“Future belongs to free cooperating countries”

Interview with François Asselineau, President of the French UPR party

François Asselineau chairs the “Republican People’s Union” (RPU/UPR), a party advocating for the withdrawal from the EU and the NATO. He offers here an insight into the root causes of the British vote and crises confronting from now on the European Union.

Ruptures: European leaders themselves are scared by the extent of crises within the European Union. What is your reaction?

François Asselineau: Current situation reflect the analyses that we kept offering for more than ten years. In this regard, the – salutary – shock of the British referendum provides a decisive step in the questioning of European integration.

Brexit is thus a milestone…

First of all it brings down a dogma, which was maintained since the birth of the EU: the English have demonstrated that the EU integration process is nothing irreversible: we can leave it any time! The second lesson is that the Apocalypse predicted with self-assurance by the whole globalised “elite” did not occur. IMF managing Director had thus been hammering that an immediate collapse of British economy would occur. Not only this was not the case, but several indices even prove a sharp rally (consumption, exports). Doomsayers have been dramatically denied.

The same people warned against England having surely to face a dangerous isolation ….

Rather, United Kingdom is not threatened with isolation: several countries – India, South Korea, and Mexico – have demonstrated their willingness to negotiate with London new trade agreements… To the extent that the Commission had to thump the table: as long as Great Britain hasn’t left the EU, it does not have any right to enter into this type of negotiations, which are exclusively reserved to Brussels. Well, United Kingdom will go back to being a “normal” country again, free to negotiate on its own behalf …

In your opinion, what made possible the verdict of the voters across the Channel?

First of all, the media landscape in Great-Britain has very little to do with what we know in France, for example, where the entirety of the “big media” is pro-EU in a Pavlovian way. Besides, there is a long-standing insular tradition of commitment to the national independence. Finally it was in working-class towns and poor outlying that the Brexit has achieved its greatest successes. This vote could not be characterised as “right-wing” or “extreme right-wing”, but rather as an awareness of the damages of the European integration: slaughters in the industrial, agricultural and fisheries sectors… In order to rebutting the thesis of a “racist” vote, I would advise to view Brexit, the Movie, a film which UPR has completely translated, and which is visible on the Web.

Another disturbing crisis for Brussels: the refugees issue…

Those running away towards Europe hail primarily from countries, which the West deliberately destabilised: Syria, Iraq, Libya, and Afghanistan… Besides, some forces have a discreet interest in having hundreds of thousand refugees arriving in Europe: this goes from employers, in particular German ones – which see there a leverage on the cost of work by instrumentalising these poor people – to Soros foundation, who intends to promote the multiculturalism in Europe, even if it means leading in turn to racist reactions, instrumented here and there.

And what about the Euro crisis, is it over now?

The Euro is likely to explode, for a mainly political reason: a currency is the basis of a people, generating a natural solidarity within it. All supranational monetary structures dashed, due to disregarding this underlying point that has obviously an economic dimension: whenever several entities, using the said currency, are experiencing divergent developments – input costs, inflation, unemployment, debt – there are only two solutions: either massive financial transfers, or for some of them, re-appropriation of the freedom to depreciate their own currency.

First assumption could be appropriate for Southern Europe countries…

What is perfectly natural and accepted between Ile-de-France and Limousine isn’t suitable at all between Germany and Greece, for example. Thus it will be necessary for the currency freedom to be restored, thus allowing every country to have a currency in line with its own economy. Euro today is significantly underestimated in the case of Germany – which breaks regularly export world records – and overvalued for France, whose exports are crippled.

RPU argues not only in favour of a withdrawal from the EU, but from NATO as well. Why?

These two twin organizations represent both faces – political and military – of the same medal: that of the subjection of Europe to Washington’s interests. The Transatlantic Alliance, just like the EU is a Second World War’s anachronistic residue, which should have disappeared and is pressing us to conflict with Russia, which a large number of our countryfellows find moreover upsetting.

