What is needed in Germany – constitutional law instead of political propaganda

by Karl Müller

Many Germans think they know what has to be top priority on the political agenda: the “Fight against the Right”. They think they know perfectly that it is now necessary to “stand up” against right-wing – in order to prevent a new seizure of power through the “Nazis”, in order to make Germany stay a “liberal”, an “open-minded” country. Today’s “Right”, they think - and it is also what they read in the media and what they heard from politicians – are the direct descendants of the National Socialists of the past century.
Hence almost all is permitted in the “Fight against the Right”: defamation, social isolation, damage to property and also personal injury.

“Right-wing” – a political combat term

But obviously they are not aware that the term “right-wing” has become a political combat term, especially in Germany. Hardly anyone wants to be “right-wing”; there is an immediate association to the German National Socialism. But the origin of the term has nothing to do with this. It goes back to the seating arrangements in the French national assembly in 1814. On the right side of parliament, seen from the front, there sat the political forces “who stood up for the preservation of the current political and social conditions”. This is what the German Federal Agency for Civic Education wrote in 2011.

World War II was not a national war

One does not have to like these political forces, the conservatives, but they are different from the National Socialists in Germany or the Fascists in Italy. This includes those who advocate the conservation of the European nation states and the return to national sovereignty. They are very different from Fascists and National Socialists.
The Italian Fascists were dreaming of a re-establishment of the Imperium Romanum. They were imperialists. The National Socialists were no friends of independent nation states, too. Many of them adhered to all-German ideas which also were served by Hitler in the first years. But Hitler’s National Socialists were racists and imperialists.
Hitler was dreaming of a Europe unified under his rule. Aryan members of the master race did not only exist in Germany and he was striving for “Lebensraum” in the East and the enslavement of the hitherto sovereign European peoples and nations, particularly those in the East. In 1943 a handbill from the resistance group “Weisse Rose” stated: “What can we learn from the outcome of the war, which never was a national war? The imperialist idea of power, from which side it may come, needs to be disposed of for all times.”

What does the German Grundgesetz (constitution) stipulate?

The German constitution does not know about the political terms left-wing and right-wing. But it does know the terms “loyalty to the constitution” (article 5 III), “constitutional order” (article 9 II), “free democratic order” (article 18 and article 21 II). The Grundgesetz (GG) itself does not explicitly define the term free democratic order. But the Federal Constitutional Court has done so, in the early 50s when it was negotiating the question of declaring two parties as unconstitutional and hence illegal. Its definition was:
“A free democratic constitutional order within the meaning of Article 21 II of the Basic Law is an order which, to the exclusion of any rule of violence or arbitrariness, constitutes a rule of law on the basis of the self-determination of the people according to the will of the respective majority and of freedom and equality. The fundamental principles of this order shall include, as a minimum, respect for the human rights as specified in the Basic Law, in particular the right of the personality to life and free development, the sovereignty of the people, the separation of powers, the accountability of the government, the lawfulness of the administration, the independence of the courts, the principle of multi-party rule and equal opportunities for all political parties with the right to constitutional formation and exercise of opposition”. (BVerfGE 2, 1 (Ls. 2, pp. 12)) [Tranlation Current Concerns]
These are, in essence, the basic principles which can be derived from articles 1 and 20 of the Grundgesetz, that is, basic principles which are provided with an “eternity clause”. Only the requirement of equality of chances for all political parties and the right to form an opposition is exceeding these two articles.

Well-fortified democracy against all unconstitutional attempts

Also the court’s statement above is not speaking of right-wing and left-wing, nor of right-wing or left-wing extremism. It has formulated a benchmark for all political forces, within or without the parliament. The German constitution is the constitution of a well-fortified democracy. Unconstitutional political goals and even more unconstitutional politics may not be without consequences, no matter if they originate from right-wing or left-wing extremists or from other political forces. They need to be kept at bay. But what has this to do with today’s “Fight against the Right”?

