Escalation including nuclear potential

Berlin government advisors and foreign policy experts warn of a further intensification of NATO’s escalation policy towards Russia. With regard to the dangerous incidents which have been occuring during military flight maneuvers, for example above the Baltic Sea, “sooner or later” there will be no other approach left than that of “associating and dealing with one another”, explains a high-ranking NATO official in the German foreign policy establishment’s leading magazine. It is to be ensured that the power struggle between NATO and Russia “does not grow into a major conflict,” warns a renowned Russian expert of a US think tank. Also the German Institute for International and Security Affairs (“Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik”, SWP), which is funded by the Office of the Federal Chancellor, urges that in order to avoid war risks, the long-term course followed to date, in particular by the USA, should be given up and “influence spheres in their respective regional context” should instead be granted not only to Russia, but also to China. The SWP points out the nuclear component of the conflict – and warns that in the long term the possibility of a deployment of land – based nuclear missiles in Europe can no longer be ruled out.

The unipolar world

The Berlin “Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik” has gathered its warning against a further intensification of the escalation policy towards Russia from an analysis of the US policy towards Russia. The recently published study of this Federal Chancellery-funded think tank examines, among other things, fundamental strategic decisions taken by Washington at the beginning of the 1990s. According to the SWP, it was indeed discussed in the US capital at that time “whether influence spheres were to be conceded to the two great powers of Russia and China” – i.e. areas in their regional contexts where their interests would not be fundamentally questioned.1 But the idea was rejected and it was decided to further develop a “unipolar world under the leadership of the USA”. One way of putting this aim into practice was the expansion of NATO to include Eastern and South Eastern Europe, contrary to affirmations given to Moscow in 1990 and in spite of the fact that the Russian establishment would understand this “as a continuation of the old game of equilibrium and containment policy”. “The geopolitical power conflict” resulting from the continual expansion of the Western powers’ influence towards Eastern Europe and the simultaneous refusal to grant Russia its own sphere of influence, had ultimately “culminated in the Ukraine question.”

Conflict domination

After the upheavals around 1990, the United States had fixated primarily on “so-called rogue states like Iran, Iraq and North Korea” and after 11 September 2001 also “on transnational Islamic terrorism” to enforce its global dominance. But in the meanwhile, in the words of the SWP, the spotlight is on “the power policy rivalry between the US on the one hand and an emerging China as well as a resurging Russia on the other side.”2 This means that “the old, always present but seldom openly articulated vital power political interest of the United States” has been pushed to the fore again namely “to prevent one or more hostile powers from controlling Eurasias resources” and “from acquiring a power potential that could endanger American superiority.” The US interest in the prevention of a united “Eurasia” has been described by former US President Jimmy Carter’s National Security Adviser, Zbigniew Brzezinski, in his geostrategic classic “The Grand Chessboard”.3 The SWP confirms that in effect, current Washington strategy regards Russia and China as “the potential opponents which are to be deterred by superior military power,” – and “by the ability of conflict dominance”.

New dialogue

The journal “International Politics”, published by the German Society for Foreign Affairs (“Deutsche Gesellschaft für Auswärtige Politik”, DGAP), has recently called for greater restraint in the conflict. With reference to continually recurring dangerous incidents, as for example when Russian and Western fighter aircraft met over the Baltic Sea, the head of the NATO Energy Security Unit, Michael Rühle, said in the online version of the newspaper that “sooner or later” there would be no other approach left than that of associating and dealing with one another”.4 “Were a new dialogue with Moscow to develop – for example over talks on the avoidance of military incidents”, then one should by all means once again consider further-reaching “practical cooperation”. Over the last two decades, this had after all ranged from “joint peacekeeping in the Balkans to maritime search and rescue missions” as well as “from the training of Afghan military specialists to the fight against drugs and terrorism”. It is true that the dealings with Russia will probably remain difficult, says Rühle; nevertheless, the current conflict “forces NATO not only to carry out a military re-adjustment towards Russia but also to explore new ways of dialogue and cooperation”.