You intend to run for next presidential election …

I believe in a kind of people’s awakening, in their desire to reclaim the democracy, Internet being in this respect a tool which changes completely the context. To obtain 500 mayors’ signatures is not easy, in particular for the UPR which is systematically boycotted by the big media. A situation all the more unjust since in the past ten years we have grown from zero to 12,000 members. In the European elections in 2014, we have garnered
77,000 votes and 190,000 one year later in the regional elections, that is, much more for example than the NPA. Our web site ranks second in terms of audience among all political parties, and our YouTube channel accumulates more than 6 million views. This explains that many mayors we meet know us already. There are thus good reasons for us to believe that we have 500 sponsorships close at hand.

Your party was founded on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the Treaty of Rome, in 2007. What was the red thread of your action?

EU policies are not the only ones to be involved; this includes also the very principle of integration. There is no point – and it is thus dangerous – in advocating for “another Europe”. The said European “structure” is in fact linked to an old-fashioned attitude because it is bounding up peoples into a narrow continental straitjacket. Future is, indeed, in free cooperating countries resuming their place in the universal concert of nations.    •

Source: Ruptures no 58 du 27/9/16, www.ruptures-presse.fr

(Translation Current Concerns)

Rather, United Kingdom is not threatened with isolation but will go back to being a “normal” country again, free to negotiate on its own behalf.

«L’avenir est aux pays libres qui coopèrent»

Entretien avec François Asselineau, Président du parti français UPR

François Asselineau préside l’«Union populaire républicaine» (UPR), un parti qui milite pour la sortie de l’UE et de l’OTAN. Il analyse ici les causes du vote britannique et les crises auxquelles est désormais confrontée l’Union européenne.

Ruptures: Les dirigeants européens s’effraient eux-mêmes de l’ampleur des crises qui secouent l’Union européenne. Comment réagissez-vous?

François Asselineau: La situation actuelle illustre les analyses que nous n’avons cessé de proposer depuis dix ans. Le choc – salutaire – du référendum britannique constitue à cet égard une étape décisive dans la mise en cause de l’intégration européenne.

Le Brexit représente donc un tournant …

Tout d’abord, il fait s’effondrer un dogme cultivé depuis la naissance de l’UE: les Anglais ont montré que le processus d’intégration n’a rien d’irréversible: on peut en sortir! La deuxième leçon est que l’Apocalypse annoncée avec aplomb par l’unanimité des «élites mondialisées» ne s’est pas produite. Ainsi, la directrice générale du FMI avait martelé que l’effondrement de l’économie britannique serait immédiat. Non seulement cela n’a pas été le cas, mais plusieurs indices marquent même un rebond (consommation, exportations …). Les prophètes de malheur ont été spectaculairement démentis.

Les mêmes mettaient en garde contre un dangereux isolement auquel ne manquerait pas d’être confrontée l’Angleterre …

Le Royaume-Uni n’est pas menacé d’isolement, au contraire: plusieurs pays ont manifesté leur volonté de négocier avec Londres de nouveaux accords commerciaux, comme l’Inde, la Corée du Sud, le Mexique … Au point que la Commission a tapé du poing sur la table: tant que la Grande-Bretagne n’est pas sortie de l’UE, elle n’a pas le droit d’engager ce type de négociations, dont Bruxelles a l’exclusivité. Bref, le Royaume-Uni va redevenir un pays «normal» libre de négocier en son nom propre …

A votre avis, qu’est-ce qui a rendu possible le verdict des électeurs outre-Manche?

D’abord, le paysage médiatique a peu à voir avec ce que l’on connaît en France, par exemple, où la quasi-unanimité de la «grande presse» est pro-UE de manière pavlovienne. Par ailleurs, il y a une longue tradition insulaire d’attachement à l’indépendance nationale. Enfin, ce sont dans les villes ouvrières et les banlieues populaires que le Brexit a connu ses plus grands succès. Le vote ne peut être caractérisé comme un vote «de droite» ou d’«extrême-droite», mais plutôt comme une prise de conscience des dégâts de l’intégration européenne: carnages dans les secteurs industriel, agricole, de la pêche … Pour contrer la thèse d’un vote «raciste», je conseille de visionner le film Brexit, The Movie, que l’UPR a entièrement traduit, et qui est visible sur la Toile.

