25 years Children’s Hospitals Kantha Bopha in Cambodia – the life’s work of Dr Beat Richner

Foundation Kantha Bopha Children’s Hospitals by Dr med Beat Richner

Cambodia/Zurich, November 2017 – Quite surprisingly the Zurich paediatrician and musician Dr Beat Richner “Beatocello” announced in 1991, that he would soon hand over his “Lädeli”, as he called the practice on the Zürichberg, to his colleague Dr Fredi Löhrer. He would move to Cambodia to rebuild the children’s hospital Kantha Bopha in the capital Phnom Penh. The King of Cambodia asked him for that. However, no money was available. The country was ruined after the Vietnam War and the Khmer Rouge reign of terror. The people were very poor.

Beat Richner examines a child in Jayavaram VII, the mother holds the hand. (picture Keystone)

Dr Richner was well acquainted with the children’s hospital, where he had led a mission of the Swiss Red Cross as a young doctor in 1974, until the day the Khmer Rouge took over and the entire elite of the country, including most of Kantha Bopha’s doctors were confined in camps and torture prisons and killed. Foreigners like Dr Richner had to flee the country. Now he wanted to help make up for the old wrongs, Dr Beat Richner explained before he left.
The story of this Swiss paediatrician, who is willing to give up his pleasant life on Lake Zurich in order to rebuild a destroyed children’s hospital under the most difficult conditions in one of the poorest countries in the world, has touched the Swiss population so much that thanks to the generosity of Swiss small and large donors, within 25 years Dr Richner was able to build five modern children’s hospitals with maternity, surgery, lecture halls, 2,300 beds and 2,400 Cambodian employees. In 2002, Dr Beat Richner was elected first Swiss of the year.
Every day, 2,500 to 3,500 mothers and fathers with sick children visit the hospitals in Phnom Penh and Siem Reap. 350 to 550 seriously ill children are hospitalized daily. The hospitals of  Dr med Richner treat about three quarters of all sick children in Cambodia. A whole generation of Cambodians owes their health to the Kantha Bopha hospitals.
Behind these impressive figures stands the struggle of an unshakable optimist and genius paediatrician who believes in his mission. And rapidly went forward: The first hospital was opened just one year after the first call for donations in the “Schweizer Illustrierte”, 25 years ago today!
Since then, this unusual Swiss Doctor has served the children of Cambodia around the clock. With his cello he annually gave several concerts in Switzerland to inform about the hospitals and to raise money. In speeches and books, he vehemently advocated his idea of correct medicine, to which people in poor countries have also a right.
He intrepidly started an argument with the World Health Organization (WHO) and the pharmaceutical industry because antibiotics were sold and recommended in poor countries that are no longer used over here. Today, people like to forget that he was always criticized by other relief organizations and auxiliary functionaries of various organizations and governments for running a “Rolls-Royce medicine”.
But  Dr Richner was right: Especially serious diseases such as tuberculosis and others, which rarely occur in our country, can only be correctly diagnosed with the most modern equipment. And a child with heart disease also has the right to surgery in Cambodia. Today, Dr Richner is recognized as a pioneer by experts from around the world: His hospitals have become a model internationally for correct, efficient, corruption-free medical care in the developing world.
Also the architectural conception and the disciplined, tight organisation of the hospital staff impress again and again politicians, doctors, experts and other visitors from all over the world. In Richner’s hospitals the hospital care is free of charge for the still very poor population. The staff is, according to Cambodian standards correctly paid, including the cleaning staff. Today the Kantha Bopha hospitals are also university hospitals as training center for young doctors. A close, long-term cooperation with the University Children’s Hospital Zurich and its management and chief physicians guarantees the high quality.
After many years of dependence on donations from the Swiss population, the Swiss Confederation and the Cambodian government have also been financially involved in recent years. Dr Richner was appointed a State Department Adviser to the Ministry of Health in the rank of an undersecretary of state in Cambodia. The government and the king have agreed that the state of Cambodia wants to become even more financially involved in the longer term.
But for the time being, Dr Richners work could not continue without the generous donations from Switzerland. Therefore, we thank all donors for their generosity and loyalty, hoping to be able to continue counting on them. Every donated Swiss Franc benefits the sick children to 100%. This also guarantees the Board of Trustees of Kantha Bopha Hospitals under the chairmanship of the Zurich lawyer  Dr med René Schwarzenbach.
To celebrate the 25th anniversary of Dr med Beat Richner’s children’s hospitals there will be a celebration with information and musical accompaniment on Saturday, 25 November at 12:15 pm in the Zurich Grossmünster. You are all cordially invited. There will also be a celebration in Cambodia, with King Norodom Sihamoni, Queen Mother Monineath and the entire workforce of the hospitals, representatives of the Swiss and Cambodian governments as well as a delegation of the foundation board.
Unfortunately, the celebrations take place without Dr med Beat Richner, who fell seriously ill a few months ago and therefore had to return to Switzerland for care. The absence of Dr Richner as head of the hospitals was a big shock to the Cambodians and the Swiss donors. Dr Richner suffers from a rare and incurable brain disease with increasing loss of function and memory, a tragic and sad fate for this extraordinary man. A small consolation is the statement of his doctors and his family that he himself does not suffer, has no pain, is well cared for, receives regular visits from his family and friends and apparently has not lost his humour.
Dr Beat Richner is not replaceable. Early on, he thought of a succession regulation and transferred responsibility for the hospitals to his deputy Dr med Peter Studer and the Cambodian medical team he trained, as well as the long-standing administrator, personnel and laboratory manager Dr Denis Laurent, who ensure a smooth continuance of the hospitals.
Considering the fact that in the very first year, skeptics have emerged on all sides, who doubted the sustainability of  Dr Beat Richner’s work, a 25-year celebration is the perfect moment to look back and be amazed that this ingenious paediatrician and musical clown from Zurich has achieved something that only few people thought possible. One can only say thank you to Beat Richner – and keep silent.    •
Dr med Beat Richner, honorary president,
Dr iur René Schwarzenbach, President,
Dr med Peter Studer, Head of Hospitals
Foundation Children’s Hospital Kantha Bopha,
Dr med Beat Richner,
PC 80-60699.1,  
IBAN CH98 0900 00008006 0699 1
Source: www.beat-richner.ch,

