Propaganda is marching

by Christian Fischer

For some time now it has been noticeable that the party Bündnis 90/Die Grünen is clearly more loved by the media than the other parties. For the CDU, a Merkel-twilight is being conjured up – although the Chancellor does more or less what she has always done. The CSU is often portrayed as an unpredictable, if not insane, power bloc. The SPD does not need to be further picked to pieces by the media – it does that itself. The FDP is mainly too small to be the object of loud praise or blame. The Left also tends to remain unnoticed, but sometimes it is commentated in a partly derogatory, partly supportive way, depending on how its various statements fit into the mainstream. The AfD is the welcome Beelzebub, against whom democratic reason has to stand up in disgust.
Now the Greens have clearly become the second strongest force in Bavaria – but they will probably not come to government responsibility, as in Baden-Württemberg, because there is another conservative force specific to Bavaria: the “Freie Wähler” (free voters). You need not be a great prophet to predict that they will not get a good press in the future.
For the mainstream is increasingly turning out to be coloured green. Here we find the allegedly unspent and credible political personnel, being able to show the citizen the path mapped out well in advance to a borderless European Union as the only acceptable way out of its fascist past. The other parties will gradually have to gather behind this flag if they want to survive. The extra-parliamentary auxiliary troops are already marching in this direction.
In many cities, over and over, demonstrations “against the right extremists” are being initiated to show that there are still yet “good Germans”. In Chemnitz, these good Germans revolt against “right-wing hunts” which, according to police reports, never took place – and remain silent about the manslaughter by a foreigner who should have been expelled long ago. The German cabaret is largely forced into line with the singing of “anti-fascist” contributions and government-friendly indignations at the opposition – criticism is at best voiced about the fact that the government does not tear down all borders (and thus all rule of law) quickly and consistently enough. On the other hand, a truly critical petition to the German Bundestag “Declaration 2018”,1 launched by Vera Lengsfeld, which deals with the government’s legal violations in connection with the opening of the border in 2015, is not reported – although 165,000 signatories had supported this petition in a short time and despite all kinds of harassment.
On 13 October 2018, an event with around 200,000 participants took place in Berlin under the motto “For an open society – solidarity instead of exclusion”. Solidarity with the victims of right-wing violence was expressly demonstrated. Newspaper articles report on the sidelines2 that the CDU was not one of the organisers. Reason: One organiser supported also left-wing extremist criminals, and various dubious organisations ranked among the organisers. The message of the media: the CDU is excluding itself from the march of the good.
The same weekend also saw simultaneously identical demonstrations in Karlsruhe, Frankfurt, Cologne, etc., in which the participation of television, cultural and cabaret personalities from Ranga Yogeshwar to Jan Böhmermann were a must.3 It is interesting to note that organisations such as Pulse of Europe, Mehr Demokratie e.V. (More democracy) and (so far) little-known activists under the names of We are Europe, Start with a friend, Demokratie in Bewegung (Democracy on the move), Volt Europa, Junge Europäische Föderalisten (Young European Federalists) are becoming increasingly active here, what we should indeed observe in the future.
The main thread in the current “narrative” is the propaganda against everything national, sometimes even explicitly against the national rule of law (thus suspected of fascism), and for a stronger European Union – in fact in the name of democracy! What a mockery. Nobody will seriously claim that the EU is a more democratic organisation than the German constitutional state, some of the propagandists even shamefacedly confirm a European “democracy deficit”. Who of these anti-fascists is interested in that? Who still knows that popular rule does not already exist when everyone takes to the streets and sings the right songs? Have we not had this already a few times in the 20th century?
However, we must take note of the fact that the content of the party landscape is currently reshaping in accordance with this narrative: EU or fascism. France set an example last year; we are imitating it with German thoroughness. We must observe this closely and defend our institutionally still existing democracy against this propaganda. There are counter-movements and counter-publics, even if practical and propagandistic obstacles are obstructing their way. In the future, being a democrat will probably mean being the child who exclaimed in Andersen’s fairy tale: “But he’s got nothing on!” – when the emperor strutted past in his new but non-existent clothes. “The EU has really nothing democratic on!”    •

1    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QeOINHgQ7o4&feature=youtu.be 
2    “Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger” from 15 October 2018
3    ibid