Autre crise qui inquiète Bruxelles: les réfugiés …

Ceux qui fuient vers l’Europe viennent avant tout de pays que l’Occident a sciemment déstabilisés: Syrie, Irak, Libye, Afghanistan... Par ailleurs, des forces ont discrètement intérêt à ce que des centaines de milliers de réfugiés arrivent en Europe: du patronat, notamment allemand, qui y voit une manière de peser sur le prix du travail en instrumentalisant ces malheureux, à la fondation du milliardaire George Soros, qui entend promouvoir le multiculturalisme en Europe – quitte à provoquer en retour des réactions racistes, instrumentalisées ici et là.

Et la crise de l’euro, est-elle derrière nous?

L’euro est condamné à s’effondre, pour une raison avant tout politique: une monnaie, c’est un peuple, avec une solidarité naturelle en son sein. Toutes les constructions monétaires supranationales se sont fracassées sur l’ignorance de cette donnée fondamentale, qui a évidemment une dimension économique: dès lors que plusieurs entités qui utilisent ladite monnaie connaissent des évolutions divergentes – coût des facteurs de production, inflation, chômage, dette … – il n’y a que deux solutions: ou des transferts financiers massifs, ou la réappropriation par certaines d’entre elles de la liberté de déprécier sa monnaie.

La première hypothèse pourrait convenir aux pays du sud …

Ce qui est parfaitement naturel et accepté entre l’Ile de France et le Limousin ne l’est pas du tout entre l’Allemagne et la Grèce, par exemple. Il faudra donc bien en revenir à la liberté monétaire permettant à chaque pays d’avoir une devise en phase avec sa propre économie. Aujourd’hui, l’euro est notoirement sous-évalué pour l’Allemagne – qui bat régulièrement des records mondiaux d’exportations – et surévalué pour la France, dont les exportations sont handicapées.

L’UPR ne se prononce pas seulement pour la sortie de l’UE, mais aussi de l’OTAN. Pourquoi?

Ces deux organisations jumelles représentent les deux faces – politique et militaire – d’une même médaille: celle de l’asservissement de l’Europe aux intérêts de Washington. L’Alliance atlantique tout comme l’UE sont des résidus anachroniques de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, qui auraient dû disparaître, et qui nous poussent au conflit avec la Russie. Ce qui heurte d’ailleurs la sensibilité d’un grand nombre de nos compatriotes.

Vous comptez vous présenter à la prochaine présidentielle …

Je crois à un réveil des peuples, à leur aspiration à se réapproprier la démocratie, Internet étant à cet égard un outil qui bouleverse la donne. Obtenir 500 signatures de maires n’est pas aisé, en particulier pour l’UPR qui est systématiquement boycottée par les grands médias. Une situation d’autant plus injuste qu’en dix ans, nous sommes passés de zéro … à 12 000 adhérents. Aux élections européennes de 2014, nous avons récolté 77 000 suffrages, et 190 000 un an plus tard aux régionales, soit bien plus que le NPA par exemple. Notre site Internet se classe deuxième par son audience parmi tous les partis politiques, et notre chaîne Youtube cumule plus de 6 millions de vues. Cela explique que de nombreux maires que nous rencontrons nous connaissent. Nous avons donc de bonnes raisons de croire les 500 parrainages à portée de main.

Votre parti a été fondé à l’occasion du 50e anniversaire du Traité de Rome, en 2007. Quel a été le fil rouge de votre action?

Ce n’est pas seulement les politiques de l’UE qui sont en cause, mais le principe même de l’intégration. Il est donc vain et dangereux de plaider pour «une autre Europe». Ladite «construction» européenne relève en réalité d’une mentalité du passé, car elle enferme les peuples dans un étroit carcan continental. L’avenir est, à l’inverse, à des pays libres, qui coopèrent en reprenant toute leur place dans le concert universel des nations.    •

Source: Ruptures no 58 du 27/9/16,

www.ruptures-presse.fr

«Le Royaume-Uni n’est pas menacé d’isolement, au contraire: plusieurs pays ont manifesté leur volonté de négocier avec Londres de nouveaux accords commerciaux, comme l’Inde, la Corée du Sud, le Mexique.»