“The ultra-left is playing a decisive role in spreading violence”

Interview by Alexandre Devecchio (“Le Figaro”) with Eric Delbecque*, France

jpv. On Saturday 16 March 2019, extreme acts of violence were perpetrated on the margins of the demonstration on the Champs-Elysées in Paris. The media spread images of a multitude of broken shop windows, robbed shops, burned houses, restaurants and kiosks.
Various Swiss media have sweepingly spoken of violent yellow jackets. This does not correspond to reality. In the French media, a clear separation was rightfully made in the reporting between the yellow vests and the groups of the Black Block and of the extreme left (also having come from neighbouring countries) who had temporarily been in hiding in the demonstration. The published analyses were almost unanimous in their opinion that the police leadership had failed because the police had not been able to prevent the massive destruction. The opposition parties have therefore demanded the resignation of Christophe Castener, the politically responsible Minister of the Interior. President Macron decided not to withdraw his confidence in him, but he dismissed the head of the police prefecture and another police chief. In the interview below, a French expert on internal security has his say.

Alexandre Devecchio: Did the violence perpetrated during the Paris demonstration [Act XVIII of 16.3.19] come from radicalized yellow vests, or do they bear the signature of the ultra-left, which you describe in your book?

Eric Delbecque: The ultra-left plays a crucial role in the spread of violence. I believe that the expression “radicalised yellow vests” does not correspond to reality. We are currently confronted with three types of violent people: ultra-left troops, violent people wearing a yellow vest in order to be wrapped up in a political cloak and plundering vandals [“casseurs”]. There are probably also individual elements from ultra-right groups, but they are marginal.

Are there also Zadists¹ and representatives of the Black Blocks? What is the difference?

Black Blocks are not a movement, but a mode of operation. Their aim is to challenge the police and to conduct a genuine information war, the primary strategic objectives of which are: to prove their fighting power, to provoke the police and the gendarmerie in the hope of slip-ups that can serve as justification for the unfair thesis of “police violence”. Let us take this opportunity to point out that this concept makes no sense in our democracy. Sometimes, the code of conduct is violated (and punished then too): but calling policemen and gendarmes violent thugs is an enormous stupidity. Under the hoods and the black face masks there are militant ultra-leftists, who may be or used to be Zadists, violent anti-speciesists [from the animal liberation movement], autonomous anarchists, intellectual heirs of revolutionary syndicalism, and supporters of the diverse currents of the ultra-left protest galaxy.

Why aren’t these small groups known to the police forces arrested and detained?

Some are identified, others succeed in not getting caught by the “radar”, others are new recruits. This political propensity to violence should be recorded much more precisely. The whole thing suffers from that: In recent years we have concentrated on Islamist terrorism, which is quite understandable, but at the same time we have underestimated the damage potential of other radical groups, especially the ultra-left. We must realise that any political radicalism (radical Islamism, ultra-left and ultra-right) is a great threat to our country.

How do you define these groups ideologically? You call them “ungovernable” or “hipunk”². Why?

Their first characteristic is the rejection of any authority, including that of the state itself. They reject not only capitalism, but any “dominance”. They do not want to “obey” anyone. This is how the Zadist project can be explained: The “autonomous zone to be defended” is a “zone of temporary autonomy” that is to become definitive … This space is about escaping the laws of the republic. It is a dream of extreme self-government. Everyone has his own myths! The problem is that some of these activists are willing to use violence in order to achieve their goal: the multiplication of the ZADs and the weakening of the state or of power in general.

For these people their grouping or “community” is more important than the individual or the nation?

This happens inevitably when one rejects the foundation of the nation state. The absence of the state, anarchy, is not synonymous with emancipation. The “ungovernable” finally succeed in forming groups that place their conceptions of the collective above the individual parts of society and the individual people.
Riots in Grenoble, violence in Paris ... The “lost territories of the Republic” and the “autonomous zones to be liberated” (ZAD) seem to be multiplying? In your book you mention the spectre of a “spotted France” [“France leopard”]. What does that mean?
The territories no longer controlled by the Republic [the State] tend to become more and more “autonomous”. We’re gradually giving up our right to take them back one day … The released message is: “If you are able to keep the republican [state] authority in bay long enough, you can ultimately become independent of general law.” “Spotted France” is the future of a nation that accepts that its territory will become a socio-political and ideological Emmental cheese: a Salafi enclave here, a Zadist community there and a district that will become a criminal “no-go area” outside the legal system. The very opposite of the civilisation of which Europe has dreamed for centuries …     •

*    Eric Delbecque is a historian, internal security expert and author of the book “Les Ingouvernables, de l’extrême gauche utopiste à l’ultragauche violente” [The ungovernable – from the utopian extremist left to violent ultra-left] (2019).

