“Civil dialogue is and will remain a success story”

Impressions from the closing event of the German-Russian Year of Municipal and Regional Partnerships 2017/2018

by Eva-Maria Föllmer-Müller and Klaudia Kruck-Schaer

In Berlin on 14 September, the closing event of the German-Russian Year of Local and Regional Partnerships took place with great attendance. Participants from active municipal administrations, local associations and citizens in volunteer work had travelled to Berlin. Already during registration in the German Federal Foreign Office, the committed and joyful atmosphere among the approximately 900 Russian and German participants was clearly noticeable. There were more participants than expected. You got into a dialogue immediately and with everyone. It was clear that this was all about concrete civic commitment, about living international understanding. Everyone willingly provided information about his involvement in a wide variety of projects, often on a voluntary basis, be it in youth and pupil exchanges, in professional, scientific, sports and cultural exchanges or in administrative cooperation, and: on an equal footing.
    Thanks to the participation of the Russian and German Foreign Ministers Sergey Lavrov and Heiko Maas, the event was held at a high political level, as was the case at the Twinning Conference in Krasnodar (2017).

The representatives of the awarded project – a “part of the whole” from the almanac of German-Russian cooperation. Among them the two foreign ministers Sergey Lavrov and Heiko Maas. (picture www.deutsch-russisches-forum.de)

The morning was filled with four well-prepared working groups:

  1. Russian and German strategies for improving the quality of life in municipalities and in regions,
  2. Energy supply and sustainable urban development,
  3. Civil society shapes town twinning,
  4. active civil society in the social field: developments, results and perspectives in German-Russian partnerships.

In Berlin, on 12/13 September, the preliminary conference “On the way from Krasnodar 2017 to Düren. Balance-Impulses-Outlook. Meeting of German and Russian twinned towns” had already taken place. In a warm, serious working atmosphere, the working groups presented the results of this pre-conference, exchanged experiences and developed perspectives for future work and cooperation. It was possible to experience the successful and varied development of the civil dialogue between Germans and Russians from person to person, on a municipal level.

Social partnerships – a contribution to improve relations between the peoples

Especially in the field of German-Russian cooperation on social issues for people with disabilities, there are good developments. Gulnara Vaskina, Deputy Director for social issues of Perspektive Russland, Moscow, emphasised the paradigm shift in the concept of man (Menschenbild), which since the end of the Soviet Union has been more oriented towards the needs of the individual human being. It was emphasised by Svetlana Andreeva from Pskov, where there has been since 1993 – with the support of the Protestant parish of Wassenberg in the district of Heinsberg – a curative education center for children and young people with mental and severe multiple disabilities: We regard the human being as a valuable, dignified person who has a value in himself.
Concerning the importance of social partnerships between institutions in Russia and Germany, she added: An invaluable contribution is made to improve the relations between the two peoples and to the consolidation of our cultures “from below” by the manifold intensive human encounters on a broad basis especially in the social partnerships.

Experiences from Germany: Privatisation – not too much, not too fast

Another working group delt with improving the quality of life in municipalities and regions. “Not everything that comes from private investors is good for the residents,” said Jürgen Roters, former mayor of Cologne, using examples from his city to show the disadvantages of privatising urban property through cross-border leasing. For example, a block of houses for the socially disadvantaged and the homeless was sold to a foreign fund years ago. For ten years, literally nothing was done, then the city bought back the property for 38 million euros. Especially in the area of public service, municipalities should remain the owners.
Success recipe of

German-Russian Cooperation: human co-existence, trust, friendship

With great pride and many pictures, Dmitry Samojlov, mayor of Perm, introduced his city located in the Urals on the border with Asia. Already in 1916 there was the first university. Perm has all major industries: petroleum, aircraft, telephones, textiles, chemicals, woodworking, electronics, IT. The climatic shortage – snowy and ice-rich winters from November to May – would benefit the culture, because then many artists, also from Germany, would come to make the famous ice-sculptures. The birth rate is very high, “almost like in Soviet times”. German-Russian cooperation would focus primarily on the human component and not on the economic. “At the human level, everything goes better”.
Again and again, with regard to German-Russian cooperation, human coexistence, cordial friendship and mutual trust were emphasised. “The civil dialogue is and remains a success story – especially in times of political differences between our countries. […] We will do our utmost to further develop the unifying and reconciling force of civil society cooperation with Russia and actively promote it in society and above all in politics,” said Matthias Platzeck, Chairman of the Board of directors  of the German-Russian Forum.

