Tropic House Wolhusen: a sustainable, pioneering idea

Coffee country Switzerland? Absolutely!

by Heini Hofmann

Situated in Lucerne’s back country, at the gate to Entlebuch’s biosphere reserve, Tropic House Wolhusen is a well thought out pilot project in more ways than one: It is being heated by industrial waste heat of a nearby gas compression station (of the natural gas pipeline North Sea – Italy) and thus produces tropical fruits and herbs that don’t have to be transported halfway around the globe.
Having just been surrounded by cow pastures and farms, upon stepping into the big greenhouses, one is instantly enveloped by a fascinating, colourful and fragrant tropical jungle. All of the exotic fruits from the supermarket shelves can be found here, growing directly from trees and bushes – well-known ones like bananas, pineapples and papayas as well as exotic varieties like kumquat, sapote or cherimoya. And one is surprised to hear that Switzerland is also a coffee country.

The tropical garden is open to the public

Stimulated by a warm and humid climate, around 120 different varieties of tropical crop plants enticing the senses with their evergreen leaves, colourful fruits and fragrant flowers, can be found flourishing in the visitors centre spanning an area of 1,900 square metres. Themed islands providing information on the cultivation and processing of tropical products as well as critical reflections on how the tropics are being treated by western society have been installed all over the premises.
For those wanting more, seasoned guides are available as well as public tours on the weekends. Tours including the tasting of fruits and their products are especially popular with groups. Moreover, themed workshops can be booked for those interested in deepening their knowledge about the tropics. The kids are asked to participate in a tricky expedition game about a missing tropes researcher involving the entire facility’s terrain.

Tropic House Wolhusen (behind) and house of production (in front). In the background the Pilatus. (pictures “Tropenhaus Wolhusen”)

Mahoi – exotic culinary delights

However, the Tropic House would not be complete without its own exotic restaurant. At Mahoi, guests can enjoy delicacies from the house’s own production and local specialties paired with exotic drinks and selected wines while virtually dining in the jungle. Highly motivated 34-year old chef de cuisine Andreas Halter who worked at Mahoi since the restaurant’s opening in 2010, was able to receive his 14th Gault Millau point this year.
As is true for all of these types of sightseeing and sightfeeling institutions, the restaurant is an essential pillar of the whole enterprise, that, as managing director Pius Marti mentions visibly proudly, after five years in business, is likely to welcome its 250,000th visitor soon (the number of restaurant visitors is already at 300,000). With it’s special ambiance, bar, lounge and big terrace in the midst of a tropical garden, Mahoi can seat 180 guests and takes bookings for private as well as company events.

A glimpse inside the production house

Even the big 5,500 square metre plantation that houses the actual production is partially accessible to the public by guided tour, which, of course, is always particularly fascinating. Within our latitude, where else would it be possible to visit a papaya, a chili or a coffee plantation? Here, selected tropical fruits, vegetables, herbs and spices are being grown and harvested for the restaurant, the store and external sales.
Similar to other institutions depending on visitors, e.g. natural history museums, botanical and zoological gardens, for the Tropic House, the information provided to the customers is key. For example, nature didn’t equip the coffee plant with caffeine in its leaves, blooms and seeds in order to act as a pick-me-up for humans, but primarily to enable it to protect itself against insects, bacterial and fungal infestation. Furthermore, raw coffee is simply inedible. The roasting process is what first renders it potable, it lends the unmistakeable aroma and the characteristic colour to the coffee.

Coffee country Switzerland – yes, really!

Due to climatic reasons, our country (except for Tropic House Wolhusen) obviously lacks coffee plantations. Not withstanding that, the “brown gold” is still an important commodity for Switzerland. Surprisingly enough, as a refined export product, coffee outranks watches and chocolate. That fact alone should be enough to interest us in the incredible story of the brown wonder.
It all started in 12th century in Ethiopia, where the consumption of coffee fostered people spending time together. Later on, as the brown juice conquered the world, coffee was used to counter the effects of alcohol abuse before it morphed from being a luxury product for the wealthy to being the masses’s lifestyle beverage all around the globe. But back to the coffee plant.