“Not worth a war”

As early as in July, the online version of the weekly newspaper “Die Zeit” has published a warning contribution by the Russian foreign policy expert Dmitri Trenin. As former colonel of the Soviet armed forces and present head of the American Carnegie Endowment Moscow office Trenin explained, it is currently mainly a matter of ensuring that the confrontation between NATO and Russia “does not grow into a major conflict”.5 First steps towards understanding are indispensable on both sides; so that the West should take note of the fact that the confrontation with Russia should not be held against Russian politics alone. If, after a major conflict as the system confrontation had been, one were to forget “to create an international order acceptable to the losing party”, it would inevitably lead to a new round of the competition. In fact, the dominance of the West as well as its advance into the Russian sphere of influence (by means of the NATO east expansion) was by no means acceptable to Moscow. The current conflict between NATO and Russia is “not trivial”, but “undoubtedly not worth a European war”, writes Trenin; now, “common precautions should be taken” to prevent it.

Medium range missiles

In this context, the SWP explicitly points out the nuclear component of the conflict. “The mere strengthening of conventional deterrence”, such as “the deployment of armed forces at the front, the plans and measures relevant to bringing up reinforcements as well as the necessary safeguarding of maritime connections,” could set in motion an armament dynamics that will reciprocally aggravate the security dilemma”, says the new SWP analysis of US policy towards Russia. However, the new “deterrence policy” will “hardly be confined to the conventional level.”6 In fact, after previous discussion, in which German think tanks also called for the expansion of the Western nuclear arsenal7, the recent NATO summit in Warsaw explicitly referred to the nuclear nature of the alliance.(german-foreign-policy.com) In return, Russia has now announced that it will suspend the destruction of nuclear-weapons-grade plutonium.8 The SWP warns that if the tensions continue to be fueled, it may be only a matter of time before there are the first voices to suggest that the INF Treaty be revoked  and land-based middle-range nuclear missiles be deployed in Europe.

Risks of war

Washington is “more and more faced with the challenge,” warns the SWP, to change its course and to allow Russia and China spheres of influence in their regional context after all, – “in the interest of global cooperation and the prevention of war risks” – as it would otherwise promote “power rivalries with a high potential of escalation”.9 In this case, the escalation potential is nuclear.     •

1, 2     Rudolf, Peter. Amerikanische Russland-Politik und europäische Sicherheitsordnung. (American policy towards Russia and European security order.) SWP study. Berlin, September 2016
3     Brzezinski, Zbigniew. The Grand Chessboard. American Primacy and Its Geostrategic Imperatives. New York 1997. The German version was published as: Brzezinski, Zbigniew. Die einzige Weltmacht. Frankfurt am Main 1999
4    Rühle, Michael. Jenseits der Abschreckung. (Beyond deterrence) zeitschrift-ip.dgap.org, 15 September 2016
5    Trenin, Dmitri. Talk to each other! www.zeit.de, 8 September 2016
6    Rudolf, Peter. American policy towards Russia and European security order. SWP study, Berlin September 2016, p. 17
7    See: Die Nukleardebatte der Nato. Die Nukleardebatte der Nato (II) und Grundlegende Neujustierung. (NATO’s Nuclear Debate. The Nuclear Debate of NATO (II) and the Basic Reintroduction. german-foreign-policy.com
8    Russia stops plutonium destruction. www.zeit.de, 3. Oktober 2016
9    Rudolf, Peter. American policy towards Russia and European security order. SWP study. Berlin, September 2016

Source: www.german-foreign-policy.com/en/fulltext/59454 from 5 October 2016

(Translation Current Concerns)

Le risque nucléaire s’accentue

Des conseillers gouvernementaux et des spécialistes de politique extérieure berlinois mettent en garde contre l’aggravation de la politique d’escalade de la violence de l’OTAN face à la Russie. Compte tenu des incidents dangereux survenus lors de manœuvres de vol d’avions militaires, par exemple au-dessus de la mer Baltique, «il n’y aura bientôt plus d’autre voie que le dialogue» a déclaré un haut responsable de l’OTAN dans le principal journal traitant de la politique extérieure allemande. Il faut veiller à ce que la lutte pour le pouvoir entre l’OTAN et la Russie «ne dégénère pas en un grand conflit», a averti un expert russe renommé d’un think-tank américain. La Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP) financée par la Chancellerie allemande insiste –notamment auprès des Etats-Unis et contrairement aux positions empruntées jusqu’à présent – sur le fait d’accorder non seulement à la Russie mais également à la Chine des «sphères d’influence» dans leurs environnements régionaux respectifs «pour éviter tout risque de guerre». La SWP rend attentif aux composantes nucléaires du conflit – et met en garde au sujet du déploiement possible de missiles nucléaires à moyenne portée en Europe.

