50 years ago Mobutu Sese Seko revolted in the Congo – A never ending Kleptocracy?

A “deal” for thirty years – corruption, misery and strategic backgrounds

by Peter Küpfer

In the first part (Current Concerns No 32/33 from 31.12.2015) the prehistory of the “independent” Congo, the first turbulent weeks of the Government Lumumba, his dastard assassination and the Congo turmoil staged and fueled by the West, has been outlined. It turned out that the old Belgian colonial power, many members of which were on the operating levers of the army, aimed in the same direction as the American administration, which had only one goal in the peak years of the Cold War: Not to allow the empire in the heart of Africa with its indispensable commodities, especially copper, to fall into the hands of the international communism. All means were justified to them to achieve this goal: Intimidation, unleashing the Katanga secession by their straw man Moïse Tschombe, murder of Lumumba, fueling the Congo turmoil, involving the UN and murder of its Secretary-General Dag Hammarskjöld at the moment when he wanted to come to a substantial agreement with the insurgents (see box). As they realised that Kasavubu had certain unpredictabilities and did not come to grips with the Marxist-inspired uprisings, they resorted to the man who appeared to them the most reliable, Mobutu. He staged a masterfully prepared and carried out coup, that in the context of the Congo turmoil could only succeed with substantial help of Western intelligence agencies. The fact that the coup came about without bloodshed, has been stressed by the Western media as a merit of Mobutu. He deceived the public about his bloodthirstiness and brutality on which Mobutu’s thirty year dictatorship founded – with continuous tacit consent of the West. He was allowed to plunder Congo, as quid pro quo he guaranteed uncompromising loyalty with the Western world, its defense system and its upright anti-communism: a deal that sustained over 30 years.

Empty promises

Mobutu had meticulously planned his coup which he staged in the night of 24-25 November 1965. No shot was fired, everything went smooth. On the next morning, the national radio broadcasted military marches. Then Mobuto informed the Congolese in a short speech that the army had seized power, removed President Kasavubu and suspended the constitution. At first there was not a single attempt at resistance in the giant country. It is unthinkable that in the confusing Congolese state of affairs, as described in the first section, such a feat could be accomplished without active support from western superpowers. Mobutu’s excellent relations with the Belgian army, its secret service and the CIA are well known. Thus the reaction of the western press was unanimous: this was long overdue. The young commander in chief could only be praised for his cold blood and his know-how. This way the West mainly praised itself. Because it was very clear: Mobuto safeguarded an upright anti-communist foreign politics and a strict domestic order. This was highly important in the hot phase of the Cold War. In addition the West could be sure that Mobutu was safeguarding the West’s other main interest: a further access to Congo’s raw materials, especially copper.
In the beginning Mobuto promised a provisional short-term military regime until democracy could be restored. Elections should be held and democratic institutions should be created within five years. Then he would step back as guardian of the law. In reality, Mobutu did everything to remove the remnants of the Congolese democracy and to establish himself as dictator. From the beginning Mobutu reigned alone and through decrees legitimated only by his will. The principal means to their implementation was a strengthening of the army, its technical build-up and the improvement of its capacities. In this he was supported by the “old guards” of the former Belgian colonial army and the Belgian secret service. Soon also the police became part of the Congolese army, also directly commanded by Mobutu. Additional provinces were added to the traditional Congolese provinces. They were controlled by submissive abettors who were permitted to develop their own private kingdoms in remote regions. But the central instrument for Mobutu’s rule was the founding of the Congolese Mobutu party, the Mouvement Populaire de la Révolution (MPR) in 1967. In the beginning, Mobutu also permitted an oppositional party. But then the MPR became a unity party. Even more so: in 1970, he decreed that the MPR was the highest institution of the Congolese state and hence controlled all other national institutions. This had the effect that there were no such national institutions: they were all taken in by the Party. The leading party committee became the government; the governors became regional party leaders. Each Congolese was a member of the Party, just because he was born in Congo – in fact even the foetus in the mother’s womb was already a Party member. So the MPR was, as the formula of the time said, “the Congolese nation in its political organisation”. Meanwhile there was no mention of the country electing its own government. Mobutu enjoyed power and he held it for more than 30 years – as a dictator.