Sporting encounters and memory culture as an important contribution to international understanding, especially among young people

A focal point of the municipal and regional partnerships are the sporting encounters in various disciplines, especially as an offer for the young people. In all tournaments and friendly games, international understanding and reconciliation are paramount. For example, Gert Kolbe, former press spokesman for the city of Dortmund and today’s archivist of the Dortmund football club BVB, reported that he had supported the city of Rostov-on-Don in the preparations for the World Football Championship. The German-Russian football bridges in St. Petersburg, Sochi, Orljonok, Moscow and Rostov-on-Don were organised for young athletes this year by the Brandenburg Sportjugend, the German Football Association DFB and the German-Russian Forum.
Jury Starovatych, former mayor of Volgograd, reported on the theme “Remembering for the sake of peace” that 75 years after the Battle of Stalingrad on 9 May 2018, Denkendorf and Volgograd hosted a friendly match between the U18 youth teams of Russia and Germany. Afterwards, wreaths were laid by the teams in two cemeteries in Rososchka, which had been created by the Volksbund Deutsche Kriegsgräberfürsorge, to commemorate the fallen.

Peace ride with a covered wagon from Brück to Veliky Novgorod

Since June, the “Kaltblut Zucht- und Sportverein Brück e. V.” has been carrying out a peace ride with eight covered wagons pulled by powerful Rhenisch German coldblood horses. The tour lasts three months, crosses Poland and the Baltic States and ends in St. Petersburg and Veliky Novgorod; that is 2,300 kilometres. During this peace ride, conversations and encounters take place in various places. On site, the organisers symbolically present small peace bells – a replica of the large peace bell they carry with them – and peace rye. The rye symbolises life.

Attracting the youth for peace and reconciliation work

At the centre of all discussions was always the question of how to attract young people for important encounters, how to encourage them to learn Russian and German, and how to make the history of the two peoples more understandable. The memory culture and peace work form the foundation of all projects presented.

Town twinning as a means against prejudices and enemy images

The commitment to the projects that were carried out was impressive. Many participants stressed that the encounter between citizens of different nations within the framework of town twinning makes friendships possible. One gets to know the other culture and sees a friend in the other one. Helmut Domke, chair of the Stiftung West-Östliche Begnungen (Foundation for Encounter between East and West), said that the town twinning is a suitable means against appropriation, prejudices, enemy images and political confrontation. Memory is more than just looking back. Memory is also the future of cooperation.

“If Germany and Russia are doing well, Europe will do well, too”

The afternoon panel discussion in the plenary session was entitled “Looking forward – German-Russian municipal and regional partnerships”.
The wide range of the 250 partnership projects reflects the will of the citizens. This expresses the great interest of the participants in cooperation on equal terms. The most important thing is human cooperation, said Bernhard Kaster, former mayor and member of the board of the German-Russian Forum. The joint work is characterised by the joy of cooperation. At the same time, he dunned that, in addition to political appreciation, a minimal financial support is needed as well. Markus Lewe, President of the Association of German Cities and Lord Mayor of the city of Münster, emphasised “Communication face to face, not Facebook”. If Germany and Russia are doing well, Europe will do well, too.

“The qualitative dialogue will come – there is no other possibility”

Mikhail Shvydkoy, Special Representative of the President of the Russian Federation for International Cooperation from the Russian Foreign Ministry and board member of the German-Russian Forum, gave some insights into German-Russian relations: “When the Berlin Wall was gone, I thought people would come together now. Then the wall came back into our heads. We thought that we had to start with civil society. For example, what is the optimal solution for water supply? In the field of education, it is much easier to understand each other in everyday life. Here we get along great.” He emphasised that after the two wars, people quickly reconciled again. Today over 70% of German citizens want good relations with Russia. Shvydkoy was optimistic: the qualitative dialogue will come, and there is no other possibility.