Arabica and Robusta

The Coffea plant is part of the Rubiaceae family and comprises around 120 species, but only few are used for coffee production. Today world trade is dominated by two species: the Arabica coffee plant (Coffea arabica), which is originally from Ethiopia and up to 5 m high, covers around 60% of the world’s harvest. Its caffeine content is lower, its variety of flavours is high. The first plantations were known from Yemen before coffee conquered the world in the 17th and 18th century and gained a foothold in the higher tropical regions of Asia, Africa and America.
With the up to 8 m high Robusta coffee plant (Coffea canephora) the colonial botanists discovered an alternative to Arabica in 1897 which was less susceptible to rust fungus (hence the name Robusta). It has a slightly higher caffeine content, has a more bitter flavour and covers about 40% of the world’s harvest. Now one tries to incorporate its resilience into modern breeding products. A third variety (Coffea liberica), originally from West Africa and now spread in Central Africa, is involved in less than 1% of the world’s harvest, because its flavour is not popular with the customers.

More than 850 flavouring agents

The tropical undergrowth plant Coffea loves soil rich in humus. Propagation is done by seedlings (Arabica) or cuttings (Robusta). Their stone fruits ( “coffee cherries”) contain two flattened seeds, the coffee beans. Each year, some 8 million tonnes are produced. The top ten growing countries are Brazil, Vietnam, Indonesia, Colombia, India, Honduras, Uganda, Guatemala, Mexico and Ethiopia.
Coffee has been one of the world’s most popular drinks for centuries; for it offers pleasure and sensuality at the same time, and through the caffeine (purine alkaloid) it acts stimulating, awakening (not everybody is delighted) and mood-lifting. Anyone who thinks that you cannot talk shop and philosophise about coffee like wine is wrong. More than 850 chemically defined aromatics have so far been identified in roasted coffee beans – more than in wine.
The enjoyment of coffee depends on variety, degree of roasting and grinding as well as on the way of preparation, which varies around the world. The coffee aroma is a result of smell and taste. A coffee can be smoky, nutty, flowery or fruity regarding odour, sweet or bitter, with a tea-like soft or syrupy-dense body and with citrusy, apple-like or vinous acid regarding taste. In addition, the appearance and colour of the crema are important to the eye. In short, you are amazed at what such a small bean has got in it!    •

Additional information at: Tropenhaus Wolhusen LU: www.tropenhaus-wolhusen.ch, tel. 041 925 77 99.
(The analogous Tropenhaus Frutigen BE: www.tropenhaus-frutigen.ch, tel. 033 672 11 44, is specialised in sturgeon and caviar production instead of tropical fruit.)

(Translation Current Concerns)

Coffee recipes from all over the world – so many countries, so many coffee customs

Cafezinho/Brazil

Ingredients

1 heaped ts ground, Brazilian coffee
1 three-quarter cup of water
1 ts sugar
Preparation
Heat the water together with sugar in a saucepan until the sugar has dissolved (just before the boiling point). Add the ground coffee. Remove the saucepan from the heat. Stir the coffee well and strain the mixture using a fine sieve and serve.

Café de olla/Mexico

Ingredients

2 tb coarsely ground coffee
170 ml of water
25 g of brown sugar
1 clove
a little cinnamon

Preparation
Boil the water with clove and cinnamon and simmer for 10 minutes. Add sugar and, as soon as dissolved, add the coffee and continue simmering for 3 minutes. Put the pot aside and allow to stand until the coffee has settled. Strain and serve.

Maple coffee/America

Ingredients

150 ml fresh, very strong coffee
100 ml of milk and 100 ml of cream
50 ml maple syrup
little whipped cream
Preparation
Combine cream and milk in a saucepan, stirring constantly until thoroughly heated (do not boil). Stir in coffee and maple syrup. Then strain and serve with a little whipped cream.

Arabic coffee/Arabia

Ingredients

1 ts ground coffee, dark roast
about 50 ml of water
ground cardamom
ground nutmeg

Preparation
Mix water, coffee, cardamom powder and a hint of nutmeg well in a saucepan. Boil gently on low heat until foam gathers on top. Then pour the coffee into a pre-heated demitasse cup. Should be particularly enjoyable after lavish meals.