Show trials in Stalinist style

Short after his coup Mobutu settled his scores with his opponents in brutally enacted trials reminding of the Nazi “Volksgerichtshof” or Stalinist show trials. Based on highly incomplete and questionable evidence, the main defendants suffered the death penalty for asserted treacherous activities. Their executions were conducted in public. The most repulsive in this series of public executions pertained to Pierre Mulele. Mulele was a fellow combatant of Lumumba. After Lumumba’s murder he fled to China and there he was taught the strategy of guerrilla warfare. Back in Congo he started in 1964 in his home region Kwilu a Maoist guerrilla insurgency which could be suppressed only years later. He himself fled to Brazzaville. After the coup, Mobutu’s emissaries persuaded him to return to Congo, promising an amnesty. Immediately when he was back in Congo he was arrested and executed after a short trial. Witnesses reported of cruel tortures he had to suffer during his public execution.
Mobutu’s security service “uncovered” so-called conspiracies. In 1966, four officers were executed who were accused of a plot “against national security”. On 2 June they were publicly hanged in a central square in Kinshasa. In 1971 and 1974 there were more such show trials, followed with public executions. In 1978 a group of 19 officers were accused of conspiracy of which 13 were suffering the death penalty. These trials served to stabilise his internal power. They were the writing on the wall for certain circles in the nomenklatura, demonstrating the consequences of defying Mobutu’s autocracy.

“Authenticity” should conceal sale

The so-called campaign for “authenticity” – with partially grotesque forms – became effective in Congo and lead to a “Zaïrification” and finally an unrestrained Maoist like personality cult of the “Great Helmsman” (“Le Grand Timonier”), as he wanted to be called. Under the term “authenticity” Mobutu sparked a political movement aiming to reinforce the African identity of the Congo. But the series of measures remained completely on the surface. It began with the name of the river giving the empire in the heart of Africa its name. The river was no longer named Congo, which was an garbled Portuguese form of “Big River”, but Zaïre, an allegedly authentic articulation. Thus, also the country now was called no longer Congo but Zaïre. Simultaneously, the new national currency, the Zaire was introduced, replacing the Congolese franc. State officials and party members we required to wear traditional African clothing, however, the clothing was strongly reminiscent of the Maoist uniforms. Moreover, all Congolese who had a Christian, Arab or Western surname were required to accept an additional Congolese name, leading to confusion and legal uncertainty.
Those perfunctory actions should probably detract more from the real Congolese politics: those politics were not aimed at the preservation of the country and its strength, but geared to subservience to the political and economic interests of the West. In the areas of the economics, the era of “Zaïrification” started.

Hasty nationalizations lead to the brink of bankruptcy

There was a wave of nationalizations, starting first with large enterprises. This also included the nationalization of the large copper mine Consortium, the former “Union Minière du Haut Katanga” (UMHK), which was previously controlled by Belgian hands. It was renamed to Gécamines (Générale des Carrières et des Mines) and transferred to government ownership which led to strong resentment in the Belgian Government. Also medium and small businesses were nationalized, which attracted a mass emigration of skilled workforces. The operations were conducted by the so-called “acquéreurs”, of which only small minority possessed an appropriate professional or administrative qualification. They also brought with them the idea that they can misuse their positions for personal enrichment which is tolerated by the government. Additionally, ambitious giant projects such as the Inga dam on the Upper Congo were draining government finances. All this led to a deep alarming economic crisis, of which the country has not recovered, even though Mobutu soon again reversed direction. There was a lack of genuine national sentiments, there was a lack of knowledge and willingness to sacrifice and a lack of identification with the young state which had brought nothing for the population but poverty and deprivation. That was nothing to be amended by regulations.
Those who wanted to be successful in this country did not necessarily had to achieve something, but had to talk and act as devout assistant of the Great Helmsman. This led to the rise in the hierarchy and thus to at least personal success. The price for this was discussed above.