It has nothing to do with “Antifa”

It is known that the German “Antifa” has taken up the cause of the “Fight against the Right”. It has been doing it for many years. Today it has little to do with a true prevention of Fascist attempts. It includes many left-wing extremists; also some tragically neglected young people. But the “Antifa” is enjoying an updraft, also financially, since the “Fight against the Right” has become German governmental politics and is even supported by people like Madeleine Albright in the US, who is also warning from a return of Fascism.
Today innocent citizens are harassed in the name of the “Fight against the Right”: because they do not agree with the mainstream in media and politics and not endorse internationalism but support a free, democratic and sovereign state of law. The parastatal Deutschlandfunk gave an example for this: in a commentary on the afternoon of 27 September, Paul Craig Roberts, the former US Assistant Secretary of the Treasury and committed critic of the imperialist US politics was labelled “the Republicans’ most stalwart right-wing radical”.

Who brought the Nazis to power?

Who still remembers who were the decisive forces behind the fascists and National Socialists in the 20th century? Then it was clandestine political circles, financial powers and racists, many of them from Great Britain and the US, the precursors of the market-radical globalisation capitalists of today and their ideologues. At that time they found that Bolshevism was to be fought with all means, in the Soviet Union and also elsewhere in the world. Thus the fascists and National Socialists were brought to power and into position. And where do we stand today? Which side is really threatening freedom, rule of law and democracy?

A severe offence against our youth

Many of those active in the “Fight against the Right” are young people. It is a severe offence if young people are abused for political ends. Who is benefitting from their “Fight against the Right” today? What is the goal if other people are pilloried, if a paralysing atmosphere of caution is spreading and smothering any open controversy with arguments? Is this fostering human dignity and human rights, peace and justice? Or are young people once again used – as so often in history – for very different, undeclared purposes?    •

German episodes

#Wirsindmehr?

km. At the beginning of September 2018, several tens of thousands, mostly young people, gathered under the signet of #Wirsindmehr (We are more than that) in Chemnitz to listen to speeches and music performances that pretended to set a sign against right-wing extremism in Germany, but in many respects were rather tasteless to violent. The Federal President of the Federal Republic of Germany Frank Walter Steinmeier himself had recommended this event, and some may have thought that this must have been an error. This is obviously not the case.
Under the signet #Wirsindmehr, events take place in various German cities whose political quality is questionable, but which are broadly supported by many organisations and even state institutions – is that lawful? So for example on 5 October 2018 in the German city of Konstanz. Patron of this event was the Lord Mayor of the city, the CDU member Uli Burchardt. The “alliance“ includes, among others, the local CDU, FDP, SPD, Bündnis 90/Die Grünen, Die Linke, Free Voters, the DGB, IG Metall and Verdi, Amnesty International and the Protestant Church District, the University of Konstanz and last not least “Pulse of Europe“, an organisation that promotes the EU throughout EU-Europe.
Commitment to “democracy and rule of law, humanity and solidarity“, as it is called in the Konstanz event appeal, may be certainly good. At the same time, however, painting the acute danger of a right-wing extremist takeover on the wall (“it‘s five after twelve“) and at the same time admixing the AfD with it is rather political propaganda – and one wonders who the whole thing should serve.

Now we know what populism is

Bertolt Brecht, initially a friend of the GDR, wrote a famous poem after 17 June 1953:

The Solution
After the uprising of the 17th June

The Secretary of the Writer’s Union
Had leaflets distributed in the Stalinallee

Stating that the people

Had forfeited the confidence of the
government

And could win it back only

By redoubled efforts.
Would it not be easier

In that case for the government

To dissolve the people

And elect another?

65 years later, the Bertelsmann Foundation and the Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin (Social Science Research Center) published an almost 100-page study entitled “Populism Barometer 2018: Populist attitudes among voters and non-voters in Germany 2018”.
The media were alarmed that more than 30 percent of the Germans surveyed were said to be inclined toward populism – and the positive trend is continuing.
Page 18 of the study provides the compact answer to the question of when a person is said to have populist attitudes. And that is if he or she unanimously agrees with the following statements:

  • Citizens often in agreement, but politicians pursue completely different goals.
  • I would rather be represented politically by a simple citizen than by a politician.
  • The parties only want the voters’ votes, they are not interested in their views.
  • The political differences between the citizens and politicians are greater than the differences between citizens.
  • Important questions should not be decided by parliaments, but in referendums.
  • The Politicians in the Bundestag should always follow the will of the citizens.
  • The citizens in Germany agree in principle on what has to happen politically.
  • What is called a “compromise” in politics is in reality nothing more than a betrayal of one‘s own principles.

