Austria is a democratic republic. Its law emanates from the people.

A new parliamentary citizens’ initiative

Since over 100 years, these first two sentences of the Austrian constitution which, until today, have not yet been realised, are seen as our responsibility. The exact words of this basic message of each democratic republic: “Austria is a democratic republic. Its law emanates from the people.” It is necessary, that the people itself continues to engage itself in this sense in order that it does not get overtaken. Take the challenge with us in taking a consultative referendum for the introduction of direct democracy according to the Swiss model even in Austria (see above). This legal instrument which, since 1989 has been put into effect in Austria, will not be touched in the case of a coalition pact so that the governing parties as well as naturally other parties of the parliament can vote for this challenge.
The result of the consultative referendum is, in contrast to the popular vote, not binding but has a great effect. This was seen by the only, consultative referendum which, up to now was decided and conducted by the parliament in 2013. The clear majority was for the maintenance of the compulsory military service (among which the Home and Environment Initiative assisted by a large distribution of pamphlets) which, neither the politicians, nor the “Kronen-Zeitung” (Austrian newspaper), which campaigned massively for their discontinuation, could ignore.
Therefore, we have decided to call upon a “parliamentary citizens’ initiative” with which the request of such a consultative referendum may be introduced to the parliament. The more citizens which sign this initiative, the stronger the natural effect! Let us show the politicians that we refuse to have our say incapacitated and let us fight for our freedom and the right to vote!

Continue being active with full power for direct democracy!

“Parliamentary Citizens’ initiatives” can be introduced from the initial-signer of the neutral Parliamentary Administration and not – as petitions – only through a party member. As such, it is secured that all signers cannot be associated with any party of the parliament. As initial-signer of the Initiative for the consultative referendum in direct democracy, Renate Zittmayr from Oberösterreich has already accepted, together with Helmut Schramm of Niederösterreich, taking on the function of speaker for the “parliamentary citizens’ initiative”. Both are independent and have been active in the utmost sense as volunteers for home and environment and especially for direct democracy.    •

More information under: Tel. 02242/70516, 0664/4251935, ihu(at)al.net, www.volksbefragung-direkte-demokratie.at, www.heimat-und-umwelt.at

Source: Report of the Initiative: Home and Environment, In: Wegwarte. February 2018. www.heimat-und-umwelt.at  ihu(at)al.net

(Translation Current Concerns)

«L’Autriche est une République démocratique. Son droit émane du peuple.»

Nouvelle «initiative citoyenne parlementaire»

Nous nous sentons engagés envers ces deux premières phrases de la Constitution autrichienne, vieille de 100 ans, n’ayant toujours pas été mises en œuvre. Ce message fondamental pour tout pays démocratique est le suivant: «L’Autriche est une République démocratique. Son droit émane du peuple.» Il est indispensable que le peuple continue à s’engager pour atteindre ce but, sinon elle n’a guère de chance de survivre. Exigez avec nous une consultation populaire («Volksbefragung») pour l’introduction de la démocratie directe en Autriche, selon le modèle suisse (cf. ci-dessus). Cet instrument existant au niveau légal depuis 1989 en Autriche n’a pas été traité dans le pacte de coalition. Donc, les partis gouvernementaux, comme tous les autres partis parlementaires, peuvent se rallier à cette demande.
Le résultat d’une consultation populaire n’est pas contraignant contrairement à la votation populaire («Volksabstimmung»), mais elle a néanmoins une grande importance. Cela s’est avéré lors de la première et seule consultation populaire décidée par le Parlement et réalisée en 2013. La grande majorité des citoyens s’étant exprimés en faveur du maintien de l’obligation de servir (soutenu par l’«Initiative Heimat & Umwelt» par la diffusion de tracts d’information en grand nombre), celle-ci n’a pas pu être négligée par les instances politiques et par la «Kronen-Zeitung» qui s’étaient massivement engagés pour la suppression de cette obligation.
C’est pourquoi nous avons décidé d’initier une «initiative citoyenne parlementaire» permettant de soumettre au Parlement la demande d’une telle consultation populaire. Plus il y aura de signatures, plus notre impact sera grand! Montrons aux politiques que nous ne nous laissons pas mettre sous tutelle et que nous voulons nous battre pour notre liberté et notre droit de participation!

Continuons avec vigueur à nous engager pour la démocratie directe!

Les «initiatives citoyennes parlementaires» peuvent être déposées par le premier signataire auprès de la direction parlementaire hors-parti et ne doivent pas – comme les pétitions – être déposées par un membre du Parlement (lié à un parti). Ainsi, est garantie la non appartenance des signataires à un parti. Renate Zittmayr, habitante de Haute-Autriche, a accepté d’assumer la responsabilité de cette initiative en tant que première signataire et elle en est aussi la porte-parole avec Helmut Schramm de Basse-Autriche. Ces deux personnalités sont indépendantes et s’engagent depuis de longues années bénévolement pour l’organisation «Heimat & Umwelt» et pour le développement de la démocratie directe.    •

Pour de plus amples informations: Tél. +43 2242 70516, +43 664 425 19 35 ihu(at)a1.net     www.volksbefragung-direkte-demokratie.at 
www.heimat-und-umwelt.at

Source: Mitteilungen der Initiative Heimat & Umwelt. In: Wegwarte. Février 2018

(Traduction Horizons et débats)