Basque Country makes proposal for mediation

gl. The development in Catalonia is being watched very closely in the Basque Country. The Basque Head of Government Iņigo Urkullu of the Basque Nationalist Party (EAJ-PNV) is rooted in the Catholic base communities of the Basque Country and had already tried to mediate in recent months through the Archbishop of Barcelona and the abbots of the Catalan monasteries of Montserrat and Poblet. On 27 September, before the vote on 1 October, a declaration on Catalonia was adopted by the Standing Committee of the Spanish Bishops Conference, in favour of an honest dialogue and the rights of the peoples of Spain, to the annoyance of the Madrid government and almost the entire Spanish press.
Urkullu also repeatedly advised Catalan President Puigdemont not to create a hopeless situation. He spoke with the Spanish government and sent messages to Brussels. His main aim was definitely to avoid the unprecedented intervention of the central government in the autonomy of the regions.
In an interview with Radio Euskadi, Urkullu argued that Madrid should recognise the election results of 21 December and offer political solutions instead of criminal law measures. He was in favour of restoring the situation before last 6 September. On 6 September, the Catalan Parliament approved the law on the implementation of the plebiscite of 1 October.
In an interview with the Catalan newspaper “La Vanguardia”, former Basque Finance Minister Pedro Luis Uriarte, who is considered the father of Basque tax law, suggested granting Catalonia the same taxing authority as the Basque country already has today. Unlike the other autonomous communities of Spain, the Basque tax authorities collect all taxes themselves and manage their own budget independently. The Basque country pays the Madrid government an annual amount equal to its share of Spanish GDP (6.24%) to finance the central government’s tasks. The Catalan Government had refrained from such a regulation of extensive taxing authority in 1980 when negotiating the first Statute of Autonomy. Today, Uriarte sees this as a big mistake, because although the Basque country has gone a hard and risky way with the introduction of tax autonomy in an extremely difficult economic situation, but is in good shape today. On the other hand, the Catalan government is in debt today.    •

Sources: La Vanguardia from 26.11.2017 and 28.12.2017; Noticias de Gipúzkoa from 30.12.2017

Le Pays basque propose une médiation

gl. L’évolution en Catalogne est surveillée de près par le Pays basque. Le chef du gouvernement basque Iñigo Urkullu, du parti nationaliste conservateur basque PNV, ancré dans les communautés catholiques de base du Pays basque, a, au cours des derniers mois, tenté de jouer aux médiateurs par le biais de l’archevêque de Barcelone et les abbés des monastères catalans Montserrat et Poblet. Le 27 septembre, donc avant le vote du 1er octobre, la Commission permanente de la Conférence épiscopale espagnole en Catalogne a adopté une déclaration en faveur d’un dialogue honnête et en soutien aux droits des peuples d’Espagne. Cela a déclenché le mécontentement du gouvernement de Madrid et de la grande majorité de la presse espagnole.
Urkullu, ayant à plusieurs reprises conseillé au président catalan Puigdemont de ne pas créer de situation désespérée, s’était entretenu avec le gouvernement espagnol et avais adressé des messages à Bruxelles. Son but principal est d’empêcher par tous les moyens l’intervention sans précédents du gouvernement central dans l’autonomie des régions.
Dans une interview accordée à Radio Euskadi, Urkullu a fait valoir que Madrid devait reconnaître les résultats électoraux du 21 décembre et proposer des solutions politiques plutôt que des mesures pénales. Il s’est prononcé en faveur de la restauration de la situation d’avant le 6 septembre dernier. A cette date, le Parlement catalan avait approuvé la loi sur la mise en œuvre du plébiscite du 1er octobre.
Pedro Luis Uriarte, l’ancien ministre basque des Finances, considéré comme le père du droit fiscal basque, a proposé dans une interview avec le journal catalan «La Vanguardia», d’octroyer à la Catalogne la même compétence fiscale que possède le Pays basque actuellement. Contrairement aux autres communautés autonomes d’Espagne, les autorités fiscales basques collectent elles-mêmes tous les impôts et gèrent leur propre budget de manière autonome. Le Pays basque verse chaque année au gouvernement de Madrid un montant égal à sa part du PIB espagnol, donc 6,24%, pour financer les tâches étatiques au niveau national. En 1980, lors de la négociation du premier statut d’autonomie, le gouvernement catalan avait encore renoncé à une telle souveraineté fiscale. Aujourd’hui, Uriarte considère cela comme une grave erreur, car le Pays basque a choisi une voie difficile et risquée avec l’introduction de l’autonomie fiscale dans une situation économique extrêmement difficile, mais aujourd’hui le pays est en bonne santé. Le gouvernement catalan, cependant, est aujourd’hui endetté.    •

Sources: La Vanguardia du 26/11/17 et 28/12/17; Noticias de Gipúzkoa du 30/12/17