Everyone can now check for himself or herself whether he or she is a populist.
But perhaps, now some people may also think that the official “fight against populism” might have something to do with Bertolt Brecht‘s poem.

“The ‚Fight against the Right‘ is aimed at the middle class”

Kristina Schröder (CDU), German Federal Minister for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth from 2009-2013, has critically examined the “Fight against the Right” in a lengthy article for the newspaper “Die Welt” from 24 August 2018. The article is entitled: “The ‚Fight against the Right‘ is aimed at the middle class”. Here she writes among other things:
“The left-wing has expanded the fight against right-wing extremism. Supported by the state, everything that is not left is combated - left-wing extremism trivialises. The anti-totalitarian consensus has been destroyed, and the CDU must decide. […]
The fight against right-wing extremism became the ‚Fight against the Right‘. Anyone who believes that only linguistic laziness is at work here is naive. Many of those who romp about in this field with state support are actually concerned with fighting everything that is not on the Left. The old thesis of 1968 that capitalist society is at least a pre-fascist society still reverberates here. […]
The ‚Fight against the Right‘ must therefore be taken literally: The point is to denounce political convictions as illegitimate in democratic discourse, some of which would probably even be approved by supporters of the Center Union. The spectrum of what can still be said, is now to be shifted far to the left.”
(Translation Current Concerns)

Crise en Allemagne: nécessité de la primauté du droit constitutionnel sur la propagande politique

par Karl Müller

De nombreux Allemands pensent connaître la première des priorités politiques, à savoir la «lutte contre la droite» [«Kampf gegen rechts»]. Ils sont convaincus de la nécessité actuelle de «se dresser» contre la droite – afin d’éviter une nouvelle prise du pouvoir par les «nazis» et permettre ainsi à l’Allemagne de rester un pays «libéral» et «cosmopolite». La «droite» actuelle, pensent-ils – et ils l’ont également lu et vu dans les médias et l’ont entendu de la bouche des politiciens –, descend directement des nationaux-socialistes du siècle dernier.
Donc, dans la «lutte contre la droite», presque tout est permis: diffammation, l’exclusion sociale, les dommages matériels et les dommages corporels.

«De droite» – un terme de combat politique

Mais ils ne savent apparemment pas que le terme «de droite» est devenu un terme de combat politique, notamment en Allemagne. ll n’y a presque plus personne qui se dit être «de droite», car à l’heure actuelle cela éveille immédiatement une association mentale avec les nationaux-socialistes allemands. En réalité, l’origine du mot est complètement différente. Le terme remonte à la répartition des places dans l’Assemblée nationale française de 1814. Vu du front, à droite, se trouvaient les forces politiques «engagées en faveur de la préservation des conditions politiques et sociales actuelles». Cela est l’explication donnée en 2011 par l’Agence fédérale allemande pour l’éducation civique.