Personality cult after Maoist model

The party sponsored and organized personality cult for Mobutu took on grotesque forms. Party officials and senior officials vied to give at state occasions poems, songs, dances or performed entire scenes which only had one theme: to manifest their love and devotion to the Great Helmsman. The party devoted substantial resources in order to drive and establish the cult in the population which produced laureates and  associated rewards.
All this could not detract from the fact that the Congo as a country was neglected; the majority of the population was unemployed and thus exposed to impoverishment. The wealth came almost entirely from the mining concessions which were not sufficient in the long run, to cover the growing government spending. Moreover, there was almost no investment because of the corrupt system. The members of the nomenclature understood their function as a way to enrich themselves, and managed to transfer their wealth – pressed-off from the population – abroad. They had for this a role-model: Mobutu himself.
The fact that Congo had not to declare bankruptcy during these dramatic times was owed to massive Western financial help and generous loans.
The West turned a blind eye to the human rights situation, mismanagement and systematic corruption. It was important in the years of the Cold War, to have a regime in the heart of Africa, which was politically and militarily a solid ally to the Western Hemisphere. In this context it is hardly surprising that the long-lasting Marxist-inspired movement in the East could only be defeated with the help of the NATO (!).1 So the danger of the Congo pulling out of from western geopolitical defensive strategy against the Soviet bloc, was banned once for all. The privileged and special position of the Congo, based on  geostrategic considerations,  did not change until 1989, when the Communist block collapsed and the geostrategic map surrounding Russia was reshuffled. This also led to the fall of the longstanding Congolese Czar. (Continuation and conclusion will follow in a third installment.)                                                     •

1    In 1964, a militant lumumbistic faction under Christophe Gbenye organized an uprising in Katanga. The uprising was put down with difficulty. The decisive factor was the use of NATO troops. Even then it was probably very difficult for NATO to declare this form of forward strategy a “defence case” – but no one seemed to care. It was important to the West, to build a “fortress against communism” in Congo. For this they needed Mobutu. (Cf. Malu-Malu, p.141)

Literature:Ludo De Witte, “L’Assassinat de Lumumba”, Paris 2000, ISBN 2-84586-006-4
Helmut Strizek, “Kongo/Zaïre-Ruanda-Burundi – Stabilität durch erneute Militärherrschaft?
Studie zur ‘neuen Ordnung’ in Zentralafrika” (Congo/Zaïre-Rwanda-Burundi – stability by renewed military rule? Study on the New Order in Central Africa), Munich / Cologne / London (World Forum Verlag) 1998, ISBN 3-8039-0479-X
Jean-Jacques Arthur Malu-Malu, “Le Congo Kinshasa”, Paris (Editions Karthala) 2002, ISBN 2-84586-233-4

Dag Hammarskjöld

Dag Hammarskjöld, UN Secretary-General and in charge for the ONUC deployment of UN troops in the Katanga rebellion of Moïse Tshombe, died on 18 September 1961 in a plane crash on the border between the Democratic Republic Congo and then Rhodesia (now Zambia). It was a Uno service machine, hired from the Belgian airline, with 15 people on board, all passengers died with the crash. Hammarskjöld was on his way to Ndola (Rhodesia) to clarify with Moïse Tshombe the extent to which the conflict could be resolved by way of mediation. 2015, more than 50 years after the event, Ban Ki-moon commissioned an expert committee to clarify the causes of the plane crash anew. South Africa had handed fresh evidence to the UN which hardened the suspicion of many insiders: The machine had been damaged through manipulation or shot down by fighter aircrafts, there had been an assassination attempt on the Secretary-General coming as mediator. It is unlikely that the authors of the attack can be found and convicted today. They presumably should be found in the same circles that let murder Lumumba, fueled the Congo turmoil and helped Mobutu to grab power.

Kleptocracy

The term refers to a political regime which lives off the fact to deprive the own people systematically. The more than 30 years of Mobutu’s dictatorship is a classic example of this kind of dictatorship. The country‘s mineral resources have been exploited to favourable conditions and leaving it to the Western customer. The regular accruing money from mining rights where led to the private (foreign) accounts of dictators family and his minions and withdrew it thereby the natural flow. It lacked by investments in public interest of the state and where those who generate it under inhuman conditions withdrew systematically and in several respects.