Expand town twinning and fill them with life

Referring to the “Joint final declaration” (see box below), Peter Franke, chairman of the Federal Association of German West-East Societies (BDWO) named also current difficulties: The donations of the German industry for the projects are decreasing, and only about 50% of the existing partnerships are really filled with life.
The event concluded with the ceremonial signing of three new German-Russian partnership agreements with the participation of the respective mayors (Greifswald and Vyborg, Schwedt and Tuapse, Lahr and Zwenigorod) and the awarding of 30 selected projects of German-Russian municipal and regional cooperation by the two Foreign Ministers Sergey Lavrov and Heiko Maas. Jury Starovatych, former mayor of Volgograd, was especially and for the first time honoured by the German Foreign Minister for his merits concerning the 30-year town twinning between Chemnitz and Volgograd. With great applause, he addressed the participants, before entering the stage.
The coming thematic year will be dedicated to science or education partnerships.    •

Joint declaration on the occasion of the closing event of the German-Russian Year of Municipal and Regional Partnerships 2017/2018 (excerpt)

The past year of municipal and regional partnerships 2017/2018 has impressively demonstrated the commitment to German-Russian understanding that has been shown by active municipal administrations, local NGOs and citizens working on a voluntary basis. This is why municipal and regional partnerships are part of the fundamental pillars of stable and multi-faceted relations between our countries, especially in these often tense times.
These partnerships – whether in youth and pupil exchange, in professional, scientific, sports and cultural exchange or in administrative cooperation – have often grown over decades and are shaped sustainably by citizens. They are based on a relationship of trust that has jointly been developed between those involved.
The municipal and regional partnerships are original tasks of the municipalities and regions and serve the well-being of their citizens. […]
Active town twinnings as well as new initiatives require not only political support and appreciation, but also concrete financial resources so that the work can bear fruit. Only then will it be possible to significantly increase the number of town twinnings and launch new projects in German-Russian relations.
We would like to propose the following concrete measures:

  • Support for the establishment of a German-Russian coordination council of the German-Russian twinned towns, consisting of representatives of German and Russian cities or their associations as well as representatives of committed social organisations active in the town twinning between the two countries,
  • Support for the German-Russian Town Twinning Conferences, which take place every two years, and additionally for one municipal conference each between the official meetings,
  • Regular implementation of a youth forum of town twinning in order to interest young people in German-Russian cooperation and to win them over for project realisation,
  • Continuation and support of the website for municipal cooperation as a point of contact for the cities and at the same time for greater transparency of the successes of regional German-Russian cooperation,
  • Over-the-year starter kits to launch new twinning programmes,
  • Over-the-year town twinning revitalisation packages to help cities and citizens reactivate town twinning,
  • Facilitation of the issuing of visas for citizens and city representatives involved in town twinning and friendships. In particular, facilitation of visas for youth and pupil exchange in town twinnings and -friendships,
  • Facilitation of traineeships, hospitations as well as professional and cultural exchange within the framework of town twinning.

Berlin, 14 September 2018

Matthias Platzeck, former Prime Minister, Chairman of the Executive Board, German-Russian Forum

Thomas Hoffmann, Managing Director, Stiftung German-Russian youth exchange

Peter Franke, Chairman, Federal Association of German West-Eastern-Companies

Jelena Hoffmann, Chairwoman of the Executive Board, Foundation West-Eastern Meetings

The brochure contains short descriptions of 243 projects from German and Russian regions. 250 projects had applied for the call for proposals for the German-Russian Year 2017/2018. “Each of the 243 projects tells of committed, enthusiastic and accomplished people in towns, municipalities and villages, of people who use their free time in an honorary capacity to make a difference. Each individual project shows how political tensions can be countered with something constructive that binds people together – with a small budget, spirit and skill. […]. … a very concrete success story that is far too seldom acknowledged by positive reports, articles or film reports in the media.” (from the foreword by Martin Hoffmann, Managing Member of the German-Russian Forum e.V.)
Available at www.deutsch-russisches-forum.de

«Le dialogue civil est et demeure une histoire à succès»