La Seconde Guerre mondiale n’était pas une guerre nationale

Il n’est pas nécessaire d’avoir des opinions identiques à ces forces politiques, représentées par les conservateurs, mais elles n’ont rien à voir avec celles des nationaux-socialistes en Allemagne et des fascistes en Italie. Cela vaut également pour ceux qui s’engagent en faveur de la préservation des Etats-nations européens et de la reconquête de leur souveraineté. Eux aussi ont un tout autre programme que les fascistes et les nationaux-socialistes.
Les fascistes italiens rêvaient d’une résurrection de l’Empire romain. Ils étaient des impérialistes. Les nationaux-socialistes n’étaient pas des amis des Etats-nations souverains. Beaucoup d’entre eux affichaient bien des pensées pangermanistes soutenues par la politique d’Hitler au cours des premières années. Mais les nationaux-socialistes d’Hitler étaient avant tout racistes et impérialistes.
Hitler rêvait d’une Europe unie sous ses ordres. Pour lui, la race supérieure aryenne n’existait pas uniquement en Allemagne, mais également à l’Est. Car, après l’asservissement des nations et des peuples européens précédemment souverains, il aspirait à conquérir un «espace de vie» à l’Est. En 1943, dans un tract du groupe de résistance «La Rose blanche», on pouvait lire: «Que nous enseigne l’issue de la guerre, qui n’a jamais été nationale? L’idée impérialiste du pouvoir, indépendamment d’où elle survient, doit être éliminée pour toujours.»

Que dit la Loi fondamentale allemande?

La Loi fondamentale allemande ne connaît pas les termes politiques de droite et de gauche. Mais elle connaît les termes de la «fidélité à la constitution» (art. 5 al. 3), l’«ordre constitutionnel» (art. 9 al. 2), l’«ordre constitutionnel libéral et démocratique» (art. 18 et art. 21 al. 2). La Loi fondamentale elle-même ne définit pas explicitement ce que l’on entend par «ordre constitutionnel libéral et démocratique». Mais la Cour constitutionnelle fédérale en a élaboré sa conception au début des années 1950 lorsqu’il s’agissait de savoir si deux partis étaient inconstitutionnels et devaient être interdits. Elle a défini l’ordre constitutionnel libéral et démocratique comme suit:
«Un ordre constitutionnel libéral et démocratique au sens de l’article 21 de la Loi fondamentale est un ordre qui, en excluant tout pouvoir violent et arbitraire, représente un pouvoir conforme aux exigences de l’Etat de droit fondé sur l’autodétermination du peuple conformément à la volonté de la majorité, sur la liberté et l’égalité. Les principes fondamentaux de cet ordre comprennent, au minimum, le respect des droits de l’homme tels qu’ils sont définis dans la Loi fondamentale, en particulier le droit de la personne à la vie et au libre développement, la souveraineté du peuple, la séparation des pouvoirs, la responsabilité du gouvernement, la légalité de l’administration, l’indépendance des tribunaux, le principe du multipartisme et l’égalité – pour tous les partis politiques – des chances à la formation et l’exercice constitutionnel d’une opposition.» (BVerfGE 2, 1 [Ls. 2, 12 f.])
Il s’agit essentiellement des principes de base pouvant être tirés des articles 1 et 20 de la Loi fondamentale, c’est-à-dire des principes de base assortis d’une «clause d’éternité» dans la Loi fondamentale elle-même. Seule la revendication de l’égalité des chances pour tous les partis politiques et le droit à l’opposition va au-delà de ces deux articles.

Démocratie vigilante contre tous les efforts anticonstitutionnels

Là non plus, il n’est pas question de droite et de gauche, ni d’extrême droite ou d’extrême gauche. Ici, on a formulé des limites auxquelles toutes les forces politiques doivent accepter de se confronter, tant à l’extérieur qu’à l’intérieur du Parlement. La Constitution allemande est celle d’une démocratie vigilante. Les objectifs politiques anticonstitutionnels et plus encore toute politique anticonstitutionnelle ne doivent pas rester sans conséquences – qu’elles soient le fait d’extrémistes de droite, d’extrémistes de gauche ou de toutes autres forces politiques. Il faut les remettre à leur place. Mais cela a-t-il un lien avec l’actuelle «lutte contre la droite»?