Ibrik/Turkish coffee

Ingredients

1 ts extremely fine (!) ground coffee
about 50 ml of water
sugar at will

Preparation
Pour water into a pot, add sugar at your will, stir well, then bring the mixture to a boil. Remove the pot from the cooker and add the coffee powder. Then boil up twice or three times, remove  the pot from the cooker in between, remove the foam and stir thoroughly. Before serving, add 1 ts of cold water to accelerate the settling of the coffee powder. Pour the coffee in a cup without straining and serve.

Kopi Jahe/Indonesia

Ingredients

1 tb coarsely ground coffee
100 ml of water
15 g palm sugar
1 piece of ginger (hazelnut-sized and smashed)

Preparation
Bring coffee, ginger, and sugar to a boil with the water. Reduce heat and leave on the cooker until sugar has dissolved. Pour Kopi Jahe into a cup and enjoy it.

Indian coffee/India

Ingredients

1 ts ground coffee
100 ml of water
1 tb of rum
1 tb of sugar syrup
1 ts of coconut milk
½ ts of  cornflour

Preparation
Mix cornflour with coconut milk and boil until thickened. Prepare a thin coffee and sweeten with sugar syrup, add rum. Then pour the mixture of coconut milk onto the bottom of the cup and pour rum-coffee over it.

Carajillo/Spain

Ingredients

45 ml espresso
30 ml Spanish brandy
1 ts sugar
3 coffee beans

Preparation
Put brandy with sugar and coffee beans in a small, heat-resistant glass. Heat the mixture with the steam nozzle of the coffee machine. Light the heated brandy and deglace with fresh espresso.

Viennese coffee/Austria

Ingredients

100 ml of coffee
Vanilla syrup (optional)
1 ball of vanilla ice cream
Chocolate flakes
Preparation
Put a little vanilla syrup and one ball of vanilla ice cream into a heat-resistant glass. Fill up with coffee. Garnish with chocolate flakes at will.

Julekaffee/Denmark

Ingredients for “Christmas Coffee”

150 ml freshly brewed filter coffee
1 pinch of ground cardamom
1 pinch of ground coriander
1 soused ginger plum
2 cl Gammel Dansk Bitter Dram
(bitter)
25 g whipped cream
½ ts ginger syrup
Chocolate powder

Preparation
Chop the ginger plum finely and put it in a high mug. Mix ginger syrup with cream. Brew the coffee, adding cardamom and coriander into the filter bag. Spread the Gammel Dansk over the ginger pieces and pour the coffee into the mug. Cap it with a cream topping and sprinkle with chocolate powder.
Irish coffee/Ireland
Ingredients
100 ml of coffee
40 ml Irish whiskey
2 ts of cane sugar
2 ts of half-beaten cream

Preparation
Put sugar and whiskey in a heat-resistant glass and heat it with the steam nozzle of the coffee machine. Add a freshly made coffee. Put half-beaten cream on it carefully. Serve without spoon.

Ginger honey/Origin?

Ingredients

45 ml espresso
1 ts honey
1 knife tip ginger powder
Preparation
Put  honey and ginger into an espresso cup. Add a strong espresso. Stir before serving.

Kaldi and the dancing goats

A legend from the originating country of coffee

HH. Around the year 850 AD, the young Ethiopian goat shepherd Kaldi observed something peculiar: his bleating animals chewed the red fruits of a tree, whereupon they became unusually lively and began to jump and dance around. Curiously, Kaldi tasted some of those fruits himself and immediately realized that they were something special.
He ran to the nearby monastery and told the abbot of this peculiar effect. The man of God discharged his duty, declared the fruit as devil’s work, and threw it into the fire. After a short time the heavenly scent of roasted coffee beans wafted through the monastery. The monks came running, fished the beans from the ashes, put them in a pot and poured hot water over them to keep them fresh.
During the night the monks tried the dark brew. It was irresistibly good and had an invigorating effect. So they vowed to drink it daily from now on, so as to keep them awake during their night’s prayers.
(Translation Current Concerns)

Coffee “Fünfliber“ – Pure Swissness

HH. One of the most exceptional coffee recipes worldwide originates from the Entlebuch, quasi from the heart of Switzerland, at the entrance of which the Tropic House Wolhusen is located. Flamboyant coffee ideas seem to be traditional here. In terms of coffee Lucerne hinterland has always been way forward. Therefore the following special recipe shall be honoured:
Ingredients: 1 l and 1 dl water, 3 tablespoons ground coffee, 3 tablespoons sugar, ”Schnaps“ [brandy](pipfruit or plum), fresh fir branch, clean “Fünfliber” (five-Swiss franc coin).
Preparation: Boil water in a pot. As soon as it is cooking intersperse coffee and sugar and stir with the fir branch. Cook up the water again for a short time and take it from the stove. Pour 1dl cold water circularly in the pot. Put the Fünfliber in the glas and fill up with coffee until the Tell1 is no longer visible. Add “Schnaps” until he is visible again. Remove the coin before drinking. Cheers!