Il y a 50 ans, Mobutu Sese Seko prit le pouvoir au Congo suite à un coup d’Etat (partie 2)

Un «arrangement» qui dura trente ans – corruption, misère et dessous stratégiques

par Peter Küpfer

La première partie de cette série sur l’histoire récente du Congo (cf. Horizons et débats no 32/33 du 30/12/15) retrace les antécédents du Congo «indépendant», les premières semaines du gouvernement Lumumba, son lâche assassinat et les prétendus «troubles congolais», entièrement fomentés et mis en scène par les puissances occidentales. Il s’est avéré que l’ancienne garde des colons belges, dont de nombreux membres se trouvaient aux postes de commandement de l’armée belge, poursuivait les mêmes objectifs que l’Administration américaine qui, à l’apogée de la guerre froide, n’avait qu’un seul but: éviter à tout prix que l’immense pays au coeur de l’Afrique, riche en matières premières indispensables pour les puissances occidentales – à cette époque notamment le cuivre –, tombe dans les mains du communisme international. Pour cela, tous les moyens étaient bons: intimidation, instigation à la sécession katangaise dirigée par leur homme fantoche Moïse Tshombe, assassinat de Lumumba, alimentation des troubles congolais, intervention de l’ONU et assassinat de son secrétaire général Dag Hammarskjöld au moment où celui-ci préparait un accord fondamental avec les insurgés (cf. encadré). Face aux imprévisibilités liées au caractère de Kasa-Vubu et au fait qu’il ne parvenait pas à mettre un terme aux autres révoltes, inspirées par le marxisme, les tireurs de ficelles occidentaux cités ci-dessus recoururent à l’homme qui leur semblait être le plus fiable: Mobutu. Il mit en scène un coup d’Etat méticuleusement préparé et réalisé de manière magistrale qui, dans le contexte des troubles congolais d’alors, n’a pu être réalisé qu’avec l’aide massive des services secrets occidentaux. Les médias occidentaux firent les éloges de ce coup d’Etat perpétré sans perte de sang, mérite qu’ils attribuèrent à Mobutu. Ces homélies avaient de quoi tromper le public face à la triste réalité sanguinaire et brutale sur laquelle ce dernier fonda sa dictature et que l’Occident toléra sans broncher. En récompense, Mobutu garantit sans compromis sa fidélité à la ligne occidentale, à son système de défense militaire et à son anticommunisme rigide – un arrangement qui dura plus de trente ans.

Vaines promesses

Mobutu prépara et réalisa minutieusement son coup d’Etat dans la nuit du 24 au 25 novembre 1965. Tout se déroula comme prévu, sans aucun coup de feu. Le matin du 25 novembre, la radio nationale diffusa de la musique militaire. Puis, dans une brève allocation, Mobutu informa les Congolais que l’armée nationale avait pris le pouvoir, destitué de ses fonctions le président Kasa-Vubu et suspendu la Constitution. Dans l’immédiat, il n’y eut aucune tentative de résistance dans cet immense pays. Une telle démonstration de force, survenue dans les conditions des troubles congolais décrits dans la première partie de cette analyse, est inimaginable sans l’implication massive des puissances occidentales. On connaît les excellentes relations qu’entretenait Mobutu avec l’armée belge, ses services secrets et la CIA. La réaction de la presse occidentale fut donc univoque: un tel développement était attendu depuis longtemps. Il ne restait qu’à féliciter le jeune commandant en chef pour son sang-froid et son savoir-faire. De cette manière, en réalité, l’Occident s’auto-félicitait pour son action. Car une chose était évidente: Mobutu était le garant d’une politique extérieure clairement anti-communiste et d’un maintien rigide de l’ordre à l’intérieur. Au cours des années «chaudes» de la guerre froide, cela fut sans doute un atout important. En outre, l’Occident pouvait considérer qu’avec Mobutu, son deuxième intérêt principal était également garanti: le libre accès aux ressources minières congolaises, notamment au cuivre.
Au début, Mobutu annonça que le régime militaire serait de courte durée, qu’il s’agissait juste de réinstaller la démocratie dans le pays. Il promit que d’ici cinq ans, il y aurait de nouvelles élections et la création d’institutions démocratiques. Alors, il se retirerait de sa fonction de gardien de l’ordre. En réalité cependant, Mobutu fit tout pour éliminer les restes de la démocratie congolaise et pour s’installer irrévocablement en dictateur. Dès le début, Mobutu régna seul, par voie d’ordonnances légitimées par rien d’autre que sa propre volonté. Le moyen le plus efficace pour l’application de sa volonté fut le renforcement de l’armée, sa modernisation technologique et l’augmentation de sa combattivité. Pour cela, il pouvait compter sur le soutien des «anciennes équipes» de l’armée coloniale belge et des services secrets belges. Rapidement, Mobutu incorpora la gendarmerie dans l’armée afin qu’elle soit également sous son commandement direct. Le nombre des anciens gouvernements congolais traditionnels fut réduit. Il y plaça des personnes dévouées à la tête qui profitèrent d’y développer leur propre domaine seigneurial toléré par Mobutu dans les régions éloignées de la capitale. Le moyen principal pour développer sa dominance fut la création en 1967 du parti congolais pro-Mobutu, le Mouvement populaire de la révolution (MPR). Au début, Mobutu toléra l’existence d’un parti d’opposition. Puis, il transforma le MPR en parti unique. Et ce n’est pas tout: en 1970, il décréta que le MPR représentait l’institution suprême de l’Etat congolais, exerçant donc le contrôle sur toutes les autres institutions étatiques. Ce qui aboutit à leur intégration totale. Le comité directeur du parti se transforma en gouvernement et les gouverneurs des régions se transformèrent en représentants régionaux du parti. Dorénavant, chaque Congolais devint membre du parti dès sa naissance, puisqu’il était né au Congo. Il l’était même déjà en tant que fœtus dans le ventre de sa mère. Ainsi le MPR s’était transformé, selon la formule répandue à l’époque, «en nation congolaise dans son organisation politique». Entre-temps, plus personne ne parlait d’élire un nouveau gouvernement dans les urnes. Mobutu avait goûté au pouvoir et il l’exerça durant plus de trente ans – en dictateur.