La propagande s’amplifie

par Christian Fischer, Allemagne

Depuis quelque temps déjà, on constate que le parti Bündnis 90/Die Grünen [Les Verts] est nettement plus apprécié par les médias que tous les autres partis. Pour la CDU, on parle d’un crépuscule de Merkel – bien que la chancelière n’ait pas changé grand-chose à son action. La CSU est souvent dépeinte comme un bloc de pouvoir imprévisible, voir incapable de discernement. Le SPD n’a pas besoin d’être davantage disséqué par les médias – il le fait lui-même. Le FDP est principalement trop petit pour faire l’objet d’éloges ou de critiques. Die Linke [la Gauche] est également plutôt ignorée, parfois commentée de manière positive ou négative, selon la manière dont ses déclarations s’inscrivent dans le courant dominant. L’AfD est le bienvenu «prince des démons», contre lequel la raison démocratique doit se dresser avec indignation.
A l’heure actuelle, les Verts sont clairement devenus la deuxième force en Bavière, mais ils n’assumeront probablement pas, comme dans le Bade-Wurtemberg, la responsabilité du gouvernement, car il existe une autre force conservatrice propre à la Bavière: les Freie Wähler [électeurs libres]. Vous n’avez pas besoin d’être un grand prophète pour prédire qu’ils n’auront pas bonne presse à l’avenir.
Car le courant dominant s’avère de plus en plus être de couleur verte. Sous prétexte que nous trouvons ici le personnel politique frais et crédible pouvant indiquer au citoyen la seule voie acceptable de sortir de son passé fasciste menant à une Union européenne exempte de toute frontière. Les autres partis devront progressivement se rassembler derrière cette bannière s’ils veulent survivre. Les troupes auxiliaires extra-parlementaires avancent déjà dans cette direction.
Dans de nombreuses villes, des manifestations «contre la droite» sont organisées pour montrer qu’il y a encore de «bons Allemands». A Chemnitz, ces bons Allemands se révoltent contre les «chasses à l’homme de la droite» qui, selon les rapports de police, n’ont jamais eu lieu – et gardent le silence sur l’homicide commis par un étranger devant être expulsé depuis longtemps. Le Parlement allemand est largement mis au pas par des contributions «antifascistes» et les indignations du gouvernement à l’égard de l’opposition – tout au plus on critique le manque de rapidité du gouvernement à démolir toutes les règles (et donc tout ce qui définit l’Etat de droit). D’autre part, une pétition très critique adressée au Bundestag allemand, la «Déclaration 2018»,1 lancée par Vera Lengsfeld, traitant des violations de la loi commises par le gouvernement lors de l’ouverture de la frontière en 2015 à plus d’un million de migrants, n’a obtenu aucun écho dans les médias – bien que 165 000 signataires aient soutenu cette pétition en peu de temps et malgré toutes sortes de harcèlements.
Le 13 octobre 2018 s’est tenu à Berlin une manifestation réunissant environ 200 000 participants sous le thème «Pour une société ouverte – la solidarité au lieu de l’exclusion». On y exigeait explicitement de la solidarité avec les victimes de la «violence de la droite». Des articles de journaux2 ont rapporté en même temps que la CDU ne faisait pas partie des organisateurs. En voici la raison: un des organisateurs soutient les criminels d’extrême gauche et plusieurs représentants d’organisations douteuses se trouvent parmi les organisateurs. Et voici le message transmis par les médias: la CDU s’exclut de la marche des bons Allemands.
A la même heure, il y eut également des manifestations similaires à Karlsruhe, Francfort, Cologne, etc., où les célébrités de la télévision, de la culture et de la comédie de Ranga Yogeshwar à Jan Böhmermann ne pouvaient manquer.3 Il est intéressant que des organisations comme Pulse of Europe, Mehr Demokratie e.V. et des groupes d’activistes peu connus (à ce jour) sous les noms We are Europe, Start with a friend, Demokratie in Bewegung, Volt Europa, Junge Europäische Föderalisten soient actives. A l’avenir, il serait judicieux de les avoir à l’œil.
Le fil rouge du «récit» actuel est la propagande contre tout ce qui est national – parfois même explicitement contre l’Etat de droit national (soupçonné de fascisme) – et pour une Union européenne forte, au nom de la démocratie! Quelle moquerie. Personne ne prétendra sérieusement que l’UE est une organisation plus démocratique que l’Etat de droit allemand, certains propagandistes confirment même honteusement un «déficit démocratique» au sein de l’UE. Lequel de ces antifascistes s’en soucie? Qui ignore encore que la souveraineté du peuple n’est point définie par des manifestations dans la rue et le chant des bonnes chansons? Ne l’avons-nous pas déjà expérimenté plusieurs fois au cours du XXe siècle?
Nous devons cependant prendre note du fait que suite à ce «récit», les éléments du paysage des partis politiques sont transformés: l’UE ou le fascisme. L’année dernière, la France a servi de modèle; l’Allemagne l’imite avec toute sa rigueur. Nous devons suivre cela de près et défendre notre démocratie institutionnelle restante contre cette propagande. Heureusement, les contre-mouvements et les contre-publics existent, même si l’on leur met constamment des bâtons dans les roues. A l’avenir, être démocrate signifiera probablement être l’enfant qui, dans le conte d’Hans Christian Andersen, s’est exclamé: «Mais il n’a pas d’habits du tout!» – quand l’empereur est passé dans ses vêtements neufs et invisibles. – «Mais l’UE n’a rien de démocratique du tout!»    •
(Traduction Horizons et débats)

1    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QeOINHgQ7o4&feature=youtu.be 
2    «Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger» du 15/10/18
3    ibid.