The culture of cooperative ethics and its way of life

To the new publication “Cooperative economising – modern construction. Architecture of Cooperatives in Saxony”

by Urs Knoblauch, culture journalist, Fruthwilen

In general, too little is known about the enormous expansion of cooperative systems worldwide. With its more than 21 million members especially in Germany, it deserves more attention in society and in educational institutions.

“On the road to a new economy” Poster of the consumer association “Vorwärts” Dresden around 1930, showing the originally planned building complex of the own businesses. (Picture: Kooperativ wirtschaften – modern bauen (“Cooperative economising – modern construction”, p. 9)

This was the starting point of the publication project of the “Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Kultur Leipzig” (Dresden University of Applied Sciences). Since museum and exhibition design as well as museum education enjoy great popularity and investment, the idea was born to establish an interdisciplinary course of studies in “museum education”. The richly illustrated publication “Cooperative economising – modern construction. The Architecture of Cooperatives in Saxony”) combines modern architectural development with the cooperative idea. The aim is to convey the valuable way of life of cooperatives to students and the younger generation. According to the authors and Leipzig university lecturers Dirk Schaal and Enrico Hochmuth, “architecture as a cultural form of expression of the cooperative idea has rarely been addressed”.
Especially to celebrate the anniversary of the founding of the Bauhaus movement, an important topic in the context of the cooperative is addressed. The concerns of the Bauhaus ought not be reduced to formal criteria, just as the cooperatives entail more than just an economic model but form a future-oriented ethical way of life. These original concerns must be ensured with care. They should always be reflected against the background of human scientific findings and their political goals.

On architecture as a cultural form of expression of the cooperative idea

The authors of the work succeed in presenting a synopsis of architecture and cooperative idea in the Saxony region with its impressive industrial culture. Dirk Schaal worked as a science archivist and is currently head of the Koordinierungsstelle Sächsische Industriekultur (Coordination Office of Saxon Industrial Culture). Dr Enrico Hochmuth is an architectural historian and was, for many years, an active leading curator of the Schultze-Delitzsch-Haus (Schultze-Delitzsch-House). The German Museum of Cooperatives (Deutsches Genossenschaftsmuseum). He has worked for the successful inclusion of the German cooperative system on Unesco’s list of intangible cultural heritage together with Dietmar Berger, the initiator. Hochmuth works as an event and project manager at the University’s Media Faculty. In 2017, the “1st Museum Education Colloquium” with new research results was held with great success. Dr Stefan W. Krieg-von Hösslin, architectural historian and city conservator of Leipzig (monuments) also contributed to the work.
In the first part of the publication, the authors present the theoretical and historical references to industrialisation and the forward-looking social cooperative system. In the second part, 16 impressive cooperative buildings are presented, mostly in Saxony and in the style of the once again popular Bauhaus architecture. “This is the first time that outstanding and predominantly listed sites belonging to the architecture of the reform movement and classical modernism have been compiled here. A broad spectrum is represented with housing cooperatives, the large consumer cooperatives in Leipzig and Dresden as well as the nationally significant production facilities of the central purchasing cooperatives GEG with buildings in Riesa, Frankenberg or Chemnitz”. (flap text)

Architecture as a mirror of certain concepts of man and models of society

The diverse language of form, function and practical application of the cooperative form of working and living of the industrial heritage is impressive. Dirk Schaal writes: “The cooperative movement is part of our industrial culture. In the social, religious and national conflicts of the 19th century, it helped to shape the cultural transformation of Germany into a modern industrial country and met central questions of industrial society”. (p. 8)
The cooperative idea was propagated with well-designed posters, equipment and furniture. It was not only a matter of providing affordable food or affordable housing, “but also of creating working conditions in one’s own company or creating social housing conditions which noticeably improved the situation of the middle and lower income groups for the individual” (p. 8). The functional, powerful and dominant factory buildings that were built already before the First World War were intended to symbolise the new basic attitude of cooperative life in a “hostile environment” (p. 21).
In addition to the acrimonious economic and political debates, there were also ideological, political and formal differences among the architects. At that time, the traditional “Heimatschutzstil” (style of listed buildings), popular among the population, dominated. With the “Neues Bauen” (“New Construction”) of modernity and the new industrial technologies and materials, however, a “new man” was also propagated. According to Dirk Schaal, “The design of the settlements according to the cooperative principles of the community was aimed at the ‘New Man’ propagated by the cooperatives” (p. 32). This should make more reference to the social nature of man, the political movements and the democratisation of social coexistence. This year’s Bauhaus anniversary was conceived to increasingly focus on the original concerns of the interdisciplinary interaction of the social Bauhaus idea of modernity but also facilitate critical reflections. It is not about a modern formalism, as often seen today, but about aesthetics and ethics of the individual and the common good.
Especially in the first third of the 20th century, modern design principles became more and more accepted not only in Germany, but also in other European countries. “In addition to renowned architects – such as Walter Gropius, for Konsum Dessau-Törten or Max Taut, for a department store of the Konsumgenossenschaft (consumer cooperative-society) Berlin und Umgebung (and surroundings) – a predominant number of architects are to be found here who had adopted the principles of modern construction in the course of their professional practice or had already aquired them during their training.” (p. 32)
Anyone familiar with the historic region of Saxony and the surrounding area will be amazed by the great economic, cultural and social achievements and buildings. They are partly documented in the book. With the dissolution of the GDR, valuable cultural assets were also endangered. Despite the considerable rescue of the building fabric and its reconstruction, there is still a great deal of work to be done.

