Education in the service of peace

To the book by Sara Randell “Ending the War — Operation Sunrise and Max Husmann”

by Dr phil. Winfried Pogorzelski

At the beginning of 1945, the Second World War came to a head: on all fronts in Europe, Asia and North Africa, the situation was hopeless for Hitler’s troops, as it was on the southern front in northern Italy. On 2 May 1945 at 6 p.m. – less than a week before Hitler Germany’s actual surrender – Winston Churchill announced that Army Group C of the German Wehrmacht had capitulated in northern Italy. This was due to intelligence activities known as “Operation Sunrise”, which have been the subject of several publications.1 Last year another book was published by Dr Sara Randell, historian at Oxford University, entitled “Ending the War – Operation Sunrise and Max Husmann”.2

Husmann, the teacher. Josef Ostermayer, who succeeded him as director of the institute, described Husmann as particularly talented in explaining complicated mathematical problems. (Picture from the reviewed book)

Education and training for peace

Dr Max Husmann (1888-1965) was a pedagogue and founded the Institute Montana on the Zugerberg in 1926, an international school that still exists today with a boarding school, bilingual primary school, Swiss grammar school and the International School (High School, IB). He headed the school until 1946. I myself worked there from 1990 to 2017 as a grammar school teacher for German and history and witnessed how Sara Randell presented her book at the alumni meeting last summer.
As the title suggests, Max Husmann was not only active as a pedagogue; he was also significantly involved in the Operation Sunrise. The author’s main aim in her work is to show that Husmann, with his activities in the aforementioned secret service operation and his commitment as a school founder and active teacher, pursued his most important concern, namely to make a contribution to peace and international understanding. By founding the institute and intervening in the course of time in the form of the Operation Sunrise at the end of the Second World War, he put “his views on the ethics of war and peace into practice”.3
After the First World War, the worst of all wars up to that point in time, Husmann studied the question of how catastrophes of this magnitude could be prevented in the future. His pedagogical approach was to bring together students from different nations, to impart “respect for their fellow human beings and clear thinking” to “resist propaganda”.4 He attempted to achieve this aim with his pedagogical concept, which can be outlined as follows: Instruction in smaller, internationally mixed classes (ten to a maximum of twelve students), age-mixed cohabitation also outside lessons in the boarding school, with daily homework (“study”), sports and games, meals and excursions.

