How Italy earned the status of “Great Nation”

by Manlio Dinucci, italian geographer and geopolitical scientist

Massimo D’Alema entered into history by leading his country, Italy, into NATO’s criminal war against ex-Yugoslavia. At that time, the world had become unipolar, and no-one in the West was worried about violating international law and launching a war against the decision of the Security Council. The same D’Alema is working today to create a Greater Albania which includes what is currently Kosovo.
On 24 March 1999, the session of the Italian Senate re-opened at 8.35 p.m. with an announcement by the honourable Sergio Mattarella, who was then Vice-President of the D’Alema government (Ulivo, PdCI, Udeur) – “Honourable senators, we have been informed by the Press agencies that NATO operations began at 6.45 p.m.”
At that moment, the bombs launched by the F-16’s of the US 31st Squadron, which had taken off from Aviano (Friuli), had already hit Priština and Belgrade. New waves of US and Allied fighter-bombers were arriving from other Italian bases.
In this way, and in violation of the Constitution (articles 11, 78 and 87), Italy was dragged into a war about which the government informed Parliament only after the Press agencies had published the news, once the war had already begun.
Twenty days before the attack against Yugoslavia – as he himself related in an interview with “Il Reformista” (24 March 2009) – Massimo d’Alema had been called to Washington, where President Clinton made this proposition: “Italy is so close to the theatre of war that we will not ask you to participate in the military operations, but only to make your bases available to us”.
D’Alema had arrogantly replied – “We will assume our responsibilities at the same level as the other countries of the Alliance”, meaning that Italy would not only make its bases available for the war against Yugoslavia, but also its fighter-bombers. So 54 Italian aircraft did indeed participate in the bombing, attacking the targets indicated by the US command.
Morally, it was the right decision and also the way to fully assume our rôle, explained D’Alema in the interview. In terms of the number of aircraft, we were second only to the USA. Italy is a great nation, and we should not be surprised by our engagement in this war, he declared in June 1999, in his role as President of the Council, pointing out that for the pilots, this had been a great human and professional experience.
Italy thus played a primary role in the war against Yugoslavia. Taking off from Italian bases was the major part of the 1,100 aircraft which, in the space of 78 days, carried out 38,000 operations, dropping 23,000 bombs and missiles (many of them bearing depleted uranium) on Serbia and what is currently Kosovo.
These missions served to activate and test the entire system of the US and NATO bases in Italy, preparing its reinforcement for the coming wars. The next war on the list was that against Libya in 2011.
While the war against Yugoslavia was still on-going, the D’Alema government took part in Washington at the NATO summit from 23–25 April 1999, which rendered operational the New Strategic Concept. NATO was transformed into an alliance which engaged its members to “carry out operations of response to the crises which are not provided for in article 5, outside the territory of the Alliance”.
That was the beginning of NATO’s expansion towards the East. In twenty years, after having demolished the Yugoslavian Federation, NATO increased from 16 to 29 States (30 if it also now incorporates Macedonia), spreading closer and closer to the borders of Russia.
Today, the “North Atlantic area” stretches to the mountains of Afghanistan, and Italian soldiers are present there, confirming what D’Alema defined with pride as the „new status as a great nation“, earned by Italy twenty years ago by participating in the destruction of a country which had neither attacked nor even threatened Italy or its allies.     •

Source: Il Manifesto (Italy); https://www.voltairenet.org/article205841.html  from 25 March 2019

(Translation Pete Kimberley/Current Concerns)