Impressions de la séance de clôture de l’année germano-russe des jumelages communaux et régionaux 2017/2018

par Eva-Maria Föllmer-Müller et Klaudia Kruck-Schaer

Le 14 septembre a eu lieu à Berlin, devant une vaste assistance, la séance de clôture de l‘année germano-russe des jumelages communaux et régionaux. Des membres de municipalités impliquées, des associations locales et des bénévoles, citoyens et citoyennes, y ont pris part. L’atmosphère joyeuse et enthousiaste des quelques 900 participants, russes et allemands, régnait déjà lors de l’enregistrement au Ministère des Affaires étrangères. Le nombre de ces participants dépassait largement les attentes et les nouveaux arrivants, à peine sur les lieux, engageaient la conversation avec tous. Il était clair qu’il s’agissait là d’un engagement civil tout à fait concret, d’une réelle entente entre les peuples. Tous, ils exposaient volontiers les motivations de leur engagement dans les projets les plus divers, que ce soit en matière d’échanges scolaires ou d’échanges de jeunes, d’échanges spécialisés, scientifiques, culturels ou sportifs, ou de collaboration administrative et ce, sur un pied d’égalité et le plus souvent bénévolement.
L’évènement, grâce à la participation des ministres des Affaires étrangères russe et allemand, Sergey Lavrov et Heiko Maas, a eu une haute portée politique, tout comme auparavant la conférence de jumelages inter-villes de Krasnodar (2017).


Les représentants de projets ayant obtenu une distinction – une «partie du tout» de l’almanach de la coopération germano-russe. Parmi eux, les deux ministres des Affaires étrangères Sergueï Lavrov et Heiko Maas. (Photo www.deutsch-russisches-forum.de)

La matinée comprenait quatre groupes de travail bien préparés:

  1. Stratégies russes et allemandes pour une amélioration de la qualité de vie dans les communes et les régions
  2. Approvisionnement énergétique et développement urbain durable
  3. Jumelages intervilles réalisés par la société civile
  4. Activités de la société civile dans le domaine social: développements, résultats et perspectives des jumelages germano-russes

Les 12 et 13 septembre à Berlin, avait déjà eu lieu la pré-conférence «De Krasnodar 2017 à Düren. Bilan – Impulsion – Perspective. Rencontres des villes-partenaires allemandes et russes». Dans un esprit commun de travail cordial et sérieux, les résultats de cette pré-conférence ont alors été présentés dans les groupes de travail, des expériences ont fait l’objet d’échanges et des perspectives ont été développées pour le travail et la collaboration à venir. Le dialogue citoyen entre Allemands et Russes, entre individus et au niveau régional était manifestement un succès.

Partenariats sociaux – une contribution à l’amélioration des relations entre les peuples

C’est justement dans le domaine de la collaboration germano-russe dans les questions sociales concernant les personnes avec handicap que se trouvent des évolutions favorables. Gulnara Vaskina, directrice adjointe de Perspective, (Moscou, Russie) a rappelé le changement de paradigmes qui s’est produit depuis la fin de l’Union soviétique dans le concept de l’être humain, orienté à présent vers les besoins individuels. Comme l’a souligné Svetlana Andreeva de Pskov, où existe depuis 1993 – avec le soutien de la paroisse protestante de Wassenberg, dans l’arrondissement d’Heinsberg – un centre médico-éducatif pour les enfants et adolescents souffrant de handicaps graves et multiples: nous considérons la personne humaine comme une créature dans l’intégralité de sa valeur et possédant sa dignité propre.
Concernant l’importance des partenariats sociaux entre institutions en Russie et en Allemagne, elle a ajouté: c’est justement par les partenariats sociaux que se produisent, par le biais de multiples et intenses rencontres individuelles et sur une très large base, une inestimable contribution à l’amélioration des relations entre les deux peuples et au fusionnement de nos cultures «d’en bas».

Enseignements d’Allemagne: privatisations – pas trop et pas trop vite

Dans un autre groupe de travail, on a traité de l’amélioration de la qualité de vie dans les communes et les régions. «Tout ce qui vient des investisseurs privés n‘est pas forcément bon pour les habitants», a dit l’ancien maire de Cologne Jürgen Roters, citant pour exemple les inconvénients dans sa ville de la privatisation de la propriété urbaine par le Crossborder-Leasing. C’est ainsi qu’il y a quelques années, un pâté de maisons conçu pour les sans-abris et les défavorisés avait été vendu à un fonds d’investissement étranger. Comme, sur une période de dix ans, absolument rien n’avait été accompli, la ville avait racheté ces biens immobiliers pour 38 millions d’euros. C’est bien sûr dans le secteur des services d’intérêt général que les communes doivent maintenir leur propriété.