Hermann Schulze-Delitzsch and Wilhelm Raiffeisen

Enrico Hochmuth graphically introduces the topic “Cooperatives in Saxony” using the example of the Hermann Schulze Delitzsch Monument on Marienplatz in Delitzsch, designed in 1891 by sculptor Erwin Weissenfels. Its changeful history, from the melting down for the war economy during the Second World War to the 1950 replica by the sculptor Max Alfred Brumme and the removal to another location for a monument of the first president of the GDR as well as the return of the restored monument to its original location in 1991, exemplifies the political dealings with the cooperative idea.
“Germany’s first successful commercial cooperative was founded in 1849 by Hermann Schulze-Delitzsch (1808–1883) with 57 shoemakers in Delitzsch. With their Association of Basic Commodities, the tradesmen are able to arrange the purchase of basic commodities, tools, machines and other commodities at a reduced rate and to later take the sale of their products into their own hands. The liberal Schulze-Delitzsch saw this as an opportunity to advance the situation of the needy tradesmen and petty traders. “In addition to the economic pressure exerted by industrialisation, the transformation from a corporative to a bourgeois society was also associated with the loss of traditional life contexts and social networks.” (p. 34) 1889, the experiences of Schulze-Delitzsch’s initiated mergers and production cooperatives were taken into account in a ground-breaking law on cooperatives and led to a “founding boom of cooperatives in the German states” (p. 34).
 In this context, the beneficial work of Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen (1818–1888), proceeding from the Westerwald, must also be pointed out. Sustained by deep benevolence, social connectedness with the people, Christian ethics as well as trust in the charitable human nature, he founded the cooperative, local “Raiffeisenkassen”. (Raiffeisen Banks) His central idea: “We are only strong in communion”, and with the three “selves” of the cooperative, self-help, self-governance and self-responsibility, the principle of subsidiarity (responsibility from below, built up by each individual human being) is also included. Thus, democratic participation should be made possible and secured. Each cooperative member has a voice in the decisions, regardless of his social situation and the number of cooperative-shares. The “rural credit societies and common warehouses initiated by Raiffeisen experienced a marked expansion with the creation of rural purchasing and sales cooperatives by Wilhelm Haas” (p. 37).
Closely linked to this are the credit cooperatives, which were initially set up with “advance disbursement associations” along the lines of the rural credit cooperative established in Denmark in 1846 and which in many countries also promoted the establishment of People’s banks.
With the aid of examples, Enrico Hochmuth illustrates the great success of the pioneers Hermann Schulze-Delitzsch and Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen. “In a first wave of foundations about one hundred productive cooperatives of craftsmen in various fields emerged throughout Germany between 1860 and 1889.”One such association is the mill and bakery Bärenhecke Raiffeisen-Genossenschaft e.G. in Bärenhecke, in the eastern foothills of the Erz Mountains. Today, the historic mill and bakery are equally a cooperative business and a technical monument to visit. On 20 August 1898, the company was founded by 26 local farmers as Cooperative for Milling, Baking and Storage Warehousing, Oberes Müglitztal e.G.m.b.H., in order to take into their own hands the grain processing right up to the end product itself. The water mill on the Müglitz acquired by the cooperative obrained a link to a light railway and started production as early as 1899. By 1913, 300 members had joined the company. To support the farmers, especially in the years of crises’, the cooperative set up a bank department which existed until 1993. In 1995, in order to preserve and promote the monument, a “Förderverein Technisches Denkmal Getreidemühle Bärenhecke e.V.” (Foundation Technical Monument Grain Mill) was founded. (p. 34) With additional examples, the author presents the successful cooperative precision clock factory Glashütte, electricity cooperatives and agricultural production cooperatives.