1     Wilhelm Tell’s head is shown on one side of the five-Swiss franc coin

(Translation Current Concerns)

Maison tropicale de Wolhusen – une idée pionnière durable

La Suisse – un producteur de café? Et oui!

par Heini Hofmann

La Maison tropicale de Wolhusen dans la campagne lucernoise, aux portes de la Biosphère de l’Entlebuch, est un projet pilote deux fois intelligemment conçu: elle est chauffée à l’aide de l’excédent de chaleur industrielle émanant d’une station de compression de gaz du gazoduc «mer du Nord–Italie» et produit ainsi des épices et des fruits tropicaux qui ne devront pas être importés de pays lointains.
On passe directement des pâturages pour bovins et des fermes à l’entrée des grandes serres où une jungle tropicale fascinante, haute en couleur et odoriférante nous accueille. Là, tous ces fruits du Sud, que nous connaissons des rayons des grandes surfaces, poussent directement sur les arbres et les buissons – des espèces telles les bananes, les ananas et les papayes et d’autres moins courantes telles les kumquats, les sapotes ou les chérimoles. Et l’on s’étonne que la Suisse soit un producteur de café?

Un jardin tropical ouvert aux visiteurs

Sur une surface de 1900 m2, environ 120 variétés agricoles tropicales prospèrent et avec leurs feuilles persistantes, leurs fruits de toutes les couleurs et leurs fleurs parfumées, accompagnés d’un climat chaud et humide, enchantent les sens des visiteurs. Partout, il y a des îlots thématiques avec des informations intéressantes sur la culture et la transformation des produits tropicaux, mais également des considérations plus approfondies concernant le commerce des pays occidentaux avec les régions tropicales.
Quiconque a envie d’en savoir davantage peut s’adresser à des guides et, le week-end, il y a des visites guidées. Les groupes apprécient ces visites avec dégustation de fruits et de leurs produits. Pour entrer plus profondément dans la matière, il y a des ateliers thématiques. Même les tout-petits peuvent participer à un jeu consistant à chercher dans tout le jardin tropical un chercheur disparu.

Les serres au premier plan, la maison tropical de Wolhusen à l'arrière-plan et au fond le Pilatus.
(photos Maison tropical de Wolhusen)

Mahoï – un restaurant culinaire exotique

Que serait une maison tropicale sans une restauration exotique? Au «Mahoï» on peut, pour ainsi dire au milieu de la jungle, savourer des délicatesses tropicales de propre production combinées à des spécialités locales, accompagnées de boissons exotiques et d’excellents vins. Très motivé, le chef de cuisine Andreas Halter, âgé de 34 ans et en service depuis l’ouverture en 2010, a obtenu cette année son 14e point Gault-Millau.
Comme toujours dans ce genre d’institutions, la restauration est un pilier important de l’entreprise. Le gérant Pius Marti nous révèle, visiblement fier, que le nombre de visiteurs atteint bientôt les 250 000 et celui des clients du restaurant dépasse les 300 000. Le «Mahoï» avec son ambiance particulière, son bar, son hall et sa grande terrasse au milieu du jardin tropical peut accueillir 180 clients et peut être loué par des privés ou des entreprises pour des fêtes.