Operation Sunrise – a varied course and a happy ending

The course of Operation Sunrise can be summarised as follows:5 In spring of 1945, the war is lost for Germany on all fronts. The surrender of the armed forces is only a question of time, also in northern Italy, where destruction is threatening on the principle of the scorged earth by the German military. Husmann meets the Italian baron and businessman Luigi Parrilli, whose nephew was a student at the Institute and who has contacts to high-ranking SS people who are willing to surrender. Thereof Husmann informs his friend Max Waibel, the officer of the Swiss intelligence service. Waibel and Parrilli meet and negotiations begin that must remain absolutely secret. For one before the Federal Council because of the neutrality of Switzerland and also before the Allies, since according to a corresponding agreement between Churchill, Roosevelt and Stalin it was strictly forbidden to hold talks among each other without the knowledge or participation of the Russians. In addition, Berlin, in other words Hitler, was by no means allowed to learn about the attempts to convince high German military leaders to capitulate.
Max Waibel, who had been contacted by Husmann, turns to Allen Dulles, the envoy of the US secret service OSS in Berne at the time. Opposite him stands Karl Wolff, advisor to Hitler and Himmler, the highest SS and police leader in Italy, for whom the defeat of the Axis powers in Italy can no longer be averted and who promises mitigating circumstances for the time after the war if he advocates an earlier end to the fighting. This is where Max Husmann takes up the challenge by promising Wolff to put in a good word for him. It is also clear, however, that the capitulation of the Germans must take place unconditionally and it must not be speculated on “separating the Anglo-American allies from the Soviet allies and to fight Stalin in a united front.”6
Waibel and Husmann succeed in bringing Karl Wolff to Switzerland under the strictest secrecy. During the train journey accross the Swiss Alps, Wolff and Husmann talk for two hours in private behind closed curtains. Husmann sees a chance to convince Wolff of the point of a premature surrender. At first, however, Wolff takes the position that the “pillars of human existence” are “obedience and vows. We can die for them, but we cannot break them and continue to live.”7  According to Max Waibel’s notes, Husmann replies, with the words of Johann Heinrich Pestalozzi: “Does the principle of obedience forbid thinking?”8 According to this great Swiss pedagogue and writer, obedience means being freed from the constraints of one’s own selfishness and be able to follow one’s own conscience. According to Husmann towards Wolff, personalities in responsible positions should not carry out orders without contradiction and unconditionally, but reflect on them. Finally, Husmann succeeds in convincing Wolff that unconditional surrender is not a betrayal of the Führer, but a patriotic act for the German people. Later Wolff says that he had become aware that he had actually sworn his oath on the German people and not on Hitler.
The path from the first talks to the signing of the capitulation documents is not only rocky, but also complicated and sometimes confusing, as Sara Randell illustrates in her book.9 A variety of people of different origin and position were involved. The plot of this political thriller took place at various locations in Italy, Switzerland and Germany. More than once the operation was about to fail because of unexpected problems. Various difficulties have to be overcome, such as the transfer of Albert Kesselring, the supreme German army and air force officer who advocates Operation Sunrise, to the Western Front, or the fact that the Western Allies are now informing the Soviets about the operation … In addition, the Allies are launching a new offensive in Italy, where the soldiers were to be ordered to lay down their weapons. Wolff has quite a hard time convincing the generals with their “stubborn egos, with their fear of Hitler, but also with their unshakeable loyalty to the Führer.”10 Finally, on 2 May, after the news of Hitler’s suicide (30 April) had arrived, and only one week before Germany’s final surrender on 8 May, the weapons in Italy remain silent. Already since March, i.e. since the talks with Max Waibel, Wolff had renounced the planned and partly ordered destruction of industrial plants and traffic routes. Thus the important supply routes for Switzerland – ports and railway lines – were saved.

Max Husmann’s background – motivation for his commitment

The chapter “Learning Tolerance” is revealing, where the author gives an insight into Husmann’s biography in order to investigate the question of why the founder of the Montana Institute was committed with heart and soul to peace and international understanding. 1889 born in Ukraine into a family with Jewish roots that suffers under the Russification policy of Tsar Alexander II, he experiences the brutal consequences of nationalism and anti-Semitism. The family with roots in the Lucerne village of Malters emigrates to Zurich when Max is ten years old. From safe Switzerland the family and Max, who is now a student, witnessed a cruel suppression of the independence movement in Ukraine at the end of the First World War. For Husmann, who already as student gave private lessons – especially in mathematics – nothing would be more natural than to found a school to work towards a society that would find “ways other than bloodshed and battles”11 to solve its problems.
That is why he founded the Montana Institute, which he called his “dearest child”.12 According to the countries of origin of the students, he establishes different sections where they not only acquire “the academic qualifications of their home country”13 but also come to the conviction that “one must know and respect the values of the own country of birth. Only then one can appreciate those from other countries”.14 Together with one of the most important teachers of his school, Huldrich Sauerwein, Husmann may be understood as a representative of the reform pedagogy, whose aim it was to go beyond the mere teaching of subject material but to impart a kind of education that enables their students to cooperate in building a better world in the future. Sara Randell mentions the names of John Dewey, Georg Kerschensteiner, A. S. Neill, Rudolf Steiner and Maria Montessori, who in 1932, along with Sauerwein spoke to the League of Nations in Geneva about education and peace and who organised several peace conferences.

Husmann’s commitment to Karl Wolff at the Nuremberg Trials

Husmann is committed to Karl Wolff at the Nuremberg Trials: If a military capitulation and thus a shortening of warfare could be achieved, you might have to “sup with the devil”15 if necessary. Wolff had been promised loyal treatment after the war, “and so today we have no right not to keep our promise on the grounds that he was an SS General and the entire SS organisation was condemned as a criminal organisation”.16 In Nuremberg, Wolff appears as a witness only, probably also for the reason that the Allies want to prevent Operation Sunrise from becoming publicly known. In 1964, the Munich Regional Court sentences him to 15 years in prison for aiding and abetting the murder of 300,000 Jews. Thus, Max Husmann has to live with the fact that he stood up for the refraining from enforcement of arrest of one of the biggest war criminals of the Nazi era.

