souverain ne peut souscrire à de telles conditions-cadres. Il faut pouvoir négocier des contrats sans menaces et sans devoir s’attendre à des sanctions et on peut les dénoncer et les renégocier – sinon on est confronté à un dictat. La revendication de l’UE d’obtenir de la Suisse un mécanisme de reprise automatique du droit communautaire doit être rejetée sans sourciller.

L’avis des experts

Depuis que le Conseil fédéral a enfin mis en consultation la version négociée de l’accord-cadre, il ne se passe pas une journée sans que de nouveaux «experts» prennent la parole. Ils veulent, lit-on, «aider à trouver des solutions», appellent à mener une «discussion objective» et veulent proposer de «nouvelles démarches», car il s’agit d’un «sujet complexe» que le «citoyen lambda» n’arrive plus à comprendre depuis longtemps. D’autres rivalisent avec leurs mises en garde d’un «sérieux déclin de l’économie suisse». Si l’accord-cadre échoue, l’UE (!) pourra «dégrader la Suisse au niveau d’un pays tiers», écrit la «Neue Zürcher Zeitung» le 19 janvier sans aucune indignation. Et le quotidien de poursuivre que la démocratie est mal interprétée, si l’on n’y voit que le «règne de la majorité» et qu’on accepte cela de manière fataliste – puis suit un appel à gouverner sérieusement. D’autres proposent comme solution l’adhésion à l’EEE ou même directement à l’UE.
Quoi que ces experts «avisés» proposent, tout cela ne change pas l’essence même de l’UE. Elle ne représente pas les intérêts des peuples. Elle est au service de la haute finance qui, à l’aide du marché intérieur, s’est créé un espace, dans lequel elle peut déplacer des marchandises, des personnes et des capitaux de manière illimitée pour se procurer des gains maximaux – sans égard aucun pour les perdants.

Les citoyens auront le dernier mot

L’accord-cadre représente une prise en main de la Suisse. Il poursuit le but d’ouvrir le marché suisse au marché financier dans tous les domaines des services – dont les écoles, les universités ou les soins médicaux – et aussi les services publics, dont notamment l’approvisionnement en eau et en électricité.
Récemment le parti PDC du canton d’Argovie a exprimé sa préoccupation face au fait que les grandes entreprises suisses se trouvent de plus en plus souvent en possession d’investisseurs étrangers. Contrairement au passé, un grand nombre d’actionnaires ne se comportent plus comme des propriétaires responsables, mais sont, dans leur comportement, intéressé uniquement à leur propre profit («Neue Zürcher Zeitung», 10/1/19). Le PDC n’est pas seul avec de telles préoccupations.
La Suisse se trouve donc face au choix de sacrifier au vil argent également sa souveraineté et sa démocratie directe unique au monde, ou de se défendre par un «non» à l’accord-cadre.
L’industrie financière lutte concernant avec acharnement pour ses objectifs. Mais heureusement, les citoyens suisses auront toujours encore le dernier mot avec le référendum.    •