Syrian city of Raqqa on brink of epidemic

“We cannot fail to mention that the city actually is destroyed and on the brink of an epidemic. I am sure you have been informed of this”, Russian Defense Minister Sergey Shoigu said on 21 December at a trilateral meeting with Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov and United Nations Special Envoy for Syria Staffan de Mistura. “We would like to discuss with you vigorous steps to improve this situation”.
The reason for the upcoming epidemic was the numerous bodies lying under the rubble of the buildings in Rakka. According to the Minister of Defense, the city is also almost completely mined. In addition to the mines that were “laid when the bandits withdrew, there are also unexploded ordnance”, which is why people could not enter their homes.
“This requires a very vigorous effort on the part of the international community. In any case, what Russia is doing today, by demining and preparing Syrian pioneers, requires serious support, and we also expect it from the UN structures”, Shoigu continued.     •

Source: Sputniknews from 21.12.2017

(Translation Current Concerns)

La ville syrienne de Rakka se trouve confrontée au danger d’une épidémie

«Nous ne pouvons pas nier le fait d’une destruction totale de la ville et qu’une épidémie risque de l’envahir. Je suis certain que vous en êtes informés», a déclaré le 21 décembre le ministre russe de la Défense Sergueï Choïgou, lors d’une rencontre tripartite avec le ministre russe des Affaires étrangères Sergueï Lavrov et l’envoyé spécial de l’ONU Staffan de Mistura. «Nous désirons discuter avec vous des mesures énergiques en vue d’améliorer cette situation.»
Le nombre élevé de dépouilles trouvées sous les gravats des bâtiments à Rakka révèle une épidémie prévisible. De plus, selon le ministre de la Défense, la ville est presque entièrement minée. Outre les mines «posées par les bandits avant de quitter les lieux, on y trouve également des munitions non explosées», empêchant les habitants de pénétrer dans leurs maisons.
«Il est urgent que la communauté internationale entreprenne des efforts intenses. Les activités actuelles de la Russie – le déminage et la formation de pionniers syriens – exigent un sérieux soutien que nous attendons également de la part des structures onusiennes», a déclaré Choïgou.    •

Source: Sputniknews du 21/12/17

(Traduction Horizons et débats)