How television affects our youth

A teacher in a dialogue with her class

by Anne Noll

Germany’s Next Topmodel is a German casting show in a Reality-TV format on the Pro Sieben TV network. This series has been produced yearly since 2005. The first series was already watched by 2.74 million viewers, which means that it reached 7.9 percent of the total viewing audience and 13.5 percent of the advertising-relevant target group of 14 to 49 year-olds.
The self-declared goal of the programme is to find Germany’s “next top model”. In 2010 there were already 21,312 young women applying for it, 2000 queued for the casting in Cologne, and a double-digit number of them was chosen. The young women then compete against each other in special tasks, so-called “challenges”. For example, candidates were doused with salat sauce, an octopus was put on their head or they had to pose in a bar made from ice. The women may refuse carrying out a task for personal reasons such as feelings of shame when revealing photos are taken or when they have phobias, but this may have a negative impact on the jury’s decisions.
The jury, which consists of Heidi Klum and two other members of the fashion industry, decides at the end of each episode who has to leave and who will progress to the next round.
The content of the series and also its impact on the public have been severely criticised from different sides since the start. Also the “taz” reported in 2009 that so far none of the recent winners had suceeded in building an international model career.

Compare: “Germanys next Topmodel”, www.wikipedia.org from 27 May 2016, Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung of 8 May 2010, Süddeutsche Zeitung of 17 May 2010.

Nowadays, parents wonder increasingly, where the young people take the role models for their actions. They do not understand why their children are involved in mobbing as perpetrators or as victims, as they are sure that they themselves set an example of another world in their families and treat their children with respect. Also the affected behaviour that young women, almost children, suddenly show is alien to many parents. However, if you watch television programs that are produced and broadcast for young people, you understand better why they suddenly live up to other values than their parents. With the help of the media and, in particular, through television, young people are massively influenced today.
The students of my 8th grade had re-commended that I should really watch a certain program on TV. In this exciting series young women participated in a competition with the aim to become a model. For three years I have been teaching this class, and in addition to the subject material, we repeatedly use opportunities to discuss everyday events and questions of life.
Curious to know what fascinates the students so much, I am sitting  in front of the TV. A young woman is trying to walk up to a small podium between rocks stepping on stones. She attempts to stride dynamically, because that is the order to all candidates of today. Her performance is assessed by the “jury”, the three persons who are enthroned in director’s chairs on the podium.
The woman is wearing only little on her body, a kind of swimsuit, extended by cantilevered brackets with metal or fabric between waist and head. It represents an “alien”, that was the comment when the clothes had been handed over. Her feet are in objects that you cannot really call shoes and the soles are at least 15 centimeters high.
Despite the shoes she succeeds in getting the path to the jury over and done tolerably. Now her face appears in close-up shot. Hope and uncertainty are reflected in the pretty young woman’s face. Heidi Klum, former model and member of the jury, comments this performance analogously: “You did not perform so well, you wobbled. What was my order?” The young woman cannot repeat it, she had not been attentive as she admits. Other derogatory comments of the jury members follow. The young woman’s reactions are shown in close-up each time, she is ashamed. On her way back the camera follows her, now you can see from the back how she is trying to keep her balance.
In spite of the shoes some of the girls succeed in getting the way to the jury over and done with quickly, with others aremore kind of a stumbling. The day before, a young woman had injured a toe and, seeing the shoes, worried about how she should walk in them. The viewers can see that, too. Again and again, close-ups of faces are shown: fear, hope, uncertainty is seen in the one, boldness and challenge in the others.
“You did everything exactly as I imagined.” “You implemented all instructions.”  “What was good about your performance was that you did not complain in the distribution of footwear. This is  unsuitable on a set.“ Such compliments are distributed to some of the women.
By various means the suspense for the audience is maintained. For example, a scene is displayed where three women are placed in front of the camera together. A longer, expectant silence is broken by a member of the jury: “We could have fired each of you.” Pause, dramatic music. Two of the young women learn: “We will give you another chance.” Each of them thanks neatly. The third is informed that she will leave now, her great disappointment is obvious. Again close-ups, all reactions are presented in long shots.
Repeatedly, individual scene segments are shown: The young women in the car on their way to their performance, in the camp with the other participants, when clothes are distributed, as they see the shoes. Sometimes they comment on their own performance into the camera, as if they were telling their thoughts to a friend. Airtime is also allocated to participants’ intimate telephone conversations with their mothers. In this way, the audience is privy to their self-assessment, their fears and hopes.
While watching all this, I become ever more outraged at this way of dealing with young people. The young women and their spontaneous feelings are properly shown up. I think about my students. Why are they so keen on this? And above all, what they do they learn from it, what lessons do they draw?