Visite de la maison de production

La plantation d’une surface de 5500 m2 est partiellement accessible aux visiteurs, ce qui est bien sûr particulièrement fascinant. Car où ailleurs peut-on visiter, sous nos latitudes, une plantation de papayes, de chili ou de café? Ici, les fruits tropicaux, les légumes, les plantes et les épices sont produits et récoltés pour le restaurant, la boutique et la vente en magasins.
Comme dans d’autres institutions ouvertes aux visiteurs – musées d’histoire naturelle, jardins botaniques ou zoologiques – l’information détaillée est de grande importance. Prenons l’exemple du café: la nature n’a pas placé, «par plaisir» avec sa baguette magique, la caféine en tant que stimulant dans les feuilles, les fleurs et les semences du caféier mais pour la protection contre des insectes, microbes et champignons. Et encore: le café cru n’est pas comestible, seule la torréfaction le rend buvable, lui procure son arome caractéristique et sa couleur typique.

La Suisse, un pays producteur de café – vous avez bien lu!

Bien sûr, pour des raisons climatiques, il n’y a pas de plantations de café dans notre pays, mis à part la maison tropicale de Wolhusen. Mais attention: l’or brun est pour la Suisse un bien marchand extraordinaire – et c’est surprenant, car il est, en tant que produit d’exportation transformé, dans notre pays plus important que les montres et le chocolat. Raison suffisante pour nous rendre curieux d’en savoir davantage sur l’histoire du «miracle brun».
Tout a commencé au XIIe siècle en Ethiopie quand boire du café favorisait la convivialité. Plus tard, quand ce suc brun conquit le monde, le café servit à lutter contre l’alcoolisme et plus tard encore, il passa du produit de luxe pour les riches à la boisson «lifestyle» pour monsieur tout le monde dans le monde entier. Mais retournons au caféier.

Arabica et robusta

L’espèce végétale Coffea appartient à la famille des rubiacées et comprend environ 120 espèces, dont un petit nombre est utilisé pour la production de café. Deux espèces dominent aujourd’hui le commerce mondial: le caféier «arabica» (Coffea arabica) originaire d’Ethiopie assure environ 60% de la récolte mondiale. La teneur en caféine n’est pas très élevée mais la richesse des aromes est grande. Les premières plantations apparurent au Yémen, avant que le café conquît le monde au XVIIe et XVIIIe siècle et fût introduit dans les régions tropicales d’altitude élevée en Asie, Afrique et Amérique.
En 1897, les botanistes coloniaux découvrirent, avec le caféier «robusta» (Coffea canephora) une alternative à l’arabica, moins susceptible à la rouille (Pucciniales), d’où le nom «robusta». Il a une teneur en caféine un peu plus élevée et un goût un peu plus amer; il représente environ 40% de la récolte mondiale. Actuellement, on tente d’introduire sa capacité de résistance dans de nouvelles sélections. Une troisième variété (Coffea liberica), originaire de l’Afrique occidentale et aujourd’hui répandue en Afrique centrale, contribue à moins de 1% à la récolte mondiale étant donné que son goût n’est guère apprécié par les consommateurs.

Plus de 850 substances aromatiques

La plante tropicale de sous-étage Coffea aime un sol riche en humus. La multiplication se fait par semence (arabica) ou par bouturage (robusta). Leurs drupes (les «cerises de café») contiennent deux graines unilatéralement aplaties, les grains de café. La production annuelle atteint 8 millions de tonnes. Les 10 pays producteurs les plus importants sont le Brésil, le Vietnam, l’Indonésie, la Colombie, l’Inde, le Honduras, l’Uganda, le Guatemala, le Mexique et l’Ethiopie.
Depuis plusieurs siècles, le café est une des boissons les plus populaires au monde. Sa consommation fournit jouissance et sensualité à la fois, et la caféine (un alcaloïde du groupe des purines) a un effet stimulant. On peut tout aussi bien philosopher et discuter sur le café que sur le vin. On a identifié plus de 850 substances aromatiques dans les grains de café torréfiés – donc davantage que dans le vin.
Le plaisir de la dégustation dépend de la sorte, du degré de torréfaction, du meulage et de la préparation du café, laquelle varie de pays à pays dans le monde entier. L’arôme du café est défini par l’odorat et le goût. Au niveau de l’odorat, le café peut être chocolaté ou rappeler les noix, il peut être floral ou fruité. Au niveau du goût, il peut être doux ou amer, avoir un corps ressemblant au thé, ou alors à du sirop et avoir une nuance acide rappelant citron, pomme ou vin. Pour l’œil, l’aspect et la couleur de la mousse sont primordiaux. Bref, que de surprises nous réserve ce petit grain!    •