Source: © Le Figaro from 18.3.19

(Translation Current Concerns)

1    Zadists: ZAD is the abbreviation of “zone d’autonomie à défendre” [autonomous zone to be defended], which means urban or rural areas occupied by militant forces (zadists). [translator’s note]
2    Hipunk: The convergence of romantic hippie utopia and of punk radicalism. This direction renounces the Marxist revolution from above – the dictatorship of the proletariat – and uses a new offensive tactic: undermining state authority from below by multiplying “lost territories of the republic” (no-go-areas). [translator’s note]

jpv. According to the information from the French Minister of the Interior, Castener, [reported to] the parliamentary Commission of the Senators, the following damage was done in the surroundings of the Champs-Elysées on Saturday, 16 March 2019,
–    27 businesses were robbed,
–    more than 130 stores were more or less destroyed,
–    fires were started in 79 places and 5 buildings burned,
–    30 police officers, cops (constable on patrol) and firemen were injured, which was the highest amount of injuries since the beginning of the Saturday demonstrations of the Yellow Vests.

«L’ultra-gauche joue un rôle déterminant dans la propagation de la violence»

Interview d’Eric Delbecque accordée à Alexandre Devecchio («Le Figaro»), France*

jpv. Le samedi 16 mars 2019, des violences extrêmes ont été perpétrées en marge des manifestations sur les Champs-Elysées à Paris. Les médias ont diffusé les images d’une multitude de vitrines cassées, de magasins cambriolés, de maisons, de restaurants et de kiosques incendiés.
Différents médias suisses ont parlé en termes généraux de Gilets jaunes violents. Cela ne correspond pas à la réalité. Dans les médias français, la plupart du temps, une nette séparation a été faite à juste titre dans les récits entre les Gilets jaunes et les groupes des Black blocs (également venus de pays voisins) et de l’ultra-gauche temporairement immergés dans les rassemblements. Les analyses publiées étaient presque unanimes pour dire que la direction des forces de police avait échoué, puisque les forces de l’ordre n’avaient pas été en mesure d’empêcher les destructions massives. Les partis d’opposition ont donc exigé la démission de Christophe Castener, ministre de l’Intérieur politiquement responsable. Le président Macron a décidé de ne pas lui retirer sa confiance, mais il a limogé le directeur de la préfecture de police et un autre chef de la police. Dans l’interview ci-dessous, un spécialiste français de la sécurité intérieure s’exprime.

Le Figaro: Les violences ayant accompagné la manifestation parisienne [acte XVIII du 16/3/19] sont-elles le fait de Gilets jaunes radicalisés ou portent-elles la marque de l’ultra-gauche que vous décrivez dans votre livre?

Eric Delbecque: L’ultra-gauche joue un rôle déterminant dans la propagation de la violence. Je crois que la formule de «Gilets jaunes radicalisés» ne correspond à aucune réalité. Aujourd’hui, nous voyons agir trois types d’individus: des troupes de l’ultra-gauche, des adeptes de la violence portant un gilet jaune pour se donner un prétexte politique et des casseurs voulant piller et faire leurs courses. Il y a sans doute quelques éléments de l’ultra-droite groupusculaire mais c’est une composante marginale.

S’agit-il de zadistes,1 de Black blocs? Quelle différence?

Les Black blocs ne sont pas un mouvement, mais un mode opératoire. Leur but est de défier les forces de l’ordre et de mener une véritable guerre de l’information dont les buts stratégiques prioritaires sont les suivants: témoigner de leur force de frappe, provoquer la police et la gendarmerie en espérant des dérapages permettant d’installer la thèse malhonnête des «violences policières». Signalons au passage que dans notre démocratie, c’est une formule qui n’a pas de sens. Il arrive que des manquements à la déontologie se produisent (ils sont alors réellement sanctionnés): en revanche, faire passer les policiers et les gendarmes pour des brutes se révèle d’une bêtise insondable. Sous les capuches et les cagoules noires se retrouvent des militants de l’ultra-gauche qui peuvent être ou avoir été des zadistes, des antispécistes violents, des militants de l’anarchisme autonome, des héritiers intellectuels du syndicalisme révolutionnaire et des adeptes des multiples courants de la galaxie contestataire ultragauchiste.

