Comprehend more precisely

Ethics and culture – Leo Tolstoy, Ilya Repin and the “Travelling Artists”

cc. From 13 to 27 September 2015 the anniversary exhibition „10 Jahre Kunst Schwyz” (10 Years of Art Schwyz) is on display on the site of the Old Cement Plant in Brunnen. Since 2005 the exhibition “Art Schwyz” has been the annual culmination point for the association of artists of the same name from Central Switzerland. The association was founded in 1992 as a counter-position to the art scene backing and seeking to profit from the destructive Switzerland bashing – “700 years are enough” – in the context of the World Exhibition 1991. Urs Knoblauch spontaneously joined this countermovement and became a founding member of the artists’ association in the Canton of Schwyz.

As a part of this year‘s exhibition, he presents his artistic tribute to Leo Tolstoy and Ilya Repin and the Russian travelling artists. In the present work of art (installation) by Urs Knoblauch, the important issues of social justice, agriculture and food security are represented through the example of the two great Russian artists Leo Tolstoy (1828–1910) and Ilya Repin (1844–1930). The large-format acrylic painting of 2011 (215 x 195 cm, on canvas, to be rolled up like maps or school pictures) takes up the motif “Tolstoy plowing” (1887) and his famous short story “How Much Land Does a Man Need?” Various everyday items, objects, studies and a photo-text work referring to Chingiz Aitmatov (1928–2008) from 2009 complement the theme.
With his work, the artist also hints at the original meaning of the term culture from Latin “agricultura”. “However, meanwhile, one has forgotten that nourishments of corn, vegetables, and fruit raised from the soil by one’s own labour is the pleasantest, healthiest, easiest, and most natural nourishment, and that the work of using one’s muscles is as necessary a condition of life as is the oxidation of the blood by breathing.” (Leo Tolstoy, “What is art?”)

(Kopie 1)

In the 19th century democratisation was strengthened, good culture was to be made available to all people. Realism developed into a common sense visual language. Fourteen young Russian artists turned away from St. Petersburg Academy in 1863. They sought their motives in everyday life, in direct contact with the population and especially with the oppressed peasantry. In 1870, they founded the “Cooperative of Travelling Exhibitions” and dealt extensively with the ethical and moral tasks of art and culture. The “Peredwishnikis’ (travelling artists) created Enlightenment art, took their “travelling exhibitions” from cities to remote rural regions and praised the people and their agricultural work. The cooperative was joined by numerous significant painters of Russian Realism. A central personality was llya Repin, who was a friend of Leo Tolstoy. For decades, the “traveling painters” were highly influential. Changes in society, arbitrariness and formalism led to the dissolution of the “Peredwishniki” in 1922.
The art work is to be thought-provoking, how power politics, greed, wars, colonialism and social misery can be overcome. The whole world community needs more ethics, social solidarity and non-violent conflict resolution. Europe must go back to its humanist culture substance in order to contribute to a peaceful and equitable coexistence of all people. Everybody, especially the artists are invited to contribute. Switzerland made a major contribution in 2014 by publishing a joint issue of two stamps under the slogan “Partnership – 200 years of diplomatic relations between Russia and Switzerland”.

Urs Knoblauch: www.kultur-und-frieden.ch

Exhibition opening hours:
Urs Knoblauch’s Installation “Ethics and culture – Leo Tolstoy, Ilya Repin and the Travelling Artists” can be seen in the anniversary exhibition “10 years of Art Schwyz” on the site of the Old Cement Plant, Industriestrasse 15, 6440 Brunnen, from 13 to 27 September 2015. The exhibition is open:
Wed–Fri 3 – 8 p.m., Sat/Sun 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Vernissage with anniversary celebration:
Saturday, 12 September 7 p.m.