Recette du succès de la coopération germano-russe: solidarité humaine, confiance, amitié

Avec une grande fierté et de nombreuses photos, Dimitri Samoïlov, maire de Perm, a présenté sa ville, dans l’Oural aux confins de l’Asie. Une première université y avait été implantée déjà en 1916. Perm possède tous les secteurs industriels importants: pétrole, aéronautique, téléphonie, industrie textile, chimie, transformation du bois, électronique, informatique. La rigueur du climat – hivers enneigés et glacés de novembre à mai – profite à la culture, car de nombreux artistes viennent alors d’Allemagne pour fabriquer les célèbres sculptures de glace. Le taux de natalité est très élevé, «pratiquement comme à l’époque soviétique». Dans la coopération germano-russe, on se focalise d’abord sur le facteur humain, qui passe avant le facteur économique. «Au niveau humain, tout se passe mieux». Ce qui ressort toujours de la coopération germano-russe, c’est le vivre-ensemble, l’amitié cordiale et la confiance mutuelle. «Le dialogue civil est et demeure, une histoire à succès – spécialement dans une époque de différends politiques entre nos pays. […] Nous ferons tout pour consolider la force des liens et la coopération civile-sociale avec la Russie, et ferons une publicité active sur le plan social et avant tout politique», a affirmé Matthias Platzeck, président du directoire du Forum germano-russe.

Les rencontres sportives et le culte du souvenir sont primordiaux pour l’entente entre les peuples, surtout chez les jeunes

Les rencontres sportives, dans les disciplines les plus diverses, sont le point d’orgue des partenariats communaux et régionaux, et cela surtout pour les adolescents. L’entente entre les peuples et la réconciliation générale sont de tous les tournois et les matchs amicaux. Gert Kolbe, ancien porte-parole de la ville de Dortmund et actuellement archiviste du club de foot BVB, a par exemple mentionné qu’il avait soutenu la ville de Rostov-sur-le-Don dans le cadre de la préparation de la Coupe du monde de football. Cette année, à l’occasion de la coupe du monde, la Sportjugend du Brandebourg, la Fédération allemande de football et le Forum germano-russe ont réalisé pour les jeunes sportifs des partenariats germano-russes dans le domaine du foot à Saint-Pétersbourg, Sotchi, Orlionok, Moscou et Rostov-sur-le-Don. Youri Starovatych, l’ancien maire de Volgograd, a rappelé, au sujet du «Souvenir autour de la paix» que les villes de Denkendorf et de Volgograd, 75 ans après la bataille de Stalingrad, avaient organisé le 9 mai 2018 un match amical entre les équipes nationales juniors (de moins de 18 ans) de Russie et d’Allemagne. Les équipes avaient ensuite déposé dans les deux cimetières de Rosochka, des couronnes fournies par le Service d’entretien des sépultures militaires allemandes.

Voyage de la paix en chariot bâché de Brück à Vieliki Novgorod

L’association du cheval de «Trait de Rhénanie (Rheinisches Kaltblut) d’élevage et de sport» de Brück mène depuis juin un programme de «voyage de la paix» avec huit chariots bâchés tirés par des attelages de chevaux particulièrement puissants. Le trajet dure trois mois, traverse la Pologne et les pays Baltes et finit à Saint-Pétersbourg et Vieliki Novgorod, c’est-à-dire sur 2300 kilomètres. Des rencontres et des discussions prennent place en divers endroits lors de ce voyage. Localement, les organisateurs remettent symboliquement de petites cloches de la paix – des copies de la grande cloche de la paix qu’eux-mêmes transportent – et des petits sacs de «seigle de la paix», le seigle représentant symboliquement la vie.

Rassembler les jeunes pour le travail de paix et de réconciliation

Au centre de toutes les discussions, il y avait toujours la question de savoir comment attirer les jeunes pour des rencontres importantes, comment augmenter leur participation à l’apprentissage du russe ou de l’allemand, et comment leur rendre accessible la compréhension de l’histoire des deux peuples. Le culte du souvenir et le travail de paix sont la fondation de tous les projets présentés.