Procès-spectacles selon le modèle stalinien

Peu de temps après son coup d’Etat, Mobutu régla ses comptes avec ses opposants à l’aide de procès brutalement mis en scène, rappelant le «Volksgerichtshof» national-socialiste ou les procès-spectacles staliniens. Les accusés principaux subirent la peine capitale pour haute trahison suite à des indices extrêmement lacunaires et douteux – les exécutions étant toujours publiques. L’exécution la plus abjecte fut celle de Pierre Mulele. Mulele était un ancien camarade de combat de Lumumba qui s’était réfugié en Chine après l’assassinat de ce dernier. Y ayant été formé dans la stratégie de la guérilla, il déclencha, à son retour dans sa région d’origine de Kwilu, une révolte armée inspirée de la théorie maoïste, dont le gouvernement central ne vint à bout qu’après plusieurs années. Mulele se réfugia à Brazzaville. Après la prise de pouvoir de Mobutu, il se laissait convaincre par les sbires de celui-ci – qui lui garantirent l’amnistie – de rentrer sur sol congolais, où il fut aussitôt arrêté et exécuté après un semblant de procès. Des témoins oculaires firent état de tortures brutales qui lui auraient été infligées lors de son exécution publique.
Les services de sécurité de Mobutu «découvrirent» d’autres prétendues conspirations. En 1966, quatre officiers furent exécutés auxquels on reprocha un complot «contre la sécurité de l’Etat». Le 2 juin, ils furent pendus sur une place centrale de Kinshasa. En 1971 et 1974, d’autres procès-spectacles se terminèrent par des exécutions en public. En 1978, les reproches de conspiration se dirigèrent contre un groupe de 19 officiers dont 13 subirent la peine capitale. Tous ces procès servaient Mobutu dans son but de cimenter son pouvoir interne. Ils étaient un signal clair à l’adresse des cercles critiques existant à l’intérieur de la nomenklatura qui savaient ainsi à quoi s’attendre, s’ils voulaient remettre en question le pouvoir dictatorial de Mobutu.