Pour une conception plus précise

Ethique et culture – Léon Tolstoï, Ilia Repine et les «Ambulants»

hd. Sur le site où se trouvait l’ancienne fabrique de ciment de Brunnen aura lieu, du 13 au 27 septembre, l’exposition «10 années d’art à Schwyz». Cette manifestation, qui a lieu chaque année depuis 2005, rassemble les artistes de Suisse centrale de l’association «Art Schwyz». Cette association fut fondée en 1992 pour marquer une position opposée à celle dégagée lors de l’exposition universelle de 1991, intitulée «700 ans suffisent». Urs Knoblauch a adhéré spontanément au nouveau mouvement, dont il fut l’un des fondateurs dans le canton de Schwyz.

Lors de l’exposition de cette année, l’artiste rend hommage à Léon Tolstoï, à Ilia Repine et aux peintres russes ambulants («Peredwishnikis»). Dans l’installation qu’il présente à l’exposition, il s’exprime à propos de la justice sociale, de l’agriculture et de la sécurité de l’approvisionnement, prenant pour exemples les deux personnalités que furent Léon Tolstoï (1828–1910) et Ilia Repine (1844–1930). La grande peinture acrylique (215x195 cm, sur toile, pouvant être enroulée comme une carte topographique ou un tableau scolaire) de 2011 est consacrée à «Tolstoï au labour» (1887) et à son célèbre roman «De combien de terre l’homme a-t-il besoin?» Divers objets d’emploi quotidien, des études et une œuvre photographique d’après un texte de 2009 de Tschingis Aitmatow (1928–2008) complètent ce thème.
Celui-ci renvoie à l’origine de la notion de culture, en latin «agricultura». «On a oublié que la nourriture faite de céréales, de légumes et de fruits plantés de ses propres mains dans la terre est l’aliment le plus agréable, le plus sain, le plus simple et le plus naturel et que le travail dû à la force musculaire est une nécessité vitale.» (Léon Tolstoï, «Qu’est-ce que l’art?»)
Au XIXe siècle, la démocratisation s’est amplifiée, chacun devait avoir accès à la culture. Le réalisme devint un langage compris de tous. En 1863, quatorze jeunes artistes russes ont rompu avec l’académie de Saint-Pétersbourg. Ils cherchaient leurs motifs au quotidien et en contact direct avec la population, en particulier avec la paysannerie opprimée.

En 1870, ils ont fondé la «coopérative des expositions itinérantes» et se sont consacrés ardemment au devoir éthico-moral de l’art et de la culture. Les «Peredwishnikis» ont créé des œuvres informatives, sont passés de la ville à la campagne avec leurs expositions, y célébrant les hommes et leur travail agricole. De nombreux peintres importants du réalisme russe ont adhéré à la coopérative. Ilia Repine, ami de Tolstoï, s’est particulièrement distingué. Durant plus d’une décennie, les «ambulants» ont exercé des effets impressionnants. Les changements sociaux, le manque de caractère et le formalisme ont provoqué leur dissolution en 1922.L’œuvre artistique doit susciter la réflexion sur des problèmes tels que la puissance, instrument de la politique, l’appât du gain, la guerre, le colonialisme et la misère sociale. La communauté internationale a besoin de davantage d’éthique, de solidarité et de moyens pacifiques de résoudre les conflits. L’Europe doit recourir de nouveau à sa tradition humaniste pour permettre une vie en commun paisible et juste. Tous – et notamment les artistes – sont invités à y participer. Par ailleurs, la Suisse a contribué, en 2014, à l’émission commune de deux timbres symbolisant «deux siècles de relations diplomatiques entre la Suisse et la Fédération de Russie».    •

Urs Knoblauch: www.kultur-und-frieden.ch

Heures d’ouverture de l’exposition:
On trouvera l’installation d’Urs Knoblauch «Ethique et culture – Léon Tolstoï, Ilia Repine et les Ambulants» dans l’exposition-anniversaire «10 ans d’art à Schwyz», sur le site de l’ancienne fabrique de ciment, Industriestrasse 15, 6440 Brunnen, du 13 au 27 septembre 2015.
L’exposition sera ouverte du mercredi au vendredi de 15 h à 20 h et du samedi au dimanche de 10 h à 18 h. www.kunstschwyz.ch