What are the values conveyed to the audience?

This programme, which enjoys viewing figures of 13.5 percent (see box), is only superficially about the models. The target group is essentially the audience, young women in the German-speaking countries. For ten years now, this series has influenced the self-image of young women, has shown them what they should be like.
Being beautiful according to today’s ideals is a prerequisite to even being on the show, but it is not enough. There are three people who claim the power to issue orders and instructions. These have to be implemented by the young women whatever happens, if they want to compete successfully. They have to ignore what their own body tells them, they have to ignore pain, their sense of shame, and they have to give up their own will. They bear being humiliated by others, here the “jury”, because they want to surpass their competitors and progress to the next round. Plus: They watch when others are humiliated, and compassion is not in demand.
The next day, my students are eager to hear what I think about the series. In consternation I describe to them what I saw and what I thought about it.
My students counter in an engaged and lively way, as they are full of admiration for the world presented in this show. Their most important objection is that the young women have joined the show voluntarily and that thay might therefore also leave it at any time. They have trouble understanding that the show addresses the girls’ ambition and their wish to beat the competition and then step by step leads them into undignified situations, as it is the ones who subordinate themselves without complaint and even keep appearing bold and challenging.
The idea that they are themselves the actual target group of this programme first seems strange to my students. However, they are willing to listen to my observations and reflections and to consider them. Some days ago now they told me that a few of them had discussed this further amonst themselves and would now like to speak about it again in class.

Engaging in dialogue with young people

I have also reflected about it in the meanwhile. This so-called competition is not about the beauty of ten women, but about the spectators who are engrossed by it at least for one hour every week, and in whom certain values patterns are to be implanted. Natural emotions like disgust, shame and pain are devaluated. Ruthless treatment of themselves and of others gets to be praised and rewarded. Sensitive and feeling young women who might also show a weakness are voted out, while the bold, cheeky and tough ones go on to the next round. In this way, a sharp divide between those at the top and those at the bottom is shown and practiced.
I am curious to hear the ideas and observations of the young people in my class, and so we are soon in the midst of an important discussion. The illusory world presented in this show that has nothing to do with lived reality can be revealed and perhaps even deprived of its mystique by means of a genuine dialogue. This kind of dialogue gets going when adults take it up with joy in young people and in the debate. Instead of being manipulated by means of such programmes, young people need this kind of dialogue in order to form basic values on their way to becoming mature and responsible adults. Do not let us leave them in the lurch and spoil their futures!     •
(Translation Current Concerns)

Un exemple de l’impact de la télévision sur nos jeunes

Dialogue d’une enseignante avec sa classe

par Anne Noll

Germany’s Next Topmodel est un casting show en format télé-réalité de la chaîne allemande ProSieben. Depuis 2005, on produit chaque année un épisode de cette série. Déjà le premier épisode fut visionné par 2,75 millions de spectateurs. Elle atteignit ainsi 7,5% du public total et 13,5% du groupe-cible pour la publicité âgés entre 14 et 49 ans.
L’objectif auto-déclaré de cette émission est de trouver le prochain «top-mannequin» de l’Allemagne. En 2010, 21 312 jeunes femmes s’inscrivirent au concours, 2000 firent la queue à Cologne pour participer au casting. On en sélectionna quelques dizaines.
Les jeunes femmes se confrontent dans des activités spéciales, les dits «challenges». On arrose, par exemple, les candidates avec de la sauce à salade, on leur pose un poulpe sur la tête ou elles doivent poser dans un bar en glace. Les femmes peuvent refuser les activités exigées pour des raisons personnelles, soit parce qu’elles sont trop gênées de se faire photographier en petite tenue soit qu’elles souffrent de phobies, mais cela peut avoir des effets négatifs sur les décisions du jury. Le jury, c’est-à-dire Heidi Klum et deux autres représentants du domaine de la mode, décide qui est éliminé et qui peut continuer lors de la prochaine séance.
Depuis le début de la série, les critiques concernant les contenus et les effets sur le public fusent de divers côtés. En 2009, le quotidien berlinois «taz» rapporta qu’aucune des gagnantes n’avait réussi à faire une carrière internationale de mannequin.

cf.: «Germany’s Next Topmodel», sur www.wikipedia.org  du 27/5/16; Frank­furter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung du 8/5/10, Süddeutsche Zeitung du 17/5/10