«Authenticité» pour cacher la liquidation

La campagne en faveur de l’«authenticité du Congo» s’alliant à la «zaïrification» mena parfois à des formes grotesques mais efficaces d’un culte de la personnalité illimité, rappelant celui du maoïsme, pour lequel il se fit appeler «Le Grand Timonier». A l’aide de la notion «authenticité», Mobutu lança un mouvement politique devant renforcer l’identité africaine du Congo. Il s’agissait d’une série de mesures restant entièrement superficielles, en commençant par la dénomination du fleuve ayant donné son nom à l’empire au cœur de l’Afrique. Dès lors, on ne l’appela plus Congo mais Zaïre, terme prétendument être plus authentique, datant de l’époque des Portugais, émanant d’une appellation congolaise assimilée voulant dire «grand fleuve». L’Etat du Congo fut également appelé Zaïre. En même temps, on introduisit la nouvelle monnaie nationale, le Zaïre en remplacement du franc congolais. Lors d’évènements officiels, les fonctionnaires de l’Etat et du parti, devaient porter les vêtements traditionnels congolais, dont la coupe rappelait fortement les uniformes maoïstes. Tous les Congolais portant un prénom chrétien, arabe ou occidental durent choisir un nom congolais supplémentaire ce qui mena à des confusions et des problèmes juridiques.
Tout cela devait plutôt être des activités éloignant l’attention de la réelle politique congolaise: en aucun cas elles poursuivaient le but d’améliorer la situation de vie des populations au sein du pays, mais poursuivaient uniquement l’objectif d’obéir aux intérêts politiques et économiques de l’Occident. Dans le domaine de l’économie s’ensuivit la période de la «zaïrification».

Nationalisations hâtives menant au bord de la banqueroute étatique

Il s’agit d’une vague de nationalisations de grandes entreprises dont faisait partie le grand consortium de l’extraction du cuivre, l’ancienne «Union minière du Haut-Katanga» (UMHK), jusqu’alors détenue par les Belges. Elle obtint la nouvelle appellation Gécamines (Générale des carrières et des mines) et fut nationalisée, ce qui créa de fortes irritations au sein du gouvernement belge. On nationalisa également des petites et moyennes entreprises, ce qui créa une émigration massive de mains d’œuvres qualifiées. Les entreprises furent dirigées par des «acquéreurs», dont la grande majorité ne possédait ni qualifications administratives ni techniques. Ils étaient surtout de l’avis que leur fonction fût l’occasion tolérée par l’Etat de s’enrichir personnellement. En outre, il y eut d’ambitieux projets gigantesques comme le barrage Inga dans le Haut-Congo pesant sur les finances de l’Etat. Tout cela mena une profonde crise économique d’une ampleur alarmante dont le pays ne s’est jamais rétabli, même lorsque Mobutu fit marche arrière. Il manquait une vraie attitude nationale, le savoir faire et le sens du sacrifice. L’identification avec le jeune Etat n’avait apporté à la population rien que pauvreté et privation. Cela ne pouvait se réparer à l’aide de décrets.
Quiconque voulait réussir dans ce pays ne devait pas forcément accomplir un bon travail mais prouver qu’il était un agent d’exécution docile du Grand Timonier. Cela mena à la promotion dans la hiérarchie et au succès personnel.

Culte de la personnalité selon le modèle maoïste

Le culte de la personnalité face à Mobutu fut promu et organisé par le parti. Les fonctionnaires du parti et les hauts fonctionnaires de l’Etat concourraient, lors d’événements officiels en récitant des poèmes, des chansons ou en présentant des danses et des pièces de théâtre ayant uniquement comme sujet leur grand amour et leur vénération envers le Grand Timonier. Le parti dépensa d’importants moyens pour renforcer ce culte dans la population et pour distribuer des prix et des récompenses.
Tout cela ne pouvait pas cacher que le Congo, en tant que pays, était laissé à l’abandon et que la majorité de sa population était sans travail et sans revenus et abandonné à l’appauvrissement. La richesse était due uniquement aux concessions minières qui, à la longue, ne suffirent pas pour couvrir les dépenses croissantes de l’Etat. A cause de la corruption systématique, il n’y eut plus guère d’investissements. Les membres de la nomenclature comprenaient leur fonction comme occasion de s’enrichir et transférèrent leurs richesses extirpées à la population à l’étranger. Mobutu lui-même était leur modèle.
Le fait que ce comportement irresponsable ne mena pas de suite le pays à la banqueroute étatique était dû aux subventions et crédits généreux des pays occidentaux.
L’Occident ferma les yeux concernant la situation des droits humains, face à la gabegie et à la corruption systématique. Son objectif principal était qu’il y ait au cœur de l’Afrique, pendant la période de la guerre froide, un régime politiquement et militairement fortement lié à l’hémisphère occidentale. Dans ce contexte, il n’est pas surprenant que le mouvement rebelle inspiré par des idées marxistes, actif pendant de longues années dans la partie orientale du pays, ne put être éliminée qu’à l’aide de l’OTAN?(!).1 Cette victoire représenta la garantie permettant au Congo de ne plus jamais quitter le dispositif défensif euro-atlantique contre le bloc de l’Est. Cette position privilégiée du Congo, motivée pour des raisons géostratégiques, ne changea qu’en 1989, lors de la chute de bloc communiste autour de la Russie. C’est alors que sonna le glas du tsar congolais de longue date. (Suite et fin suivront dans une 3e partie.)    •