Un monde unipolaire

C’est suite à une analyse approfondie de la politique américaine face à la Russie que la SWP a formulé sa mise en garde contre l’aggravation de la politique d’escalade de la violence envers la Russie. Cette récente étude met en exergue les décisions stratégiques prises par Washington au début des années 1990. La SWP constate que jadis, on avait bien discuté dans la capitale des Etats-Unis, «s’il fallait accorder aux deux grandes puissances Russie et Chine des sphères d’influence» – donc des territoires dans leurs environnements régionaux, où l’on ne mettrait pas fondamentalement en question leurs intérêts.1 Mais cette idée fut rejetée et on décida de développer un «monde unipolaire sous la conduite des Etats-Unis». A cet effet, on élargit entre autre – contrairement aux assurances verbales émises face à Moscou en 1990 – l’OTAN vers l’Europe de l’Est et du Sud-Est, bien qu’il fût clair que l’establishment russe comprendrait cela «comme une continuation de l’ancienne stratégie de l’équilibre et de l’endiguement». «Le conflit de pouvoir géopolitique», résultant de la continuelle extension de l’influence des puissances occidentales vers l’Europe orientale, tout en refusant une sphère d’influence aux Russes, «culmina finalement dans la crise ukrainienne».

Dominance des conflits

Suite aux bouleversements des années 1990, les Etats-Unis se concentrèrent d’abord – pour la mise en œuvre de leur objectif hégémonique – «avant tout sur les prétendus Etats voyous, tels l’Iran, l’Irak et la Corée du Nord». Après le 11 septembre 2001, ils s’occupèrent «du terrorisme islamique transnational» et entre-temps, selon la SWP, «la rivalité politique, entre les Etats-Unis d’une part et la Chine en plein essor ainsi que la Russie renaissante d’autre part, gagna en importance».2 Ainsi, les «anciens intérêts politiques des Etats-Unis, jamais disparus mais rarement ouvertement exprimés», réapparurent au premier plan: «empêcher qu’une ou plusieurs grandes puissances hostiles puissent contrôler les ressources de l’Eurasie» pour «s’accaparer un potentiel de pouvoir» pouvant «mettre en danger la supériorité américaine». Zbigniew Brzezinski, ancien conseiller à la sécurité nationale du président Jimmy Carter, a décrit en détail dans son ouvrage géostratégique «Le grand échiquier»3 l’intérêt des Etats-Unis à empêcher toute velléité d’une «Eurasie» unie. La SWP confirme ainsi que dans la stratégie washingtonienne actuelle, la Russie et la Chine sont véritablement «les ennemis potentiels qu’il faut dissuader à l’aide d’une force militaire supérieure, c’est-à-dire par la capacité américaine de dominer les conflits».

Un nouveau dialogue

La revue spécialisée Internationale Politik, publiée par la Deutsche Gesellschaft für Auswärtige Politik (DGAP), a exhorté plus de retenue dans le conflit. Dans la version en ligne de cette revue, Michael Rühle, chef de l’unité de sécurité énergétique de l’OTAN, estime que concernant les incidents dangereux lors de rencontres d’avions de combat russes et occidentaux au-dessus de la mer Baltique, «il n’y aura bientôt plus d’autre voie que le dialogue».4 «Si un nouveau dialogue devait se développer avec Moscou – par exemple sous la forme de pourparlers visant à éviter tout incident militaire», alors l’on devrait aussi «penser à une coopération pratique plus large». Cela a tout de même bien fonctionné durant les deux dernières décennies dans les domaines de la «promotion de la paix dans les Balkans et les interventions maritimes de recherche et de sauvetage communes», ou encore dans les domaines de «la formation de spécialistes militaires afghans et la lutte contre le terrorisme et la drogue». Selon Rühle, il est probable que la relation avec la Russie «demeurera difficile»; cependant, le conflit actuel «oblige l’OTAN non seulement à un réajustement militaire face à la Russie, mais aussi à l’exploration de nouvelles voies vers le dialogue et la coopération».