Informations complémentaires: Maison tropicale de Wolhusen LU: www.tropenhaus-wolhusen.ch, tél. 041 925 77 99.
(La maison tropicale de Frutigen BE: www.tropenhaus-frutigen.ch, tél. 033 672 11 44, s’est spécialisée dans l’élevage d’esturgeons et à la production de caviar.)
(Traduction Horizons et débats)

Recettes de café dans le monde – autant de pays, autant de recettes

Cafezinho / Brésil

Ingrédients

1 cuillère à café (c.c.) rase de café
brésilien moulu
¾ de tasse d’eau
1 c.c. de sucre
Préparation
Chauffer l’eau et le sucre dans une casserole jusqu’au moment où le sucre est dissout (peu avant le point d’ébullition). Ajouter le café moulu. Retirer la casserole du feu. Bien remuer le café et le verser lentement dans un filtre à café.

Café de olla / Mexique

Ingrédients

2 cuillères à soupe (c.s.) de café
grossièrement moulu
170 ml d’eau
25 g de sucre brun
1 clou de girofle
Un peu de cannelle
Préparation
Faire bouillir l’eau avec le clou de girofle et la cannelle; laisser bouillir pendant 10 minutes à petit feu. Ajouter le sucre. Quand le sucre est dissout, ajouter le café et laisser bouillir pendant 3 minutes. Retirer la casserole du feu, couvrir et laisser infuser jusqu’à ce que le café se soit sédimenté. Puis verser dans le filtre et servir.

Maple coffee / Amérique

Ingrédients

150 ml de café frais, très fort
1 dl de lait et 1 dl de crème
50 ml de sirop d’érable
Un peu de crème fouettée
Préparation
Dans une casserole, chauffer crème et lait en remuant constamment presque jusqu’à la cuisson. Ajouter le café, le sirop d’érable et mélanger. Ensuite, verser à travers le filtre et servir avec un peu de crème fouettée.

Café arabique / Arabie

Ingrédients

1 cuillère à thé (c.t.) de café moulu,
à torréfaction forte
env. 50 ml d’eau
cardamome moulue
noix de muscade moulue
Préparation
Dans une casserole, bien mélanger l’eau, le café, la cardamome et une pincée de muscade. Cuire à petit feu jusqu’à ce qu’une petite mousse se forme. Ensuite, servir le café dans une petite tasse à moka préchauffée. A recommander après de copieux repas.

Ibrik / Café turc

Ingrédients

1 c.t. de café moulu très fin
env. 50 ml d’eau, sucre à volonté
Préparation
Mettre dans une casserole l’eau, le sucre, bien mélanger et amener à ébullition. Retirer la casserole du feu et ajouter la poudre de café. Ensuite, amener 2–3 fois à ébullition, en retirant chaque fois la casserole du feu. Oter l’écume et bien mélanger. Avant de servir, ajouter 1 c.t. d’eau froide pour accélérer l’écoulement du marc de café. Sans filtrer le café, le verser en tasse et servir.

Kopi Jahe / Indonésie

Ingrédients

1 c.s. de café moulu grossièrement
1 dl d’eau
15 gr sucre de palme
1 morceau de gingembre (gros comme une noisette et bien écrasé)
Préparation
Mettre le café, le gingembre et le sucre dans l’eau et amener à la cuisson. Réduire la chaleur et laisser sur le feu jusqu’à ce que le sucre soit bien fondu. Verser en tasse et apprécier.

Café Indien / Inde

Ingrédients

1 c.s. de café moulu
1 dl d’eau
1 c.s. de rhum
1 c.s. de sirop de sucre
1 c.s. de lait de coco
½ c.t. de maïzena ou amidon de maïs
Préparation
Mélanger la maïzena avec le lait de coco et cuire pour épaissir le mélange. Préparer un café léger. Sucrer avec le sirop de sucre. Ajouter le rhum. Ensuite, mettre le mélange au fond de la tasse et verser dessus le café-rhum brûlant.

Carajillo / Espagne

Ingrédients

45 ml espresso
30 ml Brandy espagnol
1 c.t. de sucre
3 grains de café
Préparation
Verser le Brandy avec le sucre et les 3 grains de café dans un petit verre résistant à la chaleur. Chauffer le mélange avec la buse à vapeur de la machine à café. Mettre le feu au Brandy et l’éteindre avec l’espresso fraîchement préparé.