Bibliographie
Ludo De Witte, «L’Assassinat de Lumumba», Paris 2000; ISBN 2-84586-006-4
Helmut Strizek, «Kongo/Zaïre–Ruanda–Burundi – Stabilität durch erneute Militärherrschaft? Studie zur ‹neuen Ordnung› in Zentralafrika», München/Köln/London (Weltforum Verlag) 1998; ISBN 3-8039-0479-X
Jean-Jacques Arthur Malu-Malu, «Le Congo Kinshasa», Paris (Editions Karthala) 2002, ISBN 2-84586-233-4

1     Il s’agit de la rébellion au Katanga, organisée en 1964 par le groupuscule militant lumumbiste de Christophe Gbenye. La rébellion fut anéantie avec grande peine. L’engagement de l’OTAN fut décisif. Déjà à cette époque, il devait être difficile pour l’OTAN d’expliquer en quoi une telle stratégie agressive pouvait être définie comme «légitime défense». Mais cela ne semble pas avoir préoccupé l’opinion outre mesure. Pour l’Occident, il était important, d’ériger au Congo «une forteresse contre le communisme». Pour cela Mobutu avait un rôle à jouer. (cf. Malu-Malu, p. 141)

Dag Hammarskjöld

Secrétaire générale de l’ONU et figure centrale de l’intervention des troupes onusiennes dans la mission de l’ONUC lors de la révolte katangaise sous Moïse Tshombe. Il mourut le 18 septembre 1961 dans le crash de son avion survenu près de la frontière entre la République démocratique du Congo et l’ancienne Rhodésie (aujourd’hui Sambia). Il s’agissait d’un avion de service de l’ONU mis à disposition par la société aérienne belge avec 15 personnes à son bord qui trouvèrent tous la mort. Hammarskjöld était en route pour se rendre à Ndola (Rhodésie) où il devait rencontrer Moïse Tshombe pour discuter avec lui des possibles voies de sortie du conflit par la médiation. En 2015, plus de 50 ans après l’événement, Ban Ki-moon mandata une commission d’experts pour réexaminer les raisons de ce crash. Ainsi, l’ONU obtint de l’Afrique du Sud des documents étayant les suspicions existant de longue date chez les initiés: l’appareil avait été endommagé par une attaque de l’extérieure ou abattu par des avions de combat. Il s’agissait donc d’un attentat contre le secrétaire général de l’ONU, prêt à négocier une solution pacifique pour la région du Katanga. Il est invraisemblable qu’on puisse encore trouver les auteurs de cet attentat. On peut toutefois présumer qu’ils se trouvent dans les mêmes cercles qui fomentèrent l’attentat contre Lumumba, attisèrent les troubles congolais et facilitèrent la prise du pouvoir de Mobutu.

Kleptocratie

Cette notion désigne une forme de la domination politique qui a comme trait caractéristique qu’elle pille systématiquement sa propre population. La dictature congolaise de Mobutu en fournit un exemple modèle. Les ressources naturelles du pays étaient bradées à des prix forfaitaires à des puissances se trouvant à l’extérieur, puissances qui, en compensation, garantissaient la régence du dictateur. Les fonds qui en découlaient étaient transférés sur les comptes bancaires privés du dictateur et de ses sbires (se trouvant à l’extérieur du pays) ce qui avait comme effet qu’ils n’apparaissaient nulle part dans les flux monétaires officiels. Ils faisaient non seulement défaut pour les investissements étatiques d’intérêt général, mais privaient aussi systématiquement de leurs revenus ceux qui avaient généré ces fonds par leur dur travail.