Aftermath of Operation Sunrise

Finally, the historian devotes herself to the aftermath of Operation Sunrise from the times of the cover-up right after the war, in which the role of Max Husmann was examined with a good deal of mistrust, to the rehabilitation in the 1960s. On 6 May 2002, the “Neue Zürcher Zeitung” published an article entitled “Den Krieg verkürzt” (The war shortened), which was a commemoration ceremony for Max Waibel. It was only in 2005, on the occasion of the 60th anniversary of Operation Sunrise, that official Switzerland recognised the importance of the operation. Samuel Schmid, then President of the Swiss Confederation, expressly appreciated Max Waibel’s actions and also “acknowledged the important role that Max Husmann had played”.17

Lessons from the past and for the future regarding peace

I was particularly impressed by the chapter titled “Politics and Peace” towards the end of the book, where Sara Randell quotes the Geneva philosopher Jean-Jacques Rousseau: “War is then not a relationship between one man and another, but a relationship between one state and another, not as men, nor even as citizens by accident.”18 The author then lets Max Husmann have his say: He saw his task in “shifting the sense of responsibility to the conscience of the individual appart from political duplicity”.19 She sums up: “It may be that one does not always act correctly. The challenging ethical considerations in connection with the trial against Karl Wolff show how difficult it is to distinguish between black and white. But the history of Operation Sunrise describes Max Husmann’s very human endeavour to find a way through the ambiguities of politics to achieve the real and ultimate goal: Peace.”20
Sara Randell’s richly illustrated book not only offers an extremely exciting read, centred on one of the most important epochs in history, but also reveals to the reader what kind of committed personality the founder of the Montana Institute was. His attitude to war and peace, his commitment as an educator and as a contemporary who actively intervenes in current affairs remains impressive and exemplary to this day.    •

1    Dulles, Allen; from Schulze-Gaervernitz, Gero. Operation Sunrise, The secret history of the end of the war in Italy. Vienna 1967  Fuhrer, H.R., Orlansky, Michael. Pushers and Pushed. The ‘German participants’ and the early end of the war in Italy, 1945. In: Operation Sunrise. Atti del Convegno internazionale (Locarno, 2 maggio 2005), a cura di Marino Vigano e Dominic M. Pedrazzini, Lugano 2006
Halbrock, Stephen. Operation Sunrise: America’s OSS, Swiss Intelligence and the German Surrender 1945. In: Operation Sunrise. Atti del Convegno internazionale (Locarno, 2 maggio 2005), a cura di Marino Vigano e Dominic M. Pedrazzini, Lugano 2006
Waibel, Max. Operation Sunrise 1945 – Surrender in Northern Italy, original report by the mediator, Schaffhausen 1981
Den Krieg verkürzt.(War shortend) In: Neue Zürcher Zeitung of 6.5.2002
Ginsberg, Inge. Wie die Schweiz den Krieg verkürzte.(How Switzerland shortened the war) In: Weltwoche, 23.4.2015, ibid. p. 64, cf. also ibid. p. 104-107
2    Randell, Sara. Ending the War: Operation Sunrise and Max Husmann, Berne 2018.
    The following references to pages correspond with the German edition of the book: “Den Krieg beenden – Die Operation Sunrise und Max Husmann”
3    cf. ibid., p. 8
4    ibid., p. 64, cf. also ibid. p. 104-107
5    Joseph Mächler also gives an informative overview of the operation in his book “Wie sich die Schweiz rettete, Grundlagenbuch zur Geschichte der Schweiz im Zweiten Weltkrieg” (“How Switzerland saved itself, Basic Book on the History of Switzerland in the Second World War”), Zollikofen 2017, pp. 480-484
6    Randell, Sara, op. cit., p. 29
7    ibid., p. 61
8    ibid., p. 62
9    A chronology of events and a list of persons would be helpful.
10    ibid., p. 83
11    ibid., p. 61
12    ibid.
13    ibid., p. 105
14    ibid., pp. 105
15    ibid., p. 96
16    ibid.
17    ibid., p. 116
18    ibid., p. 117
19    ibid.
20    ibid.