Schaal, Dirk; Hochmuth, Enrico. Kooperativ wirtschaften – modern bauen. Architektur der Genossenschaften in Sachsen. (Cooperative management – modern building. Architecture of cooperatives in Saxony). Halle (Saale) 2019,
ISBN 978 3 96311 051 1 (in German)

Cooperatives in the service of the individual and the common good

In addition to agricultural cooperatives, the image in the urban regions of the 19th and 20th centuries was especially shaped by cooperative factory buildings, consumer and bulk purchase companies as well as housing cooperatives. Throughout their history, the cooperatives have always had to cope with difficult times. Particularly affected were agricultural enterprises in connection with political changes. “Once in 1933 the cooperative associations and together with them the cooperatives were brought into line,” says Enrico Hochmuth, “restructuring measures occured after 1945. While production cooperatives played only a minor role in the western occupation zones and the FRG, they played a major role in the Soviet occupation zone and later in the GDR. In 1946, the Soviet Military Administration permitted the establishing of these associations, with order number 160, and a model statute became mandatory. Economic supervision was the responsibility of the newly structured Chambers of Crafts. The Act on the Promotion of Crafts adopted in 1950 or the Ordinance on the Production Associations of Crafts (PHG) of 1958 pushed forward the restriction of crafts and small businesses and the forced collectivisation of cooperatives. The role of the Purchase and supply cooperatives (ELG) of the crafts, was also regulated. Cooperatives, like state enterprises, now had to fulfil requirements within the framework of state planning. After 1990, the companies were again transformed into classical cooperatives or other forms of enterprise.” (p. 6f.) In 2002, the cooperative association in Saxony had 92 productive cooperatives and 235 agricultural cooperatives among its members. Due to their success, they have become more evident in united Germany” (p. 37).

Paying more attention to basic principles of a cooperative way of life and ethics

The historical explanations make it clear that the current problematic restructuring and “modernisation” within the framework of globalisation and centralisation as well as the worldwide radical market neoliberalism endanger the original cooperative idea. Especially in the Swiss Confederation, there are alarming developments, also in the Raiffeisen cooperative banks. It is necessary for cooperative members to demand and live their rights and duties as well as the original concerns and ethics of democratic co-determination of the members in accordance with the cooperative principle. The book presented here makes a valuable contribution to this – as well as to the understanding of the cooperative architecture of modernity.     •

La culture de l’éthique et la façon de vivre au sein du mouvement coopératif

Nouvelle publication: «Kooperativ wirtschaften – modern bauen. 
Die Architektur der Genossenschaften in Sachsen»

par Urs Knoblauch, journaliste culturel, Fruthwilen, Suisse

De manière générale, on en sait trop peu sur l’énorme expansion du modèle coopératif dans le monde. Notamment en Allemagne, les coopératives et leurs quelque 21 millions de membres méritent davantage d’attention dans la société et dans les institutions d’enseignement.

Affiche de l'association de consommateurs «Vorwärts», Dresde vers 1930, montrant le complexe de bâtiments initialement prévu de ses propres entreprises. (Source: Kooperativ wirtschaften – modern bauen, p. 9)

Tel fut le point de départ du projet de publication de la Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Kultur Leipzig [Haute Ecole spécialisée de Leipzig pour la technologie, l’économie et la culture]. La conception muséographique, la conception d’expositions et la pédagogie muséale jouissant d’une grande popularité et d’importants investissements, l’idée est née d’établir un programme d’études interdisciplinaires en «muséologie». La publication richement illustrée «Kooperativ wirtschaften – modern bauen. Die Architektur der Genossenschaften in Sachsen» [Gestion coopérative – habitat moderne. L’architecture des coopératives en Saxe] combine le développement moderne de l’architecture avec la pensée coopérative. L’objectif est de faire connaître aux étudiants et à la jeune génération le précieux mode de vie des coopératives. En effet, selon les auteurs et formateurs de la Haute Ecole de Leipzig Dirk Schaal et Enrico Hochmuth, «le thème de l’architecture comme forme d’expression culturelle de l’idée coopérative a rarement été traité.»
L’anniversaire de la fondation du mouvement Bauhaus est une très bonne occasion d’aborder, en relation avec la notion de coopérative, un sujet important. Tout comme les préoccupations du Bauhaus ne doivent pas être réduites à des critères formels, les coopératives ne doivent pas être réduites à un modèle économique, mais représentent un mode de vie éthique orienté vers l’avenir. Ces valeurs fondatrices doivent être prises en compte, il devraient toujours être abordées en tenant compte des découvertes en sciences humaines et être mises en perspective avec leurs objectifs politiques.  