Café viennois / Autriche

Ingrédients

100 ml café
sirop de vanille (en option)
1 boule de glace à la vanille
pépites de chocolat
Préparation
Verser dans un verre résistant à la chaleur un peu de sirop de vanille et ajouter la boule de glace vanille. Remplir avec le café. A volonté, garnir avec les pépites de chocolat.

Julekaffee / Danemark

Ingrédients pour le café de Noël

150 ml de café filtre fraîchement préparé
1 pincée de cardamome moulue
1 pincée de coriandre moulue
1 prune confite au gingembre
2 cl Gammel Dansk Bitter Dram (digestif p. ex. Underberg)
25 gr de crème fouettée
½ c.t. de sirop de gingembre
Chocolat en poudre
Préparation
Hacher très finement la prune au gingembre et mettre dans un grand gobelet. Chauffer le café avec la cardamome et la coriandre mises dans un sac-filtrant. Dans le gobelet verser le Gammel Dansk sur la prune au gingembre et ajouter le café. Décorer avec la crème fouettée mélangée au sirop de gingembre et saupoudrer de chocolat en poudre.

Irish coffee / Irlande

Ingrédients

100 ml café
40 ml Whisky irlandais
2 c.t. de sucre brun
2 c.s. de crème légèrement fouettée
Préparation
Verser le sucre et le Whisky dans un verre résistant à la chaleur et chauffer avec la buse à vapeur de la machine à café. Y verser un café fraîchement préparé. Verser avec précaution la crème légèrement fouettée. Servir sans cuillère.

Miel de gingembre / Origine?

Ingrédients

45 ml espresso
1 c.t. miel
1 pointe de couteau de poudre de gingembre
Préparation
Mettre le miel et le gingembre dans une tasse à espresso. Y verser un espresso fort. Mélanger avant de savourer.

Kaldi et les chèvres dansantes

Une légende du pays d’origine du café

HH. Le jeune chevrier éthiopien Kaldi s’aperçut (vers l’an 850 après Chr.) que ses chèvres mangeaient des petites baies rouges qui leur faisaient un drôle d’effet: elles devinrent toutes excitées, on aurait même dit qu’elles dansaient. Intrigué, il goûta ces baies amères et se retrouva peu après plein d’entrain et d’énergie.
Il se rendit au monastère et en parla à l’abbé. Suite à leur goût amer, celui-ci les qualifia de fruits du diable et les jeta dans le feu. Une agréable odeur s’éleva alors et se repandit dans le monastère. Les moines accoururent, sortirent les grains de café du feu et les placèrent dans un pot d’eau chaude pour les conserver.
Pendant la nuit, les moines goûtèrent le breuvage et le trouvèrent irrésistible avec un effet stimulant. Ils promirent donc solennellement d’en boire quotidiennement pour ne plus s’endormir pendant les prières nocturnes.

Le café et la pièce de cent-sous: «suissitude» pure

HH. Une des recettes les plus originales du monde entier nous parvient de l’Entlebuch, où se trouve la Maison tropicale de Wolhusen, au cœur même de la Suisse. Apparemment, les idées extravagantes concernant le café y sont une habitude. L’arrière-pays de Lucerne a toujours été en avance. Rendons-lui donc l´honneur qu’on lui doit avec la très originale recette suivante:
Ingrédients: 1 litre + 1 dl d’eau, 3 cuillerées de café moulu, 3 cuillerées de sucre, de l´eau de vie (marc ou pruneau), un brin de sapin frais, une pièce de cent-sous bien propre.
Préparation: Faire bouillir l’eau dans une casserole. Aussitôt qu’elle bout, ajoutez le café et le sucre en remuant avec le brin de sapin. Refaites bouillir et retirez du feu. Versez 1 dl d´eau froide en formant un cercle. Placez la pièce de cent-sous dans un verre et remplissez-le de café jusqu’à ce que Guillaume Tell ne soit plus visible. Puis ajoutez de l’eau de vie jusqu’à ce qu’il réapparaisse. Retirez la pièce de cent-sous avant de boire. Santé!