The Cooperative Idea – A Cultural Heritage of Humanity

New publication by Zeit-Fragen publishing house

In November 2016, the “cooperative idea” was declared part of the Intangible Cultural World Heritage of UNESCO. With the adoption the idea is to be protected and at the same time to be brought more strongly into the consciousness again as economic model. The impulse to declare the cooperative idea a World Heritage came in 2014 from­Dietmar Berger, the long-time president of the Middle German Cooperative Association. The Raiffeisen Association and the Schulze-Delitzsch- Society joined this idea and jointly submitted the application to the UNESCO.
In order to honour the recognition of the cooperative idea as a World Cultural Heritage, the cooperative Zeit-Fragen organised two events as part of the Leipzig Book Fair 2017.
Participants in the panel discussions included Dietmar Berger, long-standing president of the Middle German Cooperative Association, Professor Dr Markus Hanisch, holder of the Raiffeisen professorship at the Humboldt University in Berlin (“Economics of Rural Cooperatives”), Professor Dr Richard Werner, Director of the Center for Banking, Finance and Sustainable Development, and Dr Eva-Maria Föllmer-Müller, editor and psychologist of the Current Concerns newspaper and Jean-Paul Vuilleumier, president of the Zeit-Fragen Cooperative.
The anthropologically founded ethical basics of the cooperative idea are still relevant today and should be preserved and further developed for future generations. The UN had already proclaimed in 2012 the “Year of Cooperatives” and thus honoured the cooperatives with their 800 million members in over 100 countries worldwide. Cooperatives are working to reduce poverty, create jobs and promote social inclusion. Reason enough to discuss the cooperatives, their historical, social-ethical, economic and practical basics. (Foreword to the brochure)

The 70-page brochure [in German] can be ordered from the Genossenschaft Zeit-Fragen, Postfach, CH-8044 Zurich; e-mail: abo(at)zeit-fragen.ch,
for CHF 10.- plus postage.

L’idée coopérative – patrimoine culturel de l’humanité

Nouvelle publication parue aux Editions Zeit-Fragen
En 2016, l’«idée coopérative» a été déclarée patrimoine mondial immatériel par l’Unesco. Cette adoption vise à protéger l’idée tout en faisant connaître la valeur de son modèle économique. L’impulsion d’inclure l’idée coopérative dans le patrimoine mondial immatériel fut lancée en 2014 par Dietmar Berger, président de longue date de l’Association des coopératives d’Allemagne centrale. L’Association Raiffeisen et la Société Schulze-Delitzsch se sont associés à cette idée et ont soumis conjointement la demande à l’Unesco.
Pour honorer la reconnaissance de l’idée coopérative comme patrimoine mondial, la Coopérative Zeit-Fragen a organisé deux événements dans le cadre de la Foire du livre de Leipzig 2017.
Les participants à la table ronde étaient Dietmar Berger, président de longue date du Mitteldeutscher Genossenschaftsverband, Markus Hanisch, titulaire de la chaire Raiffeisen à l’Université Humboldt de Berlin («Economie des coopératives rurales»), Richard Werner, directeur du Center for Banking, Finance and Sustainable Development, Eva-Maria Föllmer-Müller, psychologue et rédactrice du journal «Zeit-Fragen» et Jean-Paul Vuilleumier, président de la Coopérative Zeit-Fragen.
Les fondements éthiques et anthropologiques de l’idée coopérative sont toujours d’actualité et doivent être préservés et développés pour les générations futures. L’ONU avait déjà proclamé 2012 «Année des coopératives» et a ainsi honoré les coopératives avec leurs 800 millions de membres dans plus de 100 pays. Les coopératives luttent contre la pauvreté, créent des emplois et favorisent l’intégration sociale. C’est une raison suffisante pour s’occuper des coopératives et de leurs fondements historiques, socio-éthiques, économiques et pratiques. (Préface de la brochure)

La brochure de 70 pages peut être commandée à l’adresse suivante:
Genossenschaft Zeit-Fragen, case postale, CH-8044 Zurich; Courriel: abo(at)zeit-fragen.ch, pour 10.– frs plus frais de port.