DVD special issue with 3 films (“Bach at the Pagoda” from 1996; “And the beat goes on” from 1999 and the documentation of the 15th anniversary of the hospitals of 2007)

25 années d’existence pour les hôpitaux pédiatriques Kantha Bopha au Cambodge – l’œuvre de Beat Richner

Cambodge/Zurich, novembre 2017 – En 1991, le pédiatre et musicien zurichois docteur Beat Richner «Beatocello» annonça de manière tout à fait surprenante qu’il remettrait bientôt sa «boutique», ainsi qu’il aimait appeler son cabinet médical situé sur les hauteurs de la ville de Zurich, à son collègue Fredi Löhrer et qu’il déménagerait au Cambodge pour y reconstruire l’hôpital pédiatrique Kantha Bopha dans la capitale Phnom Penh. Le roi du Cambodge l’avait sollicité mais en lui précisant qu’il n’y avait pas d’argent à disposition. En effet, le pays était ruiné après la guerre du Vietnam et le régime de terreur des Khmers rouges. Les gens étaient très pauvres.

Beat Richner ausculte un enfant, dont sa mère lui tient la main, dans l’hôpital pédiatrique Jayavarman VII de Siem Reap. (Photo keystone)

Le Dr Richner connaissait bien cet hôpital pédiatrique, car en 1974, il avait dirigé en tant que jeune médecin une mission de la Croix-Rouge suisse jusqu’au jour, où les khmers rouges ont pris le pouvoir et déporté toute l’élite du pays mais aussi la plupart des médecins de Kantha Bopha dans des camps et des prisons où ils furent torturés et tués. Les étrangers comme le Dr Richner ont dû précipitamment quitter le pays. Maintenant, il voudrait aider à réparer les préjudices subis, a déclaré Beat Richner, avant de partir.
L’histoire de ce pédiatre suisse, prêt à abandonner sa confortable vie au-dessus du lac de Zurich pour reconstruire un hôpital pédiatrique dans l’un des pays les plus pauvres du monde dans des conditions extrêmement difficiles a tellement touché la population suisse que grâce à la générosité de petits et grands donateurs suisses, il a pu, au cours des 25 dernières années, construire cinq hôpitaux pédiatriques modernes, avec maternité, chirurgie, auditorium, 2300 lits et 2400 collaboratrices et collaborateurs cambodgiens. En 2002, le Dr Beat Richner fut élu premier «Suisse de l’année».
Chaque jour, 2500 à 3500 mères et pères se rendent avec des enfants malades dans les hôpitaux de Phnom Penh et de Siem Reap. Chaque jour, 350 à 550 enfants gravement malades sont hospitalisés. Les hôpitaux du Dr Richner traitent environ trois quarts des enfants malades du Cambodge. Une génération entière de Cambodgiens doit sa santé aux hôpitaux de Kantha-Bopha.
Derrière ces chiffres impressionnants se trouve le combat d’un optimiste inébranlable et d’un pédiatre génial convaincu de sa mission, et sachant travailler de manière efficace. Le premier hôpital fut ouvert juste un an après le premier appel aux dons dans la «Schweizer Illustrierte», il y a exactement 25 ans!
Depuis ce moment-là, ce «Swiss Doctor» extraordinaire était vingt-quatre heures sur vingt-quatre au service des enfants du Cambodge. Avec son violoncelle, il a donné chaque année plusieurs concerts en Suisse pour informer sur les hôpitaux et collecter des fonds. Dans ses discours et ses livres, il a toujours défendu avec ferveur sa conviction que les plus pauvres ont droit à une médecine correcte.
Intrépide, il s’est opposé à l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) et à l’industrie pharmaceutique parce qu’ils avaient l’habitude de vendre et de recommander dans les pays pauvres des antibiotiques obsolètes chez nous. Aujourd’hui, on oublie volontiers qu’il avait été durement critiqué par d’autres œuvres d’entraide et fonctionnaires de différents gouvernements et organisations qualifiant sa pratique de «médecine Rolls-Royce».
Mais avec le temps, on a dû lui donné raison: notamment les graves maladies telles la tuberculose et d’autres, n’apparaissant plus guère chez nous, ne peuvent être diagnostiquées correctement qu’avec les appareils les plus modernes. Et un enfant souffrant d’une affection cardiaque a également droit à une opération au Cambodge. Aujourd’hui, le Dr Richner est reconnu comme pionnier par les experts du monde entier: ses hôpitaux sont internationalement reconnus comme modèle pour une aide médicale correcte, performante et sans corruption dans les pays du tiers-monde.
