Unused apprenticeship places and apprenticeship break offs

Take care of the education of our youth and the dual vocational training system!

by Dr iur. Marianne WŁthrich

In August, tens of thousands of young people in the country start an apprenticeship. In Switzerland, dual vocational training, which usually lasts three days a week at the company and two days at vocational school, is regarded as the “ideal way” to start their careers. According to the homepage berufsberatung.ch, apprenticeships in more than 2,600 occupations are available to school leavers. The fact that the proportion of grammar school students is smaller by international standards, is neither a disadvantage for young people nor for the business location. According to history Professor Caspar Hirschi: “The Swiss education system has three advantages in international comparison: Diversity, openness and permeability. It is versatile because young people have the choice between vocational training and grammar school and thereafter access to new training or education with almost every qualification. It is open, because educational institutions right up to the top universities grant everyone with the appropriate qualifications free access. In addition, it is permeable because at almost every level a lateral entry is possible into other training programmes. Thanks to our education system, many paths lead to the top of business and politics.”1
We should take care of this excellent education system for the benefit of young people and the Swiss economy, which is still well functioning today. It is alarming that thousands of apprenticeship places are still vacant this summer and that an appalling number of apprenticeship contracts is terminated prematurely. At the apprenticeship meeting point yousty (www.yousty.ch) – even after the apprenticeship year has started already – more than 4,600 vacant places are offered in all sectors, including the popular professions of commercial clerk (KV) and health specialist (FaGe), and even occasional positions in the most sought-after field of information technology and many in skilled crafts and trades and for salespersons. The fact that the number of students in secondary school has declined in recent years is one attempt of an explanation, but another is that more and more young people want to attain “Matura”, the higher school certificate.2 However, the purely statistical approach omits essential aspects.

Many apprentices with large school deficits

What most media withhold from their readership is the unfortunate fact that part of the apprenticeship places remain vacant because many school leavers bring a less well-filled backpack from primary school than young people used to do. The image of the “filled rucksack” is deliberately used here, even though it is now frowned upon as being “backward”: The “accumulation” of knowledge is no longer necessary, according to the school reformers, because in the digitised world everything is retrievable at any time and would be outdated more quickly. Despite constant repetition, this statement does not become more right, but demonstrates the lack of pedagogical grip on reality of the “experts” who make use of it.
Fact is that training companies and vocational schools are increasingly finding that there are major shortcomings in the essential basic school skills (reading, writing, arithmetic). This is due to the paradigm shift in the primary school curricula and in teacher training. This means for example “that in this school of the future each child decides for him- or herself at the beginning of the week what he or she wants to learn. Maybe they want to programme a computer game themselves, or perhaps practice some French with the help of a Youtube video. Older students help younger ones, thus receiving bonus points and can rise to new levels like in a game: from ‘basic student’ to ‘expert’. To maintain their status, they have to support other children. Although the teacher is still sitting in the classroom, she now calls herself a learning coach and advises the students individually. Her main task is to motivate. She tracks the progress online, because each child works with a tablet. As utopian as this may sound now, in some places in Switzerland it is more or less reality.”3
Against such “reality”, protest must urgently become louder! How can a child practice French alone with a Youtube film if he or she does not know the pronunciation rules and does not understand the words – not to mention sentence structure and grammar? The teacher’s online control can never replace the real teacher-pupil relationship, and the important voluntary interaction among classmates is close to perversion with a sophisticated reward system. It is the essence of the teaching profession, its actual purpose, to address to or awaken the children’s joy of learning. To reduce the teacher to a coach and to leave each child alone with his tablet is an injustice to our youth. It can lead children to avoid, wherever possible, the learning areas they do not feel confident in. As a result, good apprenticeship places remain unused.

One quarter of apprenticeship contracts are dissolved prematurely

A school like the one described above can make it impossible for the young person to cope with the demands of an apprenticeship. Gaps in the subject material can perhaps be made up to a certain degree – if the will is there. However, whether he is prepared to follow instructions, to accept failures, to keep on trying over and again, to take pleasure in constructive activity, to be proud when succeeding to complete an assignment reliably and on time – all this can be decisive for a successful apprenticeship.
The number of terminated apprenticeship contracts is also alarmingly high. In a report from 2017, the Federal Statistical Office states: “Of the 60,500 apprentices who began basic vocational training in the summer of 2012, almost 15,000 have had their apprenticeship contracts terminated prematurely. In relation to the total number of contracts, the dissolution rate is 25 %.” This affected 12,500 young people or 21 % (i.e. some of them had several contracts terminated).4
More than one fifth of young people failed during their apprenticeship! It is therefore of little help, if the yousty training place meeting point calls the termination of the apprenticeship a “new challenge” when the position or working environment does not correspond to an apprentice (https://www.yousty.ch/de-CH/lehrabbruch). Of course, there are always examples where the chosen apprenticeship does not correspond to the abilities and inclinations of a young person or where the “chemistry” between the teacher and the apprentice is not “working”. At this case, a change to another place or to another trade can be useful. However, these used to be individual cases. The fact, that today every fourth apprenticeship contract is terminated by the apprentice or the training company is a signal of alarm! Is the future 4.0 society tested here, where a large part of the working population is to be rejected as social benefit recipients at an early age?

Practical skills can not be attained on a PC

Most vacant apprenticeship places are in manual occupations. The first 15 vacancies in the yousty job search portal that could be filled immediately are hairdresser, electricial fitter, recycler, scaffolder, road builder, powerline technician, merchant, retailer, logistician, refrigeration system assembler, plumber, cook, baker/confectioner, automotive mechatronics technician, pharmaceutical assistant. All are three to four-year EFZ training courses, the successful completion of which is credited with a Federal Certificate of Proficiency.
According to the daily press, for example, the owner of a building services company who has trained over 100 apprentices in 30 years has been looking for a year in vain for an apprentice to study heating engineer. Like tens of thousands of other Swiss SMEs, this entrepreneur sees it as his responsibility to contribute to vocational training for young people. However, the search for suitable young talents is becoming increasingly difficult. This is not only a problem for the useful composition of the team in his company, but also for the future of the Swiss business location. The unfilled apprenticeship positions will have an effect later on because of the lack of trained specialists who are actually needed.5
The lack of interest in skilled trades also correlates to the increasing learning time at the computer, which according to Curriculum 21, starts already in kindergarten. The consequence of this is a fatal imbalance of education. Practical skills, drawing and writing by hand (cursive writing), working with tools and various materials are logically neglected. In the subject areas of “arts” and “nature and social sciences”, a vast number of learning goals with a practical context are listed, so that one’s head is already buzzing while reading. However, to drive in a nail correctly or to measure a distance exactly, one does not learn simply at the computer and not from a coach, but only from an inspired teacher. It is astonishing that these simple facts have so far received little attention from the economiesuisse trade association and other voices in the Swiss economy (especially in large companies). With their insistence on the full digitisation of schools, state administration and the world of work, they are basically skipping the entire craft trade.
A ray of hope: 39 young Swiss at the World Skills from 22 to 27 August
The full digitisation of school and working life will not do the trick. Because if the heating is not working or the bicycle gears are jammed, just as in care and in countless other professions it needs the male and female experts, the real person.
A ray of hope are the 39 young Swiss professionals who currently represent our country at the World Skills in the Russian city of Kazan and who strive for a top 3 ranking in the national ranking. In a field of 1,600 applicants from 63 nations, this is a high but perfectly achievable goal as the World Skills of recent years have shown.

The 39 young Swiss winners at the World Skills 2019 in Kazan from 22 to 27 August

The young Swiss professionals aged 17 to 22 who have represented our country at the World Skills in Kazan, Russia, in recent days, are a ray of hope. In the nation-weighted ranking, Switzerland, the best nation in Europe, occupies a good third place on the podium. Only the Chinese and Korean participants obtained a higher average score than the Swiss.
Through their performances, the young Swiss professionals have won 16 medals, including five world championship titles, and 13 diplomas in no less than 39 disciplines. The five gold medals were won in the professions of restaurant specialist, baker-pastry maker, tiler/paver, electronics and landscape gardener.    •

1     Hirschi, Caspar, Professor of General History at the University of St. Gallen. “The hype around the grammar school threatens our educational system”. NZZ on Sunday from 11 August 2019, guest column
2     “Wanted: Thousands of Apprentices.” “St. Galler Tagblatt” from 12 August 2019
3     Burri, Anja. “School according to the pleasure principle “. NZZ on Sunday from 18 August 2019
4     Federal Statistical Office. “Cancellation of apprenticeship contract, re-entry, certification status. Results on dual basic vocational training [...]”, 2017, p. 5
5     “Wanted: thousands of apprentices”. “St. Galler Tagblatt” from 12 August 2019

Places d’apprentissage inutilisées et résiliations de contrats

Prendre soin de l’éducation de notre jeunesse et du système dual de la formation professionnelle

par Marianne Wüthrich, docteur en droit

En août, des dizaines de milliers de jeunes dans notre pays commencent un apprentissage. En Suisse, le système de formation professionnelle avec trois jours dans une entreprise et deux jours dans une école professionnelle, est considéré comme la «Voie royale» pour commencer la vie professionnelle. Selon la page d’accueil orientation.ch, il y a des places d’apprentissage pour les adolescents en fin de scolarité dans plus de 644 professions. Le fait que la proportion de lycéens soit nettement plus faible comparé à d’autres pays n’est un inconvénient ni pour les jeunes, ni pour le site économique suisse. L’historien Caspar Hirschi l’explique de la manière suivante: «Comparé à d’autres pays, le système éducatif suisse présente trois avantages: diversité, ouverture et perméabilité. Il est diversifié, parce que les jeunes ont le choix entre le gymnase et la formation professionnelle et ils ont avec presque tous les diplômes accès par la suite aux formations les plus diverses. Il est ouvert, car les établissements d’enseignement, jusqu’aux Hautes Ecoles de pointe, offrent un libre accès à toute personne possédant les qualifications nécessaires. Puis, il est perméable, car à presque tous les niveaux, il est possible de passer à d’autres cours de formation. Grâce à notre système éducatif, de nombreuses voies mènent au sommet de l’économie et de la politique».1
Il est de grande importance de prendre soin de cet excellent système de formation au profit de la jeunesse et de l’économie suisse encore bien positionnée à l’heure actuelle. Il est cependant alarmant de constater que cet été, à nouveau, des milliers de places d’apprentissage restent vacantes et qu’un nombre alarmant de contrats d’apprentissage sont résiliés prématurément. Dans la plus grande bourse de places d’apprentissage yousty (www.yousty.ch) on trouve – alors que la première année de l’apprentissage a déjà débuté mi-août – plus de 4600 places d’apprentissage vacantes dans tous les secteurs. Cela est le cas dans les métiers les plus populaires comme celui de l’employé(e) de commerce ou de l’assistant(e) en soins et santé communautaire (ASSC), voire même des postes isolés dans le domaine le plus recherché qui est celui des technologies de l’information – et de très nombreuses places dans les divers domaines de l’artisanat et dans la vente. Le fait que le nombre d’élèves de l’école secondaire ait diminué au cours des dernières années est une possible explication ainsi que la maturité (le baccalauréat) visée par les jeunes.2 Cependant l’approche purement statistique omet des aspects essentiels.

De grands déficits scolaires chez les apprentis

La plupart des médias cachent à leurs lecteurs le fait qu’une partie des places d’apprentissage reste vide parce que de nombreux jeunes possèdent à la fin de leur scolarité obligatoire moins de connaissances dans leur sac à dos qu’auparavant. L’image du «sac à dos bien rempli» est utilisée délibérément, même si elle est aujourd’hui perçue comme «rétrograde»: l’«accumulation» de connaissances n’est plus nécessaire, selon les réformateurs scolaires, car dans le monde numérisé tout est disponible à tout moment et devient très rapidement obsolète. Malgré une répétition constante, cette affirmation ne devient pas plus vraie, mais démontre le manque d’ancrage pédagogique des «experts» l’utilisant.
En réalité, les entreprises de formation et les écoles professionnelles constatent de plus en plus de déficits importants dans les compétences essentielles de base (lecture, écriture, calcul). Cela est dû au changement de paradigme dans les programmes des écoles élémentaires et dans la formation des enseignants. Prenons un exemple: «Dans l’école du futur, chaque enfant décide lui-même, en début de semaine, de ce qu’il désire apprendre. Peut-être veut-il créer lui-même un jeu sur ordinateur ou désire-t-il pratiquer le français à l’aide d’une vidéo youtube. Les plus âgés aident les plus jeunes et obtiennent ainsi des points bonus et peuvent passer à un plus haut niveau comme dans certains jeux: de ‹l’élève de base› à l’‹expert›. Pour conserver leur statut, ils doivent soutenir d’autres enfants. Bien que l’enseignante se trouve toujours dans la classe, elle s’appelle maintenant accompagnatrice dans l’enseignement et elle conseille les élèves individuellement sur leur demande. Sa tâche principale est de motiver. Les progrès de l’apprentissage sont suivis par ordinateur, car chaque enfant travaille avec une tablette. Aussi utopique que cela puisse paraître aujourd’hui, cela est déjà la réalité dans certaines régions de Suisse».3
Contre une telle «réalité», les protestations doivent s’intensifier d’urgence! Comment un enfant peut-il pratiquer son français seul avec un film Youtube s’il ne connaît pas les règles de la prononciation et ne comprend pas les mots – sans parler de la structure des phrases et de la grammaire? Le contrôle en ligne par l’enseignant ne peut jamais remplacer la véritable relation entre l’enseignant et l’élève, et l’importante interaction volontaire entre les camarades de classe est pervertie par un système de récompense sophistiqué. Eveiller ou développer la joie d’apprendre des enfants est l’élément essentiel, le sens profond du métier d’enseignant. Réduire l’enseignant à au travail de coach en laissant les enfants seuls devant leur tablette est une injustice envers notre jeunesse. Cela peut conduire les enfants à contourner, autant que possible, les domaines d’apprentissage dans lesquels ils ont des problèmes. En fin de compte, de bonnes places d’apprentissage peuvent ainsi rester inutilisées.

Un quart des contrats d’apprentissage sont résiliés prématurément

Une école comme celle décrite ci-dessus peut créer l’impossibilité pour un adolescent de faire face aux exigences d’un apprentissage. Des lacunes dans les matières scolaires peuvent certes être comblées avec quelques efforts supplémentaires – s’il le veut. Mais s’il est capable de s’adapter aux instructions, de surmonter des échecs, d’essayer et de réessayer d’accomplir le travail qu’on exige de lui, s’il commence à ressentir la joie et la fierté d’apprendre de nouvelles activités et de réussir à terminer une tâche de manière fiable et dans les délais – tout cela est crucial pour un apprentissage réussi.
Le nombre de contrats d’apprentissage résiliés en cours de formation est inquiétant. Dans un rapport de 2017, l’Office fédéral de la statistique déclare: «Parmi les quelque 60’500 apprenants ayant commencé leur formation professionnelle de base en été 2012, nous avons enregistré 15’000 résiliations prématurées de contrats d’apprentissage. Par rapport au nombre total de contrats le taux de dissolution est de 25%.» Les personnes concernées étaient 12’500 adolescents ou 21% (c’est-à-dire que certains d’entre eux ont eu plusieurs contrats annulés).4
Plus d’un cinquième des adolescents ne terminent pas leur apprentissage! Il n’est donc guère utile que la bourse de places d’apprentissage yousty.ch nomme la résiliation d’un apprentissage un «nouveau défi» si la branche ou l’environnement de travail ne correspond pas à un apprenti (https://www.yousty.ch/de-CH/lehrabbruch). Il y a naturellement toujours des cas, où les relations entre le formateur et l’apprenti se détériorent. Un changement d’emploi ou de profession peut alors s’avérer préférable. Mais précédemment c’étaient des cas isolés. Le fait qu’aujourd’hui un contrat d’apprentissage sur quatre soit résilié soit par l’apprenti soit par l’entreprise de formation est un signal d’alarme! Est-ce le premier signe de la future société 4.0, planifiant de transformer une partie de la population active en bénéficiaires de l’aide sociale?

Les compétences pratiques ne peuvent être acquises à l’aide de l’ordinateur

La plupart des places d’apprentissage libres concernent les métiers artisanaux. Les 15 premières offres d’apprentissage sur le portail de recherche yousty sont: coiffeur, électricien, recycleur, échafaudeur, constructeur de routes, électricien de réseau, employé de commerce, gestionnaire du commerce de détail, logisticien, monteur frigoriste, ferblantier, cuisinier, boulanger/confiseur, mécatronicien d’automobiles, assistant en pharmacie. Toutes ces formations CFC d’une durée de trois ou quatre ans, se terminent par un Certificat fédéral de capacité (CFC) lors de la réussite de l’examen final.
Dans la presse quotidienne, on trouve, par exemple, l’annonce d’un propriétaire d’une entreprise de construction, qui a formé plus de 100 apprentis en 30 ans, et qui cherche en vain depuis un an un apprenti installateur en chauffage. Comme des dizaines de milliers d’autres PME [petites et moyennes entreprises] suisses, cet entrepreneur considère également qu’il est de sa responsabilité de contribuer à la formation professionnelle des jeunes. Mais la recherche de jeunes gens correspondants à ces tâches est de plus en plus difficile. Ce n’est pas seulement un problème pour former de bonnes équipes au sein de son entreprise, mais aussi pour l’avenir de la place économique suisse: la place d’apprentissage non pourvue aura un effet plus tard, car il manquera un spécialiste qualifié, dont on a un besoin réel.5
Le manque d’intérêt pour les métiers manuels est également lié à l’augmentation du temps d’apprentissage à l’ordinateur, qui, selon le Plan d’études 21, commence déjà au jardin d’enfants. Il en résulte une unilatéralité fatale de l’enseignement. Les compétences pratiques, le dessin et l’écriture manuscrite (écriture liée), le travail avec des outils et divers matériaux sont totalement négligés. Dans les domaines «travaux artistiques» et «nature, homme, société», un grand nombre d’objectifs d’apprentissage avec une référence pratique sont énumérés, de sorte que la tête bourdonne déjà lors de la lecture. Mais on n’apprend pas à planter un clou correctement ou à mesurer une distance avec précision, en utilisant l’ordinateur ou en étant suivi par un «accompagnateur», mais seulement par un enseignant enthousiaste. C’est étonnant de constater que ces simples faits n’ont jusqu’à présent guère retenu l’attention d’economiesuisse ou d’autres acteurs de l’économie suisse (notamment les grandes entreprises). En insistant sur la numérisation totale des écoles, de l’administration publique et du monde du travail, ils passent en réalité à côté de l’ensemble de l’artisanat.
La numérisation complète de la vie scolaire et professionnelle ne suffira pas. Parce que si le chauffage est défectueux ou si les engrenages du vélo sont coincés, tout comme dans les soins et dans d’innombrables autres professions, le spécialiste, la femme ou l’homme sera nécessaire.

Les 39 jeunes Suisses victorieux au World Skills 2019 à Kazan du 22 au 27 août

Les jeunes professionnels suisses âgés de 17 à 22 ans qui ont représenté ces derniers jours notre pays au World Skills à Kazan, en Russie, sont une lueur d’espoir. Au classement pondéré par nations, la Suisse, meilleure nation d’Europe, occupe une belle troisième place sur le podium. Seuls les participants chinois et coréens ont obtenu une moyenne de points plus élevée que les Suisses.
Par leurs performances, les jeunes professionnels suisses ont gagné 16 médailles, dont cinq titres de champion du monde, et ont remporté 13 diplômes dans pas moins de 39 disciplines. Les cinq médailles d’or ont été gagnées dans les professions de spécialiste en restauration, de boulangère-pâtissière, de carreleur, d’électronicien et de paysagiste. •

1    Hirschi, Caspar, professeur histoire générale à l’Université de Saint-Gall. «Der Hype ums Gymnasium bedroht unser Bildungssystem» [L’engouement concernant le gymnase menace notre système de formation]. NZZ am Sonntag du 11/8/19, rubrique pour invités
2    «Gesucht: Tausende Lehrlinge». [Recherché: des milliers d’apprentis]. St. Galler Tagblatt du 12/8/19
3    Burri, Anja. «Schule nach dem Lustprinzip». [L’école soumise au principe de plaisir]. NZZ am Sonntag du 18/8/19
4    Office fédéral de la statistique. «Résiliation de contrats d’apprentissage, réinsertion, statut de certification. Résultat sur la formation duale […]» 2017, p. 5
5    «Gesucht: Tausende Lehrlinge». [Recherché: des milliers d’apprentis]. St. Galler Tagblatt du 12/8/19