L’architecture comme forme d’expression culturelle de l’idée coopérative

Les auteurs de l’ouvrage parviennent à présenter une synopsis de l’architecture et de l’idée coopérative dans la région de Saxe avec son impressionnante culture industrielle. Dirk Schaal a travaillé comme archiviste scientifique et dirige actuellement le Bureau de coordination de la culture industrielle saxonne. Enrico Hochmuth est historien de l’architecture et a été pendant de nombreuses années le conservateur responsable du Schulze-Delitzsch-Haus, le musée allemand des coopératives. Avec Dietmar Berger, l’initiateur, il s’est engagé pour l’inclusion réussie du système coopératif allemand dans la liste du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l’UNESCO. A la Haute Ecole spécialisée, Hochmuth travaille comme responsable d’événements et de projets à la Faculté des médias. En 2017, le «1er Colloque de muséologie» et ses échanges autour des derniers résultats de recherche, a remporté un grand succès. Stefan W. Krieg-von Hösslin, historien de l’architecture et conservateur de la ville de Leipzig (monuments), a également contribué à l’ouvrage de Schaal et Hochmuth.
Dans la première partie de la publication, les auteurs présentent les références théoriques et historiques à l’industrialisation et au système pionnier de la coopérative sociale. Dans la seconde partie, 16 bâtiments coopératifs notoires sont présentés, principalement en Saxe et dans le style architectural à nouveau populaire du Bauhaus. «Des sites remarquables et pour la plupart classés, appartenant à l’architecture du mouvement réformateur et au modernisme classique y sont rassemblés pour la première fois. La large palette d’exemples emmène le lecteur des coopératives de logement aux grandes coopératives de consommation de Leipzig et de Dresde en passant par les sites de production d’importance nationale des centrales d’achat GEG avec leurs bâtiments de Riesa, Frankenberg ou Chemnitz.» (texte du rabat)

L’architecture comme reflet de certaines conceptions de l’homme et modèles de société

Il est impressionnant de constater la diversité du langage des formes et la diversité fonctionnelle et pratique de ce mode de travail et de vie coopératif matérialisé en patrimoine industriel. Dirk Schaal écrit: «Le mouvement coopératif fait partie de notre culture industrielle. Dans les conflits sociaux, religieux et nationaux du XIXe siècle, il a contribué à façonner la transformation culturelle de l’Allemagne en un pays industriel moderne et s’est posé des questions centrales propres à la société industrielle.» (p. 8)
La pensée coopérative a été diffusée à l’aide d’affiches, d’équipements et de mobilier bien conçus. Il n’était pas seulement question de fournir de la nourriture ou des logements abordables, «mais aussi d’organiser les conditions de travail dans la propre entreprise, ou de créer des conditions de logement sociales qui amélioraient sensiblement la situation de chaque individu au sein des couches sociales à revenus moyens et faibles.» (p. 8) Dans un «environnement hostile», les bâtiments d’usine fonctionnels, robustes et dominants, datant encore d’avant la Première Guerre mondiale, devaient symboliser la nouvelle attitude fondamentale de la vie coopérative. (p. 21)
En plus de vifs débats portant sur des questions de politique économique, il y avait aussi des différences idéologiques, politiques et formelles entre les architectes. A cette époque, le style «Heimatschutz» (littéralement protection de la patrie), qui jouissait d’une grande popularité, était dominant. Mais avec la «construction nouvelle», l’époque moderne et les nouvelles technologies et matériaux industriels, on aspirait aussi à l’«homme nouveau». Selon Dirk Schaal, cette notion «propagée par les coopératives était l’objectif vers lequel tendait la conception des lotissements selon les principes coopératifs de la communauté.» (p. 32) Il s’agissait de laisser davantage de place à la nature sociale de l’être humain, aux mouvements politiques et à la démocratisation de la coexistence sociale. Cette année, l’anniversaire du Bauhaus devrait se concentrer davantage sur les valeurs fondamentales de l’interaction interdisciplinaire de l’idée sociale du Bauhaus à l’époque moderne, et aussi faciliter les réflexions critiques. Il ne s’agit pas d’un formalisme moderne, comme on le voit souvent aujourd’hui, mais d’une esthétique et d’une éthique du bien individuel et commun.
C'est justement au cours du premier tiers du XXe siècle que les principes du design moderne ont été de plus en plus acceptés non seulement en Allemagne, mais aussi dans d’autres pays européens. «Outre des architectes renommés, comme Walter Gropius pour le Konsum Dessau-Törten ou Max Taut pour un grand magasin de la coopérative de consommation de Berlin et environs, on trouve ici surtout des architectes qui ont adopté les principes de la construction moderne dans leur pratique professionnelle, ou qui les avaient déjà appris au cours de leur formation.» (p. 32)
Quiconque connaît le riche passé historique de la Saxe et de ses environs, saura apprécier ses admirables réalisations et bâtiments commerciaux, culturels et sociaux, dont certains sont documentés dans l’ouvrage. Avec la dissolution de la RDA, un patrimoine culturel précieux était menacé de disparition. Malgré l’estimable sauvegarde de nombreux bâtiments ainsi que les reconstructions, il reste encore beaucoup de travail.