(Translation Current Concerns)

ISBN13: 978-3727260148

Education et formation au service de la paix

A propos du livre de Sara Randell «Mettre fin à la guerre – l’opération Sunrise et Max Husmann»

par Winfried Pogorzelski, professeur de lycée

Début 1945, le déroulement de la Seconde Guerre mondiale s’aggrava: la situation des armées hitlériennes était désespérée sur tous les fronts, en Europe, en Asie et en Afrique du Nord, tout comme sur le front sud en Italie du Nord. Le 2 mai 1945 à 18.00 h – moins d’une semaine avant la capitulation proprement dite de l’Allemagne hitlérienne – Winston Churchill annonça la capitulation du groupe C de l’armée de terre appartenant aux forces armées allemandes. Cet évènement était la conséquence d’activités secrètes connues sous le nom d’«opération Sunrise» qui ont fait l’objet d’un certain nombre de publications.1 L’année dernière, Sara Randell, historienne de l’Université d’Oxford, a fait paraître un nouvel ouvrage sur ce sujet intitulé «Mettre fin à la guerre – l’opération Sunrise et Max Husmann».2

Husmann, l’enseignant. Josef Ostermayer, remplaçant du directeur de l’Institut, a décrit Husmann comme particulièrement talentueux pour l’explication des problèmes de mathématiques difficiles. (photo tiré du livre décrit)

Education et formation à la paix

Max Husmann (1888–1965) était un pédagogue qui fonda en 1926, en Suisse centrale, sur le Zugerberg l’Institut Montana, une école internationale existant encore aujourd’hui et comprenant un internat, une école primaire bilingue, un lycée suisse et une école internationale, l’International School (High School, IB). Lui-même dirigea l’école jusqu’à 1946. En ce qui me concerne, j’y ai enseigné de 1990 à 2017 en tant que professeur d’allemand et d’histoire-géographie au lycée et j’ai pu ainsi assister en personne aux rencontres que Sara Randell a rapporté dans son livre de l’été dernier.
Comme le titre le laisse supposer, Max Husmann n’était pas seulement un pédagogue; il avait également été associé de façon déterminante à l’opération Sunrise. Pour l’auteur, il s’agit avant tout dans son ouvrage de démontrer qu’Husmann – tant par ses activités pour le compte des services secrets que par son engagement dans sa fonction de fondateur d’école et d’enseignant actif – poursuivait son objectif principal d’apporter sa contribution à la paix et à l’entente entre les peuples. En fondant son institut, et par son intervention au cours de l’opération Sunrise vers la fin de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, il avait mis en application «et transposé en pratique son point de vue sur l’éthique de la guerre et de la paix»3.
Après la Première Guerre mondiale, considérée jusqu’alors comme la pire de toutes les guerres, Husmann s’était posé la question de savoir comment des catastrophes d’une telle ampleur pourraient être évitées à l’avenir. Son approche pédagogique consistait à réunir des élèves venant des nations les plus diverses, à leur inculquer le «respect de leur prochain et la lucidité», afin de pouvoir «résister à la propagande».4 Il essaya de parvenir à ce but avec son concept pédagogique que l’on peut décrire de la manière suivante: des cours dispensés à des classes de faible effectif (dix à douze élèves maximum), à la composition cosmopolite, une vie communautaire mélangeant les âges également en dehors des cours: c’est-à-dire à l’internat, lors des devoirs faits chaque jour en groupe («l’étude»), des activités sportives et des jeux, des repas et des excursions.

