Germany – unperceived setting the course for the expansion of the armed forces

“Rescuing the Crimea and its geostrategic importance in the new Cold War”

Meeting book authors in person enriches one’s own reading. This was also the case for the listeners at a lecture in Stockach on Lake Constance on 18 October who came to listen and discuss with Uwe Markus1, whose book was presented in Current Concerns No 21from 2 October.
In his lecture, Uwe Markus presented the events on the Crimean Peninsula of spring 2014 in a larger geopolitical context. The 2014 unrest in Ukraine was part of a strategy of regime change as developed by Zbigniew Brzezinski, former security advisor to many US presidents, in his 1997 book “The Grand Chessboard”. According to Brzezinski, Ukraine should have joined NATO by 2014, because, if this country would have been broken out of the CIS, Russia would no longer have been a European power.2 The pushing back of Russia had already previously been manifested: After the collapse of the USSR and the dissolution of the Warsaw Pact, NATO had extended its sphere of influence far beyond the Oder to the east, despite promises to the contrary.3
According to Markus, NATO’s grab for the Crimea would have radically changed the balance of power in the Black Sea in favour of NATO. By taking over the Russian naval port Sevastopol, the Black Sea and the Azov Sea would have almost completely fallen into NATO’s hands. In order to prevent this, special units of the Russian army landed in Crimea and brought it under their control without bloodshed.
As Markus pointed out, Russia today is ahead of the NATO states in military armaments in several decisive points. With its new military doctrine, Russia is pursuing a so-called asymmetric armament. Thus the Russian Air Force in the Black Sea was able to perform a sham attack on an American combat ship while the crew had no chance to react. Today, Russian technicians can generate an electromagnetic field that can disrupt and paralyse all enemy electronic communication and weapon control devices. The Russian military is also far superior to the NATO states in the development of hypersonic missiles.
The subsequent discussion showed the lively interest of the audience. When one participant pointed out the alleged ailing state of the Bundeswehr, the speaker replied that indeed reports in the media on the insufficient state of the Bundeswehr’s equipment defective aircrafts, helicopters and submarines dominated. Politicians, however, were meanwhile setting the course for the expansion of the armed forces, largely unnoticed by the public. And the military were taking advantage of these opportunities. The concept of “land mobility”, which had been put into effect this year, would lead to a massive increase in combat strength among the army units. In the future, six tank battalions with a total of 360 Leopard 2 main battle tanks in the A6M and A7V versions will be available. Uwe Markus pointed out that all this information could be found in publicly accessible sources.4 By referring to his book “Aufmarschgebiet Baltikum” (Deployment Area Baltic States) he once again made it clear that the plans for a deployment area in the east had reached a frightening scale.
At the end of the evening, all participants were aware that we are living in explosive times in Central Europe today. It was obvious that those who are now seriously thinking about being able to wage a nuclear war are playing with the idea of destroying Central Europe! It is precisely this geographical area that would once again be the battlefield.
To prevent this should be an incentive for all alert contemporaries not to slacken in their peace activities and educational efforts.

Ewald Wetekamp, Stockach

1    Dr Uwe Markus, born 1958, former lieutenant of the [East German] NVA, received his PhD in sociology after leaving the NVA, worked as a project manager in a commercial market and social research institute, today freelance management consultant and lecturer in adult education.
2    “Ukraine, a new and important space on the Eurasian chessboard, is a geopolitical pivot because its very existence as an independent country helps to transform Russia. Without Ukraine, Russia ceases to be a Eurasian empire.” (Zbigniew Brzezinski, “The Grand Chessboard” (1997), page 24, „Somewhere between 2005 and 2010, especially if in the meantime the country has made significant progress in its domestic reforms and has succeeded in becoming more evidently identified as a Central European country, should become ready for serious negotiations with both the EU and NATO” (ibid, page 44), “Although initially the West, especially the United States, had been tardy in recognizing the geopolitical importance of a separate Ukrainian state, by the mid-1990s both America and Germany had become strong backers of Kiev’s separate identity.” (ibid, page 58).
3    For further reading and for a study of the sources, please refer to the book by Ralf Rudolph and Uwe Markus: Aufmarschgebiet Baltikum, 2018, here in particular the chapter “Wortbruch” (breach of word), pages 9 to 19
4    Klos, Dietmar. Die «Strategie der Reserve auf der Zielgeraden» and «Mobilität der Landstreitkräfte» in: Europäische Sicherheit & Technik 9/2019, pages 38–40 and 82–87

Allemagne: développement des forces armées à l’insu du public

«Le sauvetage de la Crimée – et son importance géostratégique dans la nouvelle guerre froide»