Comment l’Italie a conquis le «statut de grand pays»

par Manlio Dinucci, géographe et géopoliticien italien

Massimo D’Alema est entré dans l’histoire en faisant participer son pays, l’Italie, au crime de l’OTAN contre l’ex-Yougoslavie. Le monde était devenu unipolaire et plus personne en Occident ne se souciait de violer le droit international et de mener une guerre contre l’avis du Conseil de sécurité. Le même D’Alema est aujourd’hui actif pour la création d’une Grande Albanie incluant l’actuel Kosovo.
Le 24 mars 1999, la séance du Sénat italien reprend à 20h35 avec une communication de l’honorable Sergio Mattarella, alors vice-président du gouvernement D’Alema (Ulivo, Pdci, Udeur): «Honorables sénateurs, comme informé par les agences de presse, à 18h45 ont commencé les opérations de l’OTAN».
A ce moment-là, les bombes des F-16 du 31e escadron américain, qui avaient décollé d’Aviano (Frioul), ont déjà frappé Pristina et Belgrade. Et sont en train d’arriver de nouvelles vagues de chasseurs-bombardiers américains et alliés, partis d’autres bases italiennes.
De cette façon, violant la Constitution (articles 11, 78 et 87), l’Italie est entraînée dans une guerre, dont le gouvernement informe le parlement après les agences de presse, quand désormais elle a commencé.
Vingt jours avant l’attaque contre la Yougoslavie, Massimo d’Alema – comme il le racontera lui-même dans une interview à «Il Reformista» (24 mars 2009) – avait été convoqué à Washington où le président Clinton lui avait proposé: «L’Italie est tellement proche du scénario de guerre que nous ne vous demandons pas de participer aux opérations militaires, mais de simplement mettre vos bases à disposition».
D’Alema lui avait orgueilleusement répondu: «Nous prendrons nos responsabilités à égalité avec les autres pays de l’Alliance», c’est-à-dire que l’Italie allait mettre à disposition non seulement ses bases, mais aussi ses chasseurs-bombardiers pour la guerre contre la Yougoslavie. 54 avions italiens participeront en effet aux bombardements, attaquant les objectifs indiqués par le commandement américain.
«C’était moralement juste et c’était aussi la façon d’exercer pleinement notre rôle», explique D’Alema dans l’interview. «Pour le nombre d’avions utilisés, nous étions au second rang par rapport aux Etats-Unis. L’Italie est un grand pays et on ne doit pas s’étonner de l’engagement montré dans cette guerre», avait-il déclaré en juin 1999 en habit de président du Conseil, soulignant que, pour les pilotes, cela avait été «une grande expérience humaine et professionnelle».
L’Italie joue ainsi un rôle de première importance dans la guerre contre la Yougoslavie. Des bases italiennes décolle la plus grande partie des 1100 avions qui, en 78 jours, effectuent 38 000 sorties, larguant 23 000 bombes et missiles (beaucoup à l’uranium appauvri) sur la Serbie et l’actuel Kosovo.
Ainsi est activé et testé tout le système des bases des Etats-Unis et de l’OTAN en Italie, préparant sa montée en puissance pour les guerres à venir. La suivante sera celle contre la Libye en 2011.
Alors que la guerre contre la Yougoslavie est encore en cours, le gouvernement D’Alema participe à Washington au sommet de l’OTAN des 23–25 avril 1999, rendant opérationnel le Nouveau concept stratégique: l’OTAN est transformée en alliance engageant les pays membres à «mener des opérations de riposte aux crises non prévues à l’article 5, en-dehors du territoire de l’Alliance».
De là commence l’expansion de l’OTAN à l’Est. En vingt années, après avoir démoli la Fédération yougoslave, l’OTAN s’élargit de 16 à 29 Etats (30 si on englobe maintenant aussi la Macédoine), s’étendant de plus en plus en direction de la frontière russe.
Aujourd’hui, la «zone atlantique-nord» s’étend jusqu’aux montagnes afghanes. Et les soldats italiens sont là-bas, confirmant ce que D’Alema définissait avec orgueil «le nouveau statut de grand pays», conquis par l’Italie il y a vingt ans en participant à la destruction d’un pays qui n’avait ni attaqué ni menacé l’Italie ou ses alliés.    •

Source: Réseau Voltaire, www.voltairenet.org  du 25/3/19