L’opération Sunrise – un déroulement mouvementé et une fin heureuse

Le déroulement de l’opération Sunrise peut se résumer comme suit:5 au printemps 1945, pour l’Allemagne, la guerre est perdue sur tous les fronts; la capitulation des forces armées n’est plus qu’une question de temps, même en Italie du Nord, menacée d’une destruction totale par l’armée allemande, sur le principe de la terre brûlée. Husmann fait la connaissance du baron Luigi Parrilli, Italien et homme d’affaires dont le neveu était élève de l’Institut et qui avait des contacts avec des SS haut placés, eux-mêmes prêts à capituler. Husmann en informe son ami Max Waibel, officier du service suisse du renseignement. Waibel et Parrilli se rencontrent et commencent des pourparlers, lesquels doivent rester absolument secrets: à la fois par rapport au Conseil fédéral – à cause de la neutralité de la Suisse – mais également par rapport aux Alliés, car selon un accord passé entre Churchill, Roosevelt et Staline, il était strictement interdit de mener des négociations sans que les Russes n’en aient connaissance ou n’y participent. En outre, Berlin – c’est-à-dire Hitler – ne devait en aucun cas avoir vent de la tentative de convaincre de hauts gradés allemands de capituler.
Max Waibel, ayant été contacté par Husmann, s’adresse à Allen Dulles, à l’époque, l’envoyé des services secrets américains (OSS) à Berne. Face à lui, il y a Karl Wolff, le conseiller d’Hitler et d’Himmler, également le plus haut gradé de la SS et le chef de la police en Italie, pour lequel il n’était plus possible d’éviter la défaite des puissances de l’Axe en Italie et qui cherchait à s’y ménager des circonstances atténuantes pour l’après-guerre en s’employant à conclure une cessation rapide des combats. Ici Max Husmann se flatte lorsqu’il fait entrevoir à Wolff la possibilité de placer un mot en sa faveur. Il est cependant tout à fait clair que la capitulation des Allemands devra être sans conditions et qu’on ne pourra pas spéculer sur la possibilité «de séparer les alliés anglo-américains de leurs alliés soviétiques afin de de lutter contre Staline en un front réunifié».6
Waibel et Husmann parviennent dans le secret le plus total à faire passer Karl Wolff en Suisse. Pendant le voyage en train à travers les Alpes suisses, Wolff et Husmann parlent tous les deux en tête-à-tête deux heures durant à l’abri des rideaux tirés. Husmann entrevoit une chance de convaincre Wolff de l’intérêt d’une capitulation anticipée. Au début, Wolff défend la position selon lequel les «piliers de l’existence humaine» seraient «l’obéissance et la vocation. Nous pouvons mourir pour ces principes, mais pas les rompre et continuer à vivre.»7 Husmann répond – d’après les notes d’archives de Max Waibel – avec les mots de Johann Heinrich Pestalozzi: «Le principe d’obéissance est-il une interdiction de réfléchir?»8 L’obéissance – selon le grand pédagogue et écrivain suisse – signifie savoir se libérer des contraintes de son propre égoïsme, et pouvoir obéir à sa propre conscience. Des personnalités placées en situation de responsabilité, explique Husmann à Wolff, ne devraient pas exécuter les ordres sans objection ni sans condition, mais après y avoir mûrement réfléchi. Finalement, Husmann réussit à convaincre Wolff que la capitulation sans condition ne serait pas une trahison envers le Führer, mais une action patriotique accomplie en faveur du peuple allemand. Plus tard, Wolff explique qu’il s’était rendu compte qu’il ne s’était pas engagé par serment envers Hitler, mais envers le peuple allemand.
Le chemin allant des premières discussions jusqu’à la signature des documents de capitulation était non seulement pierreux, mais encore complexe et parfois totalement déconcertant, ce que Sara Randell met en évidence dans son livre.9 Une foule de personnes d’origines et de situations très différentes étaient impliquées, l’action de ce thriller politique se joua sur les scènes les plus diverses, en Italie, en Suisse et en Allemagne, et plus d’une fois, par suite de problèmes inattendus, l’action était proche de l’échec. Il fallut surmonter toutes sortes de difficultés, par exemple, le déplacement sur le front ouest d’Albert Kesselring, officier supérieur allemand commandant de l’armée de terre et de l’air, qui soutenait l’opération Sunrise, ou le fait que les Alliés occidentaux avaient entretemps informé les Soviétiques de l’entreprise … En outre, les Alliés engagèrent une nouvelle offensive en Italie, où, pourtant, les soldats devaient recevoir l’ordre de cessez-le-feu. Wolff eut toutes les peines du monde à convaincre les généraux, avec leurs «egos obstinés, leur peur d’Hitler, mais aussi avec leur fidélité inébranlable à l’égard du Führer».10 Enfin, le 2 mai, après que se fut répandue la nouvelle du suicide d’Hitler (le 30 avril) et une semaine seulement avant la capitulation définitive de l’Allemagne le 8 mai, les armes se turent en Italie. Depuis le mois de mars, c’est-à-dire depuis les discussions avec Max Waibel, Wolff avait renoncé à la destruction projetée et déjà partiellement programmée des installations industrielles et des voies de communication. C’est ainsi que les voies d’approvisionnement importantes – les ports et les lignes ferroviaires – restèrent intactes, également au profit de la Suisse.