La conception architecturale et l’organisation disciplinée et stricte du personnel hospitalier impressionnent les politiciens, les médecins et les autres visiteurs du monde entier. Les soins hospitaliers dans les hôpitaux de Richner sont toujours gratuits pour la population restée pauvre, le personnel est payé correctement – selon le niveau cambodgien –, y compris les équipes de nettoyage. Les hôpitaux Kantha Bopha sont aujourd’hui des hôpitaux universitaires et des lieux de formation pour les jeunes médecins. Une étroite collaboration de longue date avec l’hôpital pédiatrique universitaire de Zurich, sa direction et ses médecins-chefs garantit la grande qualité des soins.
Après de longues années de dépendance de dons de la population suisse, la Confédération helvétique et le gouvernement cambodgien se sont aussi engagés financièrement et au Cambodge, le Dr Richner a été nommé conseiller du Ministère de la Santé au rang de Secrétaire d’Etat. Le gouvernement et le roi ont confirmé que l’Etat du Cambodge allait s’engager encore davantage financièrement et à long terme.
Mais pour le moment, l’œuvre du Dr Richner ne pourrait pas continuer sans les dons généreux provenant de la Suisse. C’est pourquoi nous remercions toutes les donatrices et tous les donateurs pour leur générosité et leur fidélité, dans l’espérance de pouvoir continuer à compter sur eux. Tout don profite à 100% aux enfants malades. Cela est garanti par le conseil de la fondation des hôpitaux Kantha Bopha sous la présidence de l’avocat zurichois René Schwarzenbach.
Pour la fête des 25 ans d’existence des hôpitaux pédiatriques du Dr Beat Richner, il y aura samedi 25novembre à 12:15 heures à l’église du Grossmünster de Zurich une fête avec des informations et un accompagnement musical. Tout le monde y est cordialement invité. Au Cambodge, il y aura également des festivités avec la participation du roi Norodom Sihamoni, la reine-mère Monineath et tout le personnel des hôpitaux, des représentants des gouvernements suisses et cambodgiens ainsi que d’une délégation du conseil de la fondation.
Malheureusement, les festivités auront lieu sans le Dr Richner, tombé gravement malade il y a quelques mois. Il a dû rentrer en Suisse pour les soins. L’absence du Dr Richner en tant que directeur des hôpitaux fut un grand choc pour les Cambodgiens et les donateurs suisses. Le Dr Richner souffre d’une maladie dégénérative rare du cerveau et incurable menant à une perte de fonction et de mémoire croissante. Un destin tragique et triste pour cet homme extraordinaire. La nouvelle (rapportée par ses médecins et sa famille) d’absence de souffrance, de douleur et la présence de bons soins dispensés à son égard, la visite régulière de sa famille et de ses amis, son sens de l’humour toujours conservé constituent un petit réconfort.
Le Dr Beat Richner est irremplaçable. Néanmoins, il avait lui-même et suffisamment tôt préparé le règlement de sa succession. La responsabilité pour les hôpitaux a été remise à son suppléant le Dr Peter Studer et à l’équipe de médecins cambodgiens formée par lui-même. Le Dr Denis Laurent, depuis de longues années administrateur ainsi que chef du personnel et du laboratoire est dorénavant le responsable pour le bon fonctionnement des hôpitaux.
En pensant au scepticisme auquel le Dr Richner fut confronté dès la première année de son magnifique projet et les grand doutes quant à sa durabilité, la fête de 25 ans d’existence est le bon moment pour faire une rétrospective et s’émerveiller de ce que ce pédiatre original et ce clown-musicien zurichois a réussi à faire. On ne peut que dire merci au Dr Richner. Et honorer son action.     •

Dr Beat Richner, président d’honneur,

René Schwarzenbach, président,

Dr Peter Studer, directeur des hôpitaux

Fondation hôpital pédiatrique Kantha Bopha,

Dr. med. Beat Richner PC 80-60699-1,
IBAN CH98 0900 00008006 0699 1

Source: www.beat-richner.ch

(Traduction Horizons et débats)

Edition spéciale DVD en anglais avec 3 films («Bach at the Pagoda» de 1996, «And the beat goes on» de 1999 et la documentation de la fête pour les 15 ans d’existence des hôpitaux de 2007)
«Ambassadeur – entre la vie et la survie» ISBN 978-3-907668-80-1