Aujourd’hui, les parents se demandent de plus en plus d’où proviennent les modèles de comportement des adolescents. Ils ne comprennent pas pourquoi leurs enfants sont impliqués dans le harcèlement moral soit en tant qu’acteur soit en tant que victime. Pourtant, eux-mêmes sont convaincus, dans leur vie familiale, d’offrir un modèle de vie différent et de les traiter avec respect. Les changements soudains d’attitudes des jeunes adolescentes, presque encore des enfants, leur paraissent incongrus. Pourtant, lorsqu’on regarde les émissions télévisées produites spécialement à l’attention des jeunes, on comprend mieux pourquoi ces derniers vivent d’autres valeurs que leurs parents. A l’aide des médias, et notamment de la télévision, on influence aujourd’hui massivement les jeunes gens.
Mes élèves de 8e [2e classe d’école secondaire, après 6 ans d’école primaire / 4e en France, ndt.] m’avaient conseillé de regarder absolument une certaine émission à la télé. Dans cette série captivante, des jeunes femmes participent à un concours pour devenir mannequin. J’enseignais à ce groupe d’adolescents depuis deux ans. En dehors du programme scolaire, nous profitions de certaines occasions pour discuter d’évènements quotidiens et de problèmes posés par la vie.
Curieuse d’apprendre ce qui fascine tellement mes élèves, je m’assieds donc devant la télé. Une jeune femme essaie de s’approcher d’une petite estrade en tentant d’avancer sur des pierres entre des falaises. Elle s’efforce d’apparaître dynamique car c’est la consigne pour toutes les candidates de cette journée. Sa performance est évaluée par le «jury», composé de trois personnes trônant sur l’estrade dans des chaises de réalisateurs.
Le corps de la femme est très peu couvert, elle porte une sorte de maillot de bain, auquel sont ajoutées des armatures en métal ou tissu entre la taille et la tête. Elle représente un «alien» selon la consigne donnée lors de la distribution des vêtements. Ses pieds se trouvent dans des objets qu’on ne peut pas vraiment appeler chaussures et dont les semelles mesurent 15 centimètres de haut.
Malgré ces «chaussures», elle arrive, tant bien que mal, à parcourir le chemin vers le jury. Là, son visage apparaît en gros plan sur l’écran. Espoir et incertitude se reflètent sur le visage de cette jolie jeune femme. Heidi Klum, ancien mannequin et membre du jury commente sa performance: «Cela n’a pas très bien marché avec toi, tu te balances trop. Quelle était ma consigne?» La jeune femme n’est pas capable de la répéter, par manque d’attention, avoue-t-elle. D’autres commentaires dévalorisants suivent de la part des autres membres du jury. Les réactions de la jeune femme sont montrées en gros plan. Elle a honte … La caméra la suit sur son chemin du retour, on la voit de derrière, alors qu’elle tente de garder l’équilibre.
Certaines des jeunes filles réussissent malgré les «chaussures», à faire le chemin assez rapidement vers le jury, d’autres le font en trébuchant. La veille déjà, une jeune femme s’était blessée à un doigt de pied et s’était inquiétée en voyant les «chaussures» et en se demandant comment marcher. Les spectateurs en sont également informés. A tous moments, les visages réapparaissent en gros plan: peur, espoir et incertitude chez les unes, hardiesse et défi chez les autres.
«Tu as tout fait comme je me l’étais imaginé.» «Tu as respecté toutes mes consignes.» «J’ai apprécié le fait que tu n’aies pas émis de réclamations lors de la distribution des chaussures. Cela est gênant sur un plateau de télé.» Voilà les compliments distribués à certaines de ces jeunes femmes.
L’attention des spectateurs est maintenue par divers moyens. Par exemple, on montre une scène où trois femmes sont placées devant la caméra. Un silence prolongé chargé d’espérance est rompu par un membre du jury: «On aurait pu toutes vous mettre à la porte.» Pause, musique dramatique. Deux des jeunes femmes sont informées: «A vous, on vous donne encore une chance.» Sagement, chacune d’elles remercie le jury. La troisième apprend qu’elle est éliminée, sa grande déception est bien visible. A nouveau, toutes les réactions sont longuement présentées, en gros plan.
Des morceaux choisis sont insérés de manière répétée: les femmes en voiture en route vers l’entrée en scène, au camp avec d’autres participantes, lors de la distribution des vêtements, lors de la remise des chaussures. Parfois, elles donnent des commentaires sur leur propre passage sur scène, comme si elles s’entretenaient avec une amie. Du temps d’émission est également attribué à des conversations téléphoniques très personnelles des participantes avec leur mère. Ainsi les spectateurs sont impliqués dans les auto-évaluations, les craintes, les espoirs et les peurs des jeunes femmes.
Pendant que je regarde l’émission, je suis de plus en plus indignée contre ce traitement infligé à ces jeunes femmes. Leurs émotions spontanées sont véritablement exhibées. Je pense à mes élèves. Pourquoi sont-elles tant enthousiasmées par cette série? Et surtout: qu’apprennent-elles, quel bénéfice en tirent-elles?