Les origines de Max Husmann – les raisons de son engagement

Le chapitre «Apprendre la tolérance» est très riche d’enseignement: l’auteur y donne un aperçu de la biographie d’Husmann, répondant ainsi aux interrogations sur la raison pour laquelle le fondateur de l’établissement scolaire de l’Institut Montana s’est employé cœur et âme pour la paix et l’entente entre les peuples.
Né en 1889 en Ukraine dans une famille aux racines juives, ayant souffert de la politique de russification du tsar Alexandre II, il expérimenta lui-même les conséquences brutales du nationalisme et de l’antisémitisme. La famille, dont les racines lointaines demeuraient avec le village lucernois de Malters, émigra à Zurich, lorsque Max avait dix ans. C’est depuis la sécurité de son établissement en Suisse que la famille et Max, devenu entretemps étudiant, suivirent la féroce répression du mouvement d’indépendance ukrainien à la fin de la Première Guerre mondiale. Rien n’était plus proche pour Husmann – qui, en tant qu’étudiant, donnait déjà des cours particuliers, surtout en mathématiques – que de fonder une école afin de participer à créer une société empruntant «d’autres voies que le bain de sang et les combats»11 pour résoudre ses problèmes.
C’est la raison pour laquelle il fonda l’Institut Montana, qu’il devait par la suite désigner comme son «enfant préféré».12 Il y instaura des sections différentes selon le pays d’origine, où les élèves non seulement pouvaient acquérir «les qualifications académiques de leur pays d’origine»,13 mais encore parvenir à la certitude «qu’on doit connaître et respecter les valeurs de son pays natal. Ce n’est qu’ainsi qu’on peut apprécier celles des autres pays».14 On peut voir Husmann – de même qu’Huldrich Sauerwein, l’un des principaux enseignants de son école – comme le représentant de la Nouvelle pédagogique dont le but était, en sus de la transmission du savoir, de dispenser aux élèves un type d’enseignement qui les mette à même de participer à l’édification d’un monde meilleur dans le futur. Sara Randell cite ensuite les noms de John Dewey, Georg Kerschensteiner, A. S. Neill, Rudolf Steiner et Maria Montessori qui, en 1932 – avec Sauerwein – vinrent à la Société des Nations à Genève pour parler de l’éducation et de la paix et organisèrent plusieurs conférences pour la paix.

Engagement d’Husmann en faveur de Karl Wolff au Procès de Nuremberg

Lors des procès de Nuremberg, Husmann intervint en faveur de Karl Wolff: pour conclure une capitulation militaire afin de pouvoir ainsi aboutir à une réduction des hostilités, il faut être prêt, si besoin est, à pactiser «avec le diable».15 La promesse avait été faite à Wolff qu’il serait traité avec équité après la guerre, «aussi nous n’avons plus aujourd’hui le droit de ne pas tenir cette promesse sous prétexte qu’il a été général de la SS, et que l’organisation de la SS en entier ait été condamnée en tant qu’entreprise criminelle».16 Wolff fut cité à Nuremberg seulement comme témoin, les Alliés désirant sans doute éviter que l’opération Sunrise ne s’ébruite en public. En 1964, il fut condamné à 15 ans de détention par le Tribunal de grande instance de Munich pour sa participation à l’élimination de 300 000 Juifs. Et Max Husmann dut vivre avec le fait d’avoir contribué à la réduction de la peine de l’un des plus grands criminels de guerre de l’époque nazie.