Hermann Schulze-Delitzsch et Wilhelm Raiffeisen

Enrico Hochmuth présente de manière vivante le thème des coopératives en Saxe à l’exemple du monument Hermann-Schulze-Delitzsch sur la Marienplatz à Delitzsch, conçu en 1891 par le sculpteur Erwin Weissenfels. Le destin mouvementé de cette statue est un témoignage exemplaire de la gestion politique de l’idée de coopérative: fondue lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale pour servir l’économie de guerre avant d’être reproduite en 1950 par le sculpteur Max Alfred Brumme, elle a ensuite dû céder sa place à une sculpture du premier président de la RDA, avant d’être restaurée et replacée en 1991 à son emplacement d’origine.
«Le premier succès d’une coopérative commerciale en Allemagne remonte à 1849, lorsque Hermann Schulze-Delitzsch (1808–1883) incita 57 cordonniers de la région de Delitzsch à coopérer. Grâce à leur Roh-stoff-Association (association de matières premières), ces artisans purent acheter des matériaux, des outils, des machines et d’autres fournitures à meilleur compte et, plus tard, prendre en main la vente de leurs propres produits. Le libéral Schulze-Delitzsch y voyait une occasion d’améliorer la situation des artisans et petits commerçants dans le besoin. En plus de la pression économique exercée par l’industrialisation, la transformation d’une société corporatiste en une société bourgeoise faisait aussi disparaître d’ancestrales interdépendances humaines et réseaux sociaux.» (p. 34) En 1889, les expériences de fusions et de coopératives de production incitées par Schulze-Delitzsch furent prises en compte dans une loi innovante sur les coopératives. Elles conduisirent par la suite à un «boom de la création de coopératives dans les Etats allemands» (p. 34).
Dans ce contexte, il faut également signaler l’œuvre bénéfique de Friedrich Wilhelm Raiff-eisen (1818–1888), en provenance du Wester-wald. Guidé par un amour profond pour son prochain, par le lien social entre les gens, une éthique chrétienne et sa confiance en la nature des êtres humains, il fonda les «Caisses Raiff-eisen» sous forme de coopératives locales. Son idée maîtresse était que «nous ne sommes forts qu’en agissant ensemble», et son principe de la coopérative basé sur les trois piliers de l’auto-assistance, l’auto-responsabilité et l’auto-administration en son sein, comprenait aussi le principe de subsidiarité (responsabilité par le bas, construire en partant de chaque être humain comme individu). Cela devait permettre et assurer la participation démocratique. Chaque membre de la coopérative a une voix dans les décisions, indépendamment de sa situation sociale et du nombre de ses parts sociales. Les «sociétés de crédit agricole» et les entrepôts communautaires initiés par Raiffeisen devaient connaître «une nette expansion avec la création par Wilhelm Haas de coopératives agricoles d’achat et de vente» (p. 37).
Les coopératives de crédit sont étroitement liées à cette évolution. Apparues dans un premier temps sous la forme d’«associations de prêt» sur le modèle de la coopérative agricole de crédit fondée au Danemark en 1846, elles encouragèrent dans de nombreux pays la création des banques populaires.
Enrico Hochmuth démontre à l’aide d’exemples le grand succès des pionniers Hermann Schulze-Delitzsch et Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen. «Entre 1860 et 1889, une première vague de création voit l’émergence à travers l’Allemagne d’une centaine de coopératives de production composées d’artisans dans divers domaines. L’une de ces associations est le moulin et la boulangerie Bärenhecke Raiff- eisengenossenschaft e.G. à Bärenhecke, dans l’est du Erzgebirgsvorland. Aujourd’hui, moulin historique et boulangerie sont à la fois une entreprise coopérative et un monument pouvant être visité. Le 20 août 1898, 26 agriculteurs de la région fondèrent l’entreprise Oberes Müglitztal e.G.m.b.H., coopérative de meunerie, de boulangerie et d’entrepôt, pour prendre en charge tout le processus, de la transformation du grain jusqu’au produit fini. Le moulin à eau sur le Müglitz acquis par la coopérative fut relié à une voie ferrée et la production commença dès 1899. En 1913, 300 membres avaient rejoint l’entreprise. Pour soutenir les agriculteurs, surtout dans les années de crise, la coopérative mit en place une section bancaire qui exista jusqu’en 1993. Afin de préserver et de promouvoir le monument, une association de soutien a été fondée en 1995. (p. 34) D’autres exemples choisis par l’auteur illustrent les secteurs de l’électricité, de l’agriculture ou encore de l’horlogerie, avec la belle réussite de la fabrique coopérative de montres de précision Glashütte.