Pourquoi ces groupuscules connus des services de police ne sont pas arrêtés et maîtrisés?

Certains sont identifiés, d’autres réussissent à passer en dessous du radar, d’autres sont de nouvelles recrues. Il faut travailler sur la cartographie exacte de cette radicalité politique. Tout le problème se situe là: nous nous sommes concentrés dans les dernières années sur le terrorisme islamiste, ce qui est totalement compréhensible, mais en sous-estimant le potentiel de nuisance d’autres radicaux, ultra-gauche en tête. Nous devons comprendre que l’ensemble des radicalités politiques (islamisme radical, ultra-gauche et ultra-droite) constitue le danger prioritaire qui menace notre pays.
Comment définissez-vous ces groupuscules sur le plan idéologique. Vous les appelez les «ingouvernables» ou encore les «Hipunk».2 Pourquoi?
Parce que leur première caractéristique est le refus de l’autorité en général, donc de l’Etat. Ils ne refusent pas seulement le capitalisme, mais toutes les «dominations». Ils ne veulent «obéir» à personne. C’est ainsi que l’on peut expliquer le projet zadiste: la «zone à défendre» est une «zone d’autonomie temporaire» qui vise à devenir définitive … Sur cet espace, il s’agit d’échapper aux lois de la République. C’est un rêve d’autogestion poussé à ses conséquences ultimes. Chacun ses mythes! Le problème, c’est que certains entendent utiliser la violence pour parvenir à réaliser leur objectif: la multiplication des ZAD et la fragilisation de l’Etat, du pouvoir en général.

Ces groupes font prévaloir la tribu ou la communauté sur l’individu ou la nation?

C’est forcément ce qui advient lorsque l’on refuse les fondamentaux de l’Etat-nation. L’absence d’Etat, l’anarchie, n’est pas synonyme d’émancipation. Les «ingouvernables» finissent par créer des groupes qui font prévaloir le tout sur les parties, le collectif sur les individus.
Emeutes à Grenoble, violences à Paris … Les territoires perdus de la République et les ZAD tendent-ils à se démultiplier? Dans votre livre, vous évoquez le spectre d’une «France léopard». De quoi s’agit-il?
Les espaces qui échappent à la République tendent à devenir de plus en plus «autonomes». Nous renonçons progressivement à les récupérer un jour … Le message envoyé est le suivant: «Si vous parvenez à tenir en respect l’autorité républicaine suffisamment longtemps, vous finirez par vous rendre indépendants de la loi commune.» La France léopard, c’est l’avenir d’une nation qui prendrait l’habitude de voir son territoire devenir un gruyère socio-politique et idéologique: une enclave salafiste par ici, une communauté zadiste dans un autre coin, un quartier devenu une zone criminelle échappant au système judiciaire. Le contraire même de la civilisation telle que l’Europe la rêve depuis des siècles …    •

* Eric Delbecque est historien, expert en sécurité intérieure et auteur du livre intitulé «Les Ingouvernables – De l’extrême gauche utopiste à l’ultra-gauche violente. Plongée dans une France méconnue» (Grasset 2019).

Source: ©Alexandre Devecchio/Le Figaro du 18/3/19

1    Zadistes: ZAD est l’acronyme de «Zone d’autonomie à défendre». Ce sont des zones plus ou moins grandes en ville ou à la campagne occupées par des forces militantes de gauche (zadistes) [ndlr.].
2    Hipunk: combinaison de l’utopie romantique hippie et de la radicalité punk, du mythe orphique de la Nature et du nihilisme existentiel propre à la société de consommation. Les Hipunk ont renoncé à la Révolution marxiste par le haut – la dictature du prolétariat –, mais adopté une nouvelle tactique offensive: saper l’autorité publique par le bas, en investissant et multipliant les «territoires perdus de la République» [ndlr.].

jpv. Devant une commission parlementaire sénatoriale, le ministre de l’Intérieur Christophe Castaner a précisé le «lourd bilan» de la journée du samedi 16 mars dans les abords des Champs-Elysées:
–    27 magasins pillés
–    plus de 130 commerces dégradés
–    79 feux dont 5 bâtiments incendiés
–    30 policiers, gendarmes et pompiers blessés – en nombre de blessés, «le bilan le plus lourd pour les forces de sécurité intérieures» depuis le début des Gilets jaunes.