ISBN 978-3-727-60-13-1

Répercussions de l’opération Sunrise

Puis, l’historienne s’attache aux conséquences de l’opération Sunrise de l’époque de dissimulation qui régnait dans l’immédiat après-guerre, durant laquelle le rôle de Max Husmann fut passé au crible avec une bonne dose de méfiance, jusqu’à sa réhabilitation depuis les années soixante. Le 6 mai 2002, la «Neue Zürcher Zeitung» publia un article intitulé «Abréger la guerre» qui était un tribut payé à la mémoire de Max Waibel. Ce n’est qu’en 2005, à l’occasion du 60e anniversaire de l’opération Sunrise que la Suisse reconnut officiellement l’importance de l’opération. Samuel Schmid, à l’époque Président de la Confédération, rendit officiellement hommage à l’action de Max Waibel et «reconnut, en outre, l’importance du rôle joué par Max Husmann».17

Leçons du passé et pour l’avenir en matière de paix

J’ai été particulièrement impressionné, vers la fin du livre, par le chapitre intitulé «Politique et Paix» dans lequel Sara Randell cite le philosophe genevois Jean-Jacques Rousseau: «La guerre n’est pas une relation de personne à personne, mais une relation d’Etat à Etat au sein de laquelle les individus ne sont ennemis que par hasard.»18 Ensuite, l’auteur laisse la parole à Max Husmann: il a vu son devoir dans le fait de «déplacer le sentiment de responsabilité vers la sphère de la conscience individuelle, en dehors de la duplicité politique».19 Et l’auteur de résumer: «Il se peut que les actions entreprises ne soient pas toujours correctes – et les réflexions éthiques qui en ont découlé, en rapport avec le procès fait à Karl Wolff, montrent bien à quel point il est difficile de trancher entre ce qui est blanc ou noir. Mais l’histoire de l’opération Sunrise décrit les aspirations très humaines de Max Husmann à trouver une voie au travers des ambiguïtés de la politique afin d’atteindre son objectif ultime: la paix.»20
Le livre richement illustré de Sara Randell est non seulement d’une lecture tout à fait captivante, au centre de laquelle se trouve l’une des époques les plus importantes de l’histoire, mais il révèle également au lecteur jusqu’où allait l’engagement du fondateur de l’Institut Montana. Ses positions au sujet de la guerre et de la paix, son engagement en tant que pédagogue et l’efficacité de ses activités en faveur de ses contemporains dans l’actualité sont encore de nos jours impressionnants et exemplaires.    •

(Traduction Horizons et débats)

1    Dulles, Allen; von Schulze-Gaervernitz, Gero. Unternehmen Sunrise, Die geheime Geschichte des Kriegsendes in Italien. Vienne 1967
    Fuhrer, H.R., Orlansky, Michael. Antreiber und Getriebene. Die ‹deutschen Beteiligten› und das frühzeitige Kriegsende in Italien, 1945. In: Operation  
    Sunrise. Atti del Convegno internazionale (Locarno, 2 maggio 2005), a cura di Marino Vigano e Dominic M. Pedrazzini, Lugano 2006
    Halbrock, Stephen. Operation Sunrise: America’s OSS, Swiss Intelligence and the German Surrender 1945. In: Operation Sunrise. Atti del Convegno
    internazionale (Locarno, 2 maggio 2005), a cura di Marino Vigano e Dominic M. Pedrazzini, Lugano 2006
    Waibel, Max. Operation Sunrise 1945 – Kapitulation in Norditalien, Originalbericht des Vermittlers, Schaffhausen 1981
    Den Krieg verkürzt. In: Neue Zürcher Zeitung du 6/5/02
    Ginsberg, Inge. Wie die Schweiz den Krieg verkürzte. In: Weltwoche du 23/4/15, idem. p. 64, cf. aussi idem. p. 104–107
2    Randell, Sara. Den Krieg beenden. Die Operation Sunrise und Max Husmann, Bern 2018, version anglaise: R.S., Ending the War Operation Sunrise and Max Husmann, Bern 2018
3    cf. idem., p. 8
4    idem. p. 64, cf. aussi idem. p. 104–107
5    Joseph Mächler a lui aussi fourni un résumé informatif sur l’opération Sunrise dans son livre «Wie sich die Schweiz rettete, Grundlagenbuch zur Geschichte der Schweiz im Zweiten Weltkrieg», Zollikofen 2017, p. 480–484
6    Randell, Sara, ibid., p. 29
7    idem. p. 61
8    idem. p. 62
9    Une chronologie des évènements ainsi qu’une liste des personnages seraient d’un grand secours.
10    idem., p. 83
11    idem., p. 61
12    idem.
13    idem., p. 105
14    idem., p. 105s.
15    idem., p. 96
16    idem.
17    idem., p. 116
18    idem., p. 117
19    idem.
20    idem.