Les partenariats intervilles pour lutter contre les préjugés et les clichés

L’engagement mis à l’exécution et la réalisation des projets est impressionnant. De nombreux participants ont fait remarquer que la réunion a permis à des citoyens de nationalités différentes de nouer des amitiés dans le cadre des partenariats intervilles. C’est ainsi qu’on se familiarise avec la culture d’autrui et qu’on le voit comme un ami. Helmut Domke, président de la Fondation des rencontres Est-Ouest, a dit que les partenariats intervilles sont le moyen approprié contre la récupération, les préjugés, les clichés et les conflits politiques. Le souvenir est donc bien plus qu’une simple rétrospective. Le souvenir est aussi l’avenir de la coopération.

«Si l’Allemagne et la Russie vont bien, cela sera bénéfique pour l’Europe aussi»

L’après-midi, le débat public s’est déroulé en séance plénière sur le thème du «Regarder vers l’avenir – les partenariats communaux et régionaux germano-russes».
La volonté civile était manifeste dans l’étendue de la palette des 250 projets de partenariat; c’était une indication de l’ampleur de l’intérêt porté par les participants à une collaboration sur un pied d’égalité. Comme l’a dit Bernhard Kaster, ancien maire et membre de la direction du forum germano-russe, le plus important, c’est l’aspect humain. Le travail commun se caractérise par le plaisir de la coopération. Il a en même temps demandé qu’à côté de l’estime politique indispensable, coexiste un encouragement financier minimal. Markus Lewe, président de la Journée des villes allemandes et maire de Münster, a souligné: «La communication les yeux dans les yeux (face to face), pas Facebook». Si l’Allemagne et la Russie vont bien, cela est bénéfique pour l’Europe aussi.

«Il y aura un dialogue de qualité – il n’y a pas d’autre possibilité»

Mikhaïl Schvydkoï, envoyé spécial du président de la Fédération russe pour la collaboration internationale du ministère des Affaires étrangères russe et membre du comité directeur du Forum germano-russe, a donné un aperçu des relations germano-russes: «Quand à Berlin le mur est tombé, j’ai pensé qu’à présent les gens allaient s’unir. Le mur s’est de nouveau élevé dans nos têtes. Nous pensions que nous devrions commencer par la société civile et sur des points tout à fait concrets, par exemple: Quelle est la solution optimale pour l’approvisionnement en eau? Ou bien, dans le domaine de la formation. Il est plus facile de tomber d’accord au niveau du quotidien, et là nous nous entendons parfaitement. «Il a souligné qu’après les deux guerres la réconciliation a effectivement été très rapide. Et aujourd’hui plus de 70% des citoyens allemands souhaitent maintenir de bonnes relations avec la Russie. Schvydkoï s’est exprimé avec optimisme: il n’y pas d’autre possibilité qu’un dialogue de qualité – cela viendra.

Développer les partenariats intervilles et les rendre viables

Peter Franke, nommé à la présidence de l’Union fédérale Est-Ouest des sociétés allemandes (BDWO), s’est référé lors de la «Déclaration finale commune» (cf. encadré ci-dessous) également aux problèmes actuels: les dépenses de l’économie allemande affectées aux projets diminuent et seuls 50% des partenariats existants sont réellement viables.
L’évènement s’est conclu sur la signature solennelle de trois nouveaux accords de participation germano-russes avec la participation des maires respectifs (Greifswald et Vyborg, Schwedt et Touapse, Lahr et Zvenigorod) ainsi que les distinctions attribuées à 30 projets de coopération germano-russes, communaux et régionaux, sélectionnés par les deux ministres des Affaires étrangères Sergeï Lavrov et Heiko Maas. En particulier, Youri Starovatitch, ancien maire de Volgograd, a été le premier à être distingué par le ministre allemand des Affaires étrangères, pour services rendus au jumelage de 30 ans entre Chemnitz et Volgograd; sous les applaudissements, il s’est à son tour adressé aux participants avant de monter sur la scène.
Le thème de l’année à venir sera consacré aux partenariats scientifiques et éducatifs.     •

Déclaration commune à l’occasion de la cérémonie de clôture de l’année germano-russe des jumelages municipaux et régionaux 2017/2018 (extrait)