Schaal, Dirk; Hochmuth, Enrico. Kooperativ wirt­schaften – modern bauen. Die Architektur der Genossenschaften in Sachsen. Halle (Saale) 2019,
ISBN 978 3 96311 051 1

Des coopératives au service de l’individu et du bien commun

Outre les coopératives agricoles, ce sont les bâtiments d’usines coopératives, les coopératives de consommation et les grandes sociétés d’achat coopératives, ainsi que les coopératives de logements qui eurent le plus grand impact sur l’image des régions urbaines des XIXe et XXe siècle. Tout au long de leur histoire, les coopératives ont souvent dû aussi traverser des périodes difficiles. Ce fut le cas surtout pour les entreprises agricoles lors de changements politiques. «Après l’alignement des associations de coopératives et donc des coopératives en 1933», nous dit Enrico Hochmuth, «une restructuration a été opérée après 1945. Si les coopératives de production n’ont joué qu’un rôle mineur dans les zones d’occupation occidentales et en RFA, elles ont joué un rôle important dans la zone d’occupation soviétique et plus tard en RDA. En 1946, l’administration militaire soviétique, avec l’ordre 160, a permis la création de regroupements, et un statut type est devenu obligatoire. La supervision économique était désormais la responsabilité des Chambres des métiers, organisées selon de nouvelles structures. La loi sur la promotion de l’artisanat adoptée en 1950 ou l’Ordonnance sur les communautés de production de l’artisanat (PHG) de 1958 limitaient l’artisanat et les petites entreprises et poussaient à la collectivisation forcée des coopératives. Le rôle des coopératives d’achat et de livraison (ELG) des artisans se voyait également réglementé. Comme les entreprises d’Etat, les coopératives étaient désormais tenues de satisfaire à des exigences dans le cadre de la planification de l’Etat. Après 1990, les entreprises ont à nouveau été transformées en coopératives classiques ou autres formes d’entreprises». (p. 36 sq.) En 2002, l’association des coopératives de Saxe comptait parmi ses membres 92 coopératives de production et 235 coopératives agricoles. Leur succès leur donne aussi «une visibilité accrue dans l’Allemagne réunifiée». (p. 37)

Donner plus d’importance aux principes fondamentaux du mode de vie coopératif et à son éthique

Les réalités historiques montrent clairement que les réorganisations et «modernisations» problématiques actuelles dans le contexte de la mondialisation et de la centralisation, ainsi que le néolibéralisme radical du marché à l’échelle mondiale mettent en danger l’idée coopérative originale. Au sein de la Confédération suisse, cette évolution alarmante n’est pas en reste, et les banques coopératives Raiffeisen sont touchées également. Les membres des coopératives doivent revendiquer et vivre les droits et les devoirs ainsi que les valeurs fondatrices et l’éthique de la codétermination démocratique des coopératrices et coopérateurs, conformément au principe coopératif. Le livre présenté ici y contribue de façon significative – et contribue à la compréhension de l’architecture coopérative de l’époque moderne.    •