Cela n’a rien à voir avec l’«Antifa»

Le fait que le mouvement «Antifa» allemand ait écrit la «lutte contre la droite» sur ses drapeaux n’est pas nouveau. Elle le fait depuis de nombreuses années et n’a aujourd’hui que peu à voir avec une véritable prévention des aspirations fascistes. De nombreux extrémistes de gauche s’y retrouvent, certains d’entre eux des jeunes tragiquement délaissés. Mais le mouvement «Antifa» a des stimuli, également financiers, depuis que la «lutte contre la droite» est devenue la politique du gouvernement allemand. Cette politique s’étend jusqu’aux Etats-Unis à Madeleine Albright, qui elle aussi met en garde contre un nouveau fascisme.
A l’heure actuelle, on invoque la «lutte contre la droite» pour harceler des citoyens innocents: parce qu’ils ne sont pas d’accord avec le courant dominant des médias et de la politique et parce qu’ils ne prêchent pas l’internationalisme, mais défendent plutôt l’Etat constitutionnel libéral, démocratique et souverain. Récemment, le Deutschlandfunk en a donné un nouvel exemple: dans un commentaire de l’après-midi du 27 septembre, Paul Craig Roberts, ancien haut fonctionnaire du Trésor américain et personnalité se permettant de critiquer la politique impérialiste américaine, est catalogué de «pire figure radicale de droite des Républicains».

Qui a amené les nazis au pouvoir?

Quelqu’un se souvient-il encore des forces décisives ayant soutenus les fascistes et les nationaux-socialistes du XXe siècle? Il s’agissait alors de milieux politiques clandestins, de forces possédant de gros moyens financiers et de racistes, souvent de Grande-Bretagne et des Etats-Unis – les précurseurs des actuels capitalistes de la globalisation radicale du marché, de leurs soutiens et de leurs idéologues. A l’époque, ils étaient d’avis qu’il fallait combattre le bolchevisme par tous les moyens, en Union soviétique et ailleurs dans le monde. C’est ainsi qu’on implanta et porta au pouvoir les fascistes et les nationaux-socialistes. Et où en sommes-nous aujourd’hui? De quel côté la liberté, l’Etat de droit et la démocratie sont-ils réellement remis en danger?

Une transgression grave contre les jeunes

Beaucoup de ceux qui sont actifs dans la «lutte contre la droite» sont des jeunes gens. C’est une transgression grave que d’abuser des jeunes gens à des fins politiques. A qui servira leur actuelle «lutte contre la droite»? Quel est l’objectif de la mise au pilori d’autres personnes, de recouvrir tout débat constructif et ouvert d’une couche de mildiou paralysante? S’agit-il d’un engagement en faveur de la dignité humaine et des droits de l’homme, de la paix et de la justice? Ou veut-on une fois de plus – comme si souvent dans l’histoire – utiliser la jeune génération à des fins non déclarées?    •

Episodes allemands

#Wirsindmehr?

km. Début septembre 2018, sous le logo #Wirsindmehr [#Nous-sommes-plus-nombreux], plusieurs dizaines de milliers de personnes, principalement des jeunes, se sont rassemblées à Chemnitz pour écouter des discours et des performances musicales – à bien des égards plutôt insipides ou violents –, prétendant ainsi donner un signal fort contre l’extrémisme de droite en Allemagne. Le président fédéral allemand Frank Walter Steinmeier avait recommandé cet événement, et certains ont peut-être pensé qu’il s’agissait d’une erreur. Mais ce n’était pas le cas. Sous le logo #Wirsindmehr, des événements, dont la qualité politique est très douteuse, ont lieu dans diverses villes allemandes, organisés et financés par de nombreuses organisations et institutions publiques – est-ce légal? Une telle manifestation a, par exemple, eu lieu le 5 octobre 2018 dans la ville de Constance, dans le sud du Bade-Wurtemberg. Le maire de la ville Uli Burchardt (CDU) a parrainé l’événement. L’«Alliance» comprenait la CDU locale, le FDP, le SPD, Bündnis 90/Die Grünen, Die Linke, Freie Wähler, le DGB, IG Metall et Verdi, Amnesty International et l’Evangelische Kirchenbezirk, l’Université de Constance et, pour finir, «Pulse of Europe», une organisation diffusant dans tous les pays membres de la publicité pour l’UE.
S’engager en faveur «de la démocratie et de l’Etat de droit, de l’humanité et de la solidarité», comme le propose l’appel à la manifestation de Constance, est certainement une bonne chose. Mais le fait de peindre en même temps le diable au mur en mettant en garde contre une imminente prise de pouvoir de l’extrême droite en y mélangeant l’AfD, ressemble plus à de la propagande politique – et on est en droit de se demander: à quoi bon?