Quelles sont les valeurs transmises aux spectatrices?

La part d’audience de cette émission s’élève à 13,5% (cf. encadré). A première vue, il ne s’agit que de la vie de ces jeunes femmes espérant devenir mannequins. En réalité, les spectatrices sont le groupe ciblé; les jeunes femmes germanophones allemandes, autrichiennes et suisses. Depuis dix ans déjà, cette série forme l’image de soi des jeunes femmes, on leur montre comment elles devraient être.
La condition pour être acceptée est d’être belle selon les critères actuels, mais cela ne suffit pas. Trois personnes s’arrogent le pouvoir, de les charger d’une mission, de leur donner des consignes. Les jeunes femmes doivent impérativement se soumettre si elles veulent avancer dans le concours. Elles doivent ignorer leur corps, les douleurs, la honte et abandonner leur volonté. Elles endurent les humiliations infligées par d’autres personnes – dans ce cas précis le «jury» – elles les supportent parce qu’elles veulent être meilleures que les autres concurrentes et atteindre le prochain niveau. Ou bien encore: elles assistent aux humiliations des autres, en refoulant tout élan de compassion.
Le lendemain, mes élèves veulent absolument connaître mon avis sur cette série. Consternée, je leur raconte ce que j’ai vu et je leur fais part de mes réflexions. Les jeunes filles me répondent de façon engagée et très vivante – elles sont pleines d’admiration pour ce monde présenté lors de l’émission. Leur argument principal est que les jeunes femmes s’engagent volontairement et qu’elles peuvent arrêter à tout moment. Elles ont de la peine à comprendre que ces jeunes femmes ne sont pas réellement libres, on flatte leur ambition, la concurrence pour ensuite les mener, petit à petit dans des situations humiliantes. Celles qui sont récompensée ne sont que celles qui se soumettent sans broncher tout en restant hardie et provocante.
L’idée qu’elles pourraient elles-mêmes représenter le véritable groupe-cible de cette émission leur est d’abord étrangère. Pourtant, elles sont prêtes à écouter mes observations et mes réflexions et décident d’y réfléchir. Il y a quelques jours, elles m’ont raconté que certaines d’entre elles avaient continué à discuter et qu’elles souhaitent en reparler avec toute la classe.

En dialogue avec les adolescentes

Entre temps, j’ai moi aussi continué à y réfléchir. Dans ce prétendu concours, il ne s’agit pas d’évaluer la beauté de dix femmes. Le réel objectif est d’implanter certaines «valeurs» chez les spectatrices et les spectateurs vibrant et tremblant avec les jeunes femmes durant une heure entière chaque semaine. Des émotions naturelles telles le dégout, la honte et les douleurs sont dévalorisées. Ce qui est loué et récompensé, c’est la rigueur envers soi et envers les autres. Les femmes sensibles et émotives montrant des faiblesses n’ont aucune chance d’avancer dans un tel concours. Les grandes favorites sont les femmes effrontées, impertinentes et dures. C’est ainsi qu’une hiérarchisation méprisante basée sur des notions inhumaines en découle et se crée.
Je suis curieuse de prendre connaissance des réflexions de mes élèves. Nous nous retrouvons donc au centre d’un important débat. Le monde présenté dans cette émission, n’ayant rien en commun avec la réalité, peut être démasqué dans un véritable dialogue et peut-être même désensorcelé. Ce dialogue est possible lorsque les adultes sont disposés à échanger leurs points de vue tranquillement et sérieusement avec les jeunes gens et ont eux-mêmes aussi du plaisir à en débattre. Les adolescentes manipulées par de telles émissions ont besoin de ce dialogue pour le développement de valeurs positives et leur préparation à une vie adulte et autonome. N’abandonnons pas ces jeunes et leur avenir!    •

(Traduction Horizons et débats)