«Pas la peine de mener une guerre»

Déjà en juillet, la version électronique de l’hebdomadaire Die Zeit a publié une contribution de mise en garde par l’expert de politique étrangère russe Dmitri Trenin. Trenin, ancien colonel de l’armée soviétique et actuellement directeur de la filiale moscovite du think-tank américain «Fondation Carnegie pour la paix internationale», explique qu’il s’agit pour le moment «d’assurer» que la confrontation entre l’OTAN et la Russie «ne se transforme pas en un conflit majeur».5 Il est indispensable que les deux parties fassent des pas en avant pour qu’une entente ait lieu, et dans ce processus, «il revient à l’Occident de reconnaître que les causes de la confrontation avec la Russie» ne sont pas imputables uniquement à la politique russe. Si l’on manque «après un grand conflit», comme l’a été la confrontation des systèmes politiques, «à créer un ordre international acceptable pour la partie perdante» cela mènera immanquablement à «un nouveau cycle de rivalité». En effet, la dominance de l’Occident et son avancée (par l’élargissement de l’OTAN à l’Est) dans la sphère d’influence russe n’est certainement pas «acceptable» pour Moscou. Le conflit actuel entre la Russie et l’OTAN «n’est en rien trivial», mais «il ne vaut certainement pas la peine de mener une guerre en Europe». Et Trenin d’ajouter: «Des mesures de précaution communes doivent être prises pour l’éviter».

Missiles à moyenne portée

Dans ce contexte la SWP rend expressément attentif aux composantes nucléaires du conflit. Dans sa nouvelle analyse concernant les relations américano-russes, il est dit que «rien que le renforcement de la dissuasion conventionnelle», soit la «projection de forces armées, la planification de renforcements et la sécurisation des voies maritimes», peut «mener à une course aux armements aggravant mutuellement le dilemme sécuritaire». La nouvelle forme de dissuasion «ne sera certainement pas limitée à sa nature conventionnelle».6 En effet, le dernier Sommet de l’OTAN à Varsovie a porté explicitement sur le caractère nucléaire de l’alliance, à l’instar de think-tanks allemands s’exprimant en faveur de l’extension de l’arsenal nucléaire occidental (selon german-foreign-policy.com7). En contrepartie, la Russie a annoncé la suspension de son programme de destruction de plutonium enrichi.8 Selon la SWP, si les tensions continuent à être attisées, «ce ne sera probablement plus qu’une question de temps jusqu’à ce que les premières voix suggèrent de dénoncer le traité FNI et de stationner des missiles nucléaires à moyenne portée en Europe».

Risques de guerre

La SWP met en garde sur le fait que Washington se trouve «face au défi grandissant» de changer de cap et d’accorder à l’avenir à la Russie et à la Chine des «sphères d’influence» dans leur environnement régional – «dans l’intérêt de la coopération globale et pour éviter les risques de guerre» – ou alors «d’accélérer les rivalités de pouvoir avec de grands risques d’escalade de la violence».9 A cet égard, les risques d’escalade sont nucléaires.    •

Source: www.german-foreign-policy.com/de/fulltext/59454 du 5/10/16

(Traduction Horizons et débats)

1, 2    Rudolf, Peter. Amerikanische Russland-Politik und europäische Sicherheitsordnung. SWP-Studie. Berlin, septembre 2016, p. 17
3    Brzezinski, Zbigniew. Le grand échiquier. L’Amérique et le reste du monde. Paris 1997
4    Rühle, Michael. Jenseits der Abschreckung. zeitschrift-ip.dgap.org, 15/9/16
5    Trenin, Dmitri. Redet miteinander! www.zeit.de, 8/7/16
6    Rudolf, Peter. Amerikanische Russland-Politik und europäische Sicherheitsordnung. SWP-Studie, Berlin, septembre 2016, p. 17
7    Cf. Die Nukleardebatte der Nato. Die Nuklear­debatte der Nato (II) und Grundlegende Neu­justierung.
8    Russland stoppt Plutonium-Vernichtung.www.zeit.de, 3/10/16
9    Rudolf, Peter. Amerikanische Russland-Politik und europäische Sicherheitsordnung. SWP-Studie. Berlin, septembre 2016, p. 17