Maintenant, nous savons ce qu’est le populisme

Bertolt Brecht, à l’origine un ami de la RDA, rédigea après le 17 juin 1953 un poème devenu célèbre:

La solution
Après l’insurrection du 17 juin,
Le secrétaire de l’Union des écrivains
Fit distribuer des tracts dans l’allée Staline.
Le peuple, y lisait-on, a par sa faute
Perdu la confiance du gouvernement
Et ce n’est qu’en redoublant d’efforts
Qu’il pourra la regagner. Ne serait-il pas
Plus simple alors pour le gouvernement
De dissoudre le peuple
Et d’en élire un autre?

65 ans plus tard, la Fondation Bertelsmann et le Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin ont publié en allemand une étude de près de 100 pages intitulée «Baromètre du populisme 2018: attitudes populistes des électeurs et des non-votants en Allemagne 2018».
Les médias se sont inquiétés suite à l’information que plus de 30% des Allemands interrogés seraient enclins au populisme – avec une tendance à la hausse.
La page 18 de l’étude fournit une réponse compacte à la question de déterminer à partir de quel moment une personne est reconnue comme adhérant à des pensées populistes. C’est lorsqu’elle est entièrement ou plutôt d’accord avec toutes les déclarations suivantes:

  • Les citoyens sont souvent d’accord entre eux, mais les politiciens poursuivent des objectifs très différents.
  • Je préférerais être représenté politiquement par un simple citoyen plutôt que par un politicien.
  • Les partis ne recherchent que les voix des électeurs, leurs opinions ne les intéressent pas.
  • Les différences politiques entre les citoyens et les politiciens sont plus grandes que les différences entre les citoyens.
  • Les questions importantes ne devraient pas être tranchées par les parlements, mais par des votations populaires (référendums).
  • Les politiciens du Bundestag devraient toujours suivre la volonté des citoyens.
  • En principe, les citoyens allemands s’accordent sur ce qui doit se faire au niveau politique.
  • Ce qu’on appelle «compromis» en politique n’est en réalité rien d’autre qu’une trahison de ses propres principes.

Ainsi, chacun peut donc vérifier s’il est populiste ou non.
Mais il se peut que certaines personnes voient un lien entre «la lutte contre le populisme» officielle et le poème de Bertolt Brecht.

«La ‹lutte contre la droite› vise le centre bourgeois»

Kristina Schröder (CDU), de 2009 à 2013 ministre fédérale allemande de la Famille, des Personnes âgées, de la Femme et de la Jeunesse, a examiné de manière critique la «lutte contre la droite» dans un long article pour le journal «Die Welt» du 24 août 2018. L’article s’intitule: «La ‹lutte contre la droite› vise le centre bourgeois». Elle écrit entre autres:
«La gauche a élargi le débat sur l’extrémisme de droite. Avec le soutien de l’Etat, tout ce qui n’est pas à gauche est combattu – l’extrémisme de gauche est banalisé. Le consensus antitotalitaire est détruit et la CDU doit prendre une décision. […]
La lutte contre l’extrémisme de droite est devenue la ‹lutte contre la droite›. Quiconque pense que seule la paresse linguistique est à l’œuvre est fort naïf. Pour beaucoup des personnes s’engageant dans ce combat avec des soutiens étatiques, le vrai but est de combattre tout ce qui n’est pas de gauche. La vieille thèse des soixante-huitards, selon laquelle la société capitaliste est au minimum préfasciste revient à la surface. […]
La ‹lutte contre la droite› est donc à prendre au pied de la lettre: il s’agit de stigmatiser comme étant illégitime dans le discours démocratique, des convictions politiques, avec lesquelles même une bonne partie des partisans de l’Union du Centre est probablement d’accord. Donc, le pluralisme des opinions politiques se réduit de plus en plus au domaine de la gauche.»