L’année écoulée des jumelages municipaux et régionaux 2017/2018 a fait la preuve de manière impressionnante du grand engagement accompli en faveur de l’entente germano-russe par les administrations municipales actives, les ONG locales et les citoyennes et citoyens travaillant comme bénévoles. C’est pourquoi les jumelages communaux et régionaux sont des piliers fondamentaux des relations stables et variées entre nos pays, tout particulièrement par ces temps souvent soumis à de grandes tensions.
Ces partenariats – que ce soient des échanges entre jeunes ou entre élèves, des échanges scientifiques, sportifs ou culturels ou lors de collaborations administratives – se sont souvent développés durant des décennies et sont organisés durablement par des citoyennes et des citoyens. Ils reposent sur des relations de confiance développées mutuellement entre les acteurs.
Les partenariats municipaux et régionaux sont des actions provenant des communes, des municipalités et des régions et servent le bien-être de leurs citoyennes et citoyens. […]
Les jumelages actifs entre les villes et toute nouvelle initiative n’ont pas seulement besoin d’un encadrement et d’une reconnaissance politique, mais également de ressources financières concrètes pour que le travail puisse porter des fruits. C’est alors seulement que l’on réussira à augmenter le nombre des villes jumelées de façon significative et de mettre sur les rails de nouveaux projets dans les relations germano-russes.
Nous voudrions proposer pour cela les mesures concrètes suivantes:

  • des soutiens pour la création d’un conseil de coordination germano-russe pour les jumelages germano-russes, formé de représentants de villes allemandes et russes ou de leurs associations ainsi que des représentants d’organisations sociétales travaillant pour les jumelages de villes entre les deux pays;
  • des soutiens pour les conférences des villes jumelées germano-russes ayant lieu tous les deux ans, outre une conférence communale ayant lieu entre des rencontres officielles;
  • mise en œuvre régulière d’un forum de la jeunesse en relation avec les jumelages dans le but d’intéresser des jeunes gens à la coopération germano-russe et à la réalisation de nouveaux projets;
  • continuation et soutien du site web pour la coopération communale en tant qu’interlocuteurs pour les villes et en même temps pour créer davantage de transparence concernant les succès des coopérations régionales germano-russes;
  • financement initial sur plusieurs années pour créer de nouveaux jumelages;
  • financement sur plusieurs années pour réanimer d’anciens jumelages, pour soutenir tant les citoyens que les villes lors de telles réactivations;
  • facilitations lors de l’octroi de visa aux citoyens et aux représentants des villes engagés dans les jumelages et dans les partenariats de villes mais aussi pour les visas destinés aux échanges de jeunes et d’élèves dans le cadre des jumelages et des partenariats entre les villes;
  • facilitations pour permettre l’organisation de stages, de compagnonnages ainsi que d’échanges spécialisés et culturels dans le cadre des jumelages.

Berlin, 14 septembre 2018  

Mattias Platzeck, ancien ministre-président, président du comité directeur du Forum germano-russe  
Thomas Hoffmann, directeur de la Fondation pour les échanges germano-russes de jeunes
Peter Franke, président de l’Union fédérale des sociétés allemandes Ouest et Est
Jelena Hoffmann, présidente du comité directeur de la Fondation rencontres entre l’Ouest et l’Est

(Traduction Horizons et débats)

La brochure contient de brèves descriptions de 243 projets des régions allemandes et russes. 250 projets avaient répondu à l’appel de l’Année thématique germano-russe 2017/2018. «Chacun des 243 projets parle de personnes engagées, enthousiastes et expérimentées dans des villes, des villages et des communautés – de personnes passant leur temps libre dans des fonctions honorifiques pour faire bouger les choses. Chaque projet montre qu’il est possible, avec un petit budget, avec esprit et âme, d’opposer aux tensions politiques quelque chose de constructif, rapprochant et reliant les gens. […] C’est l’histoire concrète d’une réussite, qui est beaucoup trop rarement mis en évidence par des messages positifs, des articles ou des reportages dans les médias.» (Extrait de l’avant-propos de Martin Hoffmann, administrateur délégué du Forum germano-russe)

Disponible sur le site www.deutsch-russisches-forum.de