Apprendre à connaître personnellement un auteur, enrichit la lecture de ses livres. L’occasion s’est présentée le 18 octobre à un large public lors d’une conférence à Stockach (D) au bord du lac de Constance. Uwe Markus,1 dont le livre a été présenté dans Horizons et débats no 21 du 30/9/19, y a exposé quelques aspects fondamentaux de ses recherches avant d’ouvrir un débat passionnant avec l’audience.
Dans sa conférence, Uwe Markus a présenté les événements concernant la péninsule de Crimée au printemps 2014 dans un contexte géopolitique large. Les troubles en Ukraine en 2014 s’inscrivaient dans le cadre d’une stratégie de changement de régime développée par Zbigniev Brzezinski, ancien conseiller à la sécurité de plusieurs présidents des Etats-Unis, dans son livre «Le grand échiquier – L’Amérique et le reste du monde» en 1997. Selon Brzezinski, l’Ukraine aurait dû rejoindre l’OTAN d’ici 2014, car si ce pays avait quitté la Communauté des Etats indépendants (CEI), la Russie n’aurait plus été une puissance européenne.2 La volonté de repousser la Russie s’était déjà exprimée auparavant dans le fait qu’avec la chute de l’URSS et la dissolution du Pacte de Varsovie, l’OTAN avait étendu sa sphère d’influence vers l’Est et bien au-delà de l’Oder, malgré des promesses contraires.3
Selon M. Markus, l’emprise de l’OTAN sur la Crimée aurait radicalement changé le rapport des forces dans la mer Noire – avec une prise de contrôle sur le port naval russe de Sébastopol, la mer Noire et la mer d’Azov auraient été presque exclusivement aux mains de l’OTAN. Afin d’éviter cela, des unités spéciales de l’armée russe ont débarqué en Crimée et ont placé toute la presqu’île sous leur contrôle sans effusion de sang.
Selon M. Markus, la Russie est aujourd’hui en avance sur les Etats de l’OTAN en matière d’armement militaire dans certains domaines décisifs. Avec sa nouvelle doctrine militaire, la Russie dispose d’un armement dit asymétrique. Ainsi, l’armée de l’air russe en mer Noire a simulé une attaque d’un navire de combat américain, sans que son équipage ait eu la possibilité de réagir. Actuellement, les techniciens russes peuvent générer un champ électromagnétique pouvant perturber et paralyser tous les dispositifs ennemis de communication électronique et de contrôle des armes. L’armée russe est également de loin supérieure aux Etats de l’OTAN dans le développement des missiles hypersoniques.
La discussion qui a suivi a témoigné du vif intérêt de l’auditoire. Lorsqu’un participant a souligné l’état de délabrement présumé de la Bundeswehr, l’orateur a répondu qu’en dépit des récits des médias sur l’état vétuste des équipements de la Bundeswehr, actuellement dominés par les avions, les hélicoptères et les sous-marins défectueux, la politique a redémarré le développement des forces armées, à l’insu du public. Et les militaires ont profité de cette situation. Le concept de la «mobilité terrestre», mis en œuvre cette année, conduira à une augmentation massive de la force de combat des unités de l’armée de terre. A l’avenir, six bataillons de chars avec un total de 360 chars de combat Léopard 2 dans les versions A6M et A7V seront disponibles. Uwe Markus a précisé que toutes ces informations se trouvaient dans des sources accessibles au public.4 En se référant à son livre «Aufmarschgebiet Baltikum» [Zone de déploiement du Baltikum], il a une fois de plus souligné que les plans militaires de l’OTAN pour une zone de déploiement à l’Est étaient terriblement avancés.
A la fin de la soirée, il était clair pour les participants, que nous vivons actuellement en Europe centrale dans une époque explosive et que ceux qui pensent sérieusement pouvoir mener une guerre nucléaire envisagent de réduire en cendres l’Europe centrale! C’est précisément cette zone géographique qui serait à nouveau le champ de bataille.
Pour empêcher cela, il est urgent que tous les contemporains attentifs ne se relâchent pas dans leurs activités en faveur de la paix et de l’information.

Ewald Wetekamp, Stockach (D)

(Traduction Horizons et débats)

1    Uwe Markus, né en 1958, ancien premier lieutenant en RDA, a obtenu son doctorat en sociologie, a travaillé comme chef de projet dans un institut de recherche commerciale et sociale, aujourd’hui consultant indépendant en gestion et professeur en formation des adultes.
2    «L’indépendance de l’Ukraine modifie la nature même de l’Etat russe. De ce seul fait, cette nouvelle case importante sur l’échiquier eurasien devient un pivot géopolitique. Sans l’Ukraine, la Russie cesse d’être un empire en Eurasie». In: Brzezinski, Z. Le grand échiquier, 1997, p. 74s. «Au cours de la période suivante (soit de 2005 à 2010), l’Ukraine pourrait à son tour être en situation d’entamer des négociations en vue de rejoindre l’UE et l’OTAN», ibid. p. 118. «Malgré les hésitations initiales des Etats-Unis, peu sensibles à l’importance géopolitique d’un Etat ukrainien séparé, l’Amérique
et l’Allemagne ont, dès le milieu de la décennie, pris fermement position en faveur de Kiev.» ibid. p. 151.
3    Pour continuer la lecture et étudier les sources, veuillez vous référer au livre de Ralf Rudolph et Uwe Markus: Aufmarschgebiet Baltikum, 2018, et en particulier le chapitre «Wortbruch», pages 9 à 19
4    Klos, Dietmar. Die «Strategie der Reserve auf der Zielgeraden» und «Mobilität der Landstreitkräfte» In: Europäische Sicherheit & Technik 9/2019, p. 38–40 und p. 82–87