The Iranian nuclear question: “A solution may lie in revocation of all US sanctions”

by Ali Akbar Salehi, Iran

Ali Akbar Salehi, head of the Atomic Energy Organization of Iran (AEOI) and negotiator for the 2015 nuclear agreement, explains the conditions for an end to the crisis: the revocation of US sanctions and Iran’s renunciation of production, enrichment and use of nuclear weapons.

“Yet, there may be a solution taking into consideration the aforementioned constraints, namely, “no direct negotiation under pressure” on the one hand and “denouncement of nuclear weapon possession” on the other hand. The solution may lie in simultaneous revocation of all US sanctions and Iran’s denouncement of production, accumulation and use of nuclear weapons […]”

It is no secret to the reader that the United States and the Islamic Republic of Iran have been at odds with each other over the past forty years. The main reason for this animosity stems from their respective divergent political mindsets; each looking at the world from a different angle.
Iran declaring itself as an egalitarian modern, independent nation state with ethical and religious values and the US depicting itself as a saviour of liberalism. Both have global aspirations but with different goals and aims.
Iran aspiring for generalisation of justice, fairness and equality among world nations while the US striving for expanding hegemonism. Beside the difference in the worldviews, Iran is a status quo and an influential regional power but the US is an expansionist big power trying to become the sole one.
Ever since the islamic revolution, Iran has been insistent and steadfast on safeguarding its sovereignty and rights, including the development of peaceful nuclear technology as its inalienable right.
However, the US exercising its influence internationally began to use the fabricated nuclear issue as a pretext against Iran and imposed inhumane sanctions against our nation. Utilising their formidable mass media, they began a futile attempt to turn this pretext into a widespread public belief and subsequently use it as an instrument of political pressure.
The sanctions were everything but effective and it was Iran’s resilience which left no option  to the previous US administration other than coming to terms with Iran. Within this environment the then secret track two negotiation based on request by the US-administration through the Omani interlocutor began in 2011 and after two rounds of negotiations the U.S through the intermediary Sultan of Oman informed Iran of its intention and readiness to recognise Iran’s enrichment right. These negotiations were concluded in Vienna in July 2015 with the signing of an international agreement, the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPoA).
After about three years since its implementation the new US administration withdrew from the deal with the explanation that “this deal has been the worst in its kind in all American history.”
This being the case, Iran’s response had been one of “strategic endurance”. However, the US kept on increasing the sanction pressure which eventually lead Tehran to begin exercising its right as envisioned in paragraphs 26 and 36 of the Vienna Agreement and thereby suspending parts of nuclear limitations set in the deal so as to remedy the lost balance between its rights and commitments until the European countries, who also signed the Agreement [France, Great Britain and Germany, note of the eds.]  rectify the imbalance.
The US after many acerbic comments against Iran and the declaration of twelve irrational and submissive demands, eventually came to its senses and yielded to the facts on the ground and reduced its demands to only a  specific one. President Donald Trump iterated a number of times that their only demand is for Iran to denounce the possession of nuclear weapons.
On the other hand, Iran traditionally never trusting the US administration’s promises and commitments has so far categorically refused any direct negotiation, because there is absolutely no guarantee that such second round of negations wouldn’t face the same fate as the first one. As our supreme leader has reiterated, “no direct negotiation under pressure, such negotiation is poisonous.”
The main question now is, “is there a way out of this impasse? The continuation of the current dire situation – without any exaggeration – would lead into undetermined and appalling consequences. Surely, such an unpleasant circumstance is not welcome by us.
Yet, there may be a solution taking into consideration the aforementioned constraints, namely, “no direct negotiation under pressure” on the one hand and “denouncement of nuclear weapon possession” on the other hand. The solution may lie in simultaneous revocation of all US sanctions and Iran’s denouncement of production, accumulation and use of Nuclear Weapons – as previously declared in a decree (Fatwa) by the supreme leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei in 2009 and having been registered in the United Nations in 2013 – through a joint statement by the heads of states of 4+1 plus the US and the Islamic Republic of Iran. This mechanism that does not entail direct negotiations could possibly pave the way for future to hopefully make up for the confidence and trust lost all during the past decades.    •

* Ali Akbar Salehi, scientist, university teacher, since 2013 Vice-President of Iran, 2010–2013 minister of foreign affairs

Source: ŠAli Akbar Salehi in Le Figaro from 19 July 2019

(Translation Irna and Current Concerns)

Nucléaire iranien: «Une solution est possible, si les sanctions américaines sont levées»

par Ali Akbar Salehi,* Iran

Ali Akbar Salehi, le chef de l’Organisation iranienne à l’énergie atomique et négociateur de l’accord nucléaire de 2015, détaille les conditions d’une sortie de crise: la levée des sanctions américaines et le renoncement de l’Iran à la production, l’accumulation et l’usage des armes nucléaires.

«Il peut encore y avoir une solution, fondée sur les principes que je viens d’énoncer: d’un côté ‹pas de négociation directe sous la pression› et de l’autre ‹le renoncement à la possession de l’arme nucléaire›. La solution peut reposer dans une levée de toutes les sanctions américaines et, simultanément, le renoncement de l’Iran à la production, l’accumulation et l’usage des armes nucléaires …»

Ce n’est un secret pour personne que les Etats-Unis et la République islamique d’Iran sont, depuis quarante ans, en profond désaccord. La raison principale de cette animosité provient de leur vision politique divergente, Téhéran et Washington envisageant le monde sous une approche différente.
L’Iran se présente comme un Etat moderne, égalitaire, une nation indépendante dotée de valeurs éthiques et religieuses. Les Etats-Unis, de leur côté, se voient comme le sauveur du libéralisme. Les deux nations affichent des aspirations globales, mais, pour les remplir, elles ont des buts et des objectifs différents.
L’Iran lutte pour la justice, l’équité et l’égalité parmi les nations, tandis que les Etats-Unis veulent étendre leur hégémonie. L’Iran est un acteur régional influent, alors que les Etats-Unis sont une superpuissance expansionniste, et ils veulent rester la seule superpuissance.
Depuis la révolution islamique, l’Iran n’a cessé de chercher à sauvegarder sa souveraineté et ses droits, y compris en développant une technologie nucléaire à des fins pacifiques – son droit inaliénable.
Les Etats-Unis ont fabriqué un contentieux nucléaire, n’étant qu’un prétexte pour imposer des sanctions inhumaines à notre nation. Grâce à leur puissante machine médiatique, ils ont cherché à transformer ce prétexte en croyance universelle, avant de l’utiliser comme levier de pression politique. Mais leurs sanctions n’ont pas été efficaces. Et finalement, la résilience de l’Iran n’a laissé d’autre option à la précédente Administration américaine que d’engager le dialogue avec Téhéran. Des pourparlers secrets, sollicités par Washington, via Oman, commencèrent en 2011; et après deux sessions de négociations, les Etats-Unis, par l’intermédiaire du sultan d’Oman, nous informèrent de leur intention de reconnaître le droit de l’Iran à l’enrichissement. Ces négociations se conclurent par l’accord international, appelé «Plan d’action globale commun», signé le 14 juillet 2015 à Vienne.
A peine trois ans après son entrée en application, la nouvelle Administration américaine s’est retirée de cet accord, arguant que ce «deal était le plus mauvais jamais signé dans toute l’histoire des Etats-Unis».
L’Iran a répondu par «une résistance stratégique». Mais les Etats-Unis ont continué d’intensifier leurs pressions, nous imposant de nouvelles sanctions, ce qui contraignit l’Iran à exercer son droit, prévu dans les paragraphes 26 et 36 de l’Accord de Vienne, à suspendre certaines des limitations, in­scrites dans cet accord. L’Iran l’a fait, car il estime ne plus bénéficier des avantages de cet accord, et depuis, notre pays ne cesse de demander aux pays européens, signataires de l’accord (France, Grande-Bretagne et Allemagne, ndlr.) de rectifier ce déséquilibre.
Après de nombreuses critiques acerbes contre Téhéran et l’imposition de 12 conditions irréalistes à l’Iran, les Etats-Unis revinrent finalement à la raison et réduisirent leurs exigences à une seule. Le président Donald Trump affirma alors que sa seule demande était que l’Iran renonce à la possession d’armes nucléaires.
L’Iran, qui n’a jamais cru les promesses et les engagements américains, refuse jusqu’à maintenant toute négociation directe, parce que nous n’avons absolument aucune garantie qu’une nouvelle série de négociations n’aboutirait pas au même résultat que la précédente. Comme notre Guide suprême l’a répété: «Pas de négociation directe sous la pression, de telles négociations sont venimeuses.»
Maintenant, la question principale est la suivante: «Y a-t-il une porte de sortie à cette impasse»? La poursuite de cette situation désastreuse – le mot n’est pas trop fort – aurait de graves conséquences, qui ne seraient certainement pas bien accueillies par l’Iran.
Il peut encore y avoir une solution, fondée sur les principes que je viens d’énoncer: d’un côté «pas de négociation directe sous la pression» et de l’autre «le renoncement à la possession de l’arme nucléaire». La solution peut reposer dans une levée de toutes les sanctions américaines et, simultanément, le renoncement de l’Iran à la production, l’accumulation et l’usage des armes nucléaires — comme le guide l’ayatollah Ali Khamenei l’a déclaré en 2009 dans un décret religieux. Décret qui fut enregistré en 2013 aux Nations Unies dans un communiqué conjoint des chefs d’Etat des quatre pays membres du Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU (France, Grande-Bretagne, Chine et Russie) plus l’Allemagne, en plus des Etats-Unis et de la République islamique d’Iran. Ce mécanisme n’entraîne pas des négociations directes. Il pourrait paver la voie pour l’avenir, avec l’espoir de faire naître la confiance perdue tout au long des décennies passées.    •

* Ali Akbar Salehi, scientifique et professeur d’université; depuis 2013 vice-président de l’Iran; de 2010 à 2013, ministres des Affaires étrangères.

Source: © Ali Akbar Salehi